We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier

11 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland Tai Poutini National Park 7859 New Zealand
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (82)
Room & Suite (33)
Dining (19)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#8 of 10 hotels in Fox Glacier
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Finding an ideal family-friendly hotel in Fox Glacier does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, a nice option for travellers like you.

Free wifi is offered to guests, and rooms at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier offer a flat screen TV and a refrigerator.

Guests of Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier are also welcome to enjoy a lounge, located on site. For travellers arriving by car, free parking is available.

If you’re looking for a deli, consider a visit to Matheson Cafe, which is not far from Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier.

Looking to explore? Then look no further than River Walk (0.9 mi), which is a popular Fox Glacier attraction – and it is conveniently located within walking distance of the hotel.

Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier puts the best of Fox Glacier at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Show more
Room features
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English
143Reviews2Q+A21Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 24
  • 53
  • 42
  • 16
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Trippax2 wrote a review Mar 2024
Gosford, Australia72 contributions17 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed at this accommodation to do our helicopter trip over Fox Glacier. It is an older style hotel with plenty of charm. Our room was on the first floor, small but comfortable. Renovated bathroom, with a nice hot shower. More than suitable for a one night stay. Our view was facing out to the main street and mountains beyond. Be mindful that this accommodation does not have a lift, so you will need to carry your luggage up stairs. We had dinner here too. Plenty of choice and meal was delicious. Breakfast was included in our accommodation. However for some reason the day of our breakfast it was not in this building as advised on check in. We had to walk to the Heartland Hotel Glacier Country which was a five minute walk located in the main street where there was small buffet breakfast. Food was adequate to start the day.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Stairs to first floor, no lift and no one to help carry luggage.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stuart Geddes, Owner at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Trippax2. Thank you for providing us with your insights and positive feedback. The entire team is ecstatic that we have met your needs and that you have enjoyed staying with us. We wish you a pleasant onward journey and hope that the rest of your visit to New Zealand is an enjoyable one. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
juliemV4570KT wrote a review Mar 2024
Casino3 contributions
Room was spotless. Bed was comfortable. All the staff made us feel very welcome and were very helpful and obliging. Parking was included. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent and best buffet breakfast we have had. Would highly recommend this Hotel. A must stay if you are at Fox Glacier.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stuart Geddes, Owner at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Responded 8 Mar 2024
Dear Juliem. Thank your for your feedback. The Team are ecstatic and delighted with your rating of 5/5. Your comments have encouraged us to soar to new heights. Enjoy the rest of your journey in New Zealand.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jesse L wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
Disappointed. On check (February 28)out we were asked to pay. Produced evidence of payment on check in. Then asked how would we like to pay for the second night, produced evidence of one night booking only. They were not interested in looking at my evidence, only focused on what their system was telling them. I left with an uneasy feeling. A second unauthorised charge for a slightly different amount was made to my creditcard 3 days later (March 2). A Phone call to the hotel (March 6)to clarify why there was a 2nd unauthorised charge to my credit card. No explanation forthcoming. They have apologised for the 2nd payment and said a refund will take 5-10 business days. I'm hoping this will happen but not confident. Awaiting refund.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stuart Geddes, Owner at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Responded 6 Mar 2024
Dear Global597965. Thank you for your feedback. We understand your disappointment and regret the inconvenience caused. Once we became aware we immediately commenced rectifying the error. Rest assured this is not our usual standard and will reinforce our protocols to ensure that this type of incident does not reoccur. We also appreciate your understanding and our General Manager has reached out to personally apologise. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
hazel d wrote a review Feb 2024
3 contributions
Home from home , cozy atmosphere, friendly staff , great food 👌 great for seeing local glaciers , good easy off road parking , log fire , amazing rooms , good advice about the area and what to do , room was like a suite with two separate rooms very impressed
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stuart Geddes, Owner at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Responded 25 Feb 2024
Dear Hazeld585. Thank you for your review. The team are ecstatic and grateful for your insights and a rating of 5/5. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
rusty6336 wrote a review Jan 2024
Wellington, New Zealand4 contributions2 helpful votes
Old style hotel with Old World charm. Staff were extremely helpful especially with Delila at reception. She was immensely helpful with accommodating our requests regarding bedding, dinner bookings and heating within our room. Place was clean, had recently been refurbished and was up to a good standard. Would recommend a stay there to break up the long day driving heading south
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Buffet breakfast needs upgrading but is ok compared to the cafe nearby who were a bit pricey
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stuart Geddes, Owner at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Responded 3 Jan 2024
Dear Rusty6336. Thank you for your feedback. We agree our property does reflect a certain old world charm and is situated in one of the most amazing locations in New Zealand, Glacier Country! We will also notify Delila of your comments. We wish you a peaceful and prosperous 2024.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Trevor C wrote a review Dec 2023
Brisbane, Australia24 contributions7 helpful votes
Average experience given this hotels pricing. The place needs some attention for sure. The positives. It was clean, breakfast was great and bed was comfortable. We had to turn off the in room fridge as it was so noisey. There is very little noise insulation and the bar outside provided loud noise until the fire alarms at 11:30pm. In the morning reception tried to change me a second time for the room and I had to push back for them to realise I had paid and breakfast was include. I’ve experienced mush better than this.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stuart Geddes, Owner at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Responded 29 Dec 2023
Dear Trevor. Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your observations and positive comments. The fire alarm at 11:30pm was unwelcome for all concerned and fortunately was not as a result of an actual fire at the property. We will share your feedback with the team as this will assist us by improving our levels of service and product. We wish you and your family a peaceful and prosperous 2024.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
shopoholic75 wrote a review Dec 2023
Auckland, New Zealand33 contributions43 helpful votes
The Walls are like curtains in that you can listening into other hoteliers tv and conversations word for word at all hours of the day and night is not was would be classed as relaxing. When advertised as having sound proof rooms this is not one would expect.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Do your research on the hotel, great location tho
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stuart Geddes, Owner at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Responded 29 Dec 2023
Dear Emma. Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience you experienced. Your feedback will assist us in improving our levels of service and wish you and your family a peaceful and prosperous 2024.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Happiness53803444340 wrote a review Jun 2023
1 contribution
Absolutely brilliant stay, great staff who were so friendly and helpful. Food is fantastic and really well priced. Good atmosphere in the bar with lots of friendly locals. Recommend to anyone to dine or stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stuart Geddes, Owner at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Responded 18 Oct 2023
Dear Happiness53803444340. The Team and I are delighted with your positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Anne wrote a review Feb 2023
2 contributions
Lovely historic hotel, with warm and friendly staff who go out of their way to assist. Received best advice on places to go and what to see. Room was updated and cozy, and sitting on the balcony in the early mornings and evenings was a bonus. We had a wonderful stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stuart Geddes, Owner at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Responded 18 Oct 2023
Dear Annea59. Thank you for the positive feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed the facilities and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dave T wrote a review Feb 2023
Cambridge, New Zealand59 contributions5 helpful votes
Old hotel which is still clean and tidy some rooms much better than others so be sure to check what you are paying for. As a tour driver you are always put in the worst rooms here. Not sure why, but interesting The adjoining resteraunt delivers great meals like home cooked.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stuart Geddes, Owner at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Responded 25 Oct 2023
Dear Tour-Dr. Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate your positive comments regarding our meals. We will however endeavour to improve on our product offering. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Fox Glacier area.
PRICE RANGE
$114 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandWest Coast RegionWestland Tai Poutini National ParkFox Glacier
NUMBER OF ROOMS
51
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HEARTLAND HOTEL FOX GLACIER - Now $175 (Was $̶1̶9̶7̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Which popular attractions are close to Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier?
Nearby attractions include Lake Matheson Walk (4.3 km), Fox Glacier Hiking Trails (0.06 km), and Fox Glacier South Side Walk (1.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier?
Conveniently located restaurants include Matheson Cafe, The Last Kitchen, and Betsey Jane Eatery & Bar.
Is Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Fox Glacier.
Are any cleaning services offered at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier?
Many travellers enjoy visiting River Walk (1.4 km).
Is Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.