Pipers Lodge
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Pipers Lodge

Wings
Traveller (40)
Bunks
Room & Suite (25)
Breakfast
Dining (11)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 2 hostels in Tongariro National Park
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Pipers Lodge is a family owned and operated business established in 1966. Set up originally for skiers and their needs, Pipers have always supplied a transport service, accommodation and meals making us a one stop shop. In the summer we transport guests to and from the Tongariro Crossing and in the winter we have a transport service from our front door to the ski fields. Pipers have an in house ski rental, ski shop,bar,games room and 3 spa pools. With all these amenities under one roof, Pipers is a fantastic place for families, groups, couples and individuals as there is something here for everyone. Let your hosts, Bruce and Dianne look after you on your next Mt Ruapehu- Tongariro escape. Set in the heart of National Park, Pipers Lodge boasts a relaxing hot tub and an onsite bar and restaurant. Guests can socialise in the shared lounge and warm up by the fireplace. Pipers Lodge Accommodation is a 10-minute walk from National Park Train Station. Turangi is 41 km away. There is an onsite games room offering table tennis, billiards and arcade games. Nearby activities include skiing, hiking and cycling – you can rent bicycles and ski equipment at the property. Transport to Tongariro Alpine Crossing is available daily. All rooms are heated. They offer access to shared bathroom facilities. The family room has a TV and mountain views.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Game room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Baggage storage
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Ski rentals
Skiing
Billiards
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English

Location

18 Millar Street, Tongariro National Park New Zealand
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 58 out of 100
58
Taupo Airport
76.3 km
See all flights
Auckland Intl Airport
246.3 km
See all flights
162Reviews0Q+A23Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 89
  • 52
  • 13
  • 5
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
RoamingGirlxx wrote a review Jan 2021
Worldwide57 contributions23 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 2 nights as part of a group of 30 doing the crossing. Rooms were clean and tidy with bunks as expected, but have to say they were the most comfortable bunks I've ever slept in. Bathroom was clean and shower hot. Kitchen was good with everything we needed to make a meal and fridge was clean and well organised with regular checks for unused food. The owners were really friendly and helpful. There is a laundry and drying room if needed, and you can get food and even a packed lunch. Would definitely stay again if I was in the area, great value. Recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mshellk27 wrote a review Jan 2020
Boston, Massachusetts21 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Piper’s for 2 nights while doing the Tongariro Alpine Crossing. It was absolutely perfect for what we were doing with great proximity to the mountains and a package including breakfast, a packed lunch, and transportation to and from the crossing. We loved that they had a bar and restaurant on site, which was great after a rigorous day-long hike. The food was excellent, and the ambiance of a warm fireplace was also really nice. Great amenities including hot tubs and laundry. The rooms were no frills but were clean and exactly what we needed. The owner and staff were helpful, accommodating and very responsive. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from bruce998, Owner at Pipers Lodge
Responded 9 Jan 2020
Thanks very much for your feedback..especially this feedback it’s much appreciated. Cheers Bruce
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anonymous wrote a review Mar 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Piper's Lodge is fantastic. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there. The whole lodge was spotless and I found it very comforting to be staying in such a clean place. The food was absolutely delectable, the servings were generous and there was a great variety in what was served. The staff were some of the most friendly people ever, they were very happy to help with anything and in general put their all into making sure that visitors were happy and comfortable. I would 100% recommend Piper's Lodge to anyone wanting to stay in the TVC area.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Akuila Kula, General Manager at Pipers Lodge
Responded 14 Jan 2023
Kia Ora, There is little we can add other than to say how thankful that you enjoyed your stay with us and found it all to be above and beyond your expectations. We look forward to looking after you and your loved ones yet again in a not too distant future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LindaH72 wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom161 contributions65 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked the lodge quite late, having not decided where to stay that night, and arrived literally 5 minutes after booking.
The reception staff had received the booking and swiftly checked us in.
We had a small family room (?) with a double bed and bunk beds.
The bedroom and en suite bathroom were dated, but clean and functional.
The door locks weren’t brilliant, but the lodge was quiet and felt safe.
Good car parking area.
Good guest kitchen. Nice lounge area.
WiFi good in the lounge but non existent in our bedroom.
Great location for walks around the National Park.
Friendly and helpful staff.
Price was fair for a back packer type accommodation.
Our only complaint was the extremely noisy fan in the bathroom. Which came on automatically with the light switch. Not ideal in the middle of the night.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from bruce998, Owner at Pipers Lodge
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Thanks very much for your feedback, we will address your concerns. Regards Bruce.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Beth W wrote a review Feb 2022
7 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Be warned, this place is under new ownership since previous reviews.
First of all booking a room was a massive hassle. Multiple emails acting as if it was the first time I’d contacted them and no answer on calling the phone number, the room I thought I’d previously booked not being available and a refusal to do some of the packages that were advertised on their website.
We arrived and the shuttle which I had asked multiple times about in the email had not been booked and the hot tub was not available.
The place looked incredibly tired and run down.
Next we were given a room with a broken lock and they did not offer us an alternative room despite asking as none were available (we were the only people staying)
Our room remained without a lock overnight and into the next day when we were out waking.
When we returned from our walk the room was locked and our key had been removed from us the night before.
No one was available at reception and despite ringing the number and being told someone would be with me any minute, no one came for over an hour.
The customer service was appalling, we have been refused any refund for no lock on our room and they intermittently reply to my emails.
The place itself is very run down, tired and not at all like the photos.
I will certainly not be recommending this place or staying again. It was incredibly unpleasant and stressful.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Akuila Kula, General Manager at Pipers Lodge
Responded 14 Jan 2023
Hi Berth, Am sorry you had to go through what you went through when you last stayed at Pipers. You're correct in saying that Pipers under new owners however note a new and very experience team is now in operations at Pipers. We have taken everything you've raised and worked on them so we can better look after our loyal guests. Thank you and we hope you can get to return someday to experience our new improved service & facilities.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah M wrote a review Feb 2020
Shoreham, United Kingdom51 contributions62 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The owner saved us when Tongariro Crossing Shuttles cancelled our transfer & did not tell us :( The owner did not want us to miss the hike so she very kindly drove us out there & arranged a return transfer. Service way & beyond & will be forever grateful. The lodge is very quaint & the food good. Thank you Pipers!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve wrote a review Mar 2021
Wellington, New Zealand2 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for a couple of nights to do the Tongario crossing. Bruce and hosts were extremely gracious and accommodating. He upgraded our accommodation for free and provided us complimentary breakfast. The beds were comfortable and rooms warm. They have hot tubs for soaking after the crossing and complimentary tea and coffee. There's also a bar on premises if you're after a cold one. Thanks again Bruce!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
peterfrombangor wrote a review Feb 2020
Plymouth, United Kingdom35 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a very good place to stay if you plan to do the Tongariro Crossing.

Debbie had useful advice and lent me a beanie (bring your own, and gloves!) Her son, on his second day working there after graduating, was learning fast. Unexpected surprise - a big group of geography undergraduates who were on field trip. I liked my conversations with them in the hot tub room and sat in on their seminar in the lounge after supper - Bruce stood me a glass of wine to compensate for not having a quiet evening.

Useful facilities - the kitchen with a big fridge, the drying room and laundry room. Parking right next to your room was great, and it was good to be away from the busy through road with big trucks.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Acineto wrote a review Sept 2023
Auckland Central, New Zealand23,147 contributions825 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were looking for a place to stay overnight on a weekend during the winter season and was able to get a room here. The lodge is located in National Park village, about 15 minutes away from Whakapapa.
They did have a bit of parking on site but it was full so we ended up on the road. Check in was easy enough as we arrived before reception closed at 2100. You book room in the lodge so there wasn't a way to book single beds like a backpackers. They had other facilities like a hot drink station and drying rooms. There were also a bathroom with plenty of stalls so there wasn't any waiting involved.
The place did look a little dated but it was quite comfortable. The rooms had beds and shelving for items. The lounge was quite large and they had an arcade room in the back. There was an in house restaurant in the dining room which was good to know since dining options in National Park is quite limited. The room booking also came with continental breakfast.
It was quite a nice place to stay and would be keen to stay again in the future. Great value for money particularly with breakfast included.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Lounge area gets busy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Akuila Kula, General Manager at Pipers Lodge
Responded 24 Sept 2023
Kia ora, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We're delighted to note that you enjoyed our facilities and the hospitality rendered to you by our friendly team.We look forward to taking care of you and your loved ones again in a not too distant future. Again, Thank you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fearless44515757212 wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Change of management has just recently happened and is now finalized and the new staff is so kind! I stayed two days at the lodge and didn’t have any problems. There’s a full kitchen to make food in, a big lounge area to relax in with coffee hot chocolate and tea for you. En-suite room was perfect and they even made me a lunch for the Tongariro crossing. Shuttle comes and picks you up right in front of the lodge too. No complaints.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Akuila Kula, General Manager at Pipers Lodge
Responded 25 Jan 2023
Hi Emilie, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Pipers. Thank you for appreciating the service rendered by the team. & we're pleased to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you, your families & friends again some time in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Acineto wrote a tip Sept 2023
Auckland Central, New Zealand23,147 contributions825 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lounge area gets busy"
Read full review
Ram J wrote a tip Feb 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are very good, almost all with verandas and views."
Read full review
M W wrote a tip Jul 2022
7 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"I would not choose this lodge again"
Read full review
kelznz wrote a tip Aug 2019
Wellington, New Zealand160 contributions58 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The upstairs family rooms are more spacious than the downstairs ones but the upstairs bathrooms are in poor condition."
Read full review
Steve K wrote a tip Feb 2019
146 contributions49 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go elsewhere"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tongariro National Park area.
PRICE RANGE
$133 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandManawatu-Wanganui RegionTongariro National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PIPERS LODGE - Hostel Reviews & Price Comparison (Tongariro National Park) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Pipers Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Pipers Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Schnapps Mini Golf (0.3 km), Raurimu Gravel Piles (5.6 km), and Roy Turner Memorial Playground (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Pipers Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a lounge, free parking, and kids activities.
What food & drink options are available at Pipers Lodge?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Pipers Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pipers Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Station Cafe and Restaurant, Schnapps Bar, and The Spiral Restaurant & Bar.
Are there any historical sites close to Pipers Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Raurimu Gravel Piles (5.6 km).
All Tongariro National Park HotelsTongariro National Park Hotel DealsHotels near Pipers Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire