We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Braemar Lodge & Spa

283 Medway Road, Hanmer Springs 7360 New Zealand
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (387)
Room & Suite (171)
Dining (47)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 spa in Hanmer Springs
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Finding an ideal luxury spa in Hanmer Springs does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Braemar Lodge & Spa, a nice option for travellers like you.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV, a minibar, and air conditioning, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the spa.

Braemar Lodge & Spa features a concierge and room service, to help make your stay more enjoyable. The property also boasts a hot tub and breakfast. If you are driving to Braemar Lodge & Spa, free parking is available.

During your visit, be sure to check out a popular Hanmer Springs pubs such as Five Stags Hanmer Springs (Hanmer Springs Retreat), which is a short distance from Braemar Lodge & Spa.

Looking to explore? Then look no further than Majuba Gallery, which is a popular Hanmer Springs art gallery – and it is conveniently located a short distance from the spa.

Braemar Lodge & Spa looks forward to welcoming you on your visit to Hanmer Springs.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Electric vehicle charging station
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool with view
Private pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Light therapy
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Steam room
Waxing services
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
Laundry service
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bidet
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Filipino, Hindi and 1 more
575Reviews1Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 351
  • 104
  • 66
  • 35
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Paradise35857802671 wrote a review 21 Feb
1 contribution
Went for a romantic night away. We found, no restaurant or bar available that night, hot tub out of order, no bathrobes in the room. We were offered another room, but the hot tub was dirty! It took another attempt to get a suitable room with a clean working hot tub. Location, and view were amazing, but without food or drink within 3 kilometres away was a huge disappointment. I recommend taking something to eat, and drink, if visiting this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Leezel Daniel, General Manager at Braemar Lodge & Spa
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write review. I am sorry that the spa pool was not cleaned as per your expectations. The colour of the water is not crystal clear because the water is from the wells and not from the publics water pipes. The restaurant was closed for dinner due to an unavoidable reason and that, so a temporary decision taken. We are open for dinner Thursday to Monday until further notice and breakfast is served all seven days. I am sorry for that you were not happy, and I hope you will come back so we can turn your memories to a wonderful stay. Thank you. Braemar Management.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Aimz wrote a review Jan 2024
Greymouth, New Zealand4 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
After having stayed at Braemar Lodge numerous times, we decided it would be the perfect venue for our winter wedding and it didn’t disappoint. We booked the entire lodge so we had it exclusively and so our guests could also stay. The staff were amazing at ensuring the day ran smoothly and the food was incredible. Thank you again Leezel and staff for the incredible work you all did to ensure our day was perfect! Would definitely recommend as a wedding venue and we can’t wait to come back and celebrate our first year anniversary.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Leezel Daniel, General Manager at Braemar Lodge & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi , Thank you for taking the time to write a such wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and it was a up to your expectations. I will pass on your compliments to the Braemar team, and I look forward to seeing you again. Thank you. Leezel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
NorthStar57923676947 wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
My partner & managed to book a night through Grab a deal NZ. The hospitality on arrival & all through our dinner, stay & breakfast was 10 out of 10. The food too was delicious, also 10 out of 10. The duty manager went above & beyond & upgraded us a room, even though we had arrived an hour early & there was no record of our booking. We are just ordinary working class Kiwis that got to feel extra Special for a night’s break away. Something we would love to come back to once every year. The only downside was the shingle road in that the local council needs to maintain better. Thanks, will certainly recommend Braemar Lodge back in Christchurch 😃
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Leezel Daniel, General Manager at Braemar Lodge & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write a beautiful review for us, we all at Braemar strive hard to ensure all our guests are taken care of. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to seeing you Agin. Thank you. Leezel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kini68 wrote a review Nov 2023
Christchurch, New Zealand248 contributions72 helpful votes
+1
I found this hotel to be of exceptional quality in terms of what was offered in the Superior Spa Suite and in the beautiful surrounds of the venue. I wasn’t expecting the enormous spa bath in the bathroom, or the fantastic shower pressure. The outdoor spa pool was also very comfortable and undercover, so I could enjoy it even on a rainy day. The room was really large with a very comfortable bed & pillows. I did not hear a thing except the sound of the birds outside. And it was also really peaceful in the room. Jason at reception was very welcoming and he made my day. The continental breakfast although small, was of very good quality - and even included a few hot items (also not expected). So it’s worth adding that on.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Leezel Daniel, General Manager at Braemar Lodge & Spa
Responded 29 Nov 2023
Hellow, Thank you for taking the time to write such a beautiful review. All staff at Breamar Lodge strive hard to ensure all our guest happy and enjoying their stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your compliments to Jason. Hope to see you again soon. Regards, Leezel Daniel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
paddymedic wrote a review Nov 2023
Gateshead, United Kingdom36 contributions33 helpful votes
We stayed in one of the spa suites and the room was huge. Bed was really comfy and the hot tub came with a great view. Overall a very comfy room. However, our meal was average at best with everything feeling under seasoned and fairly run of the mill. I would expect a better meal in a uk gastropub at a cheaper price point. The biggest let down was breakfast. Maybe this is a British misunderstanding of what bed and breakfast entails but it normally means more than a self serve continental breakfast. The self serve went as far as the tea and coffee with filter coffee available or a flask of hot water for tea. Pre made scrambled eggs and bacon were available but it felt more like powdered egg than actual scrambled eggs. This really wasn’t in keeping with the spa hotel feeling and finished our stay on a poor note. Should also mention that the staff were friendly when we arrived but correspondence in advance was awful as we emailed a few times without reply.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Leezel Daniel, General Manager at Braemar Lodge & Spa
Responded 29 Nov 2023
Hi , Thank you for taking the time to write review. However, we are sorry that you did not meet your expectation at breakfast. The breakfast is continental even though we serve hot food. Thank you. Regards, Leezel Daniel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Quentin E wrote a review Nov 2023
11 contributions3 helpful votes
Great staff.Big room with view out to mountains. Very comfortable bed. Would recommend Braemar Lodge for a break away from the rat race. Restaurant serving great food with GF and DF options . Totally reccomend.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Leezel Daniel, General Manager at Braemar Lodge & Spa
Responded 17 Nov 2023
Hi, Many thanks for thanking the time to write a grate review. We at Braemar lodge team are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing again. Thank you. Kind Regards. Leezel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Seaside61014233354 wrote a review Nov 2023
2 contributions
The room was large and well proportioned, with a super-king bed and awesome pillows. Plenty of heating with a gas fire to light up a lovely dark evening, as well as a heatpump or air-conditioning unit to choose from. A double shower and an outside spa topped it off. We enjoyed a beautifully presented meal and dessert, all of very high quality. If you are looking for a peaceful special stay, I can HIGHLY recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Hanmer is a little drive away if you wanted to get takeaways. However, I recommend the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Leezel Daniel, General Manager at Braemar Lodge & Spa
Responded 29 Nov 2023
Hello, Many Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I & the team at Braemar are happy to hear that enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your comments to the team. Look forward to seeing you in the future. Regards, Leezel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
David W wrote a review Oct 2023
9 contributions3 helpful votes
We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay at Braemar Lodge. We wish we could've lingered longer! The setting was beautiful, the accommodation was luxurious and extremely comfortable. As the restaurant was quiet, we were served dinner in our beautiful room...which was perfect! The meal was excellent and we felt very decadent! Breakfast in the restaurant excellent too. So we thoroughly recommend Braemar Lodge. And we do want to single out Jason for a special mention and thank you. He checked us in and was extremely helpful, friendly and professional. He made sure our every need was covered... So thank you Jason...and thank you Braemar Lodge!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Leezel Daniel, General Manager at Braemar Lodge & Spa
Responded 26 Oct 2023
Thank you for taking the time to write a beautiful review for us and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, Our team here at Braemar Lodge & Spa are committed to provide high quality services to all our guests. I will pass on your compliments to Jason . Hope to see you gain . Regards. Leezel Daniel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jacqui wrote a review Oct 2023
13 contributions4 helpful votes
We've just returned from another wonderful week spent at Braemar Lodge. it's the perfect place for a conference - secluded in nature but with all the modern conveniences you need. Plenty of different spaces for group work, break out rooms and 'down time'. Delicious food and attentive staff.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Leezel Daniel, General Manager at Braemar Lodge & Spa
Responded 26 Oct 2023
Hi , Thank you for the great review. It’s an honor to be having you with and we hope you’ll come back soon. Thank you. Leezel Daniel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Virna S wrote a review Oct 2023
Christchurch, New Zealand8 contributions6 helpful votes
The service Jason gave us was excellent. We needed a late checkout and he was very accommodating. Our room was beautiful and the spa pool water was fresh and clean, just as we requested. We had a lovely relaxing stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Check dining options as the restaurant isn't always open. Neither is the bar.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Leezel Daniel, General Manager at Braemar Lodge & Spa
Responded 26 Oct 2023
Thank you for the grate review and we are glad that you enjoyed the spa pool . I will pass on your compliments to Jason. We hope to see you gain. Kind Regards, Leezel Daniel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hanmer Springs area.
PRICE RANGE
$247 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
select braemar hotel hanmer springs, select braemar lodge and spa
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionHanmer Springs
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BRAEMAR LODGE & SPA - Now $257 (Was $̶3̶3̶1̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Hanmer Springs, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Braemar Lodge & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Braemar Lodge & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Hanmer Adventure Centre (5.9 km), Conical Hill (6.9 km), and Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools & Spa (5.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Braemar Lodge & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Braemar Lodge & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Braemar Lodge & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Braemar Lodge & Spa?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Braemar Lodge & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include MK Restaurant, Spice Village, and No.31 Restaurant & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Braemar Lodge & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre, a sauna, and a private pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Braemar Lodge & Spa?
Yes, laundry service and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Does Braemar Lodge & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Braemar Lodge & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, Hindi, Indonesian, and Filipino.
Does Braemar Lodge & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.