We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Castello Village Resort

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (713)
Room & Suite (119)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#9 of 17 hotels in Sissi
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Located in the picturesque seaside village of Sissi, Castello Village is a bungalow-apartment complex, built around a series of pools and bars. The buildings are laid out like a village, with each studio and apartment self-contained for privacy and comfort. Constructed in a traditional Cretan style, the resort has colourful buildings, abundant gardens, sundrenched terraces, panoramic sea views, and an imposing mountain backdrop. The resort is famous for its friendly, attentive staff, who are always on hand to meet guests' needs and make sure they enjoy their stay. It is a family hotel, where your children can enjoy every minute of their holidays, in a safe environment, attended by qualified staff.With delicious food, a warm, relaxed atmosphere, and a day-and-night programme of activities and entertainment, Castello Village is the perfect destination for a relaxing family vacation or a romantic holiday. Yet the resort is only a few steps away from the centre of the lively village of Sissi, with its numerous bars, coffee shops, tavernas, restaurants, souvenir shops, and boutiques. With personal service from a modern management team and fully trained staff, guests can be assured of the highest standards of comfort, relaxation, and enjoyment at this popular holiday destination.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Evening entertainment
Children's playground
Kids pool
Airport transportation
Public wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Light therapy
Massage
Baggage storage
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Greek and 1 more

Location

Papatheodorou, Sissi, Crete 72400 Greece
Name/address in local language
Castello Village Resort
747Reviews65Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 260
  • 247
  • 132
  • 74
  • 34
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Elle wrote a review Jan 2024
17 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
I stayed here a year ago and it was brilliant! I don’t know why all these Karen’s and snowflakes are giving two stars!!! - I thought it was amazing for what we paid. We went half board and from start to finish this holiday was fantastic and I would choose to come back again we had hotel at the front of the hotel no issues what’s so ever I’ve stayed in hotels full of cockroaches (completely normal) but in this hotel I didn’t see ONE - when we arrived we had receptionist take us to the room it was very early in the morning due to our journey taking longer due to a storm they were very accommodating from start to finish. Food was great did a lot of dishes that met a lot of different cuisines. It was fantastic I wouldn’t listen to any of these bad comments!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
juls wrote a review Sept 2022
London, United Kingdom12 contributions8 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We stayed at Castello for the 2nd time and we cannot fault them! The best room deluxe sea view with whirlpool absolutely amazing. Friendly staff everywhere, food amazing! Spotlessly clean! Everyone works so hard and always with a smile! In a perfect spot close to the town and harbour and Boufos Beach...only let down was no sunloungers or Parasols at the beach which was a real shame...but its nothing to do with this wonderful Resort! Love it so much so we booked again for next year....can't wait! Thank you so much to the Castello Village Resort staff...fantastic x
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Stavros Diakakis, Άλλο at Castello Village Resort
Responded 3 Oct 2022
Dear juliemead14, On behalf of the Castello Village Resort Team, please allow us to express our gratitude for this nice and empowering review. It is true that our goal and our pride is to have our guests satisfied. We will always search ways to improve our services and offer a nice experience to our guests. Thank you for your stay. The Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
juls wrote a review Dec 2023
London, United Kingdom12 contributions8 helpful votes
Third visit this year. Staff as always so fantastic so helpful and always friendly especially the restaurant staff, Emmarella, Elvis! However because of building new hotel next door...money not spent on Castello Village, door out to balcony difficult to open, kept sticking things needed painting etc swimming pool bar nearer the sea never open! such a shame! So much so we have booked somewhere else! We are sad about this as the staff cannot do enough for you and we will miss them next year!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: They need to spend money on this hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
linda5119 wrote a review Oct 2023
Tamworth, United Kingdom11 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
We have just returned from our second visit to Castello village. Had a lovely relaxing holiday especially with our deluxe seaview room with hotub. Our room was spacious, a great shower/bathroom anda lovely sea view. The food was good and the staff pleasant and helpful. Could not fault it. Will return. Thank you. Linda & Richard Jackson
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Wanderer33267977219 wrote a review Oct 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
A very friendly, welcoming and clean hotel I had a problem with the water they dealt with it quickly it could not be fixed so they moved me to another room nothing was too much trouble would recommend it
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
andy_pandemonium wrote a review Oct 2023
Leeds, United Kingdom20 contributions21 helpful votes
A wonderful hotel and staff who will help your visit a pleasent stay, Our second visit to the Castello, everything at this hotel is excellent, a variety of food at the resteraunt and a change to the snack bar in the afternoon, Ervis was the waiter who looked after us at dinner time bringing drinks and taking our orders from the snack bar, The hotel is very clean, the cleaners do an excptional job to ensure the floors are swept/mopped/dried, the glass doors are polished to the point you dont want to touch them to get them dirty. Our room cleaner came in daily to provide clean towels and to make the beds. The receptionists were on hand through the day/night who were very informative and their knowledge of the area and things to do. our air-conditioned room was very spacious and our balcony overlooked the supermarket and the road, the curtains cut out any lights from outside, the sliding pstio doors emit any noises from outside. After handing inour keys on our checkout date, the days was destined to be the waiting game until our transfer to the airport, needing a shower before setting off was a worry now our keys were handed back, the option for ectending our room was known to us but chose this to be not required knowing we would be outside during the day. Again, speaking to the reception it was arranged for us to visit the Castello Boutique and Spa accross the road, the showers were great and allowed us to freshen up and a change of clothing for our journey home. Truly a great hotel and shall be returning 2024
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: No reserving sunbeds
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Harry C wrote a review Oct 2023
5 contributions3 helpful votes
The Costello Village Resort is very good for the average holiday but I write this as someone who has mobility problems. With the reservation team knowing this they very kindly allotted me a room (no. 361) which is on the street level, with the convenience of ramps, thank you very much. Everywhere is very clean and staff helpful and pleasant. There are various activities within the hotel which appear to be appreciated by the guests. As I was B&B tariff, I attended the buffet breakfast most days which was always plentiful, varied, well replenish and quite acceptable. The one evening I attended the buffet dinner was most disappointing with the food luke warm and although I tried several ‘tastes’ of what was on offer, it seemed to be mass produced and unappetising. Following my evening experience I tottered to the village and partook of a local eaterie. My main concern following my stay is of the noise. My room was on the Eastern side of the hotel where there is building work being undertaken from 08.30 till late afternoon. The noise of banging, drilling and shouting is quite disturbing for a ‘relaxed’ holiday combined with the air being full of concrete dust, relaxing in 361 was the last thing to be had. When this work is eventually finished, a stay at the Costello Village could be very please but I’m afraid that may not be for a good while yet.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Take time on your first day to negotiate the hotel layout. Think twice about having your main...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Bob N wrote a review Oct 2023
3 contributions2 helpful votes
The staff were great. Sissi is a lovely quiet town with lots of good restaurants etc. The Hotel is well situated, and an easy, level walk into the town. We were bed and breakfast, which was very good, so only ate in the hotel on “Greek Night”, the food was great. However, the rooms,” deluxe sea view”, were not comfortable, in the first room the bed was very hard and there was nowhere to sit other than the balcony which had two plastic chairs, both split in in the centre of the seat requiring a towel to prevent a painful experience. The room was 10 feet from the new hotel being built next door. I’m sure it had a nice sea view prior to this. We were moved to a small suite overlooking the pool which was a considerable improvement but still had the split chairs on the balcony. The bathrooms in both rooms were modern and clean. The photos on the website are very misleading, many of them being of the sister hotel across the road. Use of the facilities there (Castello Boutique 5*) are included but not encouraged, there is little, or no information supplied. We only discovered this when we had treatments in the spa. The Hotel is built on a steep slope and everywhere there are either ramps or steps and is a maze of passageways and staircases making things hard going for older or infirm people. The beach on the website no longer has a café or sunbeds so was little used, other beaches are a 20 euro taxi ride.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: They have a rule that unattended sunbeds will have the towels removed, pity they don't enforce it.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
htu96 wrote a review Oct 2023
Scottish Borders, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
I had been dubious about this hotel after seeing some poor reviews but so glad we went to this hotel. All staff were so friendly and polite - reception, restaurant and cleaning staff. We stayed half board and there was always a huge range of food for breakfast and a different range of food each night for tea including Greek food. We also ate from the snack bar during the day which served lovely fresh Greek food. Our room was nice and spacious with a big bathroom and was cleaned everyday including fresh towels everyday. As there are two pools we always managed to find a sun bed and both pools were always nice and clean. Lovely quiet and relaxed hotel for a 10 night break. Would definitely recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Castello Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Castello Village Resort
Responded 4 Nov 2023
Dear htu96, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a beautiful review. We feel honored to read that we exceeded your expectations and we are delighted to receive your compliments and appreciation regarding our services . Your positive feedback will definitely be shared with the team. Thank you for recommending us to the other readers. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for another lovely and relaxed stay! Warmest regards, The Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
carole k wrote a review Oct 2023
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Just returned from 10 days at this hotel, what a waste of time it was. When we arrived we were put in a room with a massive generator outside which kept us awake all night so we asked the next morning to change and the lady on reception was very abrupt and rude. We changed to a better room but the view was awful, looking on to a building site with noise going on during the day. The food here was awful, everything is barely warm, even when a new tray of food comes out it is not hot. There is no show cooking, as mentioned on the EasyJet website, in fact there wasn’t even anywhere to do show cooking. The rooms looked lovely on the EasyJet website which was why we booked the holiday but they definitely are not a cosy cocoon as described by them. The beds were comfy but the sheets didn’t fit properly and every morning you woke up just laying on a mattress which didn’t even have a protector on. There was a complete lack of cleanliness and maintenance throughout the hotel. We were told that there is an entertainment programme, there is not. During the ten days we were there we had one evening of dancing. We never found the TV room either or the other sports facilities that were mentioned, only table tennis. Anything that goes on is in the sister hotel opposite and we didn’t see hardly anything going on there either, in fact we found nothing at all during the day and only evening entertainment two nights a week, so I do not know how they can call it an entertainment programme. EasyJet Holidays omit to tell you on their website that the gym, spa, Turkish bath and everything else they mention is not in this hotel but in the one opposite. The bar at one of the pools was never open, in fact it was all boarded up. We were so looking forward to going here as it looked so good but we were so disappointed. We have stayed in much better two star hotels in Greece. The only plus side was that the staff were really nice apart from the lady on reception. We would never consider ever going back to this hotel, but the actual village of Sissi is beautiful and vey Greek and pretty.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t bother going!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Castello Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Castello Village Resort
Responded 4 Nov 2023
Dear Z9554PJcarolek, Thank you for your feedback. Please accept our apologies for the upsetting factors you encountered during your stay with us. I would like to assure you that your experience is not typical at the quality of service and authentic hospitality we offer to our guests. Your helpful feedback is well taken and will be shared with the Heads of Departments for immediate review and improvement. Best regards The Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sissi area.
PRICE RANGE
$109 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
castello village sissi
LOCATION
GreeceCreteLasithi PrefectureSissi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
147
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CASTELLO VILLAGE RESORT - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Sissi, Greece) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Castello Village Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Castello Village Resort?
Nearby attractions include The Jolly Roger (0.06 km), Sissi Mini Golf (0.2 km), and Peggy Gordon's Irish House (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Castello Village Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Castello Village Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Castello Village Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Castello Village Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Castello Village Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Menios Taverna, Stam Stam, and Coba Cafe Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Castello Village Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Castello Village Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Castello Village Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Castello Village Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Castello Village Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Italian, and Greek.
Are there any historical sites close to Castello Village Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Megali Vrisi (Great Fountain) (9.7 km).