Lake Ruataniwha Holiday Park & Motels
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Lake Ruataniwha Holiday Park & Motels

Il maestoso Monte Cook
Traveller (41)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

No prepayment needed
$99
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#2 of 2 campsites in Twizel
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Malay
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Boating
Canoeing
Children's playground
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Convenience store
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Waterslide
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Shops
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
127Reviews0Q+A24Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 37
  • 37
  • 17
  • 20
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jenny A wrote a review Jan 2021
Wellington, New Zealand34 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stopped by the park for one night. We stayed in an LV cabin. It contained a bunk bed, a single bed, a tv, and a table. We paid over $100 for a basic room that resembled a small shipping container.

The park contained dumped equipment which made it feel dirty. Though the bathrooms and kitchen were clean. Laundry requires $3 and the dryer didn’t work. We also had to pay for laundry powder and wifi- when you’re paying over $100 for so little amenities with the room, you wouldn’t expect them to charge for every little thing on top.

Some staff were enthusiastic and helpful, others did not provide very good customer service.

Bit of a whinge... but the location is great, lake is beautiful and it would be great for families... it was not for us.

Tl ;dr: over priced, received very little in return, but location is good.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
madamiamadam wrote a review 2 May
Canada36 contributions13 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in two different cabins on two visits. The cabins are clean and roomy. The park is quite large but surpassing quiet even on the holiday weekend when we were there. They give out a bin of kitchen stuff when you arrive so the kitchen is always clean because there's no clutter of utensils etc and you always have everything you need for meals. They used to charge for Internet but the new management is upgrading the Internet service to high speed and making it free. In the meantime they will give you a free voucher so ask for one of they forget.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harriet T wrote a review Sept 2022
Worcester, England, United Kingdom9 contributions10 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Rented a basic cabin last minute. Staff were friendly and the room was tidy although the facilities were a little dated and in need of some TLC. We have stayed in similar holiday parks in which you would receive tea and coffee in the room for the same price. Overall ok stay with good access to the lake with a lovely walking track.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dibbydoo wrote a review Mar 2020
Timaru, New Zealand147 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Overpriced, stay. Stayed 2 nights in non powered site, no camp map or camp rules provided. Park anywhere and anyway you want. Lots of noisy groups of people, (who obviously camp there regularly as have permanent structures) , yelling, singing, swearing all hours of the night. Obviously not disturbing the camp owner /manager as continued to the wee small hours 😬 Dogs barking and not on leads as requested on signage. No soap in men's or womens toilets for over 24 hours, so cleaning frequency is questionable. Camp appears untidy with the unsightly parking arrangement (if you can call it that) weeds growing through shingle and large build up of pine cones around the camp. Some amenities blocks are new. Good shower water pressure. No charge for showers. But shower change cubicle extra small. Walking distance to rowing complex. Small dairy on site. Would be chaos getting out in an emergency.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mr Jones wrote a review Jun 2021
Christchurch16 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Our tourist hut was warm, the set up of the bunks worked well. The sheets and towels clean. Duvets needed a wash.

I was a bit frustrated how the shared kitchen was unheated (the gas fire didn't seem to work) the tiny cheap tables, no dishwashing liquid just made it really unusable.

It sucks that in winter it's not a nice place to hang out and cook a meal. What about fixing the fire, adding a comfy couch, some games and an old piano? Make it somewhere people feel welcome. Its kinda unpleasant being stuck in your hut/tent when it rains.

Other people said showers are good. Mine was hot or freezing (may just be that one as it was the last in the row).

The whole place has a scrap metal facility vibe, big utes, big dogs, old broken down vans and other machinery. Big semi-abandoned compound campgrounds with fences all over.

Not really anywhere away from vehicals for kids to play or bike. Not really a break from town life, or making much of what could be a lovely spot.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mobile48397537570 wrote a review Oct 2023
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Very disappointing. A lakeside resort? Hardly, our powered site was miles from the lake and near the entrance road. The site was tatty with many abandoned vans. There was no map provided showing us to our pitch and it was very difficult to find. This campsite was more expensive than many others but Wi-Fi came at an extra cost. Showers were dirty and dinghy and it was noisy until late at night. Not recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Campsite in a sorry state.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jaconiemand wrote a review Jul 2022
Christchurch, New Zealand147 contributions75 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Over priced.
One wall heater that didn't heat the whole place. The heater reading never gone over 19.
No addiotional heating in the bedrooms like electric blanket etc.
Street light right by the bedroom window thus is feels like a spotlight in the room.
The top bunk bed have no protection on either side to stop kids from falling off.
The whole bathroom floor floods when you shower as there are no adequate seperation between the shower and rest of the floor.
The whole park looks like a dumping ground.
Water pressure was very low.
No water the first morning.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Seaside26084777881 wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall the stay was great and most of the staff were friendly and hospitable apart from an encounter with one lady who works there who really let them down. The heater in our room wasn’t working and since it was -4 degrees we went to ask if there was a spare one we could please use. The office had closed about 20-30 mins prior but we were freezing so we went to ask if they might have a spare one to heat our room with. We didn’t think that this would be a big ask, however it definitely turned out to be. One of the staff greeted one of our group by abusively pulling the fingers at them through her window, she hadn’t even asked what was wrong but once one of us said we were cold she started clapping. This is absolutely disgusting and unacceptable behaviour, if you can’t be nice and don’t like people why are you working in hospo? Really appalling behaviour and such a let down as the rest of the staff were really great and helpful & the spot is in an epic location. Recommend if you need help with anything, don’t ask this lady!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tony Ritchie, General Manager at Lake Ruataniwha Holiday Park & Motels
Responded 6 Jul 2023
Hello there, I sincerely wish you had raised this concern when you visited my house to pick up the heater. You mentioned that you looked into her unit and saw her waving her hands around. If I had been aware of how you perceived her actions, I would have gladly taken you over to meet her and clarify any misunderstandings. In reality, she was simply playing with her two small dogs. I appreciate your feedback and apologize for any confusion caused. If you have any further concerns or would like to discuss this matter in person, please feel free to reach out. Best regards, Tony
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Odyssey67535883284 wrote a review Jan 2023
Christchurch, New Zealand1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely love this Campground. Although it may seem messy with all the un used caravans, it is an amazing campground. The playground is really fun, although they might need to fix the other trampoline that currently ripped and upside down. My family and I, with 2 other families, have been coming here for I think 11 years every January. Really close to 2 lakes, Lake Ruataniwha, abviosuly, and Lake Benmore. We stay at a powered tent site, and its perfect, with a free freshwater tap right at our spot. The what we call 'Daisys' are really useful and do all your basic needs. They however, do not supply dishwashing liqud, utensils, plate. etc, etc. Kitchen contains a communail fridge, 4 or 8 I forgot gas elements, and 2 sinks. Staff are really nice would 100% reccomend.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Books out quickly.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dionoh wrote a review Jun 2023
Christchurch, New Zealand20 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited Twizel for the night to see the incrediable hore frost that was happening, great night friendly lady served us, went out to see the frozen trees and on return found the water to our room also frozen, when I advised the office it was a quick search through the rooms only to find the biggest room the wine room with running water. A quick transfer of room no additional charge . Host was very apologetic but could not hold the weather against them and they were so accommodating upgrading us to the bigger room.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Take lot of warm clothes if visiting in the winter.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
KiwiWorld wrote a tip Apr 2024
Lavington, Australia518 contributions203 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring food. Check cost"
Read full review
hogseven7 wrote a tip Dec 2023
Wanaka, New Zealand17 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No traveller's with dogs are welcome. Agreat place to chill out we have been there many times thanks Tony Kian and your team "
Read full review
Mobile48397537570 wrote a tip Oct 2023
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Campsite in a sorry state. "
Read full review
Dionoh wrote a tip Jun 2023
Christchurch, New Zealand20 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take lot of warm clothes if visiting in the winter."
Read full review
Cheryl F wrote a tip May 2023
Christchurch, New Zealand14 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"This park is only a few KM from Twizel, so easy to get to shops and eating places, but nice a quiet and no traffic sounds"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Twizel area.
PRICE RANGE
$80 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionMackenzie DistrictTwizel
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LAKE RUATANIWHA HOLIDAY PARK & MOTELS | UPDATED 2024 Campground Reviews & Price Comparison (Twizel, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Lake Ruataniwha Holiday Park & Motels
Which popular attractions are close to Lake Ruataniwha Holiday Park & Motels?
Nearby attractions include SkyScape (4.5 km), High Country Salmon (2.5 km), and The Twizel Bookshop (2.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lake Ruataniwha Holiday Park & Motels?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, kids activities, and internet access.
Is parking available at Lake Ruataniwha Holiday Park & Motels?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lake Ruataniwha Holiday Park & Motels?
Conveniently located restaurants include Poppies Cafe, Ministry of Works Bar and Eatery, and Mint Folk & Co.
Are pets allowed at Lake Ruataniwha Holiday Park & Motels?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Lake Ruataniwha Holiday Park & Motels?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, and Malay.
All Twizel HotelsTwizel Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in TwizelHotels near Lake Ruataniwha Holiday Park & Motels
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire