We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Barcelo Costa Ballena Golf & Spa

Visit hotel website
Traveller (75)
Room & Suite (26)
Video
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The Barcelo Costa Ballena Golf & Spa**** hotel, built in typical Andalusian style architecture, is located on Costa Ballena, between Rota and Chipiona, in the province of Cadiz. It is located opposite a golf course with 27 holes and close to the white sand beaches of Costa de Cadiz, and offers a free shuttle service to the beach during the summer season. The rooms at this cosy hotel boast spaciousness and light; Completely renovated in 2018, they have 49-inch televisions and have lovely terraces with direct views of the swimming pool and golf course. Relaxation seekers will love the U-Spa which offers all the latest health and beauty treatments as well the super relaxing water therapy circuit. Sports enthusiasts can enjoy the privileged environment and enjoy the wonderful horse riding routes, bike rides, paddle tennis, football pitches.... During the holidays, the youngest members of the family can enjoy themselves with the fun-packed programme of water, sports and leisure activities that take place daily under the supervision of our entertainment team, both in the hotel gardens and in the miniclub. The hotel also has a buffet restaurant where you can savour the typical Andalusian cuisine and an exquisite selection of national and international dishes. Barcelo Costa Ballena Golf & Spa offers you the possibility to perfectly combine work and pleasure. The hotel offers 5 fully equipped meeting and convention rooms, the rooms also have a large outdoor area which is the ideal location for hosting cocktail receptions, sunset dinners, etc. Come and discover this paradise of beaches and dunes in Cadiz and enjoy an unforgettable holiday with your partner or family in a hotel that has recently been awarded the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2017.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Pool
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Banquet Room
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Golf Course
Hot Tub
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Minibar
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:15% off
Hotel deals
377Reviews
163Photos
7Q+A
2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 222
  • 115
  • 30
  • 5
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Arrived yesterday for a weeks golf and R&R. As expected - clean , fresh , friendly . Dinner was a buffet and was excellent with staff v keen to serve . Mixed food and v well presented .last night amongst other choices there was a Mexican theme and fresh squid on the menu ( yuk)!
Read more
Response from BCOSTABALLENA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Costa Ballena Golf & Spa
Responded 5 days ago
Dear gofto, In representation of the entire team I like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing this wonderful review. Certainly, just 100 meters from the hotel you will find the Costa Ballena Ocean Golf Club, one of the largest golf courses in Europe, designed by Jose María Olazabal. Located in a unique scene on the seashore, it has 27 holes of competition, plus 9 holes for practices for the enjoyment of all golf lovers. Thank you very much for highlighting our gastronomic offer as our chefs always strive to offer the best quality and variety of products and dishes to surprise all the guests. At Barceló Costa Ballena we work daily with illusion to reach and exceed our guests’ expectations, since it is one of our most important goals to be able to transmit relaxation and comfort to our guests, offering a unique customer service and facilities that undoubtedly contribute to the well-being of those who come to visit us. Your opinion is very gratifying and a huge motivation for all of us. May your holidays continue with the same joy and happiness! Best regards. Yours sincerely, Theresa S. Guest Experience
Read more
Hotel's Favourite
Hotel is beautiful, food was great, we just had noisy neighbours so we didn't sleep very well, but next day the recepcionist took care of it so it was better. :) there was also gluten-free options for breakfast and also dinner.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Response from BCOSTABALLENA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Costa Ballena Golf & Spa
Responded 14 Nov 2018
Dear Hi-money, Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing Barceló Costa Ballena Golf & Spa, secondly we highly appreciate the time you have taken to public your feedback. We deeply regret that noises from the adjoining room have affected your well-being during the night. As we understand that a comfortable rest is an essential aspect, we do everything possible to ensure that noise levels are kept within reasonable limits for the respect for each of our guests and so that no one is disturbed by any inconvenience. We are very proud that you have perceived the high level of professionalism and kindness of our reception staff, since we really have a team that stands out for its way of taking care of the client as well as for its resolution in the different fields of action, always maintaining education and sympathy with the mission of creating pleasant and memorable experiences for all our guests. Thank you very much for highlighting our gastronomic offer. The chefs strive daily to offer the best quality and variety in the products to surprise all the guests. No less important, those who follow a special diet. We are very happy that our culinary sector was so much to your liking. Thank you for your visit, we look forward to welcoming you again soon. We send you a warm greeting from Costa Ballena. Theresa S. Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Good hotel. Good room. Good bed. Good golf courses. Good location. Good ambience. Food ok. The restaurant was cold because of the A/C and the food suffered the cold too. At another time of year this may not be the case.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Response from BCOSTABALLENA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Costa Ballena Golf & Spa
Responded 6 Dec 2018
Dear guest, Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your opinion on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to know that, besides your observation regarding the restaurant /buffet, your experience has been to your liking. At Barceló Costa Ballena Golf & Spa we put a lot of effort and passion into our work, continuously optimizing procedures and facilities for the comfort and well-being of those who come to visit us and your opinion drives us not to stop paying attention to the details in order to get you fully satisfied in the future. Further, we are happy that you could enjoy the golf course, one of the largest in Europe with 345 meters wide and 350 meters long, located on the beachfront overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Thank you for making us your choice hotel, we definitely look forward to welcoming you again. Yours sincerely, Theresa S. Guest Experience Manager
Read more
The staff did a good job, unfortunately the outdoor pool was closed due to the time a year. In the future make sure you have entertainment in the bar or basement. The staff in the bar/restaurant must know who the guest are and on what terms we are staying
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Response from BCOSTABALLENA, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Costa Ballena Golf & Spa
Responded 20 Nov 2018
Dear Tine, All our team wants to say thank you very much firstly for having chosen Barceló Costa Ballena Golf & Spa and secondly for having taken the time to share your feedback! Referring to the disposition of the outdoor pools at different times of the year please note that we always strive to keep them open as long as the weather allows so, even outside the summer season. Please be assured that our team has taken your impression about the bar service seriously in consideration because there is no doubt that we are fully identified with constant improvement. For those who visit us looking for more activities and entertainment we recommend visiting the towns and cities in the surroundings, which can be easily reached by car in just a few minutes. Our reception team and guest experience manager would have been happy to provide with some more ideas for example winery tours and tasting, visit authentic Flamenco bars or the famous horse show in Jerez, etc. Apart from the above mentioned points we are proud to receive scores like yours. It is indeed gratifying to know that the hotel facilities and services in general were to your liking and you define us as a very nice hotel. The management of Barceló Costa Ballena always try to innovate and surprise our guests not only with unique facilities but also with personalized service as well as high cleanliness standards, these are the most important values we are following to make our guests feel comfortable and relaxed. We would love to welcome you once again, and have the chance to exceed your expectations. Best regards, Theresa S. Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Went to check out the place for a future golf venue.....Great hotel, recently refurbished and to a high standard with modern comfortable rooms all facing the sea and overlooking golf course. Food was excellent buffet breakfast and dinner with an eye watering range of food. Golf
Read more
Response from BCOSTABALLENA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Costa Ballena Golf & Spa
Responded 14 Nov 2018
Dear Jethro, Thank you for staying with us at Barceló Costa Ballena and for your feedback as well as for your kind recommendation to the TripAdvisor community. As you mention, all golf lovers will find the "Costa Ballena Ocean Golf Club" just 100 meters from the hotel. It is one of the most extensive and well-known places in Europe and its privileged location attract thousands of golfers to our province every year. We are delighted that you especially enjoyed our gastronomy offer and the equipped, charming room you stayed in. It is true that our hotel is located in a quiet area, but easily accessible. For this reason our clients choose our hotel, for a just amazing beach and the fabulous landscape offered by Costa Ballena, away from the madness of mass tourism. It's great for our entire team to know that overall you had a great experience and we hope you will visit us again when you have the opportunity. Until then, I send you warm greetings from our small Andalusian paradise. Theresa S. Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementBarcelo Costa Ballena Golf & Spa
Doble estandar renovada en 2018
Sunset
Photo provided by managementBarcelo Costa Ballena Golf & Spa
Doble estandar renovada en 2018
Photo provided by managementBarcelo Costa Ballena Golf & Spa
Superior Triple y Superior Familiar renovada en 2018
PreviousNext
123456
I think there is but I don't think the buses are very frequent. We had a car so I didn't pay too much attention to it.
0 votes
Show all answers
Hola, lo mejor será contactar directamente con el hotel e informarse. En la web pone claramente, dos piscinas y una infantil abierta en época estival. Transporte gratuito a playa también en época estival. La playa esta a escasos 10 minutos andando....igual en Semana Santa si hay el servicio,,, Saludos
0 votes
Show all answers
Hola María, nuestro mini club es para niños de entre 4 y 10 años. Y sí estará abierto durante el puente de Andalucía, y habrá animación infantil. Un saludo,
0 votes
Hola, la playa de La Ballena está a 700 m. y durante el verano disponemos de un servicio de furgoneta para acercar a nuestros clientes hasta ella. Sanlúcar está a tan sólo 20 minutos de nuestro hotel. Un cordial saludo.
0 votes
Show all answers
Me gustaría saber el precio de las bebidas?
Creo que los refrescos y cervezas (marcas de alli) costaban 3 euros más o menos. Los extranjeros tomaban mucho vino; su precio era asequible. El agua de litro como los refrescos. Me parece que no llegaba a diez euros dos cervezas y agua grande lo que pagabamos en la cena.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"Upper levels on west side can see the sun setting over the Atlantic, buiding 2 is next to swimming pool, with golf course view."
"For a view of the Atlantic book a top floor room"
PRICE RANGE
US$71 - US$344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
barcelo costa ballena golf hotel rotabarcelo costa ballena golf and spabarcelo costa ballena hotelbarcelo costa ballena spa
LOCATION
SpainAndaluciaProvince of CadizRota
NUMBER OF ROOMS
228
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing