We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier

Hotels.comUS$114*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$117*
US$114*
Great Deal
US$117*
US$117*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 166: English reviews
Start your review of Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Good place to stay in Fox Glacier, helpful attendees few nice shops near by and very peaceful. We found now-days most of the action is happening in Franz so we ended up driving back and forth a fair bit but with saying that accommodation was cheaper in Fox. A good idea for families who don't require being close to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hope F
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Heartland is located well in Fox glacier township. The rooms were very nice and renovated and offered nice views of greenery and mountains. The staff were very helpful in organizing shuttle for us to glacier terminal and lake mathesan. But we did not like the inhouse restaurant breakfast buffet and dinner, food did not seem as fresh. Though the restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ankurmalik83
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good morning ankurmalik83, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We offer a range of options for breakfast - full or continental breakfast buffet, or you may order from our a la carte menu -...

Naples, Florida, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for on night. The hotel was the first built in Fox Glacier but has been remodeled. The rooms are adequate in size, remembering that it is an older building, and the bathroom was modern. Bed was comfy. Refrigerator and tea making facilities in room. We ate dinner in attched pub and were pleased. Free wifi and computers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rodger T
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good morning Rodger T, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Melissa Alexander General Manager

Olathe,k
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really disappointed, we were told we had a remodeled room. The room was barely big enough for 2 twin beds and 2 chairs; no drawers, no place to hang clothes, not even a hook to hang a coat. The bathroom didn't have a hook to hang your clothes, no where to put makeup or shaving things. Did have WI-FI in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tgrace6
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good morning tgrace6, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier. A shame to hear you were unhappy with your room - I would recommend communicating these comments to reception upon arrival into the room to see if a room more suited to your needs could have been...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 19 March 2017

This was the worse hotel on our trip through New Zealand, we were really taken by surprise in a very disappointing way. It is run down and smells run down, the rooms are tiny and noisy. It felt like a hostel, not a hotel. The bathroom was the same size as the room. If you like fried food this is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grace W
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good morning Grace W, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier. It is a shame to hear you feel our property is more like a hostel. Our café menu features a variety of dishes, with a "build your own" theme to ensure guests receive the sides...

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2017

This is quite a good place to stop at when visiting Fox Glacier. Reasonably priced and friendly staff. Rooms are good and clean. Food is also reasonably good at fair prices. Big bar next door too. Only gripe was that service was slow at times, but that maybe because we caught it on a bad day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank timjoe333
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good morning timjoe333, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your time with us and your comments have been passed onto our team. Kind regards, Melissa Alexander General Manager

Meopham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Having been travelling and enjoying our road trip around nz this nearly ruined our holiday, This hotel is dated, paper thin walls, tiny rooms- we could only open one case at a time! There is no lift and we were in the furthest room from reception. Help was offered but my husband was not going to let the little girl...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caren S
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good morning Caren S, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us, however it is disappointing to hear you did not enjoy your time in our property. You are quite correct, unfortunately we do not have a lift, however we do have Portering staff members available to assist with luggage - our receptionist would...

Albion Park, Australia
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Close to our accommodation and offering great pub meals and nice cold drinks. Spent time talking to the very friendly locals and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Would recommend for meals and drinks, not sure about accommodation as we did not stay there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shane T
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good morning Shane T, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your experience with us in our café & bar. We are pleased to hear you had a wonderful time. Kind regards, Melissa Alexander General Manager

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Having been booked into the Heartland Hotel by our travel agent as part of a tour of the South Island we were not aware that there are two Heartland hotels in Fox Glacier. Arrived at the first somewhat dismayed to find it rather down at heel and was relieved to be directed across the road to what promised to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RClouter
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good morning RClouter, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us. I will be looking into your comments regarding our reception team and their interactions with the guests checking in before you. Our hotel offers the White Pub & Café - two different dining options which cater to the needs of most guests -...

Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Stay in the new heartland hotel, the renovated one. The rooms and very clean and well maintained and with all amenities. Though they are small but good for a night's Stay or two. The breakfast provided is good. But for lunch or dinner you might have to go to the nearby restaurants. There are more restaurants in Franz Joseph but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hinal M
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good morning Hinal M, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated accommodation rooms - we are very proud of the finished product. Kind regards, Melissa Alexander General Manager

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.2 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
350 reviews
0.2 km away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
1.6 km away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 km away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
16.1 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,327 reviews
0.3 km away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier

Address: 11 Cook Flat Road | P O Box 2, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Price Range: $145 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't have a room on the street, can hear everything that goes on!”
957gracew, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor if you must stay here”
545carens, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go elsewhere”
M5791MIbobr, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Check your TV is working.”
AddickMark, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Avoid main floor rooms. Ask for a room with a king bed.”
l0vet0travelCalgary, 18 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$114*
View Deal
Booking.comUS$117
Expedia.comUS$117
TripAdvisorUS$114
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates