We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park

170 Fairfax Street, Murchison 7007 New Zealand
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (72)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.


#3 of 5 hotels in Murchison
Welcome to the not-to-be-missed Murchison Kiwi Park Motels Holiday & Animal Park, in a beautiful, quiet rural setting. Mountain views in an exceptionally peaceful and quiet 6ha bordering the great Matakitaki River. Your home away from home, and just a short walk to town! Wake up to the birdsong!! We have the full range of accommodation including non-powered/powered camping sites backpacker cabins self-contained units motels luxury log cabins We have 50 beds across 15 units so our accommodation is ideal for groups, conferences and family occasions. Ample parking and/or vehicle storage available. Ideal as a base for fly fishermen, mountain bikers, gold fossickers and adventure seekers. Enjoy a leisurely stroll down the street to our cafés and restaurants and our vintage/antique shops. Experience all that the White-water Capital of New Zealand has to offer. Check out our playground for the children with the ride-on tractors and toys!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's playground
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Paid wifi
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Picnic area
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken


Full view
36Car recommended
Grade: 36 out of 100
10Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
222Reviews0Q+A39Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 96
  • 45
  • 24
  • 26
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
HappyHolidays wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
The kids LOVED feeding the farm animals! The playground was also a highlight. We enjoyed the peaceful and pretty surroundings. Hosts were very friendly and hospitable. This is a lovely restful place for families to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Peter T wrote a review Dec 2020
167 contributions8 helpful votes
A wonderful surprise ahead of expectation - we had a cabin/ house with stunning views out the back door and a spa bath!! The camp ground facilities were clean and tidy. Great little farm animal collection at one end of the complex. Laundry and toilets good quality. Def recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
EwenSharon wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
Beware. This looks great on their web site _ awards, four star etc. It is not. The place is expensive ( we paid $95 for a basic cabin) _ we are fools. The place is unclean _ the kitchen lacks or low on many resources. Maintainence is low priority _ TV does not work _ plug for microwave does not work _ broken glass on path. Communication is poor _ extras weren't explained. The shared bathroom for cabins is not enough . As a NZer holidaying in own country _ very disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Lynn Winter, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park
Responded 26 Dec 2020
Thank you Sharon for raising these concerns, we appreciate all feedback so we can continue to provide all guests with the best possible experience. We would of been more than happy to show you how to operate the TV and Microwave as these have been checked and in perfect order. Our shared kitchen has plenty of equipment as this was spring cleaned and checked the day before you arrived. Hope you enjoy the rest of your ride and make it to Bluff.
Read more
Dunja wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
We did a 3 week campervan trip around NZ and this was the worst and most expensive place we stayed at. We arrived to a cop parked at reception and then a really weird vibe throughout. Only men’s toilets available to use and they were disgusting. You get a nice stare walking to and from the permanent residents there. We have a 4 year old daughter and after half an hour we packed up and left. Asked for a refund and radio silence from the owner. Highly recommend the Riverside park in the same town. Clean and really hospitable, great for kids.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from Lynn Winter, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park
Responded 6 Dec 2020
Really, the only thing correct about you and your wife's review below is that there was a policeman at Reception. We see this as a positive as they help keep communities safe and were visiting all businesses in the town, to do just that! Also for the record we don't have permanent residents, and I'm the owner and nobody came to me for a refund. We're glad you enjoyed your night in Murchison
Read more
sms09 wrote a review Oct 2020
queensland12 contributions12 helpful votes
Shame on Lonely Planet for recommending this campground - they have obviously not actually visited the place recently. We have travelled widely over the South Island for many years and this is by far the worst campground we have ever stayed at. I have stayed in more hygenic overcrowded backpackers in developing countries. This is also one of the most expensive parks in the current 'closed borders' NZ - they really need to pick up their act and target Kiwi tourists or go bust. We have had cheaper rates at far superior campsites than this one. Avoid it! There are so many things that make this place an unpleasant location for your Kiwi holiday: - ladies toilets are locked in low season. This means women and children (including my preschooler daughter) had to share a small men's bathroom with strangers. As a parent, I was obviously very concerned about this. -there is no wheelchair accessible toilet and bathroom as this is also locked in low season -the men's shower and toilet facilities were beyond filthy. Overflowing rubbish bins, dirty toilets - it obviously hadn't been cleaned in days, perhaps weeks. I complained and was assured it would be cleaned that afternoon but it never happened. -the kitchen smells and is poorly ventilated and cold - no heating at all. -teenage girls were doing burn outs within the campground and driving at dangerous speeds - I couldn't allow my children to play outside due to the dangerous driving. Don't believe the hype on their website - bypass this one!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
US$55 - US$68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
New ZealandSouth IslandNelson-Tasman RegionMurchison
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park
Which popular attractions are close to Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park?
Nearby attractions include Murchison Museum (0.8 km) and Dust & Rust (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, kids activities, and internet access.
Is parking available at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Cow Shed Restaurant, Tutaki Bakery, and Rivers Cafe.
Is Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 km away from the centre of Murchison.
Are pets allowed at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.