We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
8 Hoods Road, Mount Somers 7771 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
eDreams
Agoda.com
US$90
View deal
Priceline
FindHotel
Etrip
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (18)
Dining (11)
Room & Suite (8)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Cosy chalet style Accommodation set on 3 acres of lawn and garden with 2 onsite Restaurants located in the country village of Mount Somers
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family

Location

Full view
67Reviews0Q+A8Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 39
  • 18
  • 2
  • 5
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
DanO68 wrote a review Apr 2022
Alexandra, New Zealand564 contributions449 helpful votes
We had 3 nights at the Stronechrubie motel on a recent trip to Mt Somers. We chose this place mainly because it is dog-friendly and we like to travel with our 2 wee dogs. The location is great for access to the Ashburton Lakes and Hakatere conservation area. The motel is just a km or so outside of the village center, just off the main road. There’s not much in the way of variety of eateries there. Stronechrubie has a good little restaurant on site and the local tavern does reasonable takeaway style meals. Also, there is occasionally a takeaway pizza place in town (Johnatellos Pizza Inferno), depending on the day, and they do great pizzas!! The rooms are a bit dated, however they are clean and well-maintained. The rooms all have an adjacent carport and a back door that opens out to a large grassy lawn. The kitchenette is very basic but functional. Wifi was a bit of a problem at times. Sometimes the signal was too weak to make a good connection in our room. We generally just used the 4G network on our phones. The room had a good TV and effective heat pump. We had a nice relaxing stay. Overall we really liked this place and would definitely recommend it to other travelers looking for a good base in Mt Somers.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Bev D wrote a review Sep 2021
Wellington, New Zealand51 contributions13 helpful votes
Nice cafe, proper iced coffee, good Americano coffee. Delish cheese scone. Always pleasant service. Nice seating outdoors in the sun and a private area suitable for a group. The lunches I saw looked delicious and generous portions, will be back for lunch.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Madeline Brown, Owner at Stronechrubie
Responded 24 Feb 2022
Thank you.
Read more
Vanessa C wrote a review Jun 2021
Christchurch, New Zealand8 contributions
I was happy to find Stronechrubie was our weekend destination. We were warmly welcomed by our Host and shown to our Motel which was warm cosy and had everything we needed. We dined at the Restaurant an amazing food experience. Our weekend was extended due to the flooding but our hosts were extremely generous even bringing us Soup and Toasties for lunch. Would certainly return to enjoy another relaxed weekend away.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Madeline Brown, Owner at Stronechrubie
Responded 24 Feb 2022
Thank you, come again!
Read more
jase h wrote a review May 2021
4 contributions2 helpful votes
Visited Saturday 15th May 2021. Our order was very very late and when it finally arrived was cold! Not well cooked and not the best quality. I have however visited this establishment in the past several times and found the food to be very good. It's the inconsistency of the quality and service that make my reveiw a fairly difficult decision. Out of 5 visits this year 3 where good and the past two very poor. My Friend could not even eat her meal as it was swimming in balsamic vinegar. Mine was cold but after a 1.5hr wait was eaten. Please guys sort out your business !
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Madeline Brown, Owner at Stronechrubie
Responded 24 Feb 2022
Thank you for your feedback.
Read more
Hawean wrote a review Jan 2021
Geraldine, New Zealand304 contributions91 helpful votes
We stayed in this motel accommodation because we'd stayed there several times before and liked it. The unit we had was tired and dated. Things such as missing smoke alarms, electric blankets not working, chipped crockery and a challenging TV set up, made our stay less than satisfactory. On the plus side it was roomy and warm with a good heat pump.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Madeline Brown, Owner at Stronechrubie
Responded 23 Feb 2021
Thank you for your feedback.
Read more
aeg59 wrote a review Aug 2020
Ashburton, New Zealand18 contributions1 helpful vote
We had heard about this restaurant but not had the opportunity to go. Rob had a big days work clearing stumps out of the garden so I booked dinner out initially, then we decided to stay over and booked the spa unit to make it a total spoil us night away. We had to wait a week as they were busy with events but was well worth it, the friendly, informative welcome to the delicious food. We will definitely be going back. Maybe take the family next time.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Madeline Brown, Owner at Stronechrubie
Responded 5 Nov 2020
Thank you, glad you enjoyed your meal and stay!
Read more
01753R wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Me and some friends went for a meal here on a Friday evening. We have been a few times before and had average service but tonight was just disappointing. We asked for a can of coke and a cider and the “can” of coke was a can opened and half of it was poured into a glass and the other half of the van went into the fridge. As I only had one glass as I knew I would be paying for that other half which is sat in the fridge. We gave our order to the waitress who pulled a sight face at us when I asked for the steak. ( it might have just been me but it felt like she was looking at me like I couldn’t afford it.) When we got the steak I didn’t get a steak knife so it was rather difficult to cut and eat the steak. My partners fish tasted like chicken which we both thought was odd. It’s a shame I’m having to write this as we do enjoy the atmosphere.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Madeline Brown, Owner at Stronechrubie
Responded 20 May 2020
That is a shame, and I m sorry the experience did not live up to standards.
Read more
jobrennan2014 wrote a review Feb 2020
Surfers Paradise, Australia88 contributions35 helpful votes
When hubby says it’s the best meal he’s ever had and foodie friend says ditto you know you’re onto a good thing!! What an amazing meal! Small menu but everything spot on. Team this with friendly staff, small room where you can hear each other so conversation flows and a great wine list and you have the makings of a special night out. Thanks guys!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Madeline Brown, Owner at Stronechrubie
Responded 20 May 2020
Thank you very much!!
Read more
Chris H wrote a review Feb 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom1981 contributions854 helpful votes
We made a reservation for dinner to celebrate my wife’s birthday – I mentioned this at the time. The fine dining area (separate from the Bistrot restaurant) is rather bleak – plain decor and no attempt made to create a special atmosphere apart from one flower on each table. Staff are friendly, but no effort is made to look after guests apart from bringing the food as ordered. We had started in the bar area with a bottle of wine and I had to ask for that bottle to be found so we could top up our glasses. When it arrived – a bottle of rosé – there was no ice or cooler provided to keep the wine cool. A carafe of water was provided on the table, but on a hot evening that also needed to have ice to keep it cool. The menu is limited – from memory about five choices each for starters and main courses. I prefer to avoid meat but the only non-meat choice – fish of the day – was not available. So this is a risky choice of restaurant for a vegetarian. However the food we had was truly excellent – both starters nad main courses were perfectely cooked, very tasty and nicely presented. The chef knows what he is doing. It took a while for each course to appear – not a problem because it shows that dishes are individualy prepared to order. We were very content with our celebration meal, but I was disappointed that no effort or gesture was made to reflect my wife’s birthday apart from a casual “happy birthday” as we left. On other occasions, in other places, we have been charmed by efforts of the chef and staff to make such an occasion into a special event One bottle plus 2 glasses Rosé House wine, 2 starters (scallops and stuffed mushrooms), 2 mains (Lamb rack and fillet of beef), plus one coffee came to NZ$ 177. In other places we would have expected a classier experience for that cost.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Madeline Brown, Owner at Stronechrubie
Responded 20 May 2020
Thank you for messaging. Im sorry your experience wasn't as you had hoped. Correct we are a High country cuisine restaurant and we specialise in that, we ask that vegetarians/vegan give us notice when they are dining so we can get a few options available. Shame you didnt let us know your thoughts on the night to give us a chance to remedy the issues.
Read more
Kaikohe wrote a review Feb 2020
Kerikeri28 contributions9 helpful votes
This was a lovely evening for us, we were on our own as celebrations are taking place when we can get the family together. The meals were first class, nice wine & friendly attentive Staff. All this in such a nice quiet setting with the hills just to the rear of the Restaurant. We would certainly recommend Stronechrubie for any evening meal & hope we both can return at some stage. Many thanks to all who looked after us.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Madeline Brown, Owner at Stronechrubie
Responded 20 May 2020
Wonderful, glad you had a nice time.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$65 - US$87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionMount Somers
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Stronechrubie
What are some of the property amenities at Stronechrubie?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Stronechrubie?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Stronechrubie?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Stronechrubie?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are pets allowed at Stronechrubie?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Stronechrubie offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Is Stronechrubie accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.