Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Kamahi Cottage

229 Barber Road Otewa, Otorohanga 3975 New Zealand
Traveller (216)
Views from the lounge downstairs at Kamahi Cottage
Room & Suite (85)
Liz's beautifully set table.
Dining (35)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#1 of 4 B&Bs in Otorohanga
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Kamahi Cottage is a 5-Star self-contained B&B and farm stay cottage. It's just 30 minutes from the world-famous Waitomo glowworm caves, Black Water Rafting and "Lost World" adventures. The cottage is a private and peaceful romantic retreat in a lovely country garden with stunning views of the valley below. There is an upstairs queen bedroom, a large downstairs bathroom, a fully equipped kitchenette, a lounge and a dining area. A comfortable queen sofa-sleeper sleeps 2 extra guests downstairs. (Max. 4 guests, children are very welcome). Rates include full gourmet breakfasts (continental style + your choice of seven cooked dishes). Privately catered 2 & 3-course dinners are available by prior arrangement (extra charges apply). Travel times: Auckland International Airport - 2.5 hours, Otorohanga (the nearest town) 15 minutes, Waitomo (30 minutes) Hobbiton Movie Set - 1.25 hours, Hamilton city & gardens - 1 hour, Rotorua - 2 hours, Taupo - 2 hours.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Fishing
Highchairs available
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Patio
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Umbrella
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Minibar
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, German

Location

229 Barber Road Otewa, Otorohanga 3975 New Zealand
Getting there
Hamilton Airport
43.3 km
See all flights
Auckland Intl Airport
145.3 km
See all flights
268Reviews1Q+A31Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 261
  • 5
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Nora C wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The cottage is comfortable and our hosts delightful. Breakfast was delicious with home made preserves and bread along with fresh fruit. We chose a continental breakfast but Liz will make what you like. We also enjoyed the option of dinner with Evan and Liz. She is an excellent cook and we highly recommend this option. The cottage is secluded with breathtaking views of the valley.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ElisabethC1474, Owner at Kamahi Cottage
Responded 30 Jan 2020
Thank you very much for your feedback. We really enjoyed meeting you both
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AT35 wrote a review Jan 2020
Brisbane, Australia17 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had such a beautiful time at Kamahi cottage. Liz was amazing host and the accommodation lovely.
In the late afternoon we wondered through Liz beautiful garden and ate dinner on the veranda watching the sunset.
Wish we stayed an extra night,
Thank you Liz for sharing your beautiful property and your generous hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage
Responded 23 Jan 2020
You are so very welcome. It was lovely meeting you. Thank you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Baynard wrote a review Mar 2020
Frogpool, United Kingdom16 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a truly lovely cottage hideaway, very comfortable, well equipped and within easy reach of the caves. Liz and Evan were very charming and welcoming hosts. Liz's breakfasts and dinners were delicious. After a busy day of sightseeing we would thoroughly recommend the comfy hammocks on the veranda to unwind over a glass of wine and enjoy the amazing views.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage
Responded 18 Mar 2020
Thank you. I will follow your advice and sit in the hammocks myself with a glass of wine some evening!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kevin wrote a review Sept 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a wonderful stay at Kamahi Cottage! Owner Liz was so welcoming and provided everything needed for a truly delightful visit. The cottage is in a beautiful location and is quiet, well-furnished, and very comfortable. It is a real treasure!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elisabeth Cowan, Owner at Kamahi Cottage
Responded 13 Sept 2022
Thanks so much. It was a real pleasure meeting you both.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen D wrote a review Mar 2023
Moneta, Virginia36 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Overwhelmingly beautiful scenery, private cottage, grazing sheep, peaceful relaxation and gracious hosts. The breakfast was amazing. Best French toast ever! Conversation with the hosts was scintillating!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elisabeth Cowan, Owner at Kamahi Cottage
Responded 8 Mar 2023
Loved meeting you, Karen. Can't wait to check out your children's story books too!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
103Ted103 wrote a review Sept 2020
Christchurch, New Zealand2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was the perfect place for us feel like we got away without having to go very far. We did not have to worry about anything with Liz and Evan being the perfect hosts. We highly recommend Liz's fantastic cooking and this beautiful spot.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elisabeth Cowan, Owner at Kamahi Cottage
Responded 7 Sept 2020
It was wonderful to be able to welcome you both in these chaotic times.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DavisonWanderers wrote a review Dec 2023
Auburn, Maine7 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We made a point of returning here after staying four years ago. The host, Liz, is warm, caring, and a magnificent cook. This quiet cottage is surrounded by not only her glorious gardens but acres of farming country and amazing stars at night. Yet so much is nearby for the curious.
We can't recommend this enough for soaking up peaceful hours and marveling at New Zealand's beauty.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elisabeth Cowan, Owner at Kamahi Cottage
Responded 7 Dec 2023
It was so lovely to see you again. Have a wonderful Christmas!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sjlavender wrote a review Jan 2021
Brisbane, Australia102 contributions85 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Liz and Evan are fabulous and generous hosts and understand the commitment required to run a luxury B&B. The little extras are 5-star and the hospitality best to none. Would absolutely recommend, is the sort of B&B to sit and breathe and rest and soak up the views, thanks again Liz and Evan we had a fabulous stay and highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Steep flight of stairs to loft bedroom so no accessibility for immobile persons
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elisabeth Cowan, Owner at Kamahi Cottage
Responded 22 Jan 2021
Thanks so much. It was a real pleasure meeting you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
stevej58 wrote a review May 2006
Woodgate Beach Australia3 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Finding quality accommodation in rural areas of New Zealand can be difficult. What a discovery then is Kamahi cottage nestled in the beautiful King Country just north of Waitomo. We have been fortunate to have stayed at Kamahi cottage twice in the past 12 months and enjoyed not only the luxury accommodation on offer, but experienced some of the most hospitable and generous hosts (the Cowan family) that you could ever meet. This part of rural New Zealand has some spectacular scenery as well some fantastic local attractions such as the spellbound glowworm caves, blackwater rafting, Altura wildlife park (which our 7 yr old daughter loved) horsetreks, open gardens, the Kiwi House in Otorohanga ( much better than the one at Rotorua); there is also some great art, craft and galleries within a short drive.

Kamahi cottage is part of a working farm located adjacent to the owner’s house, but with complete privacy and self contained facilities. The cottage sits on a hill with breathtaking rural views from the front deck and also from the loft style bedroom. Liz’s magnificent breakfasts can be eaten in the cottage or served in the family dining room in the main house. Dinners are available by arrangement and I’d recommend guests take this option for sure; not only for Liz's great cooking but to sit around their dining table and enjoy the company of Liz and Evan as well as to share their local knowledge of tours and places worth visiting. Every time we returned to the cottage from a day out, there would a little surprise of delicious home baked goodies waiting. If you have forgotten to bring a bottle of wine; no problem, the cottage has its own cellar selection with some of NZs best wine labels to choose from. Nothing seems to be too much trouble at Kamahi and any request is attended to without fuss. The only problem with Kamahi cottage – finding somewhere as good to stay when you leave!
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lovetojourney wrote a review Sept 2011
Melbourne, Australia321 contributions454 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent one night at Kamahi Cottage in July 2011 and agree that the cottage, surrounding country-side, and cooked breakfast are all beautiful. However we found it very expensive, especially when paying an extra $60 for our teenage son. Obviously we knew how much we were paying and thought it would be worth the splurge. Unfortunately the fold out sofa bed was not long enough for our 6 foot tall teenager, so we had to put the mattress on the floor so he could spread out diagonally. The website claims the cottage can cater for 4 people - I would suggest 2 of those people would need to be very small to manage that sofa bed.

It was difficult to get around when the sofa bed was open, the living area is quite snug. The toilet seat was not correctly affixed and moved. When paying five star prices one expects a plentiful supply of provisions but there was only enough ground coffee for one (luckily my husband drinks tea) and the famous home-made lemonade bottle was near empty. Yes we could have asked for these to be replenished but such an establishment should be well prepared and generous. Some people, like us, just don't like asking for things.

Yes Kamahi Lodge is lovely but for $415 for one night we really expected five star standard in all respects. Our son complained that it was the most uncomfortable bed he had in New Zealand and it should be noted that all the other hotels we stayed in were half the cost of Kamahi.

I just don't feel we got our money's worth.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2011
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kamoto, Owner at Kamahi Cottage
Responded 22 Sept 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback. We're sorry that you were disappointed, as we clearly indicate pricing and amenities in the cottage to avoid promises that can't be met. I was very grateful that you felt able to advise me of your son's food intolerances, so that I could buy the special spelt flour needed. Please accept my apologies for the inadequate supply of coffee and lemonade. We always try to make guests feel comfortable enough to point out any shortcomings we can remedy during your stay...we are very happy to go the extra mile.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Elisabeth C
Otorohanga8 contributions
Unfortunately Kamahi Cottage only has one queen bedroom upstairs with a queen sofa sleeper downstairs. Thank you for your interest. Kind regards Elisabeth Cowan
sjlavender wrote a tip Jan 2021
Brisbane, Australia102 contributions85 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Steep flight of stairs to loft bedroom so no accessibility for immobile persons"
Read full review
Voyage 34 wrote a tip Jul 2019
Cleveland, Ohio105 contributions45 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is only one room."
Read full review
Brenda P wrote a tip Apr 2019
7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Private cottage in the grounds which can also be self-catering"
Read full review
Geoffrey B wrote a tip Mar 2019
Santa Maria, California64 contributions27 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"only one available, can't mess that up"
Read full review
Ally W wrote a tip Jan 2019
30 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"One room accommodation"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Otorohanga area.
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandWaikato RegionOtorohanga
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KAMAHI COTTAGE - B&B Reviews (Otorohanga) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Kamahi Cottage
What are some of the property amenities at Kamahi Cottage?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Kamahi Cottage?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Kamahi Cottage?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Kamahi Cottage?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kamahi Cottage?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
All Otorohanga HotelsOtorohanga Hotel DealsHotels near Kamahi Cottage
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire