Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport

21 Carroll Street, Tongariro National Park 3989 New Zealand
bedroom
Traveller (157)
Room & Suite (47)
On the run Meal 18$
Dining (15)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Tue, 28 May
Get rewarded with One Key
$121
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 motel in Tongariro National Park
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Hi and Welcome to Adventure National Park. Gillian and John (ex army) are a small family run business and welcome you to their lodge and motels in National Park Village. We cater for families, family reunions, schools, groups, and the independent traveler. Your choice of deluxe one bedroom units with King size beds, standard studio motel units with Queen Size Beds and private facilities which now include over 52 sky channels with MY SKY GUEST SELECT in every unit. Our budget lodge rooms with double beds, Twin share, and family rooms, shared bathrooms, lounge and kitchen. Bed and Breakfast options available. Comfortable warm beds, Sky TV in lodge also has MY SKY GUEST SELECT , a drying room, Internet and free wireless access available, large open fire, Breakfast and a packed lunch available. Department of Conservation authorized shuttle to and from the Tongariro Crossing departing daily weather dependent, let us take care of you with our Tongariro Freedom Package.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Breakfast available
Canoeing
Hiking
Books, DVDs, music for children
Shuttle bus service
Secured parking
Wifi
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Horseback riding
Skiing
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Spa
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Room features
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English, German

Location

21 Carroll Street, Tongariro National Park 3989 New Zealand
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 58 out of 100
58
Taupo Airport
76.2 km
See all flights
Auckland Intl Airport
246.3 km
See all flights
840Reviews8Q+A98Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 558
  • 214
  • 40
  • 16
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Valentina V wrote a review Oct 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Adventure Lodge and Motel is an excellent location in the National Park, walking distance to supermarket, bars and restaurants. The owners are fantastic people, incredibly helpful and genuine, going over and above to make guests feel home away from home. I stayed in a wonderful very spacious motel unit, with a very comfortable mattress, fully equipped kitchen, excellent room heating, a host of TV channels. They have a range of transportation vehicles, which you can book the night before your trip at very reasonable prices to almost any destination in the area and flexibility for pickup and return times. If you book directly at their website you get a fabulous breakfast, really substantial, comes with a small bottle of juice too; I recommend the vegetarian option. The property also has a large with large living room and dining area where you can catch up and socialise with other guests, as well as a shared fully equipped kitchen. I loved the tall wooden ceiling and room decorations. It was my third stay there and I am definitely a committed returning visitor. I strongly recommend this place! Thank you John and Jill for a wonderful time!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gillian Visser, General Manager at Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport
Responded 20 Oct 2020
Hi Valentina, thanks so much for this wonderful review of us - you made our day!!!! we hope you can come back soon Gill John and the whole team!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JoonasHM wrote a review Jan 2020
Helsinki, Finland75 contributions16 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We choose this motel based on the close proximity to the Tongariro crossing, and that our chosen crossing shuttle stopped in front of the Motel. One another reason that I can give to choose this place is the people running it. They are lovely people. We got all sort of tips from them during our stay.

The only downside is that the bigger Lodge building where we stayed for one night is a bit old, and therefore anything that you say in your room is audible to the next room. We used earplugs to get sleep. Also, the bathroom windows open to the outside dining area, which is not ideal. The bathrooms could use a bit of refurbishment on the part of the showers. They are not bad, just old.

I would still recommend this place regardless if you are doing the Tongariro crossing or not 😊
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from thetongarirocrossing, Manager at Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport
Responded 6 Jan 2020
thanks for this review of us - yes the lodge is old but full of character - and the main thing very clean for an old building - we do offer more modern accommodation on the other side in that we have self contained units with your own bathroom and kitchen - you could have booked here but the prices are dearer than the lodge. thanks for recommending us - we do appreciate it
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rich wrote a review Feb 2021
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had the greatest time at the Adventure Lodge: the staff were extremely friendly and organised our transfers and breakfasts with a minimum of fuss. We were also given some local ideas for dinner and went to the Station as recommended by the staff and we were totally impressed. Our room was spacious enough and the facilities were clean and tidy. We paid separately for our breakfast but it was a great way to get some energy before our fantastic shuttle driver took us to the start of the Tongariro Crossing, talking non stop for the whole trip, full of useful tidbits and local history. We had several pick up times at the other end to choose from and were delighted when we (just) made the one we were aiming for and then had a quick, air conditioned trip back to the lodge. There again the staff were amazing, letting us have a shower to wash off the accumulated dust for a nominal fee. Overall it was a great relaxed and friendly stay at the Lodge, and getting the transfers was totally worthwhile to avoid arranging getting picked up and dropped off. Whole heartedly recommend the lodge as a place to stay if doing the crossing or skiing from National Park. Next time I will also aim to book a spa!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gillian Visser, General Manager at Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport
Responded 8 Feb 2021
thanks so much for taking the time to write this amazing review of us - you have truly made our week - all the staff are thrilled you were so happy - we do try so hard to achieve this! best wishes for the rest of 2021 and beyond
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Demetrio V wrote a review Jan 2020
Shanghai, China78 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is ideal if you want to take the Tongariro Alpine crossing since you can directly book the shuttle with them. The price is the same as other companies but booking with the hotel gives you the right to leave the car safely parked there, which is very good if you have already done your check out and the luggage is left in the car.
The owners are super nice and welcoming, they give a lot of tips about the crossing and the history of the place.
Rooms are simple but cozy and very well equipped.
I highly recommend to stay there if you want to stop in Tongariro
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from thetongarirocrossing, Manager at Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport
Responded 27 Jan 2020
thanks so much we really appreciate this fantastic review - best wishes and happy travels
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elyscu wrote a review Jan 2020
Milan, Italy2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Our motel room needed throughout cleaning, and I can assure you we are not used to posh places. We had purchased the Tongariro Adventure Package in advance, inclusive of shuttle bus to the Crossing, two nights and two breakfast + 1 packed lunch. The breakfast on the day of the Crossing was supposed to be fully cooked, while it was delivered to us wrapped in tin foil on the night before, and we were supposed to heat it up in the microwave. We ended up not doing the Crossing because of the weather, and the place was so miserable that left after 1 night
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from thetongarirocrossing, Owner at Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport
Responded 9 Jan 2020
Hi there we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us - as you can see by all the other reviews 99% of people love us - you would have got your full cooked breakfast on the second day - the fully cooked breakfast on the day of the crossing we have chosen to do the second day - and a smaller breakfast on the day of the crossing - most people love this - that day you got it the night before is because our cooking staff were unwell - so we decided to deliver to you night prior - this was a one off situation where we did not have the manpower on duty. most people mentioned how clean we are here so find it very unusual your room was not up to your standards - we will try harder to improve - best wishes but we are very disappointed on your very low harsh score of us - when your review is surrounded by scores of perfect
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katherine M wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the lodge for this visit, in the past we have also stayed in a motel unit, would highly recommend both. The staff are always very helpful and friendly, the facilities including the fully equipped kitchen are warm, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Breakfast can be provided, the Bircher Muesli is 10/10 and powered us to walk the Tongariro Crossing. Dutchie who drives the shuttle is fun and informative and no matter how long you take to walk the crossing will come back to collect you.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gillian Visser, General Manager at Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport
Responded 23 Mar 2021
Thankyou Katherine for this fantastic review! We loved having you stay with us and so glad you enjoyed the Bircher!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Happyguest611 wrote a review Mar 2020
Hitchin8 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for two nights at Adventure Lodge in order to do the Tongariro crossing and it was 100% the best place to stay to do this trip! We booked direct and took the tongariro freedom package which was really good value as you are very well looked after and have everything you need to get you prepared for a great hike.

Gillian and John work tirelessly to make sure that your stay is perfect and they really have thought of everything to make it as convenient as possible. Before we head off for the trek, Gillian delivered us the most delicious breakfast roll and our packed lunch which she had especially made vegetarian for us which we really appreciated.

Their shuttle to the start of the crossing left at 7am which was perfect for us and we really enjoyed John's stories and tips on the way. As promised, he was there to pick us up again at the end!

There is a guest kitchen that has good amenities like a fridge, gas hobs, pots and pans etc so you can easily take some food and cook yourself a good carb-loading meal the night before if you want, if not there are a handful of restaurants just round the corner.

In reception they have a selection of boots, hats, gloves and other bits and bobs that you can borrow, or if you need a different size right opposite Adventure Lodge is a great ski/hike rental shop where you can rent boots, jackets or anything else you need for reasonable day prices.

All in all, I wouldn't stay anywhere else to do Tongariro and I will be recommending Gillian and John's hospitality to anyone I know going ot NZ because it can't be topped! Thank you for being such wonderful hosts!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gillian Visser, General Manager at Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport
Responded 16 Mar 2020
THANKYOU so much we are absolutely thrilled with your review and yes we do work tirelessly trying to make our guests stay a happy and comfortable one - we don' t have flash accommodation but try to make up for it with cleanliness and everything in its place as it should be. Gillian, John and the team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Debbie R wrote a review Mar 2020
24 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for two nights in February solely with the aim of doing the Tongariro Crossing. Luckily, the weather was very good and we had a great day walk. The motel is ideally suited for this purpose and we used the transport provided (at a cost) to get to and from the walk. The motel is clean and comfortable and the rooms are quite big; however, it is a little dated. It’s within easy walking distance of the local bars and restaurant; the local garage has a surprisingly good stock in its shop.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gillian Visser, General Manager at Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport
Responded 12 Mar 2020
thanks we are looking to update the rooms this winter when it is quieter we are well situated in town for walking to restaurants thats for sure
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Two1B wrote a review Dec 2019
National Park Village, New Zealand11 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for the Tongariro hike and would recommend this place to anyone. Had a great time staying at the adventure lodge, the owners were very knowledgeable of the track and helped in every way possible.

We had the breakfast and lunch prepared for us (breakfast was a bacon and egg muffin but tasted 10000x better than any from McDonalds ) and lunch was fruits, sandwich, plenty of water and Musli bars.

The lodge itself is very clean as well.

Adventure lodge also has a shuttle bus to and from tongariro which was great. The lodge is also conveniently placed in short driving distance to Schnapps bar& restaurant (best bang for buck ribs) and tawhai falls.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from thetongarirocrossing, Owner at Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport
Responded 3 Jan 2020
Hi thanks for your great review and so happy you enjoyed our freedom package which you can book direct through our website. best wishes
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bruce Y wrote a review Jan 2020
7 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent base for exploring Tongariro National Park and hiking the Tongariro Crossing. We had a room with its own bathroom, which all worked fine, we got excellent advice on the big hike and were very impressed by the logistical support, which showed real care for the customers safety. It was very obvious from the distressed and inexperienced hikers we met along the way that some operatives are less well motivated.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gillian Visser, General Manager at Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport
Responded 29 Jan 2021
Thanks for your excellent review Bruce, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay and transport to the crossing with us and hope to see you again soon. -Tash
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from tongarirocrossing
New Plymouth, New Zealand21 contributions10 helpful votes
Hi there, you could come down by train which is lovely but it only goes on certain days then catch train to Wellington - or you can come by bus from Auckland - The Naked Bus or get to Taupo and we would come pick you up - there is a cost to this though email me at Adventure Lodge - with more details of where you would travel after you leave us and I will give you better details of which one to catch Gillian
Answer from tongarirocrossing
New Plymouth, New Zealand21 contributions10 helpful votes
hi there it all depends on the wind on the red crater - we usually go at 7.30 am so if the wind is low we go then but if it calms down later in day we go about an hour or so later so everyone can walk over the red crater to the other side otherwise they would just walk up and have to walk back down again. I hope this answers your questions.
Answer from tongarirocrossing
New Plymouth, New Zealand21 contributions10 helpful votes
thanks must have missed this one...
Answer from tongarirocrossing
New Plymouth, New Zealand21 contributions10 helpful votes
Yes you can book adventure lodge new zealand
Snohotribe asked a question Mar 2016
Snohomish, Washington17 contributions1 helpful vote
Also wondering about transport to and from the train ...
Frederik G wrote a tip Apr 2024
Olomouc Region, Czech Republic2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you plan a stay in National Park for the Tongariro Alpine Crossinf, do it here with Freedom package! Trust me"
Read full review
Fred S wrote a tip Mar 2024
4 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Motel rooms better lodge rooms if you are not comfortable with shared facilities."
Read full review
Elaine A wrote a tip Feb 2024
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We used the on-site laundry."
Read full review
ZMos wrote a tip Feb 2024
Sydney6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book the spa at reception"
Read full review
Christine S wrote a tip Dec 2023
Korumburra, Australia4 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking easy accessible as are facilities"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tongariro National Park area.
PRICE RANGE
$98 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
adventure hotel tongariro national park, adventure lodge and motel
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandManawatu-Wanganui RegionTongariro National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ADVENTURE LODGE AND MOTELS AND TONGARIRO CROSSING TRACK TRANSPORT - Now $100 (Was $̶1̶4̶0̶) - UPDATED 2024 Motel Reviews & Price Comparison (Tongariro National Park, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport
Which popular attractions are close to Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport?
Nearby attractions include Schnapps Mini Golf (0.3 km), Raurimu Gravel Piles (5.6 km), and Roy Turner Memorial Playground (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a spa, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, barbeque facilities, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Station Cafe and Restaurant, Schnapps Bar, and The Spiral Restaurant & Bar.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Raurimu Gravel Piles (5.6 km).
Is Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Tongariro National Park HotelsTongariro National Park Hotel DealsHotels near Adventure Lodge and Motels and Tongariro Crossing Track Transport
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire