We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Church Accommodation

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Church Accommodation
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

327 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Church Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Showing 285: English reviews
London, Canada
Reviewed 26 August 2016

We were in one of the "bungalows" near The Church Restaurant. Beautiful gardens off the small back deck. A great place to enjoy a morning coffee or a glass of nice New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc (or two) with some cheese and fruit after a day of tramping. Each "bungalow" is unique and nicely, but eclectically appointed. There are no TV's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TwoNuggets
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Two Nuggets, Thank you for you lovely review of The Church Accommodation. You stayed in our Garden Studios (not bungalows) which are our most economical Cottages and also the smallest, hence why they have no TVs, all the other Cottages have TVs in them. The Studios are well equipped for most single or two night travellers, served with tea...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We stayed here for only one night, but wish we could have stayed for longer! We arrived late due to some traffic in Auckland (the only place for traffic in the North Island!!) but the staff were so great and made late check in really easy. We stayed in a studio apartment, which was delightfully cosy and felt like a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura V
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Laura V, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay although only one night. Thank you for writing a review we appreciate it. Beach towels and spades are free for guest use even if you check out on the day you use them as you did. It's the little things we can do to make your stay more enjoyable....

Reviewed 13 August 2016

We stayed here a couple of days in a bungalow in the church gardens. The place was cute, quirky and spacious with a lot of natural light streaming through the garden facing windows. It was nice and quiet and the staff were friendly. We were given a heater for the room since it was winter time, but it was still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mione v
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Mione, Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not come to reception for another heater as we did have many more if needed. We do try our best to ensure you have everything you ned in the Cottages and we do hope you return in summer one day when the beauty of Hahei will really win...

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 July 2016

A wonderful and very peaceful place to stay. We visited the area as a couple and our 3 night stay in a cottage wonderful. Our cottage, with a fire, was warm, comfortable, clean, spacious and well equipped was a lovely place to unwind and "recharge the batteries". The whole place is quite quirky and old fashioned. The cottage was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leki9
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you Leki9! We are so glad you enjoyed your 'recharge' time here with us. We have unique and individual little Cottages, all with their own individual vintage and Rustic Charms, but with all the modern amenities as well! The wood fires in winter are just so lovely, adding to the peaceful ambience of our place. Thanks again and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

What a quirky, great place to stay, the Accomodation is comfy, the owners were so helpful and pleasant, thank you! Spades and beach towels were provided for hot water beach, We visited in winter so not a lot open but the owners sent us to the local pub, where we enjoyed good food, hospitality and great cider!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamiesteward
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Jamie! Thank so much for the review and we have had the wonderful pleasure of your company twice in a week! As winter was well and truly upon us I am glad you made use of the Woodfire in The House and ate and drank at The Pour House to stay warm. You would be so very welcome to...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 29 June 2016

I visited Hahei on a whim last month. I booked a whirlwind trip around the North Island to check out some places that I want to being my American friends next year. I didn't know much about the Coromandel Peninsula and I knew even less about the towns within it. For me, it was perfect on many levels. The cottages...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Jennifer, Thank you for your review and you are welcome! As locals we really try to discuss your travel plans and time constraints with you so you can get the most out of the area. We are glad you enjoyed the Hahei Explorer boat trip and The Pour House brewery and we hope you will bring your friends to...

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

Gorgeous peaceful place to stay with lovely couple running it. Close to a great little restaurant. The walk to Cathedral Cove well worth it. The hot springs are something different to. Lying in the hot sand then a swim in a sea. Very rejuvenating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robyn938
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Robyn, Thanks you for taking the time to write a review we really appreciate it. Hotwater Beach is at its best at the moment although it is winter; there is a lot more sand accumulated on the beach allowing more time to access the hot springs. We have had some stunning photos from guests brave enough to venture there...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 31 May 2016

We really enjoyed staying in "The House" at The Church in Hahei It was very comfortable, well equipped and charming. The gardens around the whole property were lovely and obviously someone takes a lot of care in maintaining them. All the staff were attentive, friendly and relaxed. Anna stayed on til after 7pm to greet us on the evening we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 939bronwen
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Bronwen, Thank you so much for your lovely review. The Cathedral Cove track is up and running now with an extension to a new lookout which is absolutely stunning! Your understanding and patience with the track-building issues was wonderful and I am so glad you made the walk the next day! I have the gardening team ( myself and...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 May 2016

My husband and son and I booked here for one night in February. Unfortunately my husband received a neck injury in the surf, and we had to leave immediately. The Church refunded our money, organised ambulance, and even gave us some fruit with a lovely handwritten card wishing us well. We were so disappointed we had to leave - the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Y4933UMlisaj
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Lisa J, Thank you so much for writing a review! We were so sorry when your husband came back with his injury! I am hoping you will all return here this coming summer and enjoy the time you had unfairly snatched from you. Thank you once again and please come back! Kind regards, Anna.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 May 2016

The Church Accomodation was everything it promised with neat cabins that were very comfortable. The cabin was clean and well serviced during our stay We took advantaged of the continental breakfast which whilst basically cereal, museli, and bread was wll supplemented with yoghurt, seasonal fruit and juices. Much of the breakfast fare was homemade. Fresh milk was provided in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carrm397
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Carrm, Thank you for posting a lovely review of your stay at the Church Accommodation. We are so glad you enjoyed the simple yet nutritious homemade continental breakfast. Thanks, The Church Accommodation.

141 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (108)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
8.8 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
472 reviews
21.5 km away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
28.6 km away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hahei Holiday Resort
5.2 km away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.6 km away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Hahei
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Scattered amongst 1.5 Acres of established gardens and native trees, close to the natural wonders of Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach, The Church complex consists of 11 rustic and spacious wooden cottages along with 1 three-bedroom house suitable for larger groups. All our cottages have Queen-size beds with ensuite bathrooms and private balconies overlooking the peaceful gardens. Some of our largest cottages are equipped with kitchens and woodfires for cosy winter stays. They can also accommodate up to two extra guests. Our 3 bedroom house has a full kitchen, woodfire, BBQ, private garden and balcony. It can accommodate a maximum of 8 guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Church Accommodation

Address: 87 Hahei Beach Rd, Hahei, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Price Range: $117 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Church Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your The Church Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Church Hotel Hahei
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Church Accommodation staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Church Accommodation staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in cottage 7, and the wifi was quite slow but it was very private.”
 of 5 bubbles rebeccad176, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Studio good for a couple but might be a little crowded with a child although there is a great common room with TV, lounges and games.”
 of 5 bubbles mtwar62, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Travel adapters you cannot have enough”
 of 5 bubbles deryckg2016, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“only a few cottages and they are all good”
 of 5 bubbles dumbrule, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“They are all lovely and set in lovely garden. Enjoy a coffee on the deck listening to the bell birds”
 of 5 bubbles 782suzieb, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5