We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages

1 Homestead Close, Wanaka 9305 New Zealand
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (201)
Room & Suite (69)
Dining (15)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 4 small hotels in Wanaka
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
If you’re looking for a charming small hotel in Wanaka, look no further than Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages. Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as That Wanaka Tree (0.2 mi) and Beacon Point Walk (0.9 mi), guests of Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages can easily experience some of Wanaka's most well known attractions. Rooms at Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages provide a flat screen TV and a refrigerator, and guests can stay connected with free wifi. In addition, while staying at Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages guests have access to baggage storage. You can also enjoy a hot tub! Need a place to park? Free parking is available at Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages. If you’re looking for a restaurant, consider a visit to Francesca’s Italian Kitchen, Bistro Gentil, or Muttonbird, which are all conveniently located a short distance from Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages. Cafes - Relishes, Kaiwhakapai, Federal Diner or Ritual, all offer beautiful breakfast options. Best of all, Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages makes it easy to experience some great Wanaka attractions like our ski fields - Cardrona or Treble Cone - in Winter, or Wild Wire or Bike Glendhu for the adventurous types in Summer! The staff at Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Bicycles available
Hiking
Books, DVDs, music for children
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Wifi
Horseback riding
Skiing
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Private check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Residential Neighbourhood
Languages Spoken
English
592Reviews2Q+A71Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 516
  • 55
  • 16
  • 3
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
YotamB wrote a review 2 Feb
Tel Aviv, Israel4 contributions
We had 3 nights here as part of our honeymoon. It was an amazing stay! Amazing room, very nice Jacuzzi (24 hours), free laundry (great for travelers) and the best part is the very warm and kind staff! Alan and Josie were very nice and friendly towards us and they helped us get by
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kaalene Shale and Allan McAndie, Owner at Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your kind words! Lovely to have you here with us at the Homestead. All the best!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
becca r wrote a review Dec 2023
Chicago99 contributions28 helpful votes
Home away from home. Such a cozy and inviting atmosphere just steps away from the lake. Really lovely hosts and, if you can get breakfast it’s phenomenal. I stayed at 15 locations throughout New Zealand and this was my favorite of all. I was disheartened to leave.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
PayneFamily4 wrote a review Nov 2023
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida49 contributions7 helpful votes
Our visit was spectacular. The location perfect being just a bit out of the town center and backed up to a beautiful park. The cottage was spacious and comfortable. Allan was a wonderful host. The nearby activities were ample and very enjoyable. We would absolutely return.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Joe H wrote a review Apr 2023
Oakland, California50 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
My wife and I spent two nights at Wanaka Homestead and wish it could have been a couple nights more. We booked the Lismore Cottage, which was far more than we needed (3BR, 2BA) but talk about comfortable! It was downright lavish, and well priced for all we got. Location is super convenient to the lake, with a nice walk through a beautiful tree and flower-filled park, just 15 minutes walk from the town center. Bedding and furnishings were outstanding. Our host, Allan, was absolutely terrific - welcoming, engaging, with great stories to tell and spot-on tips for dining and entertainment in town. Highly recommend Allan's restaurant, Francesca's Italian Kitchen, and Pembroke Wine & Spirits, which he recommended, the latter looking like a bottle shop but featuring amazing cheese and charcuterie boards and terrific wine, beer and gin tastings. Highly recommend Wanaka Homestead as the perfect Wanaka home base!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: A lodge room would have been better suited for a couple, but the Lismore Cottage was incredibly...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
chitza wrote a review Dec 2022
Brussels, Belgium236 contributions94 helpful votes
We booked two nights at this b&b on a trip through New Zealand. The facilities were good, the venue located near the Station park, the lake and walking distance from the center (15-20 min walk). Appreciated the guest laundry facilities and the hot tub. However…… although we booked for a b&b (through agency) we only received bed. Sadly upon arrival, and only after I asked, the host informed us he would not provide breakfast due to too much work with other jobs. Huh??!! We didn’t discuss this further since it would end up in an awkward situation for the rest of the stay, however apparently we as guests were considerate about that etiquette but the host was clearly not ashamed to deliver the message. The rest of the stay also, apart from hints and tips on things to do and where to eat, not much else was delivered - one pincher of water in the common section, tea and coffee making was possible - nothing in the fridge complimentary nor paying. Big difference with other b&b who did provide breakfast and some welcome drink or at least fresh water in the room. So I can’t provide a higher score since the lack of one main part of our booking was failed to deliver and it costed us time and money to have to take food elsewhere. Big miss and not pleasant surprise when on holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kaalene Shale and Allan McAndie, Owner at Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Responded 16 Apr 2023
Such a shame your agent did not inform you that we have not provided breakfast in the last 2 years due to staffing shortages - plain and simple - its says it on every booking platform - we suggest you take that up with you agent as they may have charged you for it...? Yes - our life is busy with other work as we are trying to make ends meet and we both have other jobs to do so. Clearly you lack the compassion and understanding of just how challenging Covid has been on small business over the last few years. We are hopeful we may be able to provide breakfast again in the future should some staff magically appear moving forward... in the meantime, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and all adventures you are lucky enough to partake in.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Peter S wrote a review Dec 2022
Hastings, New Zealand18 contributions6 helpful votes
When I initially tried to book two nights here, I couldn’t as the site said it was full. Fortunately I called and spoke to Allan. He initially said it wasn’t possible but then tried to alter things to fit us in. So glad that he did. A lovely place to stay, close to a lakeside park and a short walk to town. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sherry T wrote a review Dec 2022
9 contributions
We stayed here in Feb 2020 for one night and enjoyed it so much we came back for 2 nights (all we had time for). We stayed in Ruby cottage, a 2 bed/2bath. Beds were very comfortable. Large living area. Well equipped kitchen. Very comfy and homey. Lake Wanaka and the tree are only about a 3-5 minute walk. The town of Wanaka is a 20 minute walk along the lake. The owner, Allen, is very charming and quick to remedy any issue(the blow dryer didn’t work and we had a new one in less than 5 minutes). I was so thrilled this comfortable and charming accommodation survived the pandemic! Absolutely love this place!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Dave C wrote a review Aug 2022
Sydney, Australia18 contributions3 helpful votes
Beautiful accomodation, great location, nice kitchen, cosey lounge. Allan gave us some epic advice for bars and restaurants. We borrowed some bikes and rode around town. Can easily walk into town. Rooms beautifully serviced. Nice spa and barbecue and lovely lawns to hang out on when it’s sunny!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Chat to Allan about things to do and places to eat and drink!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Tim W wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
+1
I’ve been coming to Wanaka for over 10 years, and this is the best place I’ve every stayed at. Comfortable, welcoming, excellent amenities and at a competitive rate. The locality, suggestions and excellent convenience makes for a perfect stay - 5 star rating!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Stephanie G wrote a review Aug 2022
Waipu, New Zealand8 contributions14 helpful votes
We were booked to stay at Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages for three nights in early July. Unfortunately the day before our stay, my husband tested positive for Covid and we were forced to cancel our stay. I phoned and spoke to Alan. I asked him about his cancellation policy and he said he would call me back later that day. I acknowledged that I expected to pay a portion of the stay during our phone call. When my Visa account came through we had been charged for 3 nights less $30, a total of $1170. I phoned to discuss this with Alan and was told he would call me back. This did not happen. I have also sent two emails asking Alan to contact me to discuss the charge. Both were unanswered. I appreciate Covid is a very difficult time for those in hospitality but to completely ignore my attempts at communication is extremely rude and not unacceptable in my view.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kaalene Shale and Allan McAndie, Owner at Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Responded 16 Apr 2023
We have a cancellation policy in place which you were fully aware of at the time of booking. We suggest travel insurance to all bookers.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Wanaka area.
PRICE RANGE
$322 - $621 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
wanaka homestead hotel
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionWanaka
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WANAKA HOMESTEAD LODGE AND COTTAGES - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Which popular attractions are close to Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages?
Nearby attractions include Realm VR Wanaka (1.6 km), Paradiso Cinema (1.6 km), and Roys Peak Track (4.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a hot tub.
What food & drink options are available at Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages?
Conveniently located restaurants include Burrito Craft, Bistro Gentil, and Big Fig.
Is Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.