Waikīkī Grand Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Waikīkī Grand Hotel

June sunset  view
Traveller (267)
Deluxe Studio
Room & Suite (112)
walking distance 5 minutes
Pool & Beach (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.0
#80 of 94 hotels in Honolulu
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Congratulations! You have found the Waikiki Grand Hotel®, here in Waikiki's best location at the edge of Kapiolani Park. Within 134 steps of the famous white sand beach, you can swim, paddle, surf, or take in the sun with folks from all over the world. Shop, dine, and party at the fabulous restaurants, clubs, and shops a short walk from this eclectic collection of charming vacation rentals.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Outdoor pool
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

134 Kapahulu Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Honolulu Intl Airport
12.8 km
See all flights
Molokai Airport
76.1 km
See all flights
3.0
3.0 of 5 bubbles434 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Waikīkī Grand Hotel presents a varied experience, with some guests praising its prime beach-proximate location and vibrant atmosphere, particularly the lively 10th-floor deck with ocean views. While travelers appreciate the added amenities such as beach gear and kitchenettes, opinions diverge regarding the rooms—ranging from clean and well-appointed to concerns about cleanliness, size, and upkeep. Service feedback also spans the spectrum, acknowledging friendliness and helpfulness but pointing out check-in issues. Value perceptions are mixed, with some guests questioning the furnishings and fees.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Unkempt
Value
Inconsistent
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
434Reviews21Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 112
  • 106
  • 67
  • 51
  • 98
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
IkuAika wrote a review Jul 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My room was on the ninth floor of the building and the view overlooked other buildings so it was not a visually pleasing view. Then again, I selected the city view, but I did not know it would look like that. Also, the hotel did not offer any in-room dining services so we had to buy groceries ahead of time and dine at the nearby restaurants. On top of that, they did not offer any daily cleanings. You had to physically go down to the front desk to request for any extra/clean items. There were kitchen and dining ware provided in our room, but we decided not to use them for sanitary reasons. The room also came with an ironing board and a couple hangers in the closet for our use. Our room was decent. There was an air conditioner and it ran the entire time that we were there. There was TV and cable so we were pretty entertained. The rooms were secured by passcode so that you didn't have to worry about losing your room key. The staff was friendly and kind. Beyond that, it was decent. Nothing horrible, but also nothing too out of the ordinary.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ron Sugihara, Other at Waikīkī Grand Hotel
Responded 14 Dec 2020
Aloha! Thank you for staying with us at the Castle Waikiki Grand Hotel! With COVID-19, we do not clean rooms during guests stays, but do replenish amenities and change out linens upon request. We do have very stringent cleaning guidelines in place because of the special situation we are all in. We are happy you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We appreciate your feedback! Mahalo!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CharlotteKelowna wrote a review Oct 2022
Kelowna
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The location of this hotel is absolutely fantastic: across from the beach, close to the aquarium and the zoo.The staff is helpful and polite. They make every effort to help the guests to have a good experience. Beach towels and water floaties are provided on request. Once you enter the room things become different. It does not look like anything than what you have seen on the photos! Thankfully the bed is comfortable, but a bathroom cabinet stands on wiggly legs, and it looks like it comes from a garage sale.The air conditioning unit works, but it is noisy, which does not make for a restful sleep. Things get quirky! The bathroom is very compact, and you may have problems to switch on the shower: it is located under the faucet, and you have to pull it down! In the mini-mini kitchenette.brace yourself for more: The fridge cools your food to the point, where it is frozen-even on a medium setting. The microwave is way up high on a shelf above the fridge. But there is a step stool, so you can see what you are doing! There was a two-burner hotplate, which is also located way up high on a shelf. You can use it by putting it over the sink.. We did that, but for starters we cleaned away the dirt and grease.Cleanliness was not outstanding in the sitting area either: somebody cut his/her finger nails and left them on the couch! ( They charge a cleaning fee!) If you can put up with all of that, the place will work for you, due to the great location. This establishment is in dire need of some updating!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from WGH Front Desk, Owner at Waikīkī Grand Hotel
Responded 27 May 2023
Thank you for staying with us at the Waikiki Grand Hotel! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our convenient location, friendly staff and the complimentary use of beach amenities including towels. We are sorry the air conditioner was noisy. We appreciate your feedback and plan on updating this unit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
RaringtoGo8 wrote a review May 2020
Toronto, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Waikiki Grand's biggest advantage is its location. Right next to Kapiolani Park and a block from Waikiki Beach (Queen's Surf side) . The units are individually owned, so decor, amenities and prices vary widely. If you choose carefully, you'll get good value. They have a small lobby and a small pool. If you're banking on spending a lot of time using a pool during your stay, choose another place. The pool is small and cold.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ron S, Manager at Waikīkī Grand Hotel
Responded 27 May 2020
Aloha! Thank you for staying with us at the Castle Waikiki Grand Hotel! We are sorry that the pool is smaller and size and not heated. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our convenient location! We appreciate the feedback. Mahalo!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carla wrote a review Feb 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The view from the balcony was phenomenal and the location was great since it was only a 1/2 block from the beach and main strip down Waikiki. HOWEVER, there was hair all over the unit. Hair and sand on the couch, hair in the refrigerator, hairs in the bed, all over everything. I struggled to feel comfortable to sit on anything knowing that the unit was cleaned well at all. I was tempted to leave that night but because I spent so much money, I stayed. The chair on the balcony was also broken so we had to improvise. For the money I spent on Air B&B for the nightly rate ($175) and additional Cleaning charges of $175, it was way too much for the quality of this room. Also when I told them about the issues, they said they'd take it up with their Housekeeping but didn't offer any sort of help on the parking fee or cleaning fee to compensate for my experience.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ron Sugihara, Other at Waikīkī Grand Hotel
Responded 18 Feb 2021
Aloha Carla, Thank you for staying with us at the Castle Waikiki Grand Hotel! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the view from the balcony and our convenient location. We are sorry you found hair and sand in the room. We appreciate your feedback and hope you were able to resolve any compensation with AIRBNB. Mahalo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charley J wrote a review Dec 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Castle Waikiki Grand for 1 night and booked in advanced for $85. When we checked in, we were charged an extra $115 for a room cleaning fee. This is a ridiculous amount to charge for a one night stay, and the amount was not published in anything provided during booking or before arriving at the hotel. The fee was in the boilerplate paperwork we signed at check-in, but nobody made any mention of it during the process. I only became aware when I saw the charge on my credit card. From that point, the staff was a pain to deal with. Nobody wanted to take responsibility in fully dealing with my questions. It took multiple emails and phone calls to the hotel and their corporate customer support to get someone to take some ownership. Every response was mostly focused on the fact that they had my money and didn't have to give it back. Even if that is the case, some level of customer focus would have gone a long way to improving the experience. If I feel I'm treated well and fairly, a disappointing outcome is fine. That was not the case here.

As for the hotel. It is ok. The location isn't bad. The rooms feel like someone's AirBnB basement suite. A bit weird, but good enough for one night. We asked for a recommendation for dinner, and the employee tried to steer us toward their hotel bar which only serves appetizers by telling us we didn't really want a full meal. Just another example of being focused on the money I guess.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Find a different hotel.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from WGH Front Desk, Owner at Waikīkī Grand Hotel
Responded 29 May 2023
Aloha and sorry for your experience - it is important to know that you booked through a 3rd party company, and when booking directly with the Waikiki Grand Hotel everything is paid in advance. We do not charge a 'reservation handling fee' or resort fee and do not collect anything at the property. Your review does reflect your experience with a 3rd party management company, however when booking direct with us direct you will not have this experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RJb wrote a review Sept 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
They charge cash only for laundry and unless you have cash, you wont get laundry done.
They also refused to charge my credit card for the laundry usage.
And you can tell that the staff does not care even 1%
The least they can do is pretend like they give a hoot
As expensive as this place is, (I’m surprised l’m not being charged for oxygen I’m breathing) you would think they have laundry services readily available for paying guests
And not make it a cash or no deal thing.

Don’t waste your money on this one please
Look elsewhere people
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from WGH Front Desk, Owner at Waikīkī Grand Hotel
Responded 29 May 2023
Aloha and sorry for your experience - it is important to know that you booked through a 3rd party company, and when booking directly with the Waikiki Grand Hotel everything is paid in advance. We do not charge a 'reservation handling fee' or resort fee and do not collect anything at the property. Your review does reflect your experience with a 3rd party management company, however when booking direct with us direct you will not have this experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Debbie G wrote a review Jun 2024
Maricopa, Arizona, United States
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our third visit at this resort and second stay. We stayed at a different room location and still found to have a peaceful view and consistent amenities in this room. It saved money from renting beach chairs, boogie board, snorkeling and beach towels where other resorts charge more money. We also had coffee daily in the room, and the kitchenette was fully equipped with a toaster, microwave, 2 electric rangers and a small refrigerator. The cabinets were stocked with plates, glasses, coffee mugs, forks, spoons, knifes, pots, pans for cooking. The room also had iron board and iron, hair dryer and plenty of bathroom towels for my daughter and I. Along with a room digital clock there was a little computer desk, large TV and the peaceful paint light green paint. The patio had lovely wood chairs and table to each our breakfast with a fabulous view of Diamond head overlooking the Honolulu Zoo across the street. Perfet stay for walking to the beach in 1 minute away. All the local transportation is at your finger tips downstairs along with pick up from shuttle busses.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria C wrote a review Jul 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
When we entered our room it was NOTHING like any of the pictures online. We booked a balcony room with partial ocean view and this room was small and had no balcony. The room smelled, was small and was very outdated. The swimming pool was not private, very old and outdated. You have to take your own trash out and only able to request clean towels every other day. The manager claims the owner was there the previous day and lit incense although the room had a strong smoke and smell that we could not spend one night there, They offered us another room, which was just as outdated, old, had old covers on the furniture and the bed did not look like the linens were sleepable. We were lucky enough to be able to book another room elsewhere at that moment and lost out on one night per reservation rules.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Book elsewhere if you want to enjoy a nice Hawaiian experience. Most rooms are privately owned...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from WGH Front Desk, Owner at Waikīkī Grand Hotel
