We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cardrona Hotel

Traveller (329)
Dining (39)
Video
Certificate of Excellence
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Located on the Crown Range Road between Wanaka and Queenstown, the Cardrona Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore the stunning Central Otago region. Twenty minutes from Wanaka, 40 minutes from Queenstown and 30 minutes from Arrowtown, the hotel is close to many major tourist attractions in the region. It's also close to four major ski areas, including Cardrona Alpine Resort. All ensuite rooms are all equipped with Sky TV, WiFi and tea and coffee making facilities. A continental buffet breakfast served in the historic dining room is also included in the room rate. Make use of the cosy guest lounge, beautiful cottage gardens, laundry facilities and spa pool. Rooms are a mix of queen beds, twin queen beds, twin singles and family rooms with one queen bed and two singles.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Electric Vehicle Charging Station
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Quaint
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
449Reviews
369Photos
3Q+A
58Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 292
  • 108
  • 31
  • 15
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Had most amazing platters ( meat, cheese and seafood) , wonderful live music and great place to hang out on the way to or from Lake Wanaka - a must do stopover ! Great little shop and quaint restaurant
Read more
What a beautiful beer garden and setting for a meal but the food is expensive and not outstanding {think burger and chips}. The barmaid was not very friendly and forgot to mention that bar meals come with chips even when we ordered a bowl of wedges! Anyway 2 gin and tonics cost
Read more
Response from CardronaHotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hello John & Carmel, We are very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your meals. We try our best to maintain a high standard and our apologies we don't appear to have me this standard in this instance. We are first and foremost a NZ country pub, with our menu focusing on this and embodying kiwi classics such as the venison burger or fish and chips. We are sorry about the misunderstanding regarding your order of wedges, however this time of year it is not unusual for customers to be ordering for many and this would not have seemed out of the ordinary to our bar-staff. Regarding our G&T prices, for it to have cost $30 I can only assume you must have ordered the local Cardrona Distillery gin. Our standard G&T made with house gin (Gordons) are noticeably cheaper at $9 each. The local gin is a wonderful, hand-crafted, small-batch gin and the prices reflect the energy and quality that goes into such a product. Our sincere apologies if there was a mix up and this is not what you had ordered! Perhaps you can take some condolence in knowing you have now sipped on Cardrona history, having tried the local gin.. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to leave us review and we will take your feedback on board. We hope this hasn't put you off from visiting us again in the future and would appreciate the opportunity to redeem ourselves in your opinion.
Read more
Around six months ago, my partner and I lived the worst part of our whole kiwi trip because of the inhumanity of the 'people' working on this place. Our campervan was stuck and couldn't be move. After trying everything to release it, we decided to to ask someone in this hotel
Read more
+2
This is part of an old pioneer town, complete with schoolhouse, general store, restaurant, gas station (non-functioning) and hotel. Located along the road from Wanaka to Queenstown, it’s a fun place to stop and explore. They also offer hotel rooms which look like an old-time
Read more
When we arrived at the Cardrona we found that our room, which we had booked 8 months previous, overlooked the beer garden on one side, which was open until 2.00 a.m and a through route on the other. It was a hot day and we were unable to open the windows because of the noise
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerDining Room & SuitePool & BeachFamily and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Out side my room
Through my window
PreviousNext
12345
Hi there, They serve Restaurant meals all day. Thanks
1 vote
Show all answers
Good morning. There are shuttles available but they must be booked beforehand as they do not stop here as a matter of course. The best people to contact are either Alpine Shuttles or Yello out of Wanaka.
0 votes
Hi there, Firstly, my apologies for the late reply. We have 16 rooms, some of which are upstairs but others that are at ground level. Our showers are all walk in (except one) and some of our rooms open on to the garden with no steps required so I think you would definitely find it suitable for your wife. If you decide to book please phone us rather than booking online so we can make sure we give you the most appropriate room. Best wishes, Alexis Cardrona Hotel
0 votes
Show all answers
"All the ground floor, garden rooms, look out onto the BEER garden and have no privacy."
"Choose a room with garden view"
"book to eat there or you won't get in."
"Bottom floor can be a little noisy if there's heavy footed people above! Try to get a room with a larger bathroom if you have a family."
"the rear wing is our preferred location"
PreviousNext
12345612
PRICE RANGE
US$100 - US$168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cardrona hotel south island
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionWanaka
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing