We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kona Hawaii Guesthouse

Traveller (14)
Room & Suite (19)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Green
HOTEL CLASS
14Reviews
64Photos
1Q+A
5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 6
  • 1
  • 2
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
The pictures did not do justice to rooms. No air conditioning, oven not working dirty enviornment only poor excuses. Close to parts of downtown. Owner helpful getting me from airport, then not around to answer any questions.
Read more
our stay at johns was great! He was super helpful ensuring we had everything we needed to have a comfortable and great stay, he was also very knowledgeable suggesting awesome things to check out around the island. The room was perfect, it contained all the amenities we needed,
Read more
John was a tour guide, owner and provided me with tips of the best trips to take. Fresh Fruit on site. Go and pick it yourself. The owner knows all about Hawaii. I came here to experience Hawaii. Hawaii now goes home with me. Thank you John.
Read more
The location is more of a house compartmentalized like an apartment with 6 units rather than a hotel or motel. The ambience was friendly and clean. John, the property supervisor, was very kind and accommodating to us. The property itself is older and can use a bit of improvement
Read more
Only stayed one night. It was very dirty, with clothes and junk laying all over the outside of the home. My credit card was overcharged as well and we had to dispute that. Pool not useable because it was so dirty. Not as described.
Read more
Response from John B, Manager at Kona Hawaii Guesthouse
Responded 7 Feb 2017
thanks for your feedback , Oh yes like many of the places in town we do have a refundable deposit/ which is not a charge. and hawaiian tax too of course. Our mostly edible plant area outside contains lots of dirt and mulch where we grow lots of spinach , passion fruit and flowers. That is the great thing about hawaii its so alive with life and growth of edible plants. As in any working location that offers places to stay we are always working on things and trying to improve them. Go to our work areas away from the rooms and we do have linen , supplies being processed and cleaning supplies. In hawaii we have black sided pools to gather the sun , and it make the water 70-85 , before solar panels 70-100, with a cover up to 110 degrees. We recommend that if you prefer a condo, or hotel don't stay at small rustic country guesthouses in town, some have sheep, goats, chickens, turkeys. Smaller properties are not for everyone.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & Suite
Photo provided by managementKona Hawaii Guesthouse
suite
Photo provided by managementKona Hawaii Guesthouse
old hawaiian art
Photo provided by managementKona Hawaii Guesthouse
suite
Photo provided by managementKona Hawaii Guesthouse
suite door
Photo provided by managementKona Hawaii Guesthouse
suite
PreviousNext
1234
1 mile to the beach Minutes to the beach by car And unique view at 1000 feet You can see whales and boats from our place too Aloha Here is more about us mile to the beach We are into aloha here Good morning We are your quiet casual Hawaiian retro alternative older guest house with a unique view of the ocean. Taste of true Hawaiian Living You can see whales and boats from our deck Try our fresh tropical fruit we have great tropical fruit to try right off the trees/ not a condo or hotel More of a large house with several private studios that is in a more comfortable area for family's, and couples We are at 700 feet high About 10-15 blocks up hill from the beach View is unique You can see dolphin , whales , and boats from our deck Even see whales and dolphin jumping/ record is three whales jumping Hear the local birds or surf Walking trail 7 miles with coffee and chocolate farms just blocks away On site concrete removal for the neck, deep tissue massage , sports advantage massage, Hawaiian Massage A small store 4 blocks and the walking trail With the best Mexican food in the area next door to the store Large shopping center 2 miles with a shuttle that goes along the coast and KONA for 2 dollars Island wide bus stop 5 blocks away Airport is 12 miles away from KONA We are 3-4 miles from down town A bay, 6 parks, 5 beaches 1-3 miles away Theaters ,luau,concerts,bands 2-4 miles 6 Farmers markets a few miles away Hawaii is alive We are in Hawaii and Geckos bugs , even cats, birds, turkeys and piggies live here. You may be welcomed by them . The geckos are like little dogs that hunt bugs and the Hawaiians consider them to be good luck . Geckos are sometimes inside our rooms hunting any bugs that get welcomed in and trapped inside. It's very hot in Hawaii from july to October or November so drinking lots of water is key , taking water with you , double insulated water bottles are a great way to go. It's a quiet place except for the birds in the morning Quiet time 9pm to 8am All bookings require Deposit, tax, cleaning fee , advance reservations and our house rules based on integrity and respecters for others apply on all bookings See your itinerary, third party site, our website and messages for more information We like to have both great grandmothers and grand daughters to be safe and happy at all times so please act with respect to all guests Our place on the web Here we are /about us KONA Hawaii Guest House and Healing Center Hey thanks for asking about our place and booking with us I am off to the beach Aloha Giovanni Ps We are here for you and do our best to Share the inside scoop Yes that's right the best of hawaii and address anything that comes up in the best way possible So please text us at anytime if you need anything on site/ no matter how small Mahalo Ps if you need to cancelation look at your third party vendor agreement or if it is with us directly check our agreement Terms vary
0 votes
Show all answers
"Balcony view of the ocean"
"no ac available"
"ask for the rooms with a view"
"The dolphin room is cozy and very comfortable"
"Definitely get an ocean view room upstairs."
PRICE RANGE
US$89 - US$174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiIsland of HawaiiKailua-Kona
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing