We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
121 Wanaka-Mount Aspiring Road PO Box 289, Wanaka 9305 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$79
View Deal
Free cancellation until 23/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$78
View Deal
Free cancellation until 23/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreams
US$79
View Deal
Free cancellation until 23/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.comUS$78
CheapTicketsUS$78
Hotels.comUS$78
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (47)
Room & Suite (19)
Dining (7)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#6 of 62 Speciality lodging in Wanaka
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
* Quality, wood-lined 12 bedroom Lodge * Large lounge with cosy wood-burning fire * Large modern, light kitchen/dining area with complimentary tea/coffee * All bedrooms have quality double beds together with a single or in some cases bunk beds as well * Friendly welcoming staff * Separate lounge * Internet available Unlimited Free* Drying room * Laundry * Store room * spa pool, barbecue for guests* Within easy walking distance of down town Wanaka * On the arterial route to probably NZ best 3 ski fields.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Hiking
Skiing
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Laundry service
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
177Reviews2Q+A22Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 134
  • 35
  • 5
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Cruiser537964 wrote a review Jul 2020
2 contributions
We stayed at Altamont lodge for 5 nights as part of a family show holiday. This lodge is in an excellent location for both Cardrona and Treble Cone, and is well equipped for snow sports with spa, drying room and tuning workshop. The lodge is extremely clean, well organised and the people were lovely. Value for money it is hard to beat. We will definitely be back next year.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Noeline Viney, Marketing at Altamont Lodge
Responded 23 Aug 2020
Hi guys - thanks for taking the time to review the lodge. We are glad you all enjoyed your stay. Hope you will return. Cheers Lynn and Jeff
Read more
stora_g wrote a review Jun 2020
Nelson, New Zealand24 contributions8 helpful votes
We found this extremely comfortable and spacious with excellent service, friendly and obliging. Good facilities for self catering. We have family living in Wanaka with very little space. The Altamont provided a very comfortable place to stay, independence and a place to host them with some home cooking.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Helpful
Share
Margo wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
Clean, peaceful, well equipped kitchen and close to town and lake within walking distance. Great way to meet other people and hear each others travel stories. Will be back again hopefully next year. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from NoelineV8, Manager at Altamont Lodge
Responded 9 Mar 2020
Hi Margo. Really glad you enjoyed your stay at the lodge....it is a peaceful atmosphere isn't. We will see you again soon. Cheers LYNN
Read more
Yumi F wrote a review Mar 2020
Auckland, New Zealand5 contributions1 helpful vote
Lots of space in lounge, kitchen, indoors and outdoor eating areas, Quiet rooms and halls Bonus outdoor jacuzzi Amenable staff We so much enjoyed our time at Wanaka and the Altamont felt like home. We cooked a dinner there and made 2 lovely breakfasts. Looking up at stars (Southern Cross) from back yard was a bonus !
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from NoelineV8, Manager at Altamont Lodge
Responded 6 Mar 2020
Hi guys..so glad you enjoyed your stay at the lodge....we hope you both return soon. Cheers Lynn and Jeff
Read more
Andy & Alice wrote a review Jan 2020
7 contributions
Up until the last hour of our 3 night stay we had a truly lovely stay here. It was ruined right at the end by the first interaction we'd had with the owner. We'd checked out of our room but were sitting in the communal garden after we'd already checked out an hour earlier. We got up to go and used the communal bathroom before our long drive ahead. It was at this point thay the owner said in a rude & abrupt manor 'have you paid for another night's stay here? If not, you shouldn't be in here and should have left.' Furthermore, the bag of food we had left in the fridge had been thrown away (presumably to teach us a lesson as we'd not left premesis by 10?) We hate food waste, so was really disappointed with the owners that they couldn't even have left the contents on the 'free food'
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from NoelineV8, Guest Relations Manager at Altamont Lodge
Responded 21 Jan 2020
Hi guys - we are sorry you are feeling let down by us. Check out is 10am - our policy is of the premises....we were only to happy for you to sit in our garden until 11am and we didn't say anything - sorry it doesn't give you right to go into the bathrooms after 11am and brush your teeth. Could this have done earlier. Jeff does apoligise if he sounded rude. Your food was not thrown away - it was transfered to another fridge so I could clean the one in the kitchen - you only had to ask me where it was and you have taken it away. It is still there if you want to come back and get it. Sorry about the spa pool - things do break down from time to time.... We don't live in the reception area. I am sure there would have been a notice up on the office door when you arrived. We can only apoligise and hope the rest of your trip went better. Cheers LYNN
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$61 - US$93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionWanaka
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing