Mount Cook View Motel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Mount Cook View Motel

203 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland Tai Poutini National Park 7859 New Zealand
Traveller (112)
Lake Matteson at 8PM
Pool & Beach (2)
The view from our lounge
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#5 of 5 motels in Fox Glacier
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value

See why so many travellers make Mount Cook View Motel their motel of choice when visiting Fox Glacier. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a family-friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

Rooms at Mount Cook View Hotel offer a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a kitchenette providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi.

Barbeque facilities will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are driving to Mount Cook View Motel, free parking is available.

While visiting Fox Glacier, you may want to try some ribs at one of the nearby restaurants, such as Bigfoot Bar and Restaurant or Cook Saddle Cafe & Saloon.

There is no shortage of things to do in the area: explore popular historic sites such as River Walk.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Mount Cook View Motel as you experience all of the things Fox Glacier has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Parking
Wifi
Room features
Blackout curtains
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Italian
242Reviews2Q+A43Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 76
  • 111
  • 35
  • 11
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
jeff b wrote a review Nov 2022
Perth, Australia514 contributions106 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
we enjoyed our one night in an executive studio. The bathrooms are very well fitted out with great hot water and good pressure.
Room has a fridge and cooking facilities with lovely stainless steel sink.
the property is in a quiet location - hear the birds chirping in the morning and there is a lovely view to Mt Cook.
Gavin was an amazing host - nothing was too much trouble.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Exec Studio best
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Morgan, Owner at Mount Cook View Motel
Responded 27 Nov 2022
Thank you Jeff, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at Mt Cook View Motel. Gavin
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rf80808 wrote a review Jul 2020
Wellington, New Zealand160 contributions44 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The name did not disappoint with great views of Mt Cook!
We were staying in the family units which were separated and seemed older to the main units. Inside a bit dated but provided what we needed. Hosts Had put heater on for our arrival so was nice it had started to warm up, although it took a little longer to get all rooms warmer. Good kitchenette and enough provided for us to cook and eat in.
Only concern was no smoke alarm in the unit which we thought odd and mentioned when we checked out, apparently all the other units did but not the family ones?
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Toon wrote a review Jan 2020
Eindhoven, The Netherlands298 contributions38 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Reception by the young host was not very welcoming. Not really interested, that was a pitty. The room was very spacious and clean. The facilities were also good. The older host, on the other hand, was very helpful with the wifi and the TV. He also told the weather forecast, which eateries there are in Fox Glacier and what activities you can do in the area. Later he also came with an extensive breakfast that I ordered when booking here. The motel is minutes from the center of Fox Glacier and Lake Matheson. With clear weather you have a beautiful view of the mountains. Had a nice stay here thanks to the hospitality of the older host.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
gillw2901 wrote a review Mar 2020
Victor Harbor, Australia32 contributions22 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I will start on a positive note by saying the unit was spotlessly clean and the beds were comfortable, apart from the view being stunning I have nothing else positive to say, the room photos totally misrepresent the actual room you get, while although very outdated the bedrooms were spacious. The living area however is cramped and u comfortable fo 4 adults. We were given a unit wia disabled bathroom which was quite large but I don't know how one would cope with a wheelchair in the living space.
We decided to use the bbq to cook out food because the kitchwas so tiny it was impossible to cook. Before being able to use it we had to scrub the hotplate because it was filthy..the bbq area it's self was very underwhelming and also dirty. If it wasn't quite late when we arrived I would have asked for a refund and gone elsewhere, it definitely wasn't worth the $350+ per night paid
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Find another hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Morgan, Owner at Mount Cook View Motel
Responded 27 Nov 2022
I would have gladly giving you a refund
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
VickiBrooklyn wrote a review Jan 2021
Motueka, New Zealand72 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived to a warm and friendly welcome. We had a choice of rooms and we chose the King studio. It was very comfortable. We cooked in the unit and there were just enough sufficient items to use for our cooking. A great location overlooking farmland. It would have been a nice walk to town, except it was raining. (we went for a short walk anyway along the footpath).
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Capt Robert McKay Gray wrote a review Nov 2023
Newcastle, Australia67 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Liked · If the term "Serentity" ever suited a location, it's the Mount Cook View Motel, the Motel's setting in Fox Glacier is at the base of Mount Cook.
The Mount Cook View Motel is a one minute drive from the highway down a Dead End Road, so there is no passing traffic noise.
The motel has a ranch/farm like setting in a unique leafy & grassy enviroment that leaves (not meant as a pun) you feeling at one with the environment & nature.
The silence is almost deafening as you try & take in all the spectacular surroundings of snow capped peaks, clouds snagged on jagged mountain tops, in a spacious farmland retreat.
Anyone trying to escape the hustle & bustle of the city, anyone who wants to write their own Tolstoy "War & Peace" novel or just wants to escape from the kids for a quite weekend. Well this is the place for that.
Fox Glacier town has restaurants, shops & stores, all that one needs for a weekend away with nature.
We had a cabin type apartment, seperate bedroom, bathroom, kitchen & backyard patio with views you just have to experience to believe. All that & with parking at the door & an attached laundry next door. SENERITY NOW.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Afternoon Sun on the back patio with a beer/wine looking at mountain peaks. UNBELIEVE-ABLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jena39 wrote a review 14 May
Auckland, New Zealand43 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here while travelling around the South Island in the autumn. The room was clean, cosy and spacious. There is a kitchen so you can make a meal (a couple of rings and a microwave) but also a really nice restaurant only a few minutes away. We’d certainly go again !
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carol wrote a review Mar 2024
Pirongia, New Zealand5 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We only stayed here one night as we were road tripping south island. Our host was very good- Gavin. We take our dog wherever we go and Gavin was happy for us to have her in our large spacious room. I think we got good value, comfortable bed and it is very quiet. I would stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Plenty of parking. Several restaurants at the end of the road
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen L wrote a review Aug 2020
Dunedin, New Zealand100 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a warm welcome to Motel and given a map to explore the town. Motel was very roomy and had everything we needed to make our stay great. Quiet location with beautiful view of Mt Cook. A short drive from town. Internet was easy to connect to.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Beautiful Views of Mt Cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
toddytom wrote a review Mar 2023
Dunedin, New Zealand73 contributions30 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Where do I start.
1. Hotel is in dire need of upgrading as in 1970's time warp.
2. Handful of terrestrial TV channels.
3.No free WiFi which is a must these day's.
4. Wasn't flexible re a non travelling colleague who got the big C. This was despite other properties contacted who were happy to modify our booking.
Pricing was OTP for what was offered as well.
This coupled with a major thunderstorm overnight which led to power failure didn't add to our mood.
As you can see not overly impressed and I've stayed in plenty of motels over the years.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Up to you but I'll never go back
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from tripp3r
Bali, Indonesia57 contributions74 helpful votes
It really depends on the number of people you have. At least for mine, I would say there were two rooms in addition to the living room. One room has a king sized bed while another has a king sized bed and a single bed. Both rooms were really spacious.
Carol wrote a tip Mar 2024
Pirongia, New Zealand5 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plenty of parking. Several restaurants at the end of the road"
Read full review
Capt Robert McKay Gray wrote a tip Nov 2023
Newcastle, Australia67 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Afternoon Sun on the back patio with a beer/wine looking at mountain peaks. UNBELIEVE-ABLE"
Read full review
toddytom wrote a tip Mar 2023
Dunedin, New Zealand73 contributions30 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Up to you but I'll never go back "
Read full review
jeff b wrote a tip Nov 2022
Perth, Australia514 contributions106 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Exec Studio best"
Read full review
Karen L wrote a tip Aug 2020
Dunedin, New Zealand100 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beautiful Views of Mt Cook"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Fox Glacier area.
PRICE RANGE
$106 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mount cook view hotel fox glacier
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandWest Coast RegionWestland Tai Poutini National ParkFox Glacier
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MOUNT COOK VIEW MOTEL - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Fox Glacier, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mount Cook View Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Mount Cook View Motel?
Nearby attractions include Lake Matheson Walk (2.3 km), Fox Glacier Hiking Trails (2.1 km), and Fox Glacier South Side Walk (2.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mount Cook View Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at Mount Cook View Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Mount Cook View Motel?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Mount Cook View Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mount Cook View Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Matheson Cafe, Betsey Jane Eatery & Bar, and Cook Saddle Cafe & Saloon.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mount Cook View Motel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mount Cook View Motel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Mount Cook View Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting River Walk (2.3 km).
Does Mount Cook View Motel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Mount Cook View Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Fox Glacier HotelsFox Glacier Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Fox GlacierHotels near Mount Cook View Motel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire