We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gilded

Visit hotel website
Traveller (196)
360
Panoramas (15)
Video (1)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The newest boutique hotel in Newport RI, Gilded is a modern, irreverent take on the decadent style of the Gilded Age. Guests can revel in this homage to the region's rich history while enjoying all the modern splendor the Newport hotel has to offer. A contemporary mix of ornate mirrors, lacquered surfaces, and gold accents come together to create envelope-pushing decor unlike anything found in Newport.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free parking
Breakfast included
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Air conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Boutique
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Offers & Announcements:Midweek Winter Special!

Location

Full view
86Good for walkers
Grade: 86 out of 100
19Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
18Attractionswithin 0.5 km
254Reviews
363Photos
3Q+A
51Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 155
  • 60
  • 27
  • 8
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Had a wonderful experience at Gilded. The staff were fabulous , went above and beyond is all aspects of the service and the rooms were amazing. Such a fun and eclectic hotel. Thanks for a wonderful weekend !
Read more
Hotel's Favourite
In October 2018, my husband and I spent 4 nights at Gilded. It was the perfect home base for our visit to Newport. It's within walking distance to restaurants, shops, and mansions. What clinched it for us was the free, on-site parking - a rarity in Newport. As for the hotel
Read more
Response from Abbey H, Public Relations Manager at Gilded
Responded 10 Dec 2018
Thrilled that you and your husband found Gilded to be the perfect home base during your 4-day visit to Newport–we really do thinking walking around is the best way to explore the city! Happy to hear that you enjoyed your comfortable room and the courtyard with its great landscaping (new this year!) and we're so glad you were able to take advantage of some of the On Lark Club perks! We do hope to welcome you both back again soon!
Read more
We thought location would be good based on ratings but we were very disappointed. There is not enough private parking. You can park in the street but the surrounding neighborhood seemed sketchy and we saw what looked like homeless people walking about. We didn’t feel safe
Read more
Response from AbbeyHybl, Public Relations Manager at Gilded
Responded 12 Feb 2019
We're so sorry to hear that your stay with us was not what you were hoping for. While we do have some off-street parking for our guests, if guests do park on the street, and we can assure you that it is safe to do so, there are normally no issues but we completely understand that everyone has different preferences. Many guests do enjoy walking downtown and to the harbor straight from Gilded but we do appreciate your feedback. We're disappointed to hear that we won't have the opportunity to welcome you back for another stay, as we'd certainly love to have you again. We suggest checking out our sister property, The Attwater, as it sounds like it may be a better fit for you.
Read more
Gilded is a beautiful, well-located property with thoughtful, attentive staff. We absolutely loved the decor and room (we were upgraded to Queen Deluxe). The bed and sheets were a dream! The food was fantastic and included - small plates that were all delicious. They even left
Read more
Response from AbbeyHybl, Public Relations Manager at Gilded
Responded 12 Feb 2019
Love to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us in Newport! So glad you not only found the property itself to be so beautiful but enjoyed the comfortable room and fantastic breakfast plates and we're so glad that we were able to make your stay just a little bit more special by upgrading your room. It sounds like you were able to explore all that Newport has to offer and we can't wait to be your home base again then next time you're in town!
Read more
+4
Gilded is a more than fitting bed and breakfast, an updated take on opulence among the Newport mansions scene. After taking the tours, you do feel as if returning to your own mansion. It was more appropriate for us as well since I'm not a fan of the typical doilies and Victorian
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play Areas
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorGilded
The Lark Suite at the Gilded
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorGilded
The Lark Suite at the Gilded
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorGilded
The King Deluxe at the Gilded
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorGilded
The Gilded Suite at the Gilded
Photo provided by managementGilded
PreviousNext
12345628
Is there a hot tub at this hotel? Or do any of the rooms have jacuzzi tubs?
We did not have a hot tub in our room nor did I see one at the hotel. Uh
0 votes
Show all answers
No safes when we visited in Sep 2105. A shortcoming.
1 vote
Show all answers
Hi, thanks for your question, and thanks to all the previous guests for their answers! Gilded can accommodate kids really only in the Lark Suite, Gilded Suite and Queen Suite rooms. (There's an extra per person charge, see our policies on our website.) Gooseberry Beach is about 2.5 miles and Easton Beach is a little over a mile from Gilded. There's a great link to info on area beaches on our website as well. We hope to welcome you soon!
0 votes
Show all answers
"We had 101 which was a suite and can't fault it"
"No elevator - request a ground floor room if that could be a challenge for you."
"There are a couple of rooms within feet of the billard table, I woiuld request a quiet room if go to bed early."
"Go for the larger rooms, loved the fireplace."
"first floor of main building was loud with people returning at night."
PreviousNext
12345611
PRICE RANGE
US$172 - US$448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesRhode IslandNewport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing