Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Heartland Hotel Glacier Country

39 Main Road State Highway 6, Fox Glacier, Westland Tai Poutini National Park 7886 New Zealand
View from the hotel yard
Traveller (11)
First floor room
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#10 of 10 hotels in Fox Glacier
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country is privileged to be located within a unique world heritage area. The internationally recognised Westland World Heritage Park encompasses 2.6 million hectares of spectacular wilderness, including the Fox and Franz Josef Glaciers. Heartland Hotel Glacier Country is just five minutes drive from Fox Glacier. Located in Fox Glacier village, this recently refurbished three-star plus hotel is the ideal place to stay if you are here to see this remarkable attraction - we are just three kilometres from the glacier car park. A multi-million dollar upgrade was completed in October 2016 that included all 51 guest rooms and ensuites, restaurant, bar and reception area. The design scheme for this hotel drew inspiration from the local West Coast environs in creating an effective and cheerful hotel upgrade. The exterior décor and light internal refurbishment brings a fresh new look to the property and creates a consistent feel throughout. Heartland Hotel Glacier Country looks forward to welcoming you to this very special corner of the world.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Game room
Hiking
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Shops
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English

Location

39 Main Road State Highway 6, Fox Glacier, Westland Tai Poutini National Park 7886 New Zealand
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 70 out of 100
70
Christchurch Intl Airport
203.2 km
See all flights
54Reviews1Q+A9Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 6
  • 20
  • 19
  • 4
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
ksufan88 wrote a review Feb 2020
Wichita, Kansas6,275 contributions567 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a basic 2 story motel-style place to stay. It was comfortable, but our bathroom was very small and only had a tiny sink. Actual room keys were given to us instead of the more commonly seen electronic cards. They have a restaurant/bar which we tried and both were quite adequate. From what I understand, most lodging in Fox Glacier is quite basic since everyone comes for the views.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from FoxHotelFoxGlacier, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Responded 4 Feb 2020
We appreciate you reviewing your stay with us. Kind regards, Gavin
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rhona M wrote a review Feb 2020
Scotland11 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms in this motel are set round a car park and are ageing. There are old single beds on castor wheels in the rooms and the shower plumbing leaves a lot to be desired. We had no meals included in our stay so can’t comment on the food. The walls are paper thin so every sound from next door and below can be heard. This was one of the most expensive rooms we booked on our trip around New Zealand due to lack of availability, but probably the poorest value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from FoxHotelFoxGlacier, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Responded 17 Feb 2020
we appreciate your feedback on this site. Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Meena B wrote a review Jan 2020
Auckland Central, New Zealand13 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Great stay - rooms clean but small; service excellent. Breakfast included - basic Continental fare.
Very friendly staff.
Information nugget: a siren goes off to call volunteer services in the event of an emergency. It is not usually a natural disaster, could be a fire, a medical emergency or such. Nobody tells you this, but there’s no need to be alarmed if the siren goes off in the middle of the night. Happened to us at 12:53 am!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from FoxHotelFoxGlacier, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Responded 20 Jan 2020
Thank you for your review. The siren is unsettling, and you are right, there is no need to be alarmed. But at 1am it can give you a fright. I hope the road trip has given you many happy memories. Kind regards, Gavin.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ruby M wrote a review Oct 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Bathroom products were top quality though this visit we didn't have breakfast due to an early helicopter ride, the 1st time we stayed it was delicious. Dinner was innovative and well priced. Nothing to fuilt
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Be aware that some rooms are up stairs. So if this is a problem, be sure to book clearly stating...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Stuart Geddes, Owner at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Responded 25 Oct 2023
Dear 10rubym. Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lonewayfarer wrote a review Feb 2024
Coventry, United Kingdom402 contributions153 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay at this hotel had a few issues. The rooms are clean and looked nice at first glance but we found the rooms noisy from internal and external noise. There is nowhere to hang clothes, no closet or rail. The shutter blinds let a lot of light through early in the morning. The bathroom was clean but the shower temperature was erratic and the shower head kept falling down. Food and drink in the restaurant is good but the service is a bit chaotic. We prepaid for our breakfast but in the morning we were told we weren't on the list for breakfast so had to go to reception twice to resolve that issue. Not a great start to the day. The evening dining service involves queuing at one place to ask for a table and then place your order for food. You then need to queue again at the bar to order drinks. Overall, for the price we paid for the room I don't feel we got value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: There is a street directly behind the hotel where you can park. Parking within the hotel is...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Stuart Geddes, Owner at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Responded 16 Feb 2024
Dear Lonewayfarer. Thank you for your feedback. There are some lessons to be learnt and we are grateful for you providing us insights into our product and performance. We accept that we did not ensure your stay was comfortable and seamless. Please accept our humble apologies. We would also like to recognise that you have given us a rating of 3 out of 5. Thank you. Finally we hope the rest of your journey is an enjoyable one. Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vandi B wrote a review Feb 2024
4 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Dreadful. This is honestly the smallest hotel room I’ve ever stayed in. The bathroom room door can’t be opened fully and it hits the bedside table if you don’t squeeze through the partially open doorway. There is no outside sitting area for the rooms, which we would definitely have used. We told at check in that our paid for breakfast would be a smorgasbord from 7-9 am. When we arrived for breakfast we were told that it would be served in their sister hotel around the corner. After a bit of confusion regarding our having already paid we were allowed to order from the menu. So we sat in the musty dining room to eat. The food was ok. The coffee and juice were terrible. The two staff members we encountered were professional and pleasant. I felt sorry for them, as I’m sure they wear the brunt of dissatisfied customers. I would advise all travellers to avoid this place at all costs.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Stuart Geddes, Owner at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Responded 3 Feb 2024
Dear Vandi B. Thank you for your feedback. The Team are appreciative that you have provided us your insights while staying at our Hotel. By all accounts you did not enjoy your stay but do recognise our outstanding employees. With your feedback we will improve on the issues you experienced. Best wishes and we hope you have an awesome 2024. Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ola K wrote a review Feb 2020
Helsinki, Finland474 contributions170 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Hartland Hotel was a hotel not leaving very much to remember afterwards. It is what you can expect in a place like "Glacier Country". And more positive than negative. Friendly staff, big and clean room and as a small positive gesture a plate with fresh fruits in your room upon arrival. As a negative thing was the restaurant. I don't know if I ever have seen a more dull and inhospitable restaurant in any hotel before. But no worry. On the opposite side of the street was again a positive surprise "Cook Saddle" with good food and nice interior design.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from FoxHotelFoxGlacier, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Responded 23 Feb 2020
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you didn't enjoy the restaurant surroundings. Kind regards, Gavin
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dharxan2022 wrote a review Feb 2024
4 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Location was good with adequate parking.
The room and bathroom were very clean but the fridge was not working with the dial broken.
The shower stream was very weak and difficult to set the correct temperature.
I found the bed too soft and uncomfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: check that the amenities are satisfactory in good working order before booking
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Stuart Geddes, Owner at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Responded 27 Feb 2024
Dear Dharxan2022. Thank you for your feedback. Your insights are extremely useful for us to either improve our product or service. We appreciate the time taken to post a review and are grateful for your rating of 3/5. We wish you a pleasant onward journey. Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tallguy_11 wrote a review Jan 2020
Cooktown, Australia78 contributions66 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel is located near the glaciers in the Main Street. Room was nice and reasonable size. Bathroom was very small and hot water impossible to control. I learnt a few new swear words from my partner while she tried to wash her hair in the morning.
Pub over the road for dinner. All up, staff were friendly and it suited our purposes.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from FoxHotelFoxGlacier, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Responded 13 Jan 2020
My apologies for the issues with the water control. I'm happy the rest of your stay was enjoyable. Kind regards, Gavin
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tony K wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Everything was fine, however we were allocated a ground floor room and no net curtains. Therefore if we wanted any privacy we had to pull the full curtains closed. Easily resolved.
The location was great, very central, and free parking which was a bonus.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Stuart Geddes, Owner at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Responded 14 Feb 2024
Dear Tony. Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed you stay and rating us 4/5. Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alicia W asked a question Feb 2018
Cleveland, Ohio197 contributions81 helpful votes
Are there hair dryers in the room?
Answer from scott6200
Arizona32 contributions11 helpful votes
I do not know
Dot wrote a tip Mar 2024
Nelson, New Zealand21 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go to lake Mattheson,it beautiful. Check out Betsy Jane restaurant as well as at or close to Heartland Hotel, in Fox."
Read full review
dharxan2022 wrote a tip Feb 2024
4 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"check that the amenities are satisfactory in good working order before booking"
Read full review
Menekag wrote a tip Feb 2024
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam1,922 contribution203 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is a nice little grocery store and a bar next door. All activities are within walking distance. "
Read full review
lonewayfarer wrote a tip Feb 2024
Coventry, United Kingdom402 contributions153 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is a street directly behind the hotel where you can park. Parking within the hotel is usually reserved for disabled badge holders."
Read full review
Dylan wrote a tip Jan 2024
5 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay somewhere else."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Fox Glacier area.
PRICE RANGE
$108 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
heartland hotel fox glacier
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandWest Coast RegionWestland Tai Poutini National ParkFox Glacier
NUMBER OF ROOMS
51
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HEARTLAND HOTEL GLACIER COUNTRY - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Fox Glacier, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Which popular attractions are close to Heartland Hotel Glacier Country?
Nearby attractions include Lake Matheson Walk (4.4 km), Fox Glacier Hiking Trails (0.04 km), and Fox Glacier South Side Walk (1.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Heartland Hotel Glacier Country?
Conveniently located restaurants include Matheson Cafe, Betsey Jane Eatery & Bar, and Cook Saddle Cafe & Saloon.
Is Heartland Hotel Glacier Country located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.06 km away from the centre of Fox Glacier.
Are any cleaning services offered at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Heartland Hotel Glacier Country?
Many travellers enjoy visiting River Walk (1.4 km).
All Fox Glacier HotelsFox Glacier Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Fox GlacierHotels near Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire