We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park

Save
Share
212 Brownston Street, Wanaka 9305 New Zealand
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (24)
Room & Suite (6)
Dining (5)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#25 of 63 Specialty lodging in Wanaka
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park is Wanaka's most central holiday park. It is handy to the lake and only 10 minutes walk to the centre of town. This park has served the Wanaka area for many years by offering clean and affordable accommodation that will suit all budgets. Accommodation ranges from tent sites and powered sites through to cabins and self contained units.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
BBQ facilities
Picnic area
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Shared kitchen
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
157Reviews1Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 32
  • 50
  • 40
  • 17
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
jmuskett2018 wrote a review May 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Ey up the Wanaka Lakeview campsites rates amongst the best campsites we have ever stayed at. Position - perfect 10 minutes walk to town, facilities - well organised the kitchen/dining facilities are well thought out and extremely user friendly, ablutions plentiful, clean and well maintained (showers a tad narrow for a bigger fella) water hot and forceful. Staff friendly and helpful. A great place to stay - many thanks.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Natalie Ward, Owner at Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park
Responded 10 May 2022
Thanks for the great and thorough review Eyupjohn! We are lucky to have modern facilities, a great location and fantastic staff to host our guests. Thank you for letting others know about our camp. Enjoy the rest of your travels.
Read more
Rodney wrote a review Apr 2021
Auckland, New Zealand1 contribution
We arrived in Wanaka excited to see new things, and tried to check in. The desk staff told us to return at 12 as we were too early, so that was ok. We then asked about price being NZMCA members and we're told absolutely no discount not any more. Bit off... so we drove to the power sites which were a muddy mess, now among our travelers is a senior lady who found the toilet block locked and visiting reception to report this we were told 'perhaps your mother shouldn't be traveling if she's that old' We drove out 👎
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Natalie Ward, Owner at Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park
Responded 12 Apr 2021
Thank you for your review of your visit to Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park. Apologies that we don’t start checking in at 9.45am – a bit early for most accommodation providers. We have been involved with the NZMCA Summer Campsaver discount scheme which finished at the end of March. At this stage we are not offering NZMCA discounts but are likely to have a special on as we move into Winter. Most of our sites are grass – which after the recent rain are always a little more slippery than in our normal fair weather climate. You were offered the hardstanding sites which were a slightly further from the bathrooms and didn’t suit your elderly mother. On arrival you were advised of the facilities that were open and subsequently also given the pin code to our easy access family bathroom adjacent to your chosen site. We welcome guests of all ages and try and find accommodation to suit your requirements. Sadly this couldn’t be achieved on this occasion and you were provided a full refund. We hope you found something more suitable elsewhere and enjoyed the rest of your stay in Wanaka.
Read more
Julie C wrote a review Mar 2021
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand15 contributions3 helpful votes
Great location and only takes about 15 mins to walk into town. Views of the lake not great sadly as too many trees in the way. Some including this camping ground like to put people with dogs all together but the problem is when a dog sees another dog they bark, so it doesn't really work. The grounds are pleasant, charges were great with NZMCA membership and so we stayed 3 nights. We were a long walk to the toilets and showers and half were closed mid March which seemed too early really considering it was still really busy there. My complaint would be that it is pitch black outside of an evening, no lights on and where we were parked was behind another building so couldn't see the light left on at the facilities. Really scary even with my torch. Other than that we enjoyed out time there, but get one of your cleaners to clean the vents in the ladies shower block.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Natalie Ward, Owner at Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park
Responded 23 Mar 2021
Thanks Julie C for your honest review. Great to hear some of the points and will gladly take them on board, especially the dog part, as this is our first year allowing dogs so we are still learning best practice with this and that's the first time I've seen anyone mention that. As for the site location, we are now, due to COVID a lot quieter so if you ever feel that you are too far away you can always request to move sites once you have checked in (unless its after hours of course) As for half the toilets closing, we are no where near busy enough to justify opening them, even though, I do agree March is very early in the year but for the amount of people on the park these facilities are more than ample although busier weekends and events we open up more. Thanks again for your feedback and enjoy the rest of your travels.
Read more
hrs74 wrote a review Mar 2021
auckland16 contributions7 helpful votes
We stayed here after a 5 day difficult hike, so limped in really tired with just our packs. We booked a studio bach. A large place and as you'll see the owners also own a few other grounds. The bach was great, warm, great bed, decent shower, although maybe choose the shower option over a wet room as the floor isn't really angled so it gets exactly as it says... wet. Heater, basics that you need to cook. I'll sound a bit annoying now, but no coffee plunger, I had to use a cloth to filter from a saucepan pour. it's not the end of the world but plungers are cheap as chips, so easy to include in a kitchen. The main kitchen was impeccable, clean and shiny, huge, with gas and ovens and fridge freezers. You have to hire kitchen stuff though as there is nothing , literally nothing there except infrastructure. ( no coffee plungers :). Washing machines and dryers, a storage room, a spa, great faculties - all at an additional ost, so a modern and business like take on a kiwi campground which is probably understandable in a usually high tourist area, and these days quite the standard i could imagine. I'm used to smaller, more ad hoc places with slightly less high quality free stuff you can use so that's my context. My only thing ( apart from the lack of coffee brewing facilities) was that the two staff I encountered on two occasions were really quite short and terse. I'm from a hospitality background so get it can be thankless but they were so grumpy I was a bit mind blown. Sure that's a random one off ( two off?).
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Natalie Ward, Owner at Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park
Responded 23 Mar 2021
Thank you very much for your review. It is something I have thought about with the coffee plunger, but as a fellow plunger coffee fan I often travel with my own and similarly we would then need to supply plunger coffee in the units, perhaps in the future. As with the main kitchen, we tend not to leave stuff in there, being a large park items do go walkabouts but we have ample supplies in the office for hire, as you mentioned smaller camp sites are set up well to have all the stuff readily there but being a very large site it doesn't work well for us. It is a shame that you felt the staff were terse, I think I even remember discussing the wet room with you and don't recall it being a grumpy encounter but apologize that you felt that way, it has been an extremely challenging year for us all and we are trying our best. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.
Read more
Kris L wrote a review Feb 2021
2 contributions
Location, location, location! We stayed at this lovely motel and had a wonderful stay. Walk to town, cafes, supermarket in minutes or across the park to swim in the lake or go in lakeside walks. The rooms are very clean and Pip is a wonderful host offering help or information wherever we needed it. Thoroughly recommend a stay here
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Natalie Ward, Owner at Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park
Responded 21 Feb 2021
Thanks so much for your lovely review WholeMelbourne, although i do believe it may be a bout another location unfortunately we do not have a Pip working here.
Read more
SongofaTui wrote a review Jan 2021
Taranaki Region, New Zealand63 contributions12 helpful votes
The park itself seems ok, the shared facilities ( we discovered on the last day) were revamped so quite new and pleasant, very much unlike the family cabin ( called Tourist flat) which was very disappointing. The unit was old, very uncomfortable beds ( one sunk so deep when lying in it that sleep really bad). An old school tap unreachable by children combined with tiny shower made it very difficult to help them. No hand towel was given for the bathroom. Sofa should be replaced as old. The entire unit was small with no place to hang the towels to dry. The good thing was the location - walking distance to lake and CBD. And the playground for the kids was nice. And the staff were friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Natalie Ward, Owner at Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park
Responded 18 Jan 2021
Thanks for your review SongofaTui. Not great to hear you found the Tourist Flats a bit run down, its a surprise as most people love staying in them, would be great to know which room so we can investigate the mattress and sofa too. Glad to hear you enjoyed the location, staff and playground though.
Read more
Kevin Kirby wrote a review Nov 2020
6 contributions
Staff that go out of their way to make your stay memorable. We stayed in a camper on an extremely generous site. The facilities are near new, well maintained, clean, with excellent amenities. The camp is close to the lake , shops, bars and restaurants. We will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Natalie Ward, Owner at Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park
Responded 18 Jan 2021
Thank you so much for your lovely 5 star review, really great to hear that everything enjoyable for you and look forward to having you back.
Read more
Brooke Fors wrote a review Oct 2020
Auckland, New Zealand104 contributions
Park is close to Wanaka Lake and a short stroll to the main part of town. The area is clean & tidy. Toilets where old and some of the facilities need a coat of paint. But overall good for an overnight stop.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Natalie Ward, Owner at Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park
Responded 18 Jan 2021
Thank you for your review The2Fors, the toilets are actually only a couple of years old but will look to do a repaint in the off peak where needed for sure. Hope to have you stay again sometime.
Read more
Samantha M wrote a review Oct 2020
Christchurch117 contributions34 helpful votes
We stayed here overnight in our campervan. Great facilities and close to centre of town. Showers and toilets were spotlessly clean, along with the kitchen area. Great views and reasonably priced. Looking forward to returning!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Natalie Ward, Owner at Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park
Responded 18 Jan 2021
Thank you so much for your lovely 5 star review, we look forward to having you return again too.
Read more
crazyjo73 wrote a review Oct 2020
Rotorua, New Zealand33 contributions1 helpful vote
We booked the one bed room motel unit. It was tatty and needed a decent clean, patched up paint work, dirty carpets, moldy shower with dodgy replaced/repaired shower wall. We were told to put our rubbish in the bins outside as the units were not serviced, but I couldn't find the bins and the closest ablution block was closed (which is where I would have expected to find bins). No soap or hand towels No face cloths No milk No salt and pepper No coffee plunger No usable WiFi The beds were nice and the sheets were of a good quality. The spa pool was closed and no one could tell us if it would be reopen. Proudly for the best given the poor cleaning shown in the units. I expected a lot more for my money and won't be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Natalie Ward, Owner at Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park
Responded 18 Jan 2021
Thanks for your in depth feedback crazyjo73. Apologies to hear that you did not find your motel room up to standards, they are extremely popular units with our guests. During COVID we did make some changes to our units (in which we removed items and stopped our servicing of the rooms) this was to keep our staff as safe as possible and maintain distancing/limit the amount of contact had in units etc. Most of the items listed as a 'NO' are available (except for the coffee plunger - I take my own when i travel if i want plunger coffee) Indeed we have had issues with the Spa Pool and when waiting for the team to send away parts to have it looked at means time frames are a little unknown but we do out best. I hope you still managed to enjoy your time in Wanaka and all the town has to offer.
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionWanaka
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park
Which popular attractions are close to Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park?
Nearby attractions include Lake Wanaka (0.6 km), Paradiso Cinema (0.7 km), and Realm VR Wanaka (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, kids activities, and laundry service.
What food & drink options are available at Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bistro Gentil, Kika, and Big Fig.
Is Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Wanaka.
Are any cleaning services offered at Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Is Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.