We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Mountain View Backpackers Wanaka

7 Russell Street, Wanaka 9305 New Zealand
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (5)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#6 of 17 lodges in Wanaka
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We are a small, friendly and cosy hostel with 30 beds converted from a 1930’s home. We are perfectly located, just a two-minute walk from the centre of town and beautiful Lake Wanaka. One of our most favourite features is our garden, where you will find fresh herbs and at certain times of the year home grown vegetables. Open to everyone to help themselves. Our friendly staff are from all over the world and you will find more about who is scrubbing your toilet and making your bed on our “who we are board” It also includes photos of Kiera, the cat who have adopted us. Our staff also love to help you plan your time here. Chill out by the lake, climb Roy’s Peak, catch at movie at the famous Paradiso Cinema, visit the lavender farm, go hiking. There is also many adrenaline activities available including endless bike trails (why not try Heli-biking?) skiing, sky diving or even canyoning. From our little family, we look forward to welcoming you to Mountain View Backpackers
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Beach
Bicycle rental
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Car park
Wifi
Bicycles available
Boating
Golf course
Hiking
Horseback riding
Mini golf
Ski rentals
Ski school
Skiing
Water sport equipment rentals
Windsurfing
Aerobics offsite
Archery offsite
Bicycle tours
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Squash offsite
Tennis court offsite
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Budget
Languages Spoken
English
127Reviews2Q+A10Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 67
  • 31
  • 19
  • 8
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Joanna M wrote a review 7 Feb
3 contributions
I have stayed twice, once I'm winter and once in summer. It is expensive compared to other hostels I've stayed in NZ, however Wanaka as a town is expensive so this hostel is the cheapest in the area! The facilities are good. The kitchen can feel very small, especially at peak meal times - same with the bathrooms. The beds are comfortable, however don't have a light or much privacy which would be nice in a mixed dorm. The staff are lovely though and full of knowledge about the local area. The hostels location is great and I've never had a problem finding somewhere close by to park. In terms of security, the gate to use after reception hours is quite flimsy and during the day anyone can walk in past reception because it's not always manned. But the rooms do all have lockers for valuables (as long as you have your own lock). Overall it's a nice hostel!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
James H wrote a review Oct 2023
16 contributions4 helpful votes
I can't recommend this place enough, it's probably the best hostel I've stayed in New Zealand so far. It warrants such high praise due to the extremely friendly, helpful staff, the comfy beds, the better - than average bathroom facilities and the spacious food storage. But best of all, is that it's all converted from a house. Because it's converted from a house, the main building especially, which contains the reception, kitchen and indoor lounge area, is well... very homely. It's a fantastic place to crash out on the various sofas in the later hours of the day, gather by the dinner table to discuss travel ideas and plans with the fellow residents, or just to relax after a frantic day. I look forward to coming back here when I return to Wanaka, there's nowhere else I'd rather stay. P.S Sadly, I did not take any photos or videos of significance while here, I'll make sure to next time
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Try to book through them, it's much cheaper than HostelWorld/Booking.com
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Fredrik L wrote a review Mar 2023
Sydney, Australia97 contributions55 helpful votes
Relaxed place with good amenities, and great views, love the garden! Stayed here one night before we ventured on to our hike to Brewster hut. We would have come back and stayed two more nights if we could, but it was fully booked. Totally recommend
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Daisy Embury wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
Had the best hostel experience I have ever had in this hostel & found it a bit emotional leaving. The hostel is full of supportive staff, hard working cleaners and had a really shared-house environment. Travelling as a young, solo female, I often get quite nervous in hostel situations but It didn't take me an evening to get settled here. Both receptionists Hayley & Alex are friendly, attentive and kind, and Hayley supported me through a couple of clumbsy injuries with her first aiding skills. The cleaner Simone there is also super hardworking and gentle, constantly in conversation with the people in the Hostel. I will for sure be back here soon - but for anyone travelling solo I just couldn't recommend this place anymore!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mountain View, General Manager at Mountain View Backpackers Wanaka
Responded 17 Feb 2022
Thank you Daisy, we LOVED having you stay with us too, you bought a big smile to everyone in the hostel and it was absolute pleasure having you and we look forward to you coming back soon Hayley :-)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alice wrote a review Jan 2022
8 contributions1 helpful vote
I've never given a bad review however having stayed in many excellent NZ hostels this one in comparison was not great. $172 for a four bed mixed dorm (2 nights) is very expensive. Only two mixed showers and two toilets for the entire corridor. In addition, while staying over the weekend, I did not once see anyone at reception and the front door was locked. The key to open the side gate and our room door didn't work properly as well as our room door handle (once we had eventually got it unlocked), which made getting into our room very difficult. Cooking facilities were average.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mountain View, General Manager at Mountain View Backpackers Wanaka
Responded 1 Feb 2022
Dear Alice, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our little hostel. We certainly take all feedback very seriously welcome positive and constructive. Yes i do apologise the door handle on your room hasnt been it self lately andis due to be fixed this week, we hoped the sign helped with this on the door to assist you in opening it. It was a last minute idea before being able to replace it. Our backpacker is an old lady at over 90 years old so she certainly shows her wrinkles well. I do note that there was only 6 other people to share your two showers and two toilets, which we have never had any problems with before. I have just had a look at your booking and i noted you did not take advantage of our special discount online which offers anyone who books 15% off through our webiste you just need to use the code. Our weekend recpetionist is only new and may not have thought to manually apply it as a special for you as its not automatic. We do keep our reception hours quite low at the moment due to struggling through COVID (did you know Wanaka had 7 backpackers in March 2020.. there are now three barely ) so we do try and keep the costs down, but there are two staff that live onsite and they are always more than happy to help with anything. If you have any suggestions to additional cooking facilities it always helps us improve, please do not hesitate to let us know. we do hope you enjoyed your time in Wanaka and i hope that you let us make it up to you another time, here at our little friendly home away from home - Regards Hayley Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Manuel M wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
I stayed in the hostel for a week and really enjoyed the atmosphere. Staff and long termers are super nice! Everything is perfectly clean and the lounge has a great view and is super cozy, it has a nice fireplace. The showers are really good and the rooms and beds as well. Location is unbeatable, close to everything but in a quiet spot.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Rosie P wrote a review Apr 2021
Te Anau, New Zealand52 contributions35 helpful votes
The central location, friendliness and helpfulness of staff, clean & warm, good kitchen set up, comfortable bed, all amounted to a good stay in Wanaka. Good parking off road also. Building is not so young as are facilities but everything works & it was a welcoming environment.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Simonlegend wrote a review Feb 2021
8 contributions3 helpful votes
I spent a couple of nights at this hostel and loved it all along. Very central and clean. It has got a wide green backyard where you can chill under the sun, the staff are very friendly. Got to talk a lot with Simone, as we're both Italians, and Hayley as we're bot runners/bikers.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sil wrote a review Jan 2021
Auckland, New Zealand13 contributions3 helpful votes
The price was $ 28 for a six bedroom, and they are definitely not worth it. Dirty bathrooms and Dirty kitchen, noises until late and from 5 am .. Fortunately it was only one night, if they are going to charge that price they could put a little more effort in cleaning
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mountain View, General Manager at Mountain View Backpackers Wanaka
Responded 3 Feb 2021
Hello Silacast, Thank you for your review and we certainly appreciate all reviews as it enables us to ensure that we are keeping to a high standard all of the time and fix it if we do live up to expectations. We pride our selves in been a friendly, clean little backpackers in Wanaka. At $28 in a 6 share dorm room, the price is very comparable to the rest of town (of what backpackers are still able to operate) It would have been wonderful if you had mentioned your concerns at check out or spoken to one of our friendly staff that live onsite. We do spend quite a few hours cleaning every day so this surprises me. Sometimes yes its hard to get everyone to always clean up after themselves straight away. Our building is also an older lady at 93 years old so we do our best to keep her looking good for everyone but like all of us, we develop a few wrinkles over time. I apologies for the noise. we are a quiet hostel after 10pm and if some guests decide to leave early at 5am i am sure they try to be as quiet as they can. I hope you at least enjoyed your time in beautiful Wanaka.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Petra wrote a review Jan 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
My experience with the hostel was, is and is going to be one of the best. It feels that is my home in Wanaka. Not a house, but I've got a home. If you would like to experince the same, go there. Its not only about thw place, but also about the people. They are kind, welcoming and likw to share momments with each person. I would say if you miss family, go there.... there you will find friends for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Wanaka area.
PRICE RANGE
$55 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionWanaka
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MOUNTAIN VIEW BACKPACKERS WANAKA - Lodge Reviews & Price Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mountain View Backpackers Wanaka
Which popular attractions are close to Mountain View Backpackers Wanaka?
Nearby attractions include Realm VR Wanaka (0.4 km), Paradiso Cinema (0.4 km), and Massage in Wanaka Day Spa. (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mountain View Backpackers Wanaka?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a golf course.
Which room amenities are available at Mountain View Backpackers Wanaka?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a view of a nearby landmark.
What food & drink options are available at Mountain View Backpackers Wanaka?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Mountain View Backpackers Wanaka?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mountain View Backpackers Wanaka?
Conveniently located restaurants include Burrito Craft, Big Fig, and Kika.
Is Mountain View Backpackers Wanaka located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Wanaka.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mountain View Backpackers Wanaka?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Does Mountain View Backpackers Wanaka have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Mountain View Backpackers Wanaka accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.