Ribbonwood Retreat Bed And Breakfast Franz Josef Glacier
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Ribbonwood Retreat Bed And Breakfast Franz Josef Glacier

26 Greens Road, Franz Josef, Westland Tai Poutini National Park 7886 New Zealand
Traveller (100)
Back porch view
Room & Suite (68)
Breakfast made to order.  Fabulous food from the garden.
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#1 of 4 B&Bs in Franz Josef
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
In your quality accommodation at Ribbonwood Retreat, you can relax in the wilderness, wander the gardens and feel your travel tiredness slip away. The surroundings of Glacier Country are at the doorstep to explore. Our accommodation includes two choices; a separate self-contained garden cottage with a king bed and a single bed or the spacious Waiho Rooms on the top floor of the house - where your party have the exclusive use of the top floor with two bedrooms for a double, twin, or a group of three travelling together. Set on an acre of lush, sprawling lawns surrounded by established native trees and private gardens, your secluded Scandi-inspired retreat in the heart of Glacier Country awaits. Nestled on the doorstep of Westland National Park, the generous 40-square-metre cottage boasts spectacular mountain and glacier views. Conveniently located a short 5-minute drive to the town centre of Franz Josef Glacier you can indulge in a fabulous range of cafes and restaurants and venture into the wilderness on one of many iconic hiking trails or guided tours. Experience the West Coasts' incredible sunsets or sip your favourite wine alfresco under the stars on the large deck which eludes off the cottage ranch slider. Sink into your hotel-grade King bed wrapped in crisp 100% cotton line-dried linen. The Waiho Suite encompasses two bedrooms which both have ranch slider doors that open out onto private decks, perfectly positioned whilst enjoying your favourite beverage appreciating the vastness around you that is UNESCO World Heritage. Just a few minutes drive from the village and ten minutes drive from the glacier, our bed & breakfast accommodation has several excellent restaurants nearby, offering complimentary transport. You can relax knowing your hosts, Julie and Jonathan will take good care of you.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Canoeing offsite
Baggage storage
Concierge
Private check-in / check-out
Secured parking
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Room features
Safe
Seating area
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Qualmark.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, French, Italian
379Reviews2Q+A76Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 348
  • 23
  • 6
  • 2
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
terri m wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was by far our favorite B&B that we have stayed in. The room we had was lovely and comfortable. It was the attention to detail that made it so special. Homemade soap in the bathroom, homemade yogurt with rhubarb sauce fresh from the garden, and homemade bread at the breakfast table. Delicious breakfast of crepes and eggs of your choice. Julie and Jo are so warm and friendly, they have such a knack for making guests feel at home. They are also knowledgable about the area and very informative. Wish we didn't live so far away because we would love to come back and visit!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jules068, Owner at Ribbonwood Retreat Bed And Breakfast Franz Josef Glacier
Responded 11 Feb 2020
Thank you! You make us feel very warm that we are your fav Bed and Breakfast. We are so glad you appreciated our place here at Ribbonwood and all we have to offer - and truly enjoyed your stay. It;s a two way thing and we loved having you here and sharing our stories. We never know, we may meet again, Arohanui Julie and Jo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steven S wrote a review Feb 2020
Toronto2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this location based on previous reviews which Julie and Jonathon more than lived up to / exceeded. Communication prior to arriving suggesting things to do, places to visit and pre-booking of a Heli Hike were awesome and provided a sense of comfort that we wouldn't be looking for things to do (when weather prevented the hike still had a plethora of options!).. Breakfast, both the food and the conversation were fantastic and felt like we were staying with friends. Would highly recommend this location (and the rhubarb) to anyone planning to spend time in Franz Josef.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Julie Wolbers, Owner at Ribbonwood Retreat Bed And Breakfast Franz Josef Glacier
Responded 4 Mar 2020
Kia ora Steven. We had much joy in your stay. You have hit the nail - we left as friends. This is why we host, it brings us much aroha. I love helping my guests make the most of their stay. The rhubarb just keeps growing and growing! Warm thoughts to you both e hoa.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alan S wrote a review Mar 2020
Dubai, United Arab Emirates29 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Ribbonwood Retreat is just a short distance out of Franz Josef and is an extremely good BandB. We were in the cottage (there are two other rooms in the house) which was large and well equipped.
Local restaurants were willing to collect and return us to Ribbonwood Retreat after a meal.
The hosts were extremely friendly and helpful.
An outstanding BandB and highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The cottage was extremely nice and roomy.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Julie Wolbers, Owner at Ribbonwood Retreat Bed And Breakfast Franz Josef Glacier
Responded 16 Apr 2020
Thank you so much for your excellent review of us. We feel very lucky with our great location, so peaceful yet close to all the action. We remember you both as we did enjoy our conversations. It was lovely having you to stay. Arohanui Julie and Jo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rhi wrote a review Feb 2022
Wanaka, New Zealand1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Julie and Jo were fantastic hosts. They both met us as we arrived, were given a very warm welcome and showed us to our room which had its own private deck and wonderful views towards the mountains. We were asked if we’d like to see the gardens and surrounds and were guided through an extensive vegetable and flower garden. Much of what’s grown is used in their cooking, and therefore, we very much looked forward to breakfast the next morning. Although we had visited Franz Josef before, Julie and Jo's extensive knowledge of the area helped us plan our stay. Their wealth of knowledge was very welcome.
Our room was immaculate and the spacious bathroom had everything we needed, including a beautiful hand made soap made by the owner herself.
After an extremely restful sleep, we joined another couple the following morning for a breakfast of crepe and fruit. We were given a choice of several things, but the crepe took our fancy. Both Julie and Jo are the kind of hosts you'd wish to meet in every place you stay. They put the guests first and nothing is too much trouble.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: One night isn’t enough! If you have time, stay 2 or even 3 nights. Amazing hospitality and loads...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jonathan and Julie, Owner at Ribbonwood Retreat Bed And Breakfast Franz Josef Glacier
Responded 19 Apr 2022
Kia ora our dear guests, what beautiful words here to tell others of your experience staying with us! You are very kind. It was a great joy hosting you. We are just a few minutes drive from the village gives us a great vantage point, so we are close to the action and just far enough removed that you can feel the peace and quiet. Meeting you was also an unforgettable experience for us, glad you enjoyed our breakfast. Warm thoughts and all the best, Julie and Jo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HeatherGibbons2016 wrote a review Apr 2020
Lichfield, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Ribbonwood Retreat is a lovely bed & breakfast situated in a quiet and beautiful location.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable, ours had an outside deck with seating area. I would recommend a stay of at least 3 nights just in case you have to re-arrange your activities due to the weather.
What sets it aside from other bed and breakfasts and make it so special are the hosts Julie and Jo. From the moment you arrive they welcome you into their home and ensure that you make the most of your stay in this stunning area of New Zealand. Their advice, enthusiasm and knowledge from the time we made the booking was invaluable, they even gave us a list of things to see on our journey from Lake Wanaka to Franz Josef. Julie booked all our activities including a helicopter ride with snow landing at Mount Cook, Kayaking at Okarito and my husband an extreme heli-hike on the Fox Glacier which he hasn't stopped talking about.
In the evening there is even a free taxi service to some of the restaurants in Franz Josef village which Julie kindly arranged for us, nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfasts were a sociable affair where we were introduced to guests from other parts of the world. We enjoyed home made pancakes with eggs from their chickens and home made bread.
We were on a 3 month tour of New Zealand but Ribbonwood Retreat and the hospitality of Julie and Jo will always be remembered with fondness and hopefully one day we will return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Julie Wolbers, Owner at Ribbonwood Retreat Bed And Breakfast Franz Josef Glacier
Responded 16 Apr 2020
Kia ora Heather our dear guests, what beautiful words you have written to tell others of your experience staying with us! You are very kind. We absolutely loved having you here, it was a great joy in our hosting experience. Yes, just a few minutes drive from the village gives us a great vantage point, so we are close to the action and just far enough removed so as to feel the peace and quiet. Meeting you was also an unforgettable experience for us. I am glad you worked with us several months beforehand so we could pass on advice and tips to make your activities tailored for you and to ensure you made the most of every opportunity. Warm thoughts and all the best, Julie and Jo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JaneHuw wrote a review Feb 2020
Gosport, United Kingdom15 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A warm and welcoming atmosphere at this beautifully clean B&B made our stay so enjoyable. The hosts were friendly, informative and cooked delicious breakfasts using home grown and locally sourced produce. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jules068, Owner at Ribbonwood Retreat Bed And Breakfast Franz Josef Glacier
Responded 11 Feb 2020
Thank you for the great review Jane. We really enjoyed having you stay with us at Ribbonwood and so glad we could answer all your flora and fauna questions! We enjoy sharing our fresh produce for breakfast. Ka kite ano. Kind regards, Julie and Jo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CharlieandJulia wrote a review Jan 2020
Brooklyn, New York, United States6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What an absolute treat it was to stay with Julie & Jonathan at Ribbonwood. We stayed in the main house upstairs in a spacious room with beautiful views and comfortable bed. But the real highlights of Ribbonwood are its hosts, Julie & Jonathan. You could not ask for sweeter, more gracious hosts than the two of them. Every morning included a great breakfast (recommend the crepes & eggs from their chickens in the backyard), and great conversation. Franz Josef is a special place, and our trip was made all the more special by staying with Julie & Jonathan. We will be sure to recommend Ribbonwood to anybody we know coming through!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jules068, Owner at Ribbonwood Retreat Bed And Breakfast Franz Josef Glacier
Responded 2 Jan 2020
Kia ora e hoa. We had a good time meeting you both on your honeymoon and it was a joy hosting you. This is very kind of you to review us, thanks so much Charlie! I like it that you came recommended from friends so our past friendships from hosting stay alive! It was a warm feeling as we shared our stories and we had lots of laughs. All the best, J and J
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chasyj wrote a review Feb 2020
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom184 contributions87 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A family member organised an overnight stay in Franz Joseph on our way to Queenstown to continue our holiday in New Zealand. We arrived at Ribbonwood to a very warm welcome from Julie and Jonathan (owners) before being taken to the log chalet situated within their lovely garden. The chalet is set out with all amenities including a small kitchen area, seating and a large comfy bed. Outside is a large decked area where we enjoyed an hour in the peaceful surroundings before we were picked up by a private car and taken to the Blue Ice Cafe for our evening meal (see separate review). The private car also delivered us back after the meal (at no cost to us!). The next morning we enjoyed a home cooked pancake with local fruits and spent some time in the company of Julie and Jonathan which we enjoyed very much. This included an 'introduction' to a large weta which had arrived on the veranda to welcome us! Jonathan managed to capture it briefly so we could say 'hello' properly. An education for us Brits who have never seen such an impressive insect before. My wife and I would thoroughly recommend this delightful retreat.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Julie Wolbers, Owner at Ribbonwood Retreat Bed And Breakfast Franz Josef Glacier
Responded 16 Apr 2020
Kia ora Chasyj and thanks, we really appreciate your review. It was great having you to stay as you appreciated everything including the weta! Our greatest joy is the birdlife that grows in number each year as the trees get higher. Only too happy to help out with your arrangements, the complimentary taxi to the restaurant makes the evening more relaxing. Nga mea pai katoa, all the best Arohanui Julie and Jo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jane P wrote a review Mar 2023
Ipswich, United Kingdom477 contributions241 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our touring holiday of NZ. From the moment of our first enquiry to the moment we left Julie and Jonathan were most attentive and helpful, ensuring we had everything we needed to enjoy our stay.
Ribbonwood is a few minutes drive outside of Franz Josef, so it's ideal if you want to be away from the bustle of the town. We stayed in the main house in The Waiho Rooms which are spacious, private and include a large balcony and luxury bathroom. There are two bedrooms on this floor but if you are travelling as a couple the smaller of the two rooms will be blocked off.
Everything we needed was provided including some home made cake, fresh milk for our early morning tea, and lots of help in planning our time in Franz Josef and also recommendations for our onward journey. We felt very comfortable and slept very well here. Franz Josef is a delightful town too - it was one of our favourite locations of the holiday.
We were particualry grateful for Jonathan's help when we had a flat tyre on our last day. Thank you both for a lovely couple of days.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jonathan and Julie, Owner at Ribbonwood Retreat Bed And Breakfast Franz Josef Glacier
Responded 22 Mar 2023
Kia ora friends. Thank you so much. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the beauty, peace and stunning views at Ribbonwood. Our area has so much to offer with walks, flights, kayaking and so on, so it was great to see you make the most of all the opportunities here! No problem - we love to help. It was a pleasure to have you stay. Ka kite ano. Warm thoughts Julie and Jo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
justyouraveragejo wrote a review Mar 2023
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania75 contributions20 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay at Ribbonwood was more than a clean room and delicious breakfast. Julie and Jonathan are lovely people who go above and beyond to make us feel welcome in their home, which is beautiful. The property sits just a few kilometers from the town of Franz Josef, which lends it a peaceful vibe. My family occupied not only the standalone cottage, but also both rooms on the 2nd floor of the main house. Each was appointed with a tea/coffee service and Julie and Jonathan’s attention for detail was noted everywhere. The huge windows in our bedroom looked out over the lush landscape and gardens, with misty mountains in the background. Our beds and pillows were super comfortable; we slept soundly. Julie and Jonathan provided us with a delicious breakfast- her infamous fruit crepes and homemade bread and rhubarb jam. Most of our breakfast was provided from their land; fruit and veggies from the garden and eggs from the chicken coop. I almost want to keep this place a secret so I am sure to grab a booking the next time we are in the area, but it’s too good not to share.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The cottage and large bedroom in the main house have an additional single twin in their rooms -...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jonathan and Julie, Owner at Ribbonwood Retreat Bed And Breakfast Franz Josef Glacier
Responded 22 Mar 2023
Kia ora our guests and friends. It was really kind of you to write this review, thank you very much! We are only too happy to do what we can to make your time here special. We love to hear you enjoyed breakfast so much. We wish you well, maybe we will see you and/or family members back this way someday. Until then. Hei konā mai, Julie and Jo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandeep Gupta asked a question Dec 2018
London, United Kingdom253 contributions147 helpful votes
Can we come just for breakfast?
Answer from Bradley K
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I’m not sure that is an option given the setup but I’m sure the owners would be happy to let you know if there are breakfast only options.
Answer from TJMChippingCampden
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom953 contributions45 helpful votes
I suggest you contact the B&B directly to get an answer to such a question. We were there as guests in March. My guess is that they would not be entertaining guests over Christmas.
Richard T wrote a tip Mar 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ample parking easy access"
Read full review
Brittany W wrote a tip Mar 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be sure to bring umbrellas and raincoats. New Zealand rains hard sometimes."
Read full review
justyouraveragejo wrote a tip Mar 2023
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania75 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The cottage and large bedroom in the main house have an additional single twin in their rooms - great for families or girlfriends getaway."
Read full review
Loretta42 wrote a tip Apr 2022
Denver, Colorado22 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Call ahead and let them know what food preferences you have, etc because they will make it happen!"
Read full review
rhi wrote a tip Feb 2022
Wanaka, New Zealand1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"One night isn’t enough! If you have time, stay 2 or even 3 nights. Amazing hospitality and loads of things to do."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Franz Josef area.
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandWest Coast RegionWestland Tai Poutini National ParkFranz Josef
NUMBER OF ROOMS
2
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RIBBONWOOD RETREAT BED AND BREAKFAST FRANZ JOSEF GLACIER - B&B Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Ribbonwood Retreat Bed and Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to Ribbonwood Retreat Bed and Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Te Koha Gallery (4.4 km), West Coast Wildlife Centre (4.2 km), and Roberts Point Track (8.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ribbonwood Retreat Bed and Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Ribbonwood Retreat Bed and Breakfast?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Ribbonwood Retreat Bed and Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Ribbonwood Retreat Bed and Breakfast?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ribbonwood Retreat Bed and Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Alice May, BLUE ICE RESTAURANT & BAR, and Snake Bite Brewery.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ribbonwood Retreat Bed and Breakfast?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Ribbonwood Retreat Bed and Breakfast?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Church of St. James (6.7 km).
All Franz Josef HotelsFranz Josef Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Franz JosefHotels near Ribbonwood Retreat Bed and Breakfast
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire