We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Larchwood Motel

Save
Share
18 Bath Street, Hanmer Springs 7334 New Zealand
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (39)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 30/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 30/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#21 of 22 hotels in Hanmer Springs
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

See why so many travellers make Larchwood Motel their hotel of choice when visiting Hanmer Springs. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a family-friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

Guest rooms offer a kitchenette and a refrigerator, and Larchwood Motel makes getting online easy as free wifi is available.

In addition, guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

While in Hanmer Springs, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Larchwood Motel, including MK Restaurant (0.5 mi), Mr Yunan (0.2 mi), and Malabar Restaurant (0.5 mi).

Should time allow, Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools & Spa and Hanmer Springs Animal Park are some popular attractions that are within walking distance.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Larchwood Motel as you experience all of the things Hanmer Springs has to offer.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese
98Reviews0Q+A13Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 19
  • 16
  • 18
  • 16
  • 29
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
lynet2017 wrote a review Oct 2021
Hanmer Springs, New Zealand71 contributions17 helpful votes
Just don't. Don't go here. Walls are paper-thin and you can hear every word of their conversations. There was an outside light shining through the kitchen window all night and no blind so the room was lit up like a Christmas tree. It was a split level unit and while the heat pump sent the warm air up to the 2 bedrooms upstairs... we were in polar fleece and raincoats trying to stay warm in the lounge. It was BITTERLY cold. I've never been so cold inside in my life. And our girl upstairs was too hot to sleep. Awful design. The bed was half against the wall and half against a window and the pillow kept falling off the bed onto the windowsill. Didn't make for a restful sleep. Plus there wasn't enough bedding downstairs and so we ended up sleeping in our clothes to keep warm. The place was superficially clean but was long overdue a thorough spring clean. This place had no redeeming features at all except for the fact the car was partially under cover. Our holiday was cold, noisy and unpleasant. The motel room ruined our entire holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Terry Wang, General Manager at Larchwood Motel
Responded 5 Nov 2021
Sorry to hear that you did not find your stay comfortable. We have been investigating ways to better distribute the heat in our split-level units. This is a work in progress. All our units have extra bedding and more can be asked for from the office. We do have a cleaning plan for our units, and in this case, we actioned an extra clean after your feedback. We apologize that you found your room not up to your standard. We do appreciate your feedback on areas where we can improve our units.
Read more
Steve R wrote a review May 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Worst motel check in experience I have ever had and I have travelled globally. Don't stay here the owner will try and scam extra money out of you at check in! Tries allsorts of dodgy stuff like cancelling booking company bookings then books you in direct to avoid paying them commission then adds extra fees.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Terry Wang, General Manager at Larchwood Motel
Responded 27 May 2021
Steve, I am sorry that you were disgruntled about your booking thru Expedia. The booking that we received said that you had 2 children under 1 year of age. On arrival, we see that your children were school age and so there should have been a charge for them. In discussing this you flatly refused to pay for your children. You requested to cancel the booking with Expedia and we did what you requested. Later, you demand that the children should be free of charge, otherwise, you would write bad reviews to this motel. We offered as a compromise that you pay for only 1 child and you agreed.
Read more
Angela v wrote a review Apr 2021
Wellington, New Zealand8 contributions1 helpful vote
People need to stop being precious. Having read numerous one star reviews,  we weren't expecting much but we were pleasantly surprised.  At the end of the day you get what you've paid for.  Yes the units are tired and not sparkling clean.  Yes the water could have better pressure and be more consistent temperature. The beds were comfortable,  the towels clean,  the wifi good, the tv, heater,  fridge,  kettle and microwave were in good working order.  The management seem to be doing their best which can't be easy in the current climate and as one of the least favourite options for accommodation,  they probably get some terrible guests like the loutish partying lads a couple of units over from us. Fortunately, rooms are pretty noise proof. Hanmer isn't the type of place you go to spend time in a motel unit,  there's so much to do and see for reasonable prices. I'd happily return to this motel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Margaret Kelly wrote a review Jan 2021
2 contributions
Clean very comfortable accommodation in quiet location, 0easy walk to town. Only grizzle would be one pot for a full sized kitchen.Laundry facility very adequate and very reasonably priced. Plenty of room for two adults and four children
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Terry Wang, General Manager at Larchwood Motel
Responded 25 Jan 2021
Thank you for your comment!
Read more
anon571 wrote a review Jan 2021
Wellington, New Zealand15 contributions8 helpful votes
Worse motel we have ever stayed in ..filthy, damp, dark, rubbish every where..shower doesn't drain as there's a wad of hair stuck in drain.! Smoke alarms didn't work when tested. Laundry had a barely operable washing machine and dryer was a fire risk..bedding was stained and pillows stored at the end of the bed chest were moldy and smelled horrible..no servicing and bed broke when sat on!.we paid top dollar here..not to mention very dodgy dealing over payment..DONT do it!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$56 - US$74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionHanmer Springs
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Larchwood Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Larchwood Motel?
Nearby attractions include Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools & Spa (0.5 km), Hanmer Springs Animal Park (0.7 km), and A Maze N Golf (0.2 km).
Is parking available at Larchwood Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Larchwood Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include MK Restaurant, Springs Pizza, and Spice Village.
Is Larchwood Motel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Hanmer Springs.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Larchwood Motel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Chinese.