We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Whisky Point Arugambay, Pottuvil, Arugam Bay 32500 Sri Lanka
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
View all 6 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (114)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (17)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#9 of 41 Speciality lodging in Pottuvil
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Overlooking the Whisky Point surfing spot in Arugam Bay, Paper Moon Kudils of Whisky Point Resorts is a beachside getaway made up of a cluster of rustic ‘kudils’ that offer a charmed way of life. Whisky Point is a popular spot for novice surfers with slow rolling waves. Combined with the laidback beach expanse the ‘Kudils’ offer a potent setting for letting loose and embracing a simple beach lifestyle. Things are run in an unconventional way at Paper Moon Kudils, which is very much a part of the locality. Expect some warm hospitality and your input and encouragement are highly valued at any time. While you ease into your home away from home, there are a few DIYs to keep in mind during your stay to encourage energy efficiency and environmentally friendly ways of holidaying to your heart’s content. Read on and find out more. Arugambay Roccos, our sister property, is located along Main Street, Arugambay.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Fishing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Secured parking
Internet
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary welcome drink
Car hire
24-hour security
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Private beach
Desk
Seating area
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Sinhala, Tamil
113Reviews1Q+A19Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 39
  • 41
  • 19
  • 5
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
RichardCave & Maryanne Cave wrote a review Aug 2019
Adelaide, Australia4 contributions1 helpful vote
Unfortunately we were disappointed with this establishment. We understand it’s rated 3 stars therefore not the Ritz however I had to ask for clean pillow cases as the ones on the bed were dirty. The young man who escorted us into the room quickly wiped down the toilet while we were standing there. Room was dirty and needed a proper clean. Food and customer service was average. At best this is 2 star accommodation.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from RoccosA1, GRO at Paper Moon Kudils
Responded 20 Aug 2019
Dear MagicCave We are not a star rated accommodation. However, regardless of ratings we always maintain our hotel and the rooms are clean. The linen in your room was clean, however when you requested for the pillow case to be changed we did so immediately. You statement regarding our staff wiping the toilet while you were standing there is not true. We clean the rooms daily. Our staff are always helpful and will assist the guest to ensure their holiday is a wonderful one. We will look into your suggestions. Best Regards Pratheepkanth
Read more
SatuJonna wrote a review Aug 2019
Helsinki, Finland488 contributions81 helpful votes
+1
We stayed here for four nights. The rooms are small but they have all the basic necessities. Only bad thing is that there is no room cleaning or changing the sheets or towels - only every five days. Also rooms don’t have a safety locker. Internet is very limited - only 1 GB per room per day. With no TV in the rooms there isn’t much to do when it’s for example raining if you run out of your data. Also rooms don’t come with a fridge or water cooker. You do get a complimentary water bottle every day though. Bed was comfortable and AC very powerful. Toilet is half outdoors which is a nice thing. Swimming pool is quite small and the water looked a bit dirty/murky. Beach is right behind the property but unfortunately we couldn’t swim in the ocean due to big waves. But this time
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from RoccosA1, GRO at Paper Moon Kudils
Responded 16 Aug 2019
Dear SatuJonna Thank you for your feedback. We will look into you suggestions. Just to clarify a few things, we do provide housekeeping on a daily basis. We wish you had spoken to our staff, they would have definitely cleaned the room for you. The pool is cleaned daily, the colour changed due to the rain but that has been rectified. This is the first time that it has happened because generally it does not rain during this time. Broadband has not yet been provided to Arugambay/Whisky Point hence there is a limitation on the daily usage of wifi. But we want our guests to experience the area than remain indoors. Yes, for all beverage and meal requirements the guests can visit our restaurant, which is fully equipped. We do not provide fridges or kettles in the room and we have not mentioned anywhere that we do. We have provided all the information on the facilities and services provided at the hotel online. Our staff are generally very friendly and interact with the guests. Thank you for staying with us and we do hope you will come again. Best Regards Pratheepkanth
Read more
Nicolas Kodeck wrote a review Aug 2019
11 contributions5 helpful votes
My sister in Law offerd me two night here in your " hôtel " . I AM SO DISAPPOINTED!!!!!! It's the worst hotel i have ever Seen in my entire life. Even in Sri Lanka for 300 Rs i had a much better experience ans services ( much much better !!!! ). We arrived Yesterday morning, the bed was dirty and not done. And the rooms are not as the pictures on booking.com at all!! There's definitely no rules or hygiène over this " hôtel " !!! Dirty and Silly Homeless dogs for sure having a few ilnesses are enjoying the swimming pool or the papermoonkudils " hôtel " !!! I even Saw one of these disgusting dogs having a pie on the swimming pool lying beds. Personal of the hôtel doesn't Care about anything they just are chatting on their phones. For sure i'll write you the worst advies ever
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RoccosA1, GRO at Paper Moon Kudils
Responded 14 Aug 2019
Dear Nicolas We are surprised with your feedback. After our manager came and spoke to you and sorted all your issues, you were happy with what we offered. We offered you a complimentary dinner but you declined stating you had prior plans for dinner else where. Therefore, instead, we offered you complimentary beverages. Our guests love the dogs on the property because they are well behaved. They do not litter everywhere as you have stated. You did mention to our staff in fact that you do not like dogs. Therefore your comments are very subjective. All our staff are friendly and do their best to make our guests happy. You are the first to make such statements and we cannot accept your claims. The information and photographs provided online are accurate. Please do not make false statements. Bes Regards Pratheepkanth
Read more
Milly and jules wrote a review Feb 2019
London, United Kingdom70 contributions28 helpful votes
We came here for lunch in very low season- there was NO one else staying there or eating. They refused to let us use the pool unless we bought a burger! We wanted to eat lunch but not a burger. The staff weren’t helpful and didn’t seem interested in having us there at all!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from papermoon_admin, Manager at Paper Moon Kudils
Responded 16 Feb 2019
Dear Milly Sorry about the inconvenience.
Read more
Thilina Chandima Gunarathna wrote a review Jan 2019
Weligama, Sri Lanka182 contributions11 helpful votes
I visited this hotel in December 2018, When i visit first time Room(Kudils) does not had A/C but this time they renovate the rooms with A/C and lot more. as usual Staff is super friendly. Hotel does not have buffet but A La Carte menu cover all side but this time portion bit small and taste also bit down, Hotel have Clean and good size pool.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from papermoon_admin, Manager at Paper Moon Kudils
Responded 16 Feb 2019
Dear Thilina Thank you 🙏 for your kind words. Will look 👀 into your suggestion. Kind Regards Pradeepkanth
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$10 - US$42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Sri LankaEastern ProvinceArugam BayPottuvil
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing