We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Skotel Alpine Resort

Save
Share
1 Ngauruhoe Place, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park 3951 New Zealand
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (334)
Room & Suite (137)
Dining (27)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 16/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Skotel Alpine Resort
Updated 16/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Whakapapa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Skotel Alpine Resort is 100% owned and operated and New Zealand’s highest hotel, located in the heart of the North Island within the Tongariro National Park. It is conveniently located in Whakapapa Village at the foot of Mount Ruapehu, within 500 meters of Tongariro National Park Whakapapa Visitor Centre. Hiking trails start directly at the hotel and the Sky Waka as well as the Mount Ruapehu ski field (Jun-Oct.) are a 6km drive up the mountain. The hotel offers guests a variety of room types, from Backpacker rooms to View rooms of the Tongariro National Park and the volcanic mountain peaks of Ngauruhoe, Tongariro and Ruapehu. The hotel is the ideal base for exploring the UNESCO world heritage park – and the many hiking and biking trails in the area. We also offer lunch packages so you won’t get hungry on your adventures. From the hotel you can walk to Taranaki Falls, Tama Lakes and Silika Rapids and for those up for a day trail walk, the Tongariro Alpine Crossing. Shuttles for the crossing can be booked upon arrival and leave from our doorstep. After an exciting day hiking, biking, skiing (Jun-Oct) or sight-seeing guests can enjoy a refreshing sauna, a relaxing spa, or unwind over a drink or a meal at the Skotel Restaurant and Bar. At the Skotel our friendly, experienced staff have all the information to enable you to design your own adventure. Find out more about Tongariro Northern Circuit, Tongariro Alpine Crossing and more hiking options – click here. You can also book a wide range of New Zealand tours and attractions via our tour booking partner. Skotel Alpine Resort offers Free WiFi to guests. Skotel Alpine Resort is a 3 hour drive from Hamilton Airport, 4.5 hours from the Auckland and Wellington Airports.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Game room
Hiking
BBQ facilities
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Ski rentals
Skiing
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
599Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 162
  • 203
  • 125
  • 62
  • 47
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Keziah J wrote a review Nov 2021
Paraparaumu, New Zealand1 contribution
Wow where do I start . . . . .not only were the staff super friendly and accommodating the resort was clean, room was everything I could need and the food wow. Shout out especially to kaz and Michelle. Nothing was to big or small even bringing forward my accommodation after coming off the mountain early due to the weather and genuinely asking how my hike was. Super impressed and will stay here again and recommend it to others.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Sharon H wrote a review Nov 2021
Waikanae, Waikato, New Zealand57 contributions26 helpful votes
Another great visit, very comfortable, large rooms with outstanding views and balcony. Recommend Tongariro or Ngauruhoe view rooms. Lounge bar, service and food excellent. Relaxed feel. Owners and their team are a delight. We will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Tanya M wrote a review Aug 2021
3 contributions6 helpful votes
Had a great stay at the Skotel. The room was reasonably priced, clean, tidy and very cosy. Breakfast a tasty buffet. My dinner was delicious and plentiful. I drank some heart waring mulled wine and had a few giggles at the friendly bar with an excellent vibe. Great place to stay and the views are outstanding!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: If you want at view its worth the extra dollars!!!!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Skotel Alpine Resort, Other at Skotel Alpine Resort
Responded 9 Aug 2021
Thanks Tanya for this review, most appreciated by Sam and I, we are so glad you enjoyed our Skotel vibe.
Read more
869adriennep wrote a review Jul 2021
Palmerston North, New Zealand96 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
We met our family from Auckland here - we are from Palmerston North. What an amazing find just behind the Chateau - so warm and hospitable. Every staff member was so nice and nothing was a problem. The owners were onsite and around a lot working alongside their team and you could tell. Old fashioned hospitality. We had a queen room with a view and our kids with two grandchildren had a queen bed and bunks. Good sized rooms with great bathrooms. Restaurant and bar down the hall and a huge upstairs kids zone and tables for games, chairs and couches for reading. Ski hire downstairs again with great staff. The weather was abysmal - stormy, raining, fog, freezing!!! We were cozy! We did venture down to the Chateau for lunch. We highly recommend this place if you are travelling with kids - lots of room to rim and no grumpy people running the place! 🤩🌻
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Skotel Alpine Resort, Other at Skotel Alpine Resort
Responded 24 Jul 2021
Thank you so much for your very kind words, they are truly appreciated by our entire Skotel team. We are absolutely delighted that you could relax and enjoy your time away with us.
Read more
meljup wrote a review Jul 2021
Perth, Australia210 contributions35 helpful votes
Arrived to a winter wonderland, snowing and after an evening dusting. We booked the Ngauruhoe room, which was perfect. After about ten minutes, the magical Mt Ngauruhoe revealed itself in the most spectacular way , right in front of our room. The room was cabin style pine, and so cozy. The bed was good, and the room was clean. It is still the original 60's/70's decor, but that made it more charming for me. It was a traditional ski lodge style. The check in and service was impeccable. We went for a walk around the village, and had a coffee at the Chateau (which didn't have as nice views !). The lounge and bar area with it's warm open fire was wonderful. The atmosphere is very collegial. We had dinner in the restaurant, and the food was good. The only negative for our stay was the breakfast, which was expensive, and sub-standard. The food was cold, and the only eggs that were available were poached. We asked for scrambled or fried, and were told not possible, which was disappointing, given it was $22 per person. I would highly recommend this hotel, it is the perfect spot for Ruapehu and the Tongariro NP.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ngauruhoe rooms are spectacular
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Skotel Alpine Resort, Other at Skotel Alpine Resort
Responded 5 Jul 2021
Thank you for your kind words Meljup, they are most appreciated by all of us here at Skotel & we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$40 - US$118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
skotel alpine hotel whakapapa village, holiday inn tongariro national park
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandManawatu-Wanganui RegionTongariro National ParkWhakapapa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Skotel Alpine Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Skotel Alpine Resort?
Nearby attractions include Tongariro Alpine Crossing (6.9 km), Taranaki Falls (0.1 km), and Tawhai Falls (3.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Skotel Alpine Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Skotel Alpine Resort?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a view of a nearby landmark.
What food & drink options are available at Skotel Alpine Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Skotel Alpine Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Skotel Alpine Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ruapehu Restaurant, Ruapehu Lounge Bar, and The Pinnacles Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Skotel Alpine Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Is Skotel Alpine Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Whakapapa.
Are any cleaning services offered at Skotel Alpine Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Skotel Alpine Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Te Porere Redoubt (6.8 km).
Does Skotel Alpine Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.