We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Caves Motor Inn

Agoda.comUS$87*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$87*
Great Deal
US$88*
US$88*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Caves Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 78: English reviews
Start your review of Caves Motor Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I booked this room only a few hours before leaving Auckland to stay in the area for work the next day. I wasn't sure what I was in for? I arrived in the dark and it was hard to spot coming from north and did a dodgy u turn to get into the grounds. Had to go upstairs into the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tash L
worcester
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked this on the fly because we were visiting the Waitomo caves so needed accommodation close by. This place is threadbare, it needs a total refurbishment and a deep clean. The chalet accommodation was not fit for purpose, bedside lights didn't work, fridge didn't work. We visited the local supermarket to buy some fly repellent. We did not stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aholden862
cavesmi, Manager at Caves Motor Inn, responded to this review

I'm quiet disturbed with this review. I actually believe you have the wrong motel, as we don't have Chalet accommodation ... our motel is not threadbare and the rooms are clean.. this reflects in our previous reviews along with value for money. We have not had anyone book for two nights and check out early or complain with your issues...

Oxnard, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is about 10 minutes from the Waitomo Caves. The bed was HUGE and the room was spacious. Nice TV that worked and it was clean as well. I use ear plugs anyways as I'm a light sleeper and had no problems sleeping there even though it's behind the main road. It's basic but it fit my main travel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelinteacher1282
cavesmi, Manager at Caves Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Caves Motor Inn and for your positive review, we really appreciate the positive feedback Hope you had an enjoyable visit to our beautiful area, Glow Worm caves etc We would love to have you stay with us again when you are next in the area.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Small cabin like accommodation just down the road from Waitomo Caves. Reasonably priced compared to the higher priced accommodation in Waitomo. Dinner in restuarant was not too bad (not open Sundays though). Very poor Wi-Fi service.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matt T
cavesmi, Manager at Caves Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we do look at reviews with a positive constructive outcome in mind. Hope you enjoyed your visit to the area

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

The family room we have was good as there are 2bedrooms and a lounge..Funny looking sort of container-like cabins...Ear plugs provided, traffic noise not too bad, ...its ok for money if you are staying for a night or two as is near to Waitomo....abt..10 to 15 mins drive to the village. Half hour drive towardsTe Kuiti...abt slightly more than1hr to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jjasg10
cavesmi, Manager at Caves Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we trust you enjoyed your visit to the area.

Glasgow
Reviewed 1 April 2017

We were very pleased with our choice! No frills but very clean and comfortable. On basis of Trip Advisor reviews requested room at the back and we heard no noise from the road. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Good food in the restaurant at very reasonable price. Grounds were very well kept. Would return and recommend to others.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zhena
cavesmi, Manager at Caves Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to put up a nice review, its a pleasure to have appreciative guests such as your selves, and that you enjoyed your dining experience with us as well. We trust you enjoyed your visit to Waitomo, we would love to host you again when next in the area.

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 March 2017

Motel is very noisy even though we were in a unit up the back, definitely need to use your ear plugs they provide. We had to get our sheets changed as we found a spot of blood on them (however motel staff were accommodating) uncomfortable pillows, no hair dryer in the unit and only one iron in the whole complex...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lorainewitana
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 February 2017

The Caves Motor Inn is situated on State Highway 3 close to Waitomo. At the time we booked we didn't realise how far from anything it is if you don't have a vehicle. When we arrived at Otorohanga by train we took a taxi from the railway station and found that we couldn't walk places like we had planned because...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise A
cavesmi, Manager at Caves Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review it is really appreciated by staff and management. It’s always a pleasure to host guests such as yourself We trust you had a great holiday and if you are in the area we would love to have you stay again. :)

Retford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Bed was very comfortable but in order to get a good nights sleep you need to be profoundly deaf. They do provide ear plugs but even with these it is impossible to cut out the noise of the traffic and the trains, even in the middle of the night. Sadly this was our worst night's sleep throughout our entire tour...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris M
cavesmi, Manager at Caves Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, unfortunately some people are more sensitive to noise than others which is one of the reasons for the earplugs, other people have reviewed saying "earplugs not needed had a great nights sleep" !! sorry your stay was not the best ... hope your visit to the area was enjoyable

Terrigal, Australia
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed 1 night recently. We were delayed at airport and contacted the inn to let them know. They reassured us that they would be available after 8pm office closing time ( cleaning up in restaurant). We finally arrived 9.45pm and were welcomed warmly. Room was provided with ear plugs based on previous reviews saying the road noise was loud. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyn_traveller13
cavesmi, Manager at Caves Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to post your positive review ... really appreciate knowing that our customers had a great stay, I trust your visit to the area was enjoyable

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitomo Caves
6.4 km away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
507 reviews
5.3 km away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
234 reviews
0.3 km away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
503 reviews
6.0 km away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
372 reviews
9.2 km away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Caves Motor Inn

Address: 728 State Highway 3 | Hangatiki Junction, Waitomo Caves, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Price Range: $105 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Caves Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Caves Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Caves Motor Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Caves Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room at the back away from the road!”
zhena, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Wifi reception isn't good”
DeniseA399, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room at the back of the complex if you are a light sleeper”
scorps_sting, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Light sleepers should ask for a room up the back.”
ChrissiWood, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back may be quieter although with windows closed traffic noise may not be a problem”
maws4144, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$87*
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$88
Orbitz.comUS$88
Booking.comUS$88
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates