We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Stronechrubie

8 Hoods Road, Mount Somers 7771 New Zealand
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (20)
Dining (12)
Room & Suite (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 hotels in Mount Somers
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Cosy chalet style Accommodation set on 3 acres of lawn and garden with 2 onsite Restaurants located in the country village of Mount Somers
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms

Location

8 Hoods Road, Mount Somers 7771 New Zealand
Stronechrubie
Getting there
Timaru Airport
67.3 km
See all flights
Christchurch Intl Airport
94.8 km
See all flights
69Reviews0Q+A8Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 40
  • 19
  • 2
  • 5
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Ana34043 wrote a review Sept 2023
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania38 contributions18 helpful votes
Beautiful and quiet location, large suites, and an excellent restaurant (Thu-Sat). Suites are a bit dated (there was musty smell in ours) but comfortable, with huge windows, seating area, and a full kitchen. Easy booking and good communication.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Madeline Brown, Owner at Stronechrubie
Responded 24 Sept 2023
Thank you!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MamaC wrote a review Nov 2022
Christchurch, New Zealand9 contributions7 helpful votes
We had a nice family weekend here recently. The chalet was clean with everything we needed. The bistro meals were pretty basic with lots of chips and slaw. Chicken was dubiously pink and “vegan” meal contained cheese. However, the service was great and the atmosphere comfortably casual.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Madeline Brown, Owner at Stronechrubie
Responded 30 Jan 2023
Thank you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
DanO68 wrote a review Apr 2022
Alexandra, New Zealand658 contributions474 helpful votes
We had 3 nights at the Stronechrubie motel on a recent trip to Mt Somers. We chose this place mainly because it is dog-friendly and we like to travel with our 2 wee dogs. The location is great for access to the Ashburton Lakes and Hakatere conservation area. The motel is just a km or so outside of the village center, just off the main road. There’s not much in the way of variety of eateries there. Stronechrubie has a good little restaurant on site and the local tavern does reasonable takeaway style meals. Also, there is occasionally a takeaway pizza place in town (Johnatellos Pizza Inferno), depending on the day, and they do great pizzas!! The rooms are a bit dated, however they are clean and well-maintained. The rooms all have an adjacent carport and a back door that opens out to a large grassy lawn. The kitchenette is very basic but functional. Wifi was a bit of a problem at times. Sometimes the signal was too weak to make a good connection in our room. We generally just used the 4G network on our phones. The room had a good TV and effective heat pump. We had a nice relaxing stay. Overall we really liked this place and would definitely recommend it to other travelers looking for a good base in Mt Somers.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Madeline Brown, Owner at Stronechrubie
Responded 30 Jan 2023
Thank you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bev D wrote a review Sept 2021
Wellington, New Zealand59 contributions13 helpful votes
Nice cafe, proper iced coffee, good Americano coffee. Delish cheese scone. Always pleasant service. Nice seating outdoors in the sun and a private area suitable for a group. The lunches I saw looked delicious and generous portions, will be back for lunch.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Madeline Brown, Owner at Stronechrubie
Responded 24 Feb 2022
Thank you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Vanessa C wrote a review Jun 2021
Christchurch, New Zealand8 contributions
I was happy to find Stronechrubie was our weekend destination. We were warmly welcomed by our Host and shown to our Motel which was warm cosy and had everything we needed. We dined at the Restaurant an amazing food experience. Our weekend was extended due to the flooding but our hosts were extremely generous even bringing us Soup and Toasties for lunch. Would certainly return to enjoy another relaxed weekend away.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Madeline Brown, Owner at Stronechrubie
Responded 24 Feb 2022
Thank you, come again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jase h wrote a review May 2021
4 contributions2 helpful votes
Visited Saturday 15th May 2021. Our order was very very late and when it finally arrived was cold! Not well cooked and not the best quality. I have however visited this establishment in the past several times and found the food to be very good. It's the inconsistency of the quality and service that make my reveiw a fairly difficult decision. Out of 5 visits this year 3 where good and the past two very poor. My Friend could not even eat her meal as it was swimming in balsamic vinegar. Mine was cold but after a 1.5hr wait was eaten. Please guys sort out your business !
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Madeline Brown, Owner at Stronechrubie
Responded 24 Feb 2022
Thank you for your feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Hawean wrote a review Jan 2021
Geraldine, New Zealand322 contributions94 helpful votes
We stayed in this motel accommodation because we'd stayed there several times before and liked it. The unit we had was tired and dated. Things such as missing smoke alarms, electric blankets not working, chipped crockery and a challenging TV set up, made our stay less than satisfactory. On the plus side it was roomy and warm with a good heat pump.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Madeline Brown, Owner at Stronechrubie
Responded 23 Feb 2021
Thank you for your feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
aeg59 wrote a review Aug 2020
Ashburton, New Zealand23 contributions1 helpful vote
We had heard about this restaurant but not had the opportunity to go. Rob had a big days work clearing stumps out of the garden so I booked dinner out initially, then we decided to stay over and booked the spa unit to make it a total spoil us night away. We had to wait a week as they were busy with events but was well worth it, the friendly, informative welcome to the delicious food. We will definitely be going back. Maybe take the family next time.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Madeline Brown, Owner at Stronechrubie
Responded 5 Nov 2020
Thank you, glad you enjoyed your meal and stay!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
01753R wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Me and some friends went for a meal here on a Friday evening. We have been a few times before and had average service but tonight was just disappointing. We asked for a can of coke and a cider and the “can” of coke was a can opened and half of it was poured into a glass and the other half of the van went into the fridge. As I only had one glass as I knew I would be paying for that other half which is sat in the fridge. We gave our order to the waitress who pulled a sight face at us when I asked for the steak. ( it might have just been me but it felt like she was looking at me like I couldn’t afford it.) When we got the steak I didn’t get a steak knife so it was rather difficult to cut and eat the steak. My partners fish tasted like chicken which we both thought was odd. It’s a shame I’m having to write this as we do enjoy the atmosphere.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Madeline Brown, Owner at Stronechrubie
Responded 20 May 2020
That is a shame, and I m sorry the experience did not live up to standards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jobrennan2014 wrote a review Feb 2020
Surfers Paradise, Australia88 contributions35 helpful votes
When hubby says it’s the best meal he’s ever had and foodie friend says ditto you know you’re onto a good thing!! What an amazing meal! Small menu but everything spot on. Team this with friendly staff, small room where you can hear each other so conversation flows and a great wine list and you have the makings of a special night out. Thanks guys!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Madeline Brown, Owner at Stronechrubie
Responded 20 May 2020
Thank you very much!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mount Somers area.
PRICE RANGE
$148 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionMount Somers
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

STRONECHRUBIE - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Mount Somers) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Stronechrubie
What are some of the property amenities at Stronechrubie?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Stronechrubie?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Stronechrubie?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Stronechrubie?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are pets allowed at Stronechrubie?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Stronechrubie offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Is Stronechrubie accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.