Responded 29 May 2023
Aloha and sorry for your experience - it is important to know that you booked through a 3rd party company, and when booking directly with the Waikiki Grand Hotel everything is paid in advance. We do not charge a 'reservation handling fee' or resort fee and do not collect anything at the property. Your review does reflect your experience with a 3rd party management company, however when booking direct with us direct you will not have this experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katie H wrote a review Nov 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Waikiki Grand is a grand place to stay at Waikiki Beach. Although our room was small, it was well outfitted with a small kitchen area, a comfortable bed, a nice bathroom, a lanai with a fantastic view of Diamond Head and the beach, and beach gear such as towels & chairs. You can't beat the location of the Grand across the street from Kapiolani Park, 1 block from the beach, and near many restaurants, bars, and stores. There are laundry facilities in the basement. The front staff were very friendly and helpful. The room rates are very reasonable for Waikiki Beach, making the Grand an excellent value. We are already planning our next stay at the Grand.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ROBERT S wrote a review Mar 2020
Normal, IL
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Rooms are just okay, and depending on who owns and maintains the property, you never know what you are going to get. Our unit was perfect for our stay. Nice kitchen area stocked with anything you could want. Very comfortable bed. Huge shower. Laundry facilities in basement. But the reason we loved our unit was the VIEW - looking out from the 6th floor over the zoo, DIRECTLY at Diamondhead, beach view from the balcony. Unbelievable. Lovely walking to the beach, park or shopping/dining throughout Waikiki.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Make sure your room is facing the zoo. Choose a higher floor to avoid traffic noise and to look...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ron S, General Manager at Waikīkī Grand Hotel
Responded 26 Mar 2020
Aloha Robert, Thank you for staying with us at the Castle Waikiki Grand Hotel! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, the huge shower in your room, the view from your balcony and our convenient location! We hope you enjoyed any interaction you had with our front desk staff as well. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return in the future! Mahalo!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tenure asked a question Aug 2023
Dunedin, Florida41 contributions19 helpful votes
Is there a safe for valuables in the room?
Answer from Pamela E
9 contributions
Sorry , but I went to the beach most of the time!!! From what I remember the sun hit the pool for most of the day as it came up on that side. I hope you have a better room, as mine was disgusting
Pua Nani asked a question Aug 2019
Los Angeles, California
Hello can you tell me if this Hotel provide airport shuttle
Answer from Antechinus
Australia13 contributions33 helpful votes
Also, check out Charlies Taxi Service. They offer a flat rate of (I think) $29US per cab if you book online. You will need to add a tip. This will be a cheaper option for a family. There may be some exclusions, such as busy periods, etc.
Answer from Frank Pantaleo
Southport, Australia10 contributions2 helpful votes
yes it will suit 2 adults depends which room you book if it provides fridge and stove. Yes to balcony. Room faced the zoo and part ocean.not much noise accept for cars racing at night. 3 minute walk to everything including stores and beaches. We took a taxi from airport 20 min. Drive $40. One way. There are nicer places to stay at for same price. Look hard before you book this place.
Mark B wrote a tip Apr 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check your in the hotel part not the rented apartments, however still wouldn’t stay there.."
Read full review
Tracy a wrote a tip Feb 2024
Jenison, Michigan3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pool is not heated but very clean and quiet. Parking is tight.. make sure you don’t try to arrive in a big jeep or truck.. "
Read full review
Craig R wrote a tip Dec 2023
Coquitlam, Canada1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pool is a non event? But the location, the service,, the price, and the rooms were wonderful! I am looking to book again shortly. "
Read full review
Derek F wrote a tip Dec 2023
APTOS5 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pool is not really usable. The bottom is all discolored and the water is cold. It looks like it has been neglected for sometime. "
Read full review
Shane H wrote a tip Nov 2023
Ringsted, Iowa13 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Save your money and go somewhere else that is clean! This place is a scam and a rip off! You have been warned!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Honolulu area.
PRICE RANGE
$248 - $576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiOahuHonoluluWaikiki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
180
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WAIKĪKĪ GRAND HOTEL - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Honolulu, HI) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Waikīkī Grand Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Waikīkī Grand Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Magical Mystery Show at Hilton Waikiki Beach (0.4 km), Hawaii Surfing Academy (0.3 km), and St. Augustine by the Sea (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Waikīkī Grand Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Waikīkī Grand Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Waikīkī Grand Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Waikīkī Grand Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid public parking on-site, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Waikīkī Grand Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Deck., Momosan Waikiki, and Morimoto Asia Waikiki.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Waikīkī Grand Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Waikīkī Grand Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Iolani Palace (5.4 km), Shangri La (3.2 km), and US Army Museum of Hawaii (1.5 km).
Does Waikīkī Grand Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Waikīkī Grand Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Honolulu HotelsHonolulu Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Honolulu
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire