DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Penang
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Penang

Traveller (1784)
Room 1102
Room & Suite (391)
Dining (151)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#1 of 12 hotels in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Nestled in vibrant Batu Feringghi, family fun and ocean views await at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Penang. Upon arrival, enjoy a warm cookie welcome. Discover a treasure trove of culinary experiences such as afternoon tea and live music at Axis Lounge, as well as local flavors at Makan Kitchen. eforea Spa offers soothing massages, and the 24/7 gym facilities cater to fitness enthusiasts. Complimentary WiFi ensures seamless connectivity for a productive stay. We are also home to the charming TeddyVille Museum and our resort features an arcade with over a thousand games, as well as a glistening outdoor pool. A variety of activities from kiddie rides to workshops at the Kids Club ensure endless entertainment for young guests. Meanwhile, Miami Beach is steps away from the resort via an overhead bridge. The Penang International Airport is 45-minutes away by car while bustling Georgetown is a 20-minute drive away.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free shuttle or taxi services
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Paid internet
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids club
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Malay

Location

56 Jalan Low Yat, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100 Malaysia
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 51 out of 100
51
Penang Intl Airport
20.9 km
See all flights
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,283 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Penang is often celebrated for its cleanliness and comfort in its rooms, though guests have noted some maintenance, noise, and decor concerns. Its welcoming atmosphere, bolstered by live music and a warm ambiance, is a highlight for guests, as is the commendable service from friendly and helpful staff. The hotel's location is appreciated for its proximity to George Town and beaches, despite not being central. Opinions on value diverge, with some criticizing additional charges and others satisfied with the costs. Family-friendly amenities are a draw, though some may require updating.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Inviting
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,283Review50Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 709
  • 292
  • 138
  • 63
  • 81
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Rachael T wrote a review Feb 2020
Sydney, Australia
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had 2 rooms here in February 2020. The first room was the 2 bedroom family suite. This room was amazing and very under sold on the website! It has 2 large bedrooms and 2 bathrooms with a kitchen, living room and 2 balcony’s. It also over faced the ocean with a beautiful view! The second room was a king deluxe which was also a nice, spacious hotel room.
Both rooms were clean.
Breakfast had a good variety and they catered for gluten allergies with some of the nicest gluten free bread I’ve ever tasted!
The location was good, there was a shuttle to and from Georgetown and to the night markets at Batu otherwise getting a grab was relatively easy. Highly recommend the Cafe across the bridge for a cheap, good meal.
The only things about the hotel that I didn’t like was that the gym needed new yoga/workout mats as they were quite gross and that there was a young child in the gym one day when we were in there who was sick.
I would recommend this hotel if you want a quiet location to relax in and if you have a family to get the 2 bedroom suite. Beware of service charges on everything..
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DoubleTreePenang, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Penang
Responded 18 Mar 2020
Dear Rachael T, Thank you for leaving us a positive rating. I'm glad you had an enjoyable stay overall and that you were impressed with many aspects of it, such as our clean and spacious rooms and amenities, as well as our extensive and accommodating breakfast selections. Good to know you found our shuttle services convenient for your trip as well! On the other hand, I appreciate your constructive feedback on the management of our facilities and certain equipment. Rest assured we'll notify the team about it for improvement. I look forward to welcoming you back for an even better experience in the future! Sincerely, Karim Schadlou General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
69Ted wrote a review Jul 2020
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was extremely cheap on several of the major booking portals. It was obvious why not long after we arrived, although by the end of our stay, I didn't totally regret having chosen it.

It's a modern 10 storey building that has clearly been built very quickly and very cheaply. From the narrow ramps and tight turns in the car park to the already broken cheap looking seals around the bathroom fittings, this does not look like a place where much expenditure was devoted to either construction or maintenance.

Housekeeping wasn't great, I have to say. We had dirty towels on our first night. I think the previous occupants had left them neatly refolded on the towel rail and staff had just lazily assumed they were unused. We were also missing a bath mat. I didn't complain as we'd only discovered this in the morning and were in a hurry to leave that day. For the following night we had a full complement of clean towels left folded on our bed. The room wasn't particularly dirty but hadn't been very thoroughly vacuumed. The corridor outside is also rarely vacuumed, it appeared.

For the size of the hotel 3 lifts seems insufficient. Indeed, with covid restrictions limiting lift rides to 4 people there was often a frustratingly long wait, particularly at busy times. To be fair, covid has made this worse and that isn't the hotel's fault but it seems a legacy of the cheap way the place was built.

We booked just accommodation only with no meals in the hotel so didn't have too much interaction with hotel staff and services. The pool was clean and reasonably well looked after with an attendant on duty and available all the time we were using it.

There is a footbridge across the main road directly from the hotel pool area. It's not a private beach. The beach you can access here is pretty average to be honest but there is a nice cafe there, which may be a better (and certainly cheaper) option than any of the hotel's outlets.

Other than that one cafe across the road, there are no restaurants or bars in the vicinity of the hotel. I heard terrible reports of the food in the hotel restaurants - can't comment on those but the prices certainly looked expensive. Best bet for a range of eating options is to drive or take a Grab into Batu Ferringhi where there are quite a good number of decent restaurants.

In conclusion, if you're looking for a cheap place to stay not far from Batu Ferringhi and can get a good deal then this might not be the worst choice. But do not be fooled by the brand name or the utterly meaningless 5 star rating.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karim Schadlou, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Penang
Responded 12 Aug 2020
Dear 69Ted, Thank you for leaving us your feedback. While I'm glad you were satisfied with our facilities, I regret to note that you weren't as impressed with other aspects of your stay, one of them due to shortfalls in our housekeeping service. On behalf of the team, I sincerely apologise for the lapse in standards shown and I share your disappointment regarding this matter. Rest assured your comments are duly noted and have been relayed to the team for service refinement. With reference to our parking facilities, if I may clarify, they're actually housed in a 36-year-old building which was originally intended to accommodate smaller sized vehicles, leading to the lack of space. However, I do appreciate your feedback on it, as well as the constructive comments on our bathroom fittings, which we'll be sure to review for improvement as well. I hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back for a renewed and much-improved experience. Sincerely, Karim Schadlou General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Rowie wrote a review Aug 2020
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I am rating our stay at the Double Tree Hilton with five stars.
It was the fantastic price point coupled with the many positive reviews that attracted us. Of course we needn't worry as this hotel carries the Hilton branding too.
We liked that the hotel was light and airy with a contemporary feel.
It was nice that the low rise building was nestled just off the beach, and a change from non descript high rise hotels that seem to have sprung up recently.
What a thoughtful treat to be give a large warm chocolate chip cookie upon check in!
We had requested for two adjoining deluxe king rooms with balconies and the hotel did not dissapoint.
In fact, their rooms are designed to interconect two tooms together when requested with
a small private foyer providing better privacy so guests need not step out on the common passageway. Perfect for families!
Rooms were bright and spacious with sea or pool view and toiletries non other then Crabtree & Evelyn.
Penang is a gastronomy paradise so we chose not to have in house breakfast choosing to eat out. Due to the current covid situation, I would not be surprised if the in house breakfast cannot compared to pre Covid 19 times.
The hospitality industry is battered worldwide it's almost necessary to cut corners. Small details such as bath robes only making and apperance upon request and some cigarette butts discarded on the narrow ledges outside are just minor issues to the big picture. Service was prompt and good and all our requests were entertained.
The gym is open 24 hours daily but for now till 11pm during the country's Movement Control Order and the adult and kiddie pools are perfect for family entertainment.
Car park is a reasonable daily flat rate of Myr 3. There is not much of a beach across the road but don't be deterred. The hotel ticks the important boxes!
Happy to rate the hotel with five stars on account on their good value for money in providing decent comfortable accommodation and accomodating staff!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karim Schadlou, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Penang
Responded 12 Aug 2020
Dear rowenabaker, Thank you for leaving us a superb review of your experience. I'm thrilled to know that you truly enjoyed your stay at our resort and that everything lived up to your expectations, from our spacious rooms, well-equipped amenities and family-friendly facilities to our team's top-notch service throughout. Glad you appreciated our warm welcome cookies too! Although I do apologise on behalf of the team for their slight housekeeping oversight (rest assured we'll be reviewing this with them), I'm happy to learn that they were so accommodating towards your needs and requests, making your stay with us all the more seamless. We can't wait to host you again on your next trip to Penang—hopefully soon! Sincerely, Karim Schadlou General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
@travelbabe1605 wrote a review Jul 2020
Desaru Coast, Malaysia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for one night. Thanks to the MCO, the resort is offering a very low price, which is half the usual price point. The check in process was smooth, probably because I have checked in usinv their app. The freshly baked welcome cookies are to die for. For the price of rm200 per night, I am very satisfied with the room and amenities, however, there was no bath mat provided so the bathroom floor quickly become wet and dirty. The swimming pool is good sized and the pool staff is very friendly. Breakfast is good and im loving the semi buffet setting where the staff in each counter will serve you food and this definitely help prevent food wastage. The semi-private beach across the road is nothing to shout about and at least, it is secluded, clean and not as crowded as the public beach adjascent to it. Perhaps my only complain is the parking where we were charged rm3 to park at the basement and were told the payment is for daily, then, when we went out, the parking lot was full so we ended up parking at the side of the road, which could be dangerous. I hope the management could look into this issue. In all, a very satisfying stay considering im paying around rm200 per night, this is a good strategy for the hotel as it was packed. However, if the hotel increased its rate, i may think twice or three times to come back again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karim Schadlou, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Penang
Responded 14 Jul 2020
Dear Bae1605, Thank you for leaving us your feedback. I'm glad you were satisfied with our accommodation and amenities, as well as our spacious facilities and the hospitable service provided by my team. Good to know you enjoyed our warm welcome cookies too! However, your constructive comments on the bathroom mats and our parking facilities are much appreciated and duly noted. I look forward to welcoming you back for a much-improved experience in the future. Sincerely, Karim Schadlou General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sartaj A wrote a review Mar 2020
Penang Island, Malaysia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It’s in very good location facing sea with big rooms and airconditioner noise is very minimal ,clean room with amenities Halal was doing the house keeping a sincere worker. In Reception Shaulini recognized our coming again and took care of our needs if any ,the manager Shetland ,Kaur ,chief chef Mr Bob every one made us to feel at home.Breakfast spread was good and well taken care of by the concerned service people .Parking as Diamond member was given in vantage location.Over all a memorable stay and good service by all staffs .
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DoubleTreePenang, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Penang
Responded 16 Mar 2020
Dear Sartaj A, Thank you for sharing such a positive review of your stay with us! I'm pleased to find it was a great experience for you and that you were well satisfied with our spacious, clean and well-equipped rooms and facilities. I'm also certainly proud of the team for making you feel so at home here and will be sure to pass your compliments on to them, especially Shaulini, Shetland, Kaur and Chef Bob! We can't wait to welcome you back for an even better stay next time! Sincerely, Karim Schadlou General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JAMSTERLeeds wrote a review Aug 2020
Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for 5 nights, check in swift and easy. We booked a king room with a seaview which was lovely, nice big room with a very comfy bed while was fantastic. The hotel manager gave us a birthday cake and bottle of wine for my husband's birthday which was a very nice and welcome gesture. However the housekeeping lacks in some areas such as the replenishing of towels etc, no hand towels were left in our room and we had to ask on a couple of occasions to the point we got fed up and just couldn't be bothered anymore. Also no hand soap left on our last day either which to me is extremely essential due to Covid. The grounds of the hotel such as the pool area are ok but nothing fantastic and also having loud music booming out by the hotel at the pool spoilt it. The hotel isn't located centrally and you need a car to get around or otherwise a taxi as there are no footpaths on the road leading into the centre of Batu Ferringhi.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karim Schadlou, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Penang
Responded 12 Aug 2020
Dear JAMSTERLeeds, Thank you for sharing your feedback. I'm glad you had a comfortable stay with us and that you were pleased with the spaciousness of our rooms, as well as our team's special birthday arrangement for your husband. However, I apologise on their behalf for the shortfalls in our housekeeping service. Kindly be assured we'll be sharing and reviewing your constructive comments with the team for further service refinement so we can provide much better all-round experiences for our guests. Regarding our accessibility to nearby shops and facilities, we do provide daily shuttle services to Batu Ferringhi along with our hotel limo for your convenience—apologies if this wasn't relayed to you earlier! Thank you once again for sharing your experience with us. I look forward to welcoming you back for a much-improved stay should you visit Penang again! Sincerely, Karim Schadlou General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
OTBCJon wrote a review Mar 2020
Norwich, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 3 nights 24th-27th February.

The entire hotel had a clean, fresh and well maintained feel to it. All the staff were pleasant and attentive.

We stayed in multiple hotels in Malaysia over a 3 week period and without doubt the bed in our room was the most comfortable. The room was clean and tidy. Fresh towels were provided each day with big bottles of water. Really enjoyed the rainfall shower.

Pool area was nice, there were plenty of sunbeds available but overall the hotel was not very busy. Cocktails at poolside were nice and good value on the happy hour promotion.
In my opinion the edge of the pool was dangerous. On the first day I burst my inflatable whilst sitting on it on the edge of the pool with no effort or intent. I discovered that the edge of the pool is lined with very sharp stones, these could easily graze or cut.

Breakfast had a really good choice. Eggs cooked to order. Lots of choice for everyone.

Please be aware that to get about you would need to bring a car or use taxis. There is nothing outside of the hotel within walking distance and it would be dangerous to walk on the side of the bendy road where there is no footpath. To get about use the grab app. If you need to get an early flight when checking out I would recommend that you try and prearrange a pickup from a grab driver. We could not get a grab car on demand on the day of departure and had to use the hotel taxi instead. The grab would have cost us 40RM the hotel charged us 85RM.

All in all we had a good stay here and would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: There is nothing outside the hotel. Use the grab app get about. Walking is not an option, it...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DoubleTreePenang, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Penang
Responded 16 Mar 2020
Dear OTBCJon, Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and your detailed feedback on your recent stay. I'm happy to note most of our products and services lived up to your expectations, from our comfortable rooms and amenities to our well-equipped facilities as well as the warm, hospitable service delivered by our team. It's great to know that you enjoyed your dining experience at Makan Kitchen too! On the other hand, I appreciate your constructive comments on our facilities and would like to sincerely apologise for the concerns you faced while using them. Rest assured your feedback will be shared with our management for further improvement. Regarding transportation, however, alongside our hotel limousines, we do also offer daily shuttle services to George Town and Batu Ferringhi—apologies if this wasn't relayed to you earlier! I look forward to welcoming you back for a much-improved all-round stay in the future! Sincerely, Karim Schadlou General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian W wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed for 2 weeks and rate this hotel among the best we have ever stayed at the service was second to none. The food from the kitchen run by executive chef Bob Siva was always top quality in what ever country of origin, be it, Indian, Asian, Arabic, European, British, American or Australian. The restuarant staff, under the management of Baharin, were always smiling and couldn't do enough for you.
Our room was kept very clean and always supplied with clean towels, soaps, shampoos etc.
Reception staff were always so helpfull and Shirley Tee was always on hand to make sure you were enjoying your stay.
If you required information, needed a tour organised, or had a problem getting a taxi etc Ben Izwan, the chief Concierge, is your man as he and his team seem to be able to sort anything out. Even when Ben is not there his team are so well organised things still run like clockwork.
Well done all of you for a fantastic time you are all a credit to your company and your country.
I now look forward to my next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The rooms on the pool side are sometimes a little noisy and you get the midday and afternoon sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DoubleTreePenang, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Penang
Responded 17 Mar 2020
Dear ianwP881FE, Thank you for leaving us a glowing review of your stay! I'm pleased to read such positive comments about our team members and am glad that they've each contributed towards enhancing your experience at our resort, from Chef Bob and his culinary delights and Baharin with his attentive service to Ben and his efficient handling of your tour requirements, as well as Shirley's dedication towards ensuring you were enjoying your stay. I'll be sure to pass your encouraging feedback on to them, as well as the rest of our team members manning our Front Office, the Concierge desk and Makan Kitchen! On top of that, I'm happy to know that you were well impressed with the cleanliness and general upkeep of your accommodation as well! My team and I look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the near future! Sincerely, Karim Schadlou General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John M wrote a review Mar 2020
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here for 4 days. The room was clean, amenities are complete, and they gave me a room with pool and sea view which was amazing.

The staff are well aware that I was one of their honour customer (which I didn’t mention upon check in) but they seem to find out anyway.

I was treated very well, all my request was fulfilled including late housekeeping. Mini bar for my room was empty, but they served their signature cookie upon check in.

Bottles of water was replenish daily for free (2 bottles of 1.5L water) as well with toilet amenities.

Location was about 10km away from Gurney drive, but it was a quiet place. There is a public sea open opposite the hotel and there is a nice pool too

But one thing I was not satisfied that the hotel does not have free parking for in house guest.

Overall a great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DoubleTreePenang, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Penang
Responded 16 Mar 2020
Dear mcrayjohn, Thank you for leaving us a great rating and review. I'm glad that our products and services lived up to your expectations, especially in regards to our accommodation, amenities and facilities. It's always lovely to read such complimentary comments from our guests about the positive impact our team has left on them through their warm hospitality and proactiveness, especially with you being our valued Hilton Honors member. I'll be sure to let them know too. On top of that, I'm happy you also liked our tasty welcome cookies! :) Regarding the minibar, however, rest assured they'll be filled upon request. Your well-meaning feedback on our parking facilities is also much appreciated. My team and I look forward to welcoming you again for an even better all-round experience next time! Sincerely, Karim Schadlou General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James wrote a review Jan 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
On arrival it took 2.45hrs for our room to be ready, offered only water while we waited.
Got to the room no Mini Bar. Had to order beer to the room and got screwed with cost. Also when we got into room there were no towels
Service around the pool terrible, took an hour to get a drink
We ordered ice at night to the room and sometimes it took 2 hours sometimes it just didnt arrive
So called private beach doesn’t exist, you can't walk anywhere and have to rely on Taxi’s or Grabs which a lot of time you can’t get due to the demand.
Local Bus service sometimes comes sometimes doesn’t.
The place has a certain Stench about it, pool is dirty and sometimes loaded with Acid, where it stings your eye’s.
Quite often after Breakfast my partner and I had to rush to the toilet, by the end of our stay we only had fruit and toast.
The location of this place is a huge problem and would not return even if it was free!
The staff unfortunately don’t have a good grasp of English and seem to be mostly trainees
One plus we had a lovely room with a great view
Also check your final bill we were charged for internet each day that wasn’t explained and also have charges we have been querying for a week now without any follow up from the hotel
Not a 5 star holiday experience prob a 3 at best
Would not recommend
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Dearer rooms have good views of water
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DoubleTreePenang, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Penang
Responded 23 Mar 2020
Dear Humejwm, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. While I'm happy you were pleased with our accommodation, I regret to note that our services throughout your stay fell short of your expectations, including the delays you endured as well as the lapse in our housekeeping service standards. I share your disappointment and sincerely apologise on behalf of the team for these shortfalls. Rest assured your constructive comments will be relayed to our respective department heads for further improvement. Your well-meaning feedback on our team's verbiage is also much appreciated and well noted. Regarding our minibar, however, we do provide a menu for it and it will be filled upon request. With respect to guests' accessibility to nearby facilities and shops, we also offer daily shuttle services to George Town and Batu Ferringhi on top of our hotel limos for your convenience. I apologise if these were not relayed to you earlier! As for Internet access, if I may explain, free WiFi is available outside of public spaces with a Hilton Honors membership which is a simple (and free-of-charge) sign-up away. We do offer different packages for non-members. However, if you could elaborate upon this and write to me at karim.schadlou@hilton.com, I'd be glad to personally assist you and investigate this matter further. I hope we'll have another opportunity in the future to welcome you back for a renewed stay and deliver the true Hilton experience you deserve. Sincerely, Karim Schadlou General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Wendy S
Brisbane, Australia826 contributions70 helpful votes
I'm unsure but email the hotel as they will know. Great place to visit.
Minnie M asked a question Apr 2023
Singapore, Singapore48 contributions58 helpful votes
How is the breakfast buffet? Are there many options for westerners?
Answer from Nigel E
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom2 contributions
The breakfast buffet is varied to meet all tastes.
Answer from Shafiq Ghazie
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia1,095 contribution469 helpful votes
Yes you can. Contact the hotel direct for options. Price varies.
Camper29803497473 wrote a tip 14 Jul
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"High floor with ocean views are stunning "
Read full review
Stay60114717191 wrote a tip 13 Jul
7 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Booking from other platform other than Hilton Honors seem to be treated better."
Read full review
arvin m wrote a tip Jun 2024
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia8 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pool gets crowded fast so find a suitable time, early morning is best. You can always walk to the beach too. Food by Grab is available"
Read full review
mark P wrote a tip Jun 2024
60 contributions25 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is chargeable at MYR3 per day The beach section is across the road, rocky and small "
Read full review
megatfarish wrote a tip Jun 2024
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia50 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The parking space in the multi level parking building is limited. If full still can park along the roadside without worry of police summon"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Batu Ferringhi area.
PRICE RANGE
$116 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MalaysiaPenangPenang IslandBatu Ferringhi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
316
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DOUBLETREE RESORT BY HILTON HOTEL PENANG - Reviews & Price Comparison (Batu Ferringhi, Malaysia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Penang
Which popular attractions are close to DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Penang?
Nearby attractions include Escape Penang (6.8 km), The Habitat Penang Hill (6.1 km), and Entopia (6.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Penang?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Penang?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Penang?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Penang?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Penang?
Conveniently located restaurants include Orinea Restaurant, Knife and Fork Restaurant, and Healy Mac's Irish Bar & Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Penang?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Penang have airport transportation?
Yes, DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Penang offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Penang?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Penang offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Penang?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, and Malay.
All Batu Ferringhi HotelsBatu Ferringhi Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Batu FerringhiHotels near DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Penang
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire