We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Traveller (70)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (5)
Overview
2 Donovan Drive State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886 New Zealand See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Kitchenette
Wheelchair Access
Laundry Service
4 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveller rating
182
80
24
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
182
80
24
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bedroom chalet full kitchen minute drive town centre new zealand two nights one night stay a great stay quiet location comfortable stay south island jag accommodation glacier units mountains heating
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 306 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The place is just wonderful! We booked a 2 bedroom unit, love everything about it! The view from our unit is amazing, we could see the snowy mountain while we were having breakfast & dinner. Nice continental Kiwi breakfast. Stu is really helpful & friendly....More

Thank SusyMS
Response from LissaK50, Manager at Franz Alpine RetreatResponded 6 days ago

Many thanks for your wonderful review. We would love to have you come back and stay again.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This accommodation was the most expensive one we stayed at in NZ, except Queenstown and it was the least appealing. As other reviews note, it is a driveable distance from town so this is not what concerned us although not sure therefore why the cost...More

Thank leemo2016
Response from LissaK50, Front Office Manager at Franz Alpine RetreatResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Lee, We are so sorry you were disappointed with your stay with us. This is the first review we have had with so much dissatisfaction and find other guests have been more understanding as to the water supply. The units are 10 years old...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked into a 2 bedroom chalet, which was perfect for our family. Great fully workable kitchen with a decent fridge freezer. Some minor maintenance is needed, but was told that they are in the middle of doing a spring clean for the upcoming season....More

Thank Alyayde
Response from LissaK50, Manager at Franz Alpine RetreatResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review - we aim to cater for families and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay

Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bedroom chalet and it was clean, tidy and toasty warm in winter. When we checked in, our host was very informative about the local area and told us about different places to visit. We only stayed for 1 night however...More

Thank Sharon C
Response from FranzAlpine, Front Office Manager at Franz Alpine RetreatResponded 21 July 2018

Hi Sharon, Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and yes, three nights would have been ideal - you will have to come back!

Reviewed 10 July 2018

We Stayed at the Alpine Retreat in 2017. Sorry for the late review. Such a beautiful place. We chose the 2 bedroom chalet as we were 2 couples. Very clean and warm place. Added bonus was the free breakfast and WiFi. We defiantly love this...More

Thank jesintha r
Response from FranzAlpine, Front Office Manager at Franz Alpine RetreatResponded 12 July 2018

Thank you for your response. It is nice to receive a good review no matter how late it is. Thank you.

View more reviews
About
Description
Franz Alpine Retreat gives you the perfect retreat in the most beautiful location this country has to offer. Whether you are travelling alone, as a group or a family, it has facilities that fully immerse you in More the surrounding environment. Franz Alpine Retreat has been purpose built with facilities that allow you to feel at home, relax, do your own thing and ultimately enjoy the breathtaking environment around you. Our chalets can sleep up to 5. Chalets are equipped with full gas cooking, kitchen - dining room, electric blankets, SKY + Freeview, Wireless Internet. Other facilities within the complex include Book exchange, DVD library, BBQ, full laundry facilities available, Kiwi "continental" breakfast and activity bookings. A perfect place to stay - your home away from home! Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast Available
Laundry Service
Microwave
Non-Smoking Hotel
Refrigerator in room
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
9
Price range
US$82 - US$237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Franz Alpine Retreat Hotel Franz Josef
Location
New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
9
Price range
US$82 - US$237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Franz Alpine Retreat Hotel Franz Josef
Location
New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Photos
Traveller (70)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (5)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 nearby hotels
Franz Josef Oasis
442 reviews
.51 km away
Motel Franz Josef
1 review
1.06 km away
Glacier View Motel
206 reviews
1.56 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
1,406 reviews
2.84 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 23 nearby restaurants
Alice May
1,506 reviews
3.24 km away
Snake Bite Brewery
1,026 reviews
3.34 km away
Blue Ice Cafe
747 reviews
3.51 km away
Monsoon Bar & Restaurant
497 reviews
3.07 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 40 nearby attractions
Tatare Tunnels Walk
74 reviews
3.24 km away
Glacier Helicopters
457 reviews
3.32 km away
West Coast Wildlife Centre
741 reviews
3.28 km away
Franz Josef i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
72 reviews
2.89 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Momocha99
20 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from FranzAlpine | Property representative |
The chalets are slightly bigger, have DVD players and are further away from the highway. I could quiet easily comfortably live permanently in the two bedroom cottage myself.
0
Votes
ElizabethT2778
5 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Xjapie |
At present, no there are not. We are investigating the feasibility of having these replaced in the future with more robust type screens, as the screens that used to be in place in all units, were damaged beyond economical... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"the front 2 bedroom is my choice"
Fiona_Karen_Linny
14 Apr 2018
Read review
"Try to stay in a chalet far from the reception"
801DeborahB
31 Mar 2018
Read review
"The newer buildings right by the entrance look way nicer than the ones behind the office."
JessHarringtonPark
17 Mar 2018
Read review
"I cannot recommend any room because of the poor facilities"
ZanN_12
24 Feb 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing