We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Archway Motels & Chalets

64 Hedditch Street, Wanaka 9305 New Zealand
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
View Deal
Free cancellation until 05/02/21
View Deal
Free cancellation until 04/02/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (42)
Room & Suite (30)
Dining (5)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
Updated 21/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 21/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#14 of 19 hotels in Wanaka
Welcome to Archway Motels, Chalets and Apartments in Wanaka. At the gateway to the beautiful alpine resort of Lake Wanaka, welcome to your ""home away from home"". Relax, enjoy and experience our quiet, secluded, yet central location with its sunny and spacious aspect of mountain, bush and garden views in a 0.8 hectare park-like setting. Unpack, settle in and stay a while using Archway as your base in Wanaka or the Southern Lakes region. It's so easy to then take day trips to visit nearby Arrowtown, Queenstown, Twizel/Mount Cook, Cromwell/Bannockburn and Central Otago. Rest and recharge in our well-appointed accommodation – 15 serviced, self-contained and self-catering (kitchen/bathroom), economy studios, private character chalet studios or comfortable, spacious family units. Sleeps 1-6 (two are purpose built access units). WiFi access in all areas (free allocation applies) and flat screen TVs in all units. Ideally positioned – Set back from the main road, 350m to the golf course, cinema, post office and 500m to cafés, restaurants and shops. Less than 1km to several walkways, lakefront and Wanaka Information Centre. Utilise and explore our facilities and services including plenty of space for boat and trailer parking, several portable gas guest BBQs, sheltered outdoor garden and hilltop seating areas, gazebo, playground, trampoline and unique hot tubs. New feature: relax and soak in the unique experience of our fresh water natural and sustainable Cedar Hot Tubs with their rejuvenating benefits, while enjoying panoramic views and woodland surrounds. Have your tub privately to yourselves and even heated to your preferred temperature. A fee applies and pre-bookings are strongly recommended. Free sessions are offered for longer stays or special packages (please refer tariffs and specials pages). Office/Reception facilities include free maps & brochures, rice cookers & de-icer. Other onsite facilities: guest laundry, ski drying/waxing/tuning room, clothes drying racks, car washing, free service-activity and forward bookings, continental and cooked breakfast on request. Appreciate and support a natural and eco-friendly community and environment with sustainable practices. We encourage all to recycle, conserve water and power, reduce waste and chemical use. Your hosts: Joey and Jack – warm and hospitable, our priority is your enjoyment!
Read more
Room & Suite (30)30
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Breakfast available
Ski rentals
Children's playground
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Complimentary toiletries
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese
179Reviews2Q+A19Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 73
  • 71
  • 27
  • 7
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
atholmes wrote a review Apr 2018
Mandurah, Australia313 contributions39 helpful votes
We stayed in room 10 for 1 night in March 2018. Clean, comfortable and spacious unit. Furniture is a little dated but room has everything you need for a comfortable stay. Short walk in to town. Friendly hosts. Parking at your door. Quiet location. Good value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
Giannis M wrote a review Mar 2018
Lyon, France714 contributions71 helpful votes
We booked there because after long time driving we didn’t have many choices so he had free only one caravan , it was very expensive 130$ in a caravan for a night is too much it was clean the toilet is very narrow and the shower too the WiFi is only 100mb so is nothing and if you need more it’s 8$ for the same , and we didn’t as well like they man that he was at reception possibly the owner as well we found him very strange like not nice hoster .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
Marjory1 wrote a review Mar 2018
Bishopsteignton, United Kingdom276 contributions158 helpful votes
We enjoyed our stay at Archway very much. It is in a very convenient location for everything that Wanaker has to offer. Our Stidio was spacious, clean and comfortable with a great outdoor seating area too. Great hosts who were happy to assist.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
Ted C wrote a review Mar 2018
Taupo, New Zealand1 contribution
Booked this Motel for 19 March 2018 They charged the full amount $127.00 +$3.00 credit card charge.Had to cancel 17th February 2018 31 days before booking date and no refund given.no doubt the room will be re booked so they get paid twice for the room
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
travelsbys wrote a review Feb 2018
Singapore, Singapore126 contributions28 helpful votes
Great place to stay with a beautiful room. Room was large with queen bed and single bed, small electric fireplace, kitchenette (though no oven) and a nice bathroom. Pleasant grounds. 5 min drive from Lake Wanaka. Owners are very friendly and offered us fresh milk when we checked in, which is apparently an NZ thing to do (and one we greatly appreciated). Wifi reception was great. You can park your car right outside your room.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
Response from Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels & Chalets
Responded 22 Feb 2018
Thank You so much for your valuable & positive feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in Wanaka & our hospitality. We loved having you to stay too and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Keep safe & Happy. Warmest regards Your archway Hosts Bridgit & Paul Parker
Read more
US$74 - US$137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionWanaka
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing