Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Tussock Peak Motor Lodge

25 Amuri Avenue Corner Amuri Avenue And Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334 New Zealand
Traveller (45)
Exec king spa suite with balcony and view to tree lined avenue and mountains
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#4 of 13 motels in Hanmer Springs
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Affordable luxury and style in a prime central location. Stunning mountain views and a stroll away from Hanmer Springs' many attractions. Units range from spacious spa studios through to 2 bedroom family suites.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Horseback riding
Mini golf
Tennis court offsite
Water park offsite
Waterslide
Highchairs available
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Private balcony
Seating area
Sofa
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Electric blanket
Walk-in shower
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Danish, German and 1 more

Location

25 Amuri Avenue Corner Amuri Avenue And Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334 New Zealand
288Reviews0Q+A43Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 207
  • 62
  • 13
  • 2
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
genieNZ wrote a review Aug 2020
Darfield, New Zealand120 contributions47 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We took advantage of their package deal which included motel room, entrance to the pools for 2 and cooked breakfast at a local cafe.
The motel room was lovely. Very comfortable and lovely and warm for such a cold night.
The unit was very spacious.
The staff were incredibly helpful with information and even supplied ice scrappers for our icy windscreen next morning.
We would definitely stay here again when we visit Hanmer springs.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Richard and Anne Frankland, General Manager at Tussock Peak Motor Lodge
Responded 15 Jan 2021
Many thanks for your lovely review, we're very glad you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to you visiting us again and taking advantage of the package deal once more.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MichaelDH wrote a review Jul 2021
Christchurch, New Zealand76 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Comfortable, well equiped two bedroom unit accomodation for our family group of 5. (It actually takes 6 with a large double and a single bed in each room).

Living room panel heater kept the unit toasty even with below-zero overnight temperatures.

Very friendly welcome on arrival and free towels for use at the pools are a nice bonus for guests who book directly.

Great quiet location just a couple of minutes stroll from the pools and just slightly further from the township.

Will definitely stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book well ahead as very popular especially during school holidays.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Richard and Anne Frankland, General Manager at Tussock Peak Motor Lodge
Responded 4 Aug 2021
Thank you Michael for such a great and positive review of you stay with us. Glad to hear that you will stay with us again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
didee62 wrote a review Sept 2020
Christchurch, New Zealand295 contributions90 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 2 nights in a upstairs room,We could check in early which was great.The room and bathroom at tussock peak are one of the cleanest motels we have stayed in (great work room attendants!!)Balcony was VERY small but we managed and the view was great looking down the tree lined street and up to the mountains.Bed was very comfy.Be aware there is no sky digital channels here unless you want to use your own Sky pass/log in,Netflix available free of charge.WiFi perfect!Umbrellas can be borrowed from outside reception if it’s raining.Room was a bit noisy early morning with Road traffic my guess would be locals going to work maybe?This motel/lodge is a 2 min walk to hot pools and bars/restaurants about 5 min walk to supermarket/ mini golf.All staff very nice and happy to assist.Tip if you go to the Hot Pools you get a 20% discount if you are an AA member.Just a small point the menus in the guest info book are a bit out of date so check restaurants web sites if you are phoning in a order,I thought about this when we got home or would have put a note for the owners so they could update the otherwise very informative guest book
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Richard and Anne Frankland, General Manager at Tussock Peak Motor Lodge
Responded 13 Jan 2021
We're glad you had a great stay, and we really appreciate the feedback about the room compendium. We rely upon the restaurants to supply us with up to date sheets for our compendiums. We have just been through them all & removed any out of date information. If ever you're lacking something that would make the difference between an OK and a Wonderful stay, please don't hesitate to come and let us know and we can probably help you out, and hopefully have you leave wanting to return :-)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aerodytravel wrote a review Feb 2020
Queensland, Australia40 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great stay! Clean rooms, comfy bed, Netflix, spa bath and great service. Motel is located very close to hot pools and town. Compared to other motels in the area I would say Tussock Peak is best value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TussockPeak, Owner at Tussock Peak Motor Lodge
Responded 23 Feb 2020
Thank you Very much for your lovely review of our motel Hope. We really appreciate it. See you again next time you come to Hanmer Springs :-)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
aquarius111 wrote a review Feb 2020
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand15 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Had heard great things about Tussock Peak from others......admittedly the glorious clapback from the host regarding the negative view from another contributor around the lack of Gideon bibles, totally cemented my decision to stay - their response was pure gold!
Rooms are clean, tidy and well appointed. The bed is amazingly comfortable! Shower pressure is fabulous and the spa bath very indulgent. Hosts are a great source of information regarding local attractions and recommendations for places to eat. Free, fast wifi connection, complimentary Netflix and towels for the hot pools were such a lovely extra touch. Location is perfect - right on the main street, we could walk everywhere which was really nice as Hanmer is such a gorgeous location to stroll around.
If I had to name any opportunities for improvement (and it's only a minor consideration) - the fan in the bathroom is hard wired to the light switch and rather noisy when turned on, so middle of the night trips to the bathroom are probably best done in the dark for the sake of not disturbing others :)
Overall a very enjoyable stay, would definitely stay again and would have to be my pick of accommodation in Hanmer Springs.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TussockPeak, Owner at Tussock Peak Motor Lodge
Responded 22 Feb 2020
Thank you heaps for your review. We enjoyed having you stay with us too. A special thanks for making our motel your favourite. About the fan, yes it was a tricky one for us to decide on. We needed a solution for when guests keep all windows and doors shut during and after a bath or shower and then don't air the unit afterwards. The units are quite tightly sealed (probably not the right way to describe it), so the consequence of not airing the unit is a lot of humidity collecting. I will ask our electrician if there is something that could manage the fan on a clock so it doesn't run at night time...
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pukekawa wrote a review Sept 2020
Rotorua, New Zealand136 contributions16 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were only overnighting on a drive from Christchurch to Nelson. This place was perfect. Had a little lounge space in the room to chill out in, small kitchenette, but the location was perfect. We started right across the road at the Thermal Pools, the hotel even supplied complimentary pool towels. The two doors up the road to No31 Restaurant 5 Star!!), then next morning a short stroll through the grounds of the old hospital to go to Powerhouse for breakfast. Super friendly staff, clean, warm, spa bath - will return!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Richard and Anne Frankland, General Manager at Tussock Peak Motor Lodge
Responded 13 Jan 2021
Hi, Thanks for your review , we do have a great location, not more than 250m from the thermal pools, town centre, shops, cafe's, restaurants, the forest walks and mountain bike tracks. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
claire_beer wrote a review Aug 2020
Christchurch, New Zealand746 contributions110 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We have traveled all around the world and this is the worst hotel we have been in.
We got the honeymoon suite and well if this is really your honeymoon you wouldn't want to stay here.
The honeymoon suite is on the road which all night you here party goers and cars up and down. No sleep at all.

We didn't want to use the heater as it right under the TV and a fire risk upon entering the room we touched the t.v and its was burning hot.

This room is just a standard room with a spa bath and I wouldn't call it a honeymoon suite at all.

The toilet kept playing up during the night
so we has to fix ourself.

Would not be coming back to this place again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Richard and Anne Frankland, General Manager at Tussock Peak Motor Lodge
Responded 9 Sept 2020
Setting expectations and meeting them is our goal. Obviously this didn't happen for you. We offer a 360 online view of our different room types so you can make the right choice. Our description of that room says facing the road. Hanmer is a small village only but Saturday night can be lively and people walking to the outskirts (we are 300meters from the centre) then pass by. Some are loud and I understand if that can be annoying. We are under strict regulations for fire safety and every 30 days we are checked by FFP. We get a thorough check every year and our warranty of fitness for hazards and building code is up-to-date. The heater is installed under the TV strictly according to electrical code. My apologies about the toilet. If you alert us to the issue we will readily do what we can to fix it, anytime of day!. Worst hotel in the world? Well I guess we finally beat the wet cardboard box behind Woolworths.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SeanJ wrote a review Jan 2022
Papamoa, New Zealand7 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The motel is in a great position, an easy walk to the town and the thermal pools. The two bedroom unit was spacious and exceptionally clean and comfortable. The hosts were very friendly and helpful, and the use of towels for the pools was really appreciated.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sharlene_and_Paul wrote a review Nov 2020
Wellington, New Zealand235 contributions46 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for three night here, in a spa suite. The place was very clean and tidy, the staff were great and very helpful, they will even provide pool towels at no cost to use at the hot pools. The bed was very comfortable and you could choose whether you wanted your room serviced, the soap and body wash (EcoStore) bottles looked to be refillable.There was a bin for Recycling in the room. We would sit out on our little patio in the late afternoon sun and many of the people that went passed commented, that we had a great spot. They even have EV charging stations. We would differently stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Richard and Anne Frankland, General Manager at Tussock Peak Motor Lodge
Responded 11 Jan 2021
Hi Sharlene and Paul, thanks for your great review, we certainly appreciate it, but most of all we are glad to read you had a great stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephen Mc wrote a review Sept 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a 1 bedroom unit in late September 2020 for 4 nights but were disappointed with the room. There was no storage for guests meaning we lived out of our suitcases - a bracket on the wall allowed 2 hangers, but the only drawer was full of spare bedding. Bedside units were stands only (no storage). The bathroom was very small. We were also disappointed with the room servicing - very little cleaning done during our stay - the room was tidy on arrive though.
I suggest this room would be suitable for single night stays only.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Richard and Anne Frankland, General Manager at Tussock Peak Motor Lodge
Responded 18 Jan 2021
Hi Stephen, We are very sorry to hear you had a disappointing stay with us We offer a 360 online view of our different room types so you can make the right choice. Possibly an Executive Spa studio would have been better suited as it is designed to accommodate 2 people rather than 3 adults in the 1 bedroom unit and provides more space in general & a larger bathroom . By bringing problems immediately to our attention, like requesting more clothes hangers, or removing extra bedding to allow for storage , it gives us the opportunity do something about it and not have you leave feeling dissatisfied. The room servicing, as described in the room compendium, outlines what we do when a room service is requested. As the name implies it is not intended to be a cleaning service. If a room service has been requested, by turning the card over on the front door, the rubbish will be removed, dishes washed, towels replaced, bed made & or linen changed if requested & consumables replenished. We do not attempt to perform a complete clean of the room , or a simple service unless requested.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
leigh g wrote a tip 4 Apr
Manawatu-Wanganui Region, New Zealand3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to book a ground floor unit."
Read full review
jnmwstephens wrote a tip Mar 2024
Nelson, New Zealand1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"It is central and just a short walk to the centre of the town."
Read full review
Curiosity21620441123 wrote a tip Oct 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great places to eat within easy walking distance. Pool also within walking distance "
Read full review
Ali C wrote a tip Aug 2022
Hamilton, New Zealand64 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Upstairs rooms are very sunny."
Read full review
Sunrayes wrote a tip Jul 2022
Wellington, New Zealand21 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The upstairs room had a nice view over to tree area and sunny"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hanmer Springs area.
PRICE RANGE
$148 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
tussock peak motor hotel hanmer springs, tussock peak hotel
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionHanmer Springs
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TUSSOCK PEAK MOTOR LODGE - Now $147 (Was $̶1̶8̶9̶) - UPDATED 2024 Motel Reviews & Price Comparison (Hanmer Springs, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Tussock Peak Motor Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Tussock Peak Motor Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools & Spa (0.3 km), A Maze N Golf (0.4 km), and Dog Stream Walkway (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Tussock Peak Motor Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at Tussock Peak Motor Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Tussock Peak Motor Lodge?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Tussock Peak Motor Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tussock Peak Motor Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include No.31 Restaurant & Bar, Rustic Cafe & Tapa's Bar, and Powerhouse Cafe.
Is Tussock Peak Motor Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Hanmer Springs.
Are any cleaning services offered at Tussock Peak Motor Lodge?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Tussock Peak Motor Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Swedish, and Danish.
Is Tussock Peak Motor Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Hanmer Springs HotelsHanmer Springs Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Hanmer SpringsHotels near Tussock Peak Motor Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire