We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023-7029
Lowest prices for your stay
US$187
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.comUS$278
Official HotelUS$187
Priceline
View all 21 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1830)
Room & Suite (695)
Pool & Beach (74)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#345 of 539 in New York City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 427 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, PJ Clarke’s Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby Lounge. Fun fact, The Empire Hotel was featured in Gossip Girl. Join us for a Chuck Bass cocktail at the Lobby Lounge.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Parking
Rooftop pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Rooftop bar
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
121Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
75Attractionswithin 0.5 km
8491Reviews167Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,794
  • 2,513
  • 1,563
  • 906
  • 715
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
suzi k wrote a review 12 May
Dublin, Ireland48 contributions37 helpful votes
Just back from our 5 night stay in NYC. My first time in NY and my partners second time in this hotel. Really liked the area, its chilled and the subway is right beside hotel so can be at times sq in like 10 mins. Our bed was comfortable and room OK size for 2 people on a city trip. Cleaned everyday. Bit noisy but it's nyc... Just no day time naps! Staff were nice, enjoyed chatting to Jose briefly made me feel very welcome. The rooms do need updating and bit uncared for. Did not like the rooftop bar, more of a venue than a hotel guest spot. Overall price was fair for NYC, just some investment in the appearance and amenities be great. No issue with the WiFi at all. Just have to sign in when u leave and come back. Would stay again if got a deal.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Erica Kostic, Guest Services / Front Office at The Empire Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
It's an absolute pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on high standards of guest related care and it's wonderful to know we've achieved this on your visit. We hope to continue to welcome you back as our guest!
Read more
Chaneen C wrote a review 8 May
1 contribution
We enjoyed our stay at the Empire Hotel. Adbelah at the front desk went above and beyond to ensure that we had all the amenities and services that we asked for. Really appreciated Abdelah’s customer service
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Erica Kostic, Guest Services / Front Office at The Empire Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
It's an absolute pleasure to know Abdellah was assisting and pleasant. We pride ourselves on high standards of guest related care and I'm delighted to know we were able to reflect this. Rest assured we're eager to welcome you back as our guest!
Read more
Jose P wrote a review 2 May
Madrid, Spain2 contributions1 helpful vote
Location excellent, arrived at midnight and I was quickly checked in. I arrived to my room , which was correct. Unfortunately a brutal aspiration noise from the climate system of the building on the side makes it truly difficult to sleep. The blowing noise is so brutal that tomorrow I will leave the hotel and will look for a proper place to sleep. If you chose this hotel make sure your room is not on the back of the building unless you plan to go out at night hard and sleeping is not relevant
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the back of the building
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Erica Kostic, Guest Services / Front Office at The Empire Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. It's important to know how your stay went as it helps us know how to better serve you. I'm sorry to learn you did not receive the rest you were expecting. Perhaps on your next stay we can allocate you in a more quieter area of the hotel away from the outside noise. Simply contact us in advanced at FrontDesk@empirehotelnyc.com and we'd be happy ensure your next stay exceeds your expectations.
Read more
Klgm326 wrote a review 1 May
5 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Very efficient, polite, and professional front desk! Able to check in early with requested accommodations. Nice room, great beds, perfect location for theater, Lincoln Center, food, subways. Excellent stay! I would recommend as safe, pleasant hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Erica Kostic, Guest Services / Front Office at The Empire Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
It's an absolute pleasure to know you've enjoyed your stay so thoroughly with us. Thank you for your comments and please don't let it be too long until we welcome you back.
Read more
Terry Traveler wrote a review Apr 2022
7 contributions
I don’t know WHO waited on some of you people that RAVED about the staff, but I did NOT have a positive experience with one member of the staff. First and fore most for those of you reading this review: this property, even with its good location, is OVERPRICED. By the time all the taxes, fees, and nonsense were added, my rate was over $55 per night higher than anticipated, and for the quality, and condition of the rooms, and halls, and lack of things, it’s not worth the price. I booked through a travel site, MONTHS in advance, and am fairly certain I requested a room with a bath TUB, not just a shower. I walk a lot, have back and hip issues, and like to soak at the end of the day. In any event, even if I forgot that request on the initial booking, I was sent a note from the property, where I requested it, still weeks in advance. I did arrive at the property early, 10:30 am (ish), and let me state that the first thing I told the female staff member at the desk, was that this was my first time at this hotel. I knew I would not be able to check in, but I let them know I was there and that I was not happy with the total rate for the 3 nights, as it was much higher than I was quoted, but what could you do? She would not waive any of the extra charges, including one that provided me with water and wi-fi!!! When I asked if she saw the note about the tub, she confirmed that she did AND indicated that she had a room to offer me that would meet my requirements, but of course, it was not ready yet. No problem, I told her, I would be back. I heard the other staff member checking in another guest at the desk, telling him that now that they knew he was there, he would put a rush on the room cleaning. I was not offered that courtesy. She did say she would text me when my room was ready. I received no such message. Check in was 3 pm. When I arrived back at the hotel at approximately 2:40, asking please, was my room available, a gentleman checked me in and I went on up with the bellman and my luggage and shopping. Upon entrance, I immediately saw that my room had NO tub, just a not so nice shower – big, but beat up and in need of updating. I went downstairs and the poor nice young man said he did not have a room to meet my request. I offered to take a different type of room if that would help and NO. She was standing at the desk, and I told him that when I was there over 4 hours ago, she indicated that she could meet my request. She said nothing, he avoided eye contact, and I said I was not happy to which he replied “I’m sorry, but it was only a request”. No offer to do anything!!! No bottle of wine sent to my room, no slight reduction in my rate, nothing more than a verbal apology. Here's the rest: The halls are EXTREMELY dark, can barely get your key card in the slot. The place was NOT clean, and the bathroom was run down. I did have good maid service, for which I gladly tipped. The only redeeming feature, was the roof top bar/restaurant. The hotel bar, which looked cool, was closed despite stating this on their web site: Join us for appetizers and cocktails at our iconic Lobby Bar along with pictures of the lobby bar! There are NO ice machines on the floors. I was told they were too loud and the walls are thin, for which I can attest to, as I could hear people in the next room as clearly as if they were in mine. You had to bring your ice bucket downstairs, where other staff members (not that female at the desk) gladly filled it. When I tried to catch a little TV, it stated, no signal, or not available, or something, but I couldn’t get it to work. A friend told me once that when you travel, your accommodations should be at LEAST at the level of what you have at home, if no better. My home is bright, and clean, and not run down. This hotel was not better than my home. : ( I usually stay somewhere in midtown, but wanted to be close to the park for morning walks. I would not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: walls very thin!!!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Erica Kostic, Guest Services / Front Office at The Empire Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
I regret to learn your stay was not to your liking. We value your feedback as it helps us know how to better serve our guests and I'm most certainly grateful for your insight. Let me assure you that we have addressed your comments with our entire team to look into the particulars as we certainly do not want our guests leaving with the impression you had. I can assure you we are eager to retain your satisfaction with the opportunity to redefine your experience. Please contact our front desk managers at frontofficemanagers@empirehotelnyc.com so we can personally welcome you back and exceed your expectations.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$168 - US$435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityLincoln Square / Manhattan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
427
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Empire Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Empire Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Metropolitan Opera (0.1 km), Jazz at Lincoln Center (0.3 km), and Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Empire Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Empire Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Empire Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Empire Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Empire Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Per Se, Marea, and Grom.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Empire Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does The Empire Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, The Empire Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Empire Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Empire Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Empire Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.