We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunset Motel

Agoda.comUS$85*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$87*
US$85*
Great Deal
US$87*
US$86*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Sunset Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

328 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 303: English reviews
Start your review of Sunset Motel
 Click to rate
Christchurch
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've stayed here a few times now for work and really love it. The rooms are great... modern, clean & have everything you need including a kitchenette. It's in a good location being close to town and close to lake Mathieson. Great service too. I would definitely stay here again and recommend for business or when holidaying.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dionne B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great place, beautiful view, clean and comfortable. Service was really friendly. Only downfall was the shower, it took quite a while to heat and then as you turn it down even the slightest it would run cold. But, it means hot showers are a must!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
Seattle
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This motel, about a kilometer away from the village center, offers modern, clean rooms with kitchens at reasonable prices. The best feature (when the weather is fair) is the stunning view of Mt. Tasman and the Fox Glacier out the large windows. Not luxurious, but quite comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skeptic2241
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Linsey was very welcoming on our arrival and told us places to go and what to do in the area, including where to see the glow worms nearby. My husband left part of his phone charger at the previous night’s accommodation and Bruce was kind enough to give him a free one. Linsey was very accommodating with extending our check...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blueskytravellers
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 20 March 2017

The motel had cooking facilioties and was only a short drive to the general store for supplies. It was also less than ten minutes to drive to the Fox Glacier road. The host here was full of local knowledge, not just for the Glacier but beyond. We ended up visiting a number of suggested look out points and locations and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
Linslade, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We did not take up our paid reservation at Sunset Motel as we were forced to change our route towards the end of our month’s stay in NZ. We had planned to stay overnight at the Sunset Motel en route to Greymouth where we were to drop off our rental car and then take the train across the South Island...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan D
sunsetmotellers, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The trains have been disrupted since January after a fire in the pass between Christchurch and the West Coast. Many people have been affected but have made alternative plans with buses or by extending their car rental agreements. We have had many people disappointed that the train had been cancelled but they have carried on...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 15 March 2017

We recently spent 2 nights here and were very happy with our room. It was very clean and comfortable with a small kitchenette. All rooms are ground level with our room towards the back of the complex. We had a sliding door that opened to lovely mountain views and a beautiful sunrise in the morning. We would definitely stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yiayia2014
Chatham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

This is a great motel. We stayed two nights. Both owners we spoke to were friendly, helpful and made check-in simple plus advised on things to do and see. Motel is set down a road with a 10-12 min walk to town on a good paved road. The motel was very quiet (no chicken issues for us!). Units are large,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve6244
Dunfermline
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Booked in for night and got lovely room at the back (16) overlooking the glacier. Unfortunately it was misty and rainy the next morning so we were not able to do the helicopter ride we planned. Karlene on reception was very friendly and helpful and recommended places to eat and visit in area. Definitely recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra R
New York City, New York
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Stay elsewhere! This was literally the only unpleasant experience we had in an otherwise incredible two weeks in New Zealand. The room was dirty. There was food stuck to the appliances, the counters were dirty and there was thick dust all over the vents. The drinking glasses were dirty. The bed was old and thin. Springs were popping up out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank evancorn
sunsetmotellers, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

I think most people will see through your false review. You were unhappy before you even arrived. Due to the Booking.com cancellation policy you would have been charged for your booking and you had wanted to cancel earlier. You must have cleaned the room before you left, as when I entered the room it was spotless. You can see from...

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Other (19)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
1.0 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
350 reviews
0.7 km away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
171 reviews
16.7 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#4 of 10 in Fox Glacier
269 reviews
17.0 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,117 reviews
0.5 km away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Free wifi when booking direct 25 spacious ground floor units.Four star plus qualmark rated with views from every room of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman. We have a large back lawn for your enjoyment. Our property is located on Cook Flat Road so we avoid the noise from State Highway 6 that runs through the main town. So no traffic noise or late night bar noise. Sleep in peace with only the views to keep you awake.Studio, Spa and Family units all designated non-smoking, serviced daily, microwave kitchenette with cooking facilities, tea/coffee,32 inch LCD tv's with Satellite television, electric heating , electric blankets, phone, wireless internet available, ironing facilities, cot/highchair available, continental breakfast available, guest laundry, 900 metres to cafes and tour operators. All major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Address: 93 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Price Range: $106 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Motel Fox Glacier
Sunset Hotel Fox Glacier
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
#2 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunset Motel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Chicago, Illinois
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Sunset Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had room number 8 which on a clear day had views of Mt Cook”
blueskytravellers, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are ground level and on a quiet street in the country.”
Yiayia2014, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a mountain view”
  • View from patio
paulmE7674AM, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The east-facing rooms probably have a nicer outlook.”
maureen056, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Most rooms in a row so all have same view.”
n6ta, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$85*
View Deal
Booking.comUS$87
PricelineUS$86
TripAdvisorUS$87
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates