Playacanela Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Playacanela Hotel

Avenida de la Mojarra, 21409, Ayamonte, Isla Canela Spain
Traveller (1164)
Vista a la piscina y playa desde balcón
Room & Suite (405)
Piscina climatizada
Pool & Beach (277)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#3 of 4 hotels in Isla Canela
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Arabic style hotel situated right by a wonderful sandy beach. It boasts stunning facilities like a large pool with water slides and Jacuzzi, a sun terrace with palm trees and loungers, an indoor heated pool, a spacious buffet-style restaurant and two bars. ROOMS: Rooms at Playacanela are large and bright and feature air conditioning/heating, satellite tv, ceiling fan, desk, telephone, safe, minibar and furnished balcony or terrace. FACILITIES & SERVICES: The hotel offers a large pool with slides and Jacuzzi, a sun terrace with palm trees and loungers, an indoor heated pool, an outdoor game area, mini-golf courses, boules and shuffleboard courts and a game room. There are other services available at an extra charge, like garage, souvenir shop, hairdresser's, car hire, medical service and babysitting service, among many others. ENTERTAINMENT: At its holiday hotels, Senator Hotels & Resorts offers a comprehensive entertainment programme for guests of all ages. The little ones will enjoy themselves in the Delfi Club, which includes the Mini Club (3-6 years) and the Junior Club (7-10 years). They will take part in sporting activities, pool games, craft making, civic activities, creative cooking workshops, eco workshops, theme parties, breakfasts and dinners with our mascot called Delfi, night shows, and many more activities. Teenagers will also have fun in the Teen Club (11-14 years) and the Ado Club (15-17 years), where they can engage in water sports, social action activities, pool games, parties... Finally, there's our Maxi Club for adults with sporting activities (aerobic, yoga, archery, water polo, aquafitness...), food tastings, creative workshops, theme parties and spectacular night shows. RESTAURANTS & BARS: Playacanela offers a big buffet-style restaurant ("Odiel") with show cooking, a pool bar and a theatre bar ("Esuri") that specializes in cocktails and hosts evening entertainment shows.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Archery
Babysitting
Indoor play area for children
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Bicycle rental
Game room
Mini golf
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Patio
Table tennis
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Solarium
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German

Location

Avenida de la Mojarra, 21409, Ayamonte, Isla Canela Spain
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 69 out of 100
69
Faro Airport
58.6 km
See all flights
Granada Airport
316.1 km
See all flights
1,902Review84Q+A55Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 722
  • 765
  • 245
  • 95
  • 75
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Bruce H wrote a review Oct 2023
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 7 nights half board, the hotel was very good. The rooms were cleaned every day, there was a good choice for breakfast and the evening meal.
A tourist train stops outside the hotel, we went on it as soon as we could to see the local area and become familiar with it
There is a bus stop 50 yards from the front of the hotel, its a circular route going to Ayamonte and back via the marina etc. The bus fare was 1.45 euro very cheap, and the ferry to Portugal was 2.30 euro each way, which takes about 15 minutes was also a bargin.
The marina is an easy 10 minute stroll, from here we had a boat trip up and down the river to various place of interest it costs 12 euro for adults, and is supposed to last for an hour. our trip lasted for quite a bit longer and we were suprised to be given a complimentry glass of wine and fresh shrimps halfway through.
We went to Porugal twice via the ferry from Ayamonte, buying presents for family.
We had 2 boat trips from the marina, a small boat called the Pelon ferry cost 6 euro return going to Isla Christina and the cruise mentioned previously.
The rest of our time was spent mainly on the beach, its about 200 metres wide and over 7 kilometres long, it was never crowded!
The sand was soft, the water was warm and the air temperature ranged from 26 to 31 degrees C.
During our stay we walked the entire length of the beach, you exit the hotel grounds swiping your room card to open the rear gate, go over the wooden bridge crossing the nature reserve, its about 100 metres and there you are at an almost empty beach.
The only negatives we had about the hotel was 4 euros daily for the room safe, we thought 2 euros a fairer price, so didn't use it and had no problems.
The evening meal started at 7.30 to 10.00, 6.30 would have been better allowing the evening entertainment to start at 9.15 instead of 10.15 which we thought was a bit late.
All in all, very happy with hotel, beach and surroundings, we have recommended it to Daughter and son in law for family holiday with 10 year old twins.
Don't expect to meet many english people unless you visit the marina or take the ferry to Portugal.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The Aymonte bus is popular so is sometimes full, get to the bus stop early.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Playacanela Hotel
Responded 18 Oct 2023
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing this review of your time at our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our clean rooms, delicious breakfast and evening meals, and our convenient location near the beach. It's great to know that you were able to explore the local area using the tourist train and bus service, as well as taking advantage of the ferry to Portugal. We appreciate your feedback regarding the room safe fee and the evening meal timings. We will take your suggestions into consideration for future improvements. Please note that our evening entertainment schedule is designed to accommodate a wide range of guest preferences, and we apologize if it was not ideal for your personal schedule. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back. Our kindest regards, Antonio Castilla GM Playacanela Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jackie B wrote a review Sept 2023
United Kingdom25 contributions8 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely hotel, with helpful and hard working staff. Spoiled for me by the excessive number of flies in the pool area.
The bedrooms are comfortable with nice sheets and pillows. Cleaning is done daily, and done early.
The restaurant provides good value meals with a large variety of dishes. You sometimes have to wait for crockery, as there never seems to be enough.
Ana, who looked after our area was always smiling and very pleasant to talk to, despite being very busy.
Very few, if any British guests. That made it more interesting for me, but if you are looking for a British dedicated hotel, try elsewhere.
The pool is large, with no shortage of sun beds. It is beautifully landscaped. I spent a lot of time sun bathing, and my enjoyment was spoiled by flies crawling over me. Regrettably, I wouldn't go back for that reason.
Superior rooms have stunning views, and it lifts your spirits to wake up to a view of a sunny beach.
Entertainment was in Spanish, which I loved, but might be a problem for some.
I enjoyed my time at this hotel, value for money wise, it came up to the mark.
That's why I'm sorry to only give three stars, based entirely on those pesky insects.
If you are not spending all day at the pool, it is an excellent base for exploring the area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room if offered. All inclusive is good value if you are having four or more...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Playacanela Hotel
Responded 2 Oct 2023
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Our entire team is delighted that you had such a pleasant experience. We do our best to provide top-notch service and ensure all our guests are satisfied, so this positive feedback is truly rewarding. We are delighted to know that you were pleased with your room with our high standards upheld and thank you for your appreciation of our convenient location. We always welcome our guests' feedback and would like to thank you for your suggestion on how we could improve. We hope to welcome you back. Best wishes, Antonio Castilla GM Playacanela Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
antonio f wrote a review Sept 2023
Sao Joao da Madeira, Portugal48 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very good experience with the family, aldo the pool and the tobogans were only for childrens from 5 years .
All the staff is wonderfull and very helpfull.
For small childrens they have the delfi club with plenty of activities during all Day and at night they aliás have a show.
The buffet is great, salad, fish, meat and deserts, for lovers of the 5 continents
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: I recommend to visit the beach. The water is warm and the views are great
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Playacanela Hotel
Responded 4 Sept 2023
Dear Antonio, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are thrilled to hear that you found our food, accommodation, and team to be brilliant. Our team works hard to provide exceptional service and create a comfortable atmosphere for our guests. It's great to know that we were able to meet your expectations during your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to our hotel. Best wishes, Antonio Castilla GM Playacanela Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AimeeBell wrote a review Sept 2023
118 contributions36 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful hotel! Staff were very friendly and helpful at all times even when we arrived at 2am from our flight. Cocktails are cheap and cheerful. One of the bar staff was amazing and very generous with the alcohol :)
The drive from the airport was quite long but that was our choice as we wanted to see Isla Canela. Gorgeous beach directly outside the hotel back door. Pool is clean and great for kids too with slides. Hot tub was a nice extra. Food was gorgeous and so much choice! Great kids entertainment in evening and fun for adults too with music quizzes etc. I would definitely recommend for anyone to visit this hotel as it’s such a good price for what you get :)
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Get the upgraded rooms as the basic rooms are quite cramped for people sharing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Playacanela Hotel
Responded 27 Sept 2023
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful, and that you enjoyed our affordable cocktails. It's great to know that our beachfront location, clean pool, and hot tub added to your enjoyment. We're also delighted that you appreciated the variety and quality of food at our buffet, as well as the entertainment for both kids and adults. We understand that the drive from the airport might have been long, but we're glad you chose to visit Isla Canela and explore its natural beauty. We hope you had the opportunity to enjoy some of the nearby attractions and activities during your stay. We would be pleased to welcome you back on future occasions. Kind regards, Antonio Castilla GM Playacanela Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tsbento wrote a review Aug 2022
13 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It was with all the pleasure that we stayed for 5 nights in Playacanela Hotel. The hotel is well located, in a quite neighborhood and at small steps from the beach. The hotel environment is good, where all the employees are really nice and always ready to help. Commun areas such as lobby, bar and restaurant are good. The rooms are bit old and need some renovation, but are cleaned and fresh and the bed is amazing. We stayed in 4th floor with an amazing view to the beach and also for a part of river side.

About the food. Breakfast is great, we loved the churros. Still we think the dinner could be better, there is lot of options, and it's always being refilled, but for example the grill seems to taste all the same...pasta corner as well could be better,
but in general is OK. About the animation in the hotel, the one done during the day around the pool, is amazing, with a lot of energy, the animators put everybody dancing and happy. During the night I think It could be better, I mean seems quite old, and it's done in Amphitheater, but in the summer, with the hot, I think it would be better to this outside at the pool.

The environment around the hotel is quite and pleasant. The way to the beach and the beach it self its amazing, good water and not crowded.

We really loved our five days vacation.

Thank you to the team of Playacanela Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Senator Hotels y Resorts, Director General at Playacanela Hotel
Responded 30 Aug 2022
Dear Guest, First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel and share your experience in our establishment with the rest of the readers. We are also pleased that you have highlighted our location, cleanliness, breakfast and animation staff. Our aim is always to ensure that our guests enjoy a perfect experience, therefore we are pleased to read from your comments that you left our hotel with such a good impression of your stay with us. Again we thank you for this review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon. Yours faithfully, Miguel Ángel Sandoval GM PlayaCanela Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandra V wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Loved the swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Good food and services. Amazing location, friendly staff and animation team. Nice hotel.
Would recommend the destination and hotel and hopefully will visit Isla Canela soon again and will stay at the very same hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Playacanela Hotel
Responded 23 Aug 2023
Dear Sandrava, Thank you for this great feedback about your recent stay. Our team is delighted that we were able to meet all of your expectations. Your kind comments encourage us to continue maintaining the high standards we set ourselves. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit. Kind regards, Antonio Castilla GM Playacanela Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Flowers47 wrote a review Sept 2015
Weston-super-Mare2 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from our holiday at Playa Canela in Isla Canela. Never having been to this part of Spain I wasn't sure what to expect but it well and truly exceeded all expectations. The area is unspoilt, clean and quiet, just an hour shuttle service from Faro airport. This gives you a chance to see Portugal before arriving via a bridge connection to Spain. Beautiful beach for sun bathers or for walkers. The weather was hot with a warm breeze near the sea.The hotel is very clean, spacious and ideally located for the beach or marina. The pool area had sufficient sun beds with a large, safe, swimming pool. Our room was spacious, clean and modern. It had views of the marina and sea. The Spanish people, both staff and other holiday guests, were friendly, polite and helpful. We stayed All Inclusive and were amazed at the choice of food and drinks available. Lots of sea-food if you like fish but equally a wide range of other culinary delights to tempt you. The entertainment was more focused for the children and as it was just me and my partner was not our choice. It would be better if there was a mixture to suit all age groups. However, our evenings were spent either strolling around the marina or having a few drinks in and around the hotel, after a delicious supper. Our holiday was most enjoyable and incredibly relaxing. I would most definitely recommend this holiday. Thank you Isla Canela and the people of Huelva! 😉
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from P-Stor, Gerente at Playacanela Hotel
Responded 2 Oct 2015
Dear Guests, Thank you for your comments given towards our establishment, and our staff, I will take this comment to them personally, because is in our interest, that all of our guests leave the hotel with a wonderful memory of their vacation. We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment. Miguel Ángel Sandoval PlayaCanela Hotel****
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RedSh0es wrote a review Jun 2007
London16 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked my holiday through Airtours, looking for somewhere that had a single room on the Algarve, as I didn't want to share with my parents!! The nearest we could get was the Costa de la Luz over the border in Spain.

Hotel Playa Canela is a very impressive 4* hotel with large rooms, friendly staff and a fabulous pool area (with heated outdoor jacuzzi). The choice for breakfast & dinner was amazing, with meat & fish cooked fresh on a grill. It was only a couple of minutes walk to a beautiful beach and there is a lovely paved walk from one end of Isla Canela to the other.

Currently it is mainly the Spanish that holiday in Isla Canela, so I recommend you go armed with a few Spanish phrases. In the harbour area there are a couple of English run bars, one of which, Sugar Reef, puts on the occasional entertainment night - while we were there they had a singer called 'Bruno' who was great.

Isla Canela is well located for trips to Ayamonte, the Algarve and Seville - however there is not much in the resort yet. This is changing and there is development taking place. I recommend using one of the many places to hire bikes, or take the Ocean or River boat trip.

Hotel Playa Canela most suited for families (the entertainment staff were lovely), and anyone wanting rest and relaxation.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2007
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katherine H wrote a review Mar 2017
2 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have never got round to reviewing any hotel I have ever stayed at before and it's was last year we stayed. The reason I felt compelled to write this review is that we were just booking our holiday again for this year and I always use trip advisor to see what feedback was.
Im a great believer you can never please everyone but that said when you read bad reviews it really can sway your decision to book.

We booked this holiday last year for myself and my husband and four kids 14 12 10 & 8. It was a very last minute booking as very little choice was left.
We love our holidays and will generally try book 4 or 5 star so that we get all the little luxuries you want from your family holiday.
We were so worried reading some of the reviews before we went.
PLEASE DO NOT HESITATE TOO BOOK THIS LOVELY HOTEL !!
It was such a pleasant surprise and we enjoyed it so much after much looking around (and reading lots of reviews) we thought did it let's go back to a place we all loved !!

So why did we love it ? Yes rooms are fairly basic (but clean).
Food is very Spanish but hey you are in Spain !!
Yes predominately it is a Spanish speaking resort but we all had fun having a go!
My 8 year old was so chuffed with himself taking himself off to the bar with his broad Yorkshire accent ordering his milkshake in Spanish !! Not only did he like it but the staff and rightly so liked it and high fived his attempt !! 😂

In fact by the end of the week we had all mastered ordering most things in Spanish and it felt great !
So the all inclusive ... this is what has really brought us back, all premium brands / spirits in fact the gin was amazing "Mombasa" is our favourite and we even got this imported when we got back we loved it so much !!
The kids had crisps / ice creams / tapas milkshakes, all of them loved it !
The entertainment was ace even the older girls (normally engrossed in social media) got involved the songs were so catchy and by the end of the week you knew them.
It was fun without been overbearing and cheesy ! After a few Mombassa's I was at it with them too in the pool doing the dances !!

Yes there wasn't lots of brits and yes there isn't loads of shops and bars but we walked to the beautiful beach every day and the kids had a blast!
On a night we hit the disco and the entertainment or we hired go karts from the village and we had so much fun up and down the promenade!
The pool table was a hit out of the sun for when the boys got too hot and it was one of the first holidays we ever had that the children could be fairly independent because the set up was so lovely. Honestly a week wasn't enough !

We are due to go back in August again and can't wait, we hope everything is the same so we can go back and make some more amazing family memories !!
If you are a family like me reading this review and are worried about the bad reviews take a look at my pictures this was one happy family !!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from P-Stor, Gerente at Playacanela Hotel
Responded 11 May 2017
Dear Guests, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day. We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment. Miguel Ángel Sandoval PlayaCanela Hotel****
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kirsty B wrote a review Sept 2015
Exeter, United Kingdom217 contributions68 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel exceeded all expectations. We knew that it would be mainly Spanish at the hotel but that was the appeal ... Who wants to go to Spain and spend a week with a load of English eating English food and drinking in English bars.
The hotel was only an hour from Faro airport with a private taxi, we didn't arrive until 10pm but were taken to the restaurant for our evening meal, not hot food but impressed all the same.
Our room was spacious wi 2 double beds, perfect for 2 adults, a 15 yr old and a 10 yr old. We had a fantastic view across to the beach and sea.
The hotel is ideally positioned along a beautiful promenade which has lots of boardwalks down to the beach. Didn't spend too much time on the beach, was lovely but was just personal choice. The beach has various beach bars, ideal for snacks if you didn't want to go back to the hotel for lunch.
There are several street traders along the promenade but none of them hassled us at all, not like in other countries I have visited.
If you turn left out the back of the hotel and walk along the promenade you come to the marina area of Isla Canela. It's a lovely area with about a dozen different restaurants and bars and also a handful of shops.
We hired bikes on 2 evenings , the first time was a twin seated go kart for our kids and the next night was a 4 seated bike with a canopy, great fun and reasonably priced.
We only had 1 cloudy morning and took a taxi, 10 euros each way, into Ayamonte. What a beautiful town, full of little streets of tiled buildings. Definitely worth a trip.
When you go into the sink room to eat, head right through to the back and then you come outside, it is much nicer to eat there, you are under cover and if cooler the staff leave the clear sides down, but it's a lovely relaxed atmosphere out there.
The pool was lovely, 2 slides which are more suited to younger kids. Great organising with the sun beds, you can't reserve them at all before 10am and after that time if you leave them for more than an hour your belongings are removed, it saves a lot of argy bargy ! Mainly Spanish at the hotel but that's what we were after and we didn't feel awkward at all.
The staff were all very helpful and friendly. Lovely food with a great choice for all 3 meals, not many potato products but always a big choice of different fish, meat, salads etc.
Rooms and all of hotel, toilets and pool very cleaned. Rooms cleaned daily.
We loved our 6 nights here and would definitely return but for longer next time !
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from P-Stor, Gerente at Playacanela Hotel
Responded 2 Oct 2015
Dear Guests, Thank you for your comments given towards our establishment, and our staff, I will take this comment to them personally, because is in our interest, that all of our guests leave the hotel with a wonderful memory of their vacation. We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment. Miguel Ángel Sandoval PlayaCanela Hotel****
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Isla Canela area.
PRICE RANGE
$222 - $561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
playacanela isla canela, playacanela hotel isla canela
LOCATION
SpainAndaluciaProvince of HuelvaAyamonteIsla Canela
NUMBER OF ROOMS
306
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PLAYACANELA HOTEL - Reviews & Price Comparison (Isla Canela, Spain) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Playacanela Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Playacanela Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Marina Isla Canela (0.1 km) and Playa De Los Haraganes (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Playacanela Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Playacanela Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Playacanela Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Playacanela Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Playacanela Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nuevo Restaurante Simon SL., restaurante Casa Miguel Angel, and La Pamela.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Playacanela Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Playacanela Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Playacanela Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Playacanela Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Playacanela Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Praceta Da Bateria Do Medo Alto (6.0 km).
All Isla Canela HotelsIsla Canela Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Isla CanelaHotels near Playacanela Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire