We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Larchwood Motel

avatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (46)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#20 of 20 hotels in Hanmer Springs
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

See why so many travellers make Larchwood Motel their hotel of choice when visiting Hanmer Springs. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a family-friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

Guest rooms offer a kitchenette and a refrigerator, and Larchwood Motel makes getting online easy as free wifi is available.

In addition, guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

While in Hanmer Springs, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Larchwood Motel, including MK Restaurant (0.5 mi), Mr Yunan (0.2 mi), and Malabar Restaurant (0.5 mi).

Should time allow, Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools & Spa and Hanmer Springs Animal Park are some popular attractions that are within walking distance.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Larchwood Motel as you experience all of the things Hanmer Springs has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese
104Reviews0Q+A14Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 20
  • 16
  • 19
  • 17
  • 32
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
David H wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
This motel would be the worst motel that I have ever stayed in. Very small and tight to move around in. The smoke alarm beeped all night and we could hear the people talking in the unit next door. No milk supplied for making a cup of tea. The bathroom facilities were very poor, very cramped and a little hand basin. Not all the lighting was working… We were very pleased to get out of there in the morning… This motel is currently in a very poor state and could with a lot of renovation work…
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Julie_the_Kiwi wrote a review Jan 2024
Auckland Central, New Zealand17 contributions8 helpful votes
PLEASE DO NOT MAKE MY MISTAKE - DO NOT BOOK OR STAY AT LARCHWOOD MOTEL, HANMER SPRINGS! I booked this motel back in October when the Top10 holiday park across the road (that was my preferred option) had a 3 night minimum policy and I only needed 2 nights. In hindsight, I should have 1) read the reviews (mostly terrible) and then 2) called Top10 in December to see if I could book in for 2 nights, cancel this booking earlier and rebook elsewhere or 3) at the very least had a better look at the room on the website or inspected it before I paid. Now I am $530 out of pocket. These are my mistakes and I own them. I booked the family unit. These were our issues: 1) It had live flies, bees and wasps in it - the owner / manager gave us bug spray to fix this problem which just made the room smell of bug spray and add to the... 2) Lots of dead flies on surface areas like window sills 3) Dusty surfaces and had a grimy feel to the whole room 4) TV did not work although my son did get it working 5) I spotted an unattached and pulled apart smoke alarm upstairs 6) Upstairs rooms were stifling hot as the aircon unit did not reach there but we couldn't cool them down by opening the windows as bugs would come in My 8 year old daughter was scared of the bugs and crying and asking to sleep in the car, my retired mother could not get comfortable as it was too hot and my son spent the hour we were there trying to fix the TV. When I called the Top10 desperately asking if they had accomodation available and explaining I was at Larchwood Motel, they said 'say no more' and 'you are not the first'. Thankfully we managed to get a room there. The whole experience was horrible and put a black mark on our otherwise magical holiday. As I was trying to get my family out of there I did not take any photos or videos and I wish I had now. Under the Consumer Guarantees Act, you have grounds to seek compensation if the accommodation is not what was advertised and agreed to in the terms and conditions, including things like: - the accommodation has not been cleaned before your stay - there are health and safety issues, hazards, or pests in the room or property I contacted the the motel who have said they are not returning the money. I have disputed the $530 I paid on the day (2 nights' accomodation charges) with my bank. I AM WRITING THIS REVIEW IN THE HOPE THAT NO ONE ELSE HAS THE SAME EXPERIENCE WE HAD - IF I CAN'T GET MY $530 BACK AT LEAST NO ONE ELSE WOULD BE OUT OF POCKET TOO.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: DO NOT STAY HERE - YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
BeattieBoyes wrote a review Aug 2023
2 contributions
This was the worst motel I've stayed in ever. There was mold in the toilet, dry root in the walls at floor level, and the windows were saturated in the morning. The heater was pathetic, I turned the elements on which heated the room up quicker and hotter The beds were old, a double that swayed left to right. Very last century decor. This place needs a good refurbish to bring it up to standard. The desk guy tagged another for dollars on the advertised price. We didn't notice till to late. All in all, it was a very disappointing stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
sam mci wrote a review Nov 2022
Nelson, New Zealand1 contribution
+1
Friendly and helpful staff tidy and clean rooms everything you would need reasonably cheap for what you get pretty compact allocated parking is great location handy to town I just wished I grabbed the double instead of my son taking it overall great experience
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Julie V wrote a review Nov 2022
Nelson, New Zealand13 contributions4 helpful votes
Motel was okay for the rate we paid. Check in Reception area needed a good clean. Cobwebs visible hanging of light which was missing a bulb. Rooms were clean but so dated. Cracked tiles on floor in kitchen so not nice walking on. Looked like no money had been spent on it since it was built.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
ARCHIE wrote a review Sept 2022
Kaikoura66 contributions30 helpful votes
The grounds need a tidy up,the unit was substandard, wasn’t clean ,they never serviced our unit so had to ask for dry towels etc. .They only supplied 1 Fork for eating for the two of us . There seemed to be a lot of rubbish stacked up beside the office ,not a good look . But the location was handy to the towns centre.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
lynet2017 wrote a review Oct 2021
Hanmer Springs, New Zealand78 contributions20 helpful votes
Just don't. Don't go here. Walls are paper-thin and you can hear every word of their conversations. There was an outside light shining through the kitchen window all night and no blind so the room was lit up like a Christmas tree. It was a split level unit and while the heat pump sent the warm air up to the 2 bedrooms upstairs... we were in polar fleece and raincoats trying to stay warm in the lounge. It was BITTERLY cold. I've never been so cold inside in my life. And our girl upstairs was too hot to sleep. Awful design. The bed was half against the wall and half against a window and the pillow kept falling off the bed onto the windowsill. Didn't make for a restful sleep. Plus there wasn't enough bedding downstairs and so we ended up sleeping in our clothes to keep warm. The place was superficially clean but was long overdue a thorough spring clean. This place had no redeeming features at all except for the fact the car was partially under cover. Our holiday was cold, noisy and unpleasant. The motel room ruined our entire holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Terry Wang, General Manager at Larchwood Motel
Responded 5 Nov 2021
Sorry to hear that you did not find your stay comfortable. We have been investigating ways to better distribute the heat in our split-level units. This is a work in progress. All our units have extra bedding and more can be asked for from the office. We do have a cleaning plan for our units, and in this case, we actioned an extra clean after your feedback. We apologize that you found your room not up to your standard. We do appreciate your feedback on areas where we can improve our units.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Steve R wrote a review May 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Worst motel check in experience I have ever had and I have travelled globally. Don't stay here the owner will try and scam extra money out of you at check in! Tries allsorts of dodgy stuff like cancelling booking company bookings then books you in direct to avoid paying them commission then adds extra fees.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Terry Wang, General Manager at Larchwood Motel
Responded 27 May 2021
Steve, I am sorry that you were disgruntled about your booking thru Expedia. The booking that we received said that you had 2 children under 1 year of age. On arrival, we see that your children were school age and so there should have been a charge for them. In discussing this you flatly refused to pay for your children. You requested to cancel the booking with Expedia and we did what you requested. Later, you demand that the children should be free of charge, otherwise, you would write bad reviews to this motel. We offered as a compromise that you pay for only 1 child and you agreed.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Angela v wrote a review Apr 2021
Wellington, New Zealand9 contributions2 helpful votes
People need to stop being precious. Having read numerous one star reviews,  we weren't expecting much but we were pleasantly surprised.  At the end of the day you get what you've paid for.  Yes the units are tired and not sparkling clean.  Yes the water could have better pressure and be more consistent temperature. The beds were comfortable,  the towels clean,  the wifi good, the tv, heater,  fridge,  kettle and microwave were in good working order.  The management seem to be doing their best which can't be easy in the current climate and as one of the least favourite options for accommodation,  they probably get some terrible guests like the loutish partying lads a couple of units over from us. Fortunately, rooms are pretty noise proof. Hanmer isn't the type of place you go to spend time in a motel unit,  there's so much to do and see for reasonable prices. I'd happily return to this motel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Margaret Kelly wrote a review Jan 2021
2 contributions
Clean very comfortable accommodation in quiet location, 0easy walk to town. Only grizzle would be one pot for a full sized kitchen.Laundry facility very adequate and very reasonably priced. Plenty of room for two adults and four children
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Terry Wang, General Manager at Larchwood Motel
Responded 25 Jan 2021
Thank you for your comment!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hanmer Springs area.
PRICE RANGE
$131 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionHanmer Springs
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LARCHWOOD MOTEL - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Hanmer Springs) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Larchwood Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Larchwood Motel?
Nearby attractions include Hanmer Adventure Centre (0.7 km), Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools & Spa (0.5 km), and Hanmer Springs Animal Park (0.7 km).
Is parking available at Larchwood Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Larchwood Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include MK Restaurant, Spice Village, and No.31 Restaurant & Bar.
Is Larchwood Motel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Hanmer Springs.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Larchwood Motel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Chinese.