We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (486)
Room & Suite (279)
Dining (27)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#395 of 499 hotels in New York City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
The newly updated Hampton Inn Manhattan Times Square South is located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan in Times Square, bordering the Theatre and Garment Districts. Located minutes away from New York City's major tourist attractions and corporations: Broadway, Rockefeller Center, Jacob Javits Convention Center, Macy's Herald Square, Empire State Building, Central Park, the Intrepid, Ernst and Young, New York Times Building, Hudson Yards, and Proctor and Gamble are all at our doorstep. Our updated guest rooms feature chic, modern design elements for enhanced comfort for both leisure and business travelers. Guests can enjoy complimentary hot breakfast and high-speed wireless internet access. The hotel is in the heart of Manhattan, just steps away from Port Authority Bus Terminal and most subway lines, and a quick walk to Penn Station, so getting around the city is easy.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee

Location

337 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
3348Reviews97Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,298
  • 1,205
  • 439
  • 185
  • 221
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
HDMan03 wrote a review 1 Mar
Paradise, California1 contribution
This is the very WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE that I have ever experienced in my life, and I am in the hotel business. 231 East 43rd St., On the 1st night checked that we checked in Manhattan, New York, everything seamed to be fine. We went out and that evening we came back to the room and it was cold in our room. So we turned the heater up to about 72 degrees, and called the front desk and asked for extra blankets, we were told that they were in the drawer. Obviously they expected problems in this room. We were very cold that night because the heater was not working properly, even after we turned it up to 80 degrees. The next morning before we went out we asked for extra blankets and informed them that the heater was not working, they stated that they would send maintenance up to repair the heater. We returned that afternoon and at this time the heater was working, it was set to 85 degrees, but extremely hot in the room so we turned it off. Before we went out to dinner, when we returned the room it was cold again, so we turned the heater back on to 80 degrees went to bed Around 9pm, we realized that the room was still very cold, so we turned the heater off, and used the extra blankets. About 10pm the heater came back on and started to blow cold air automatically all though it was switched off. Then we disconnected it from inside the heater unit, but the heater still would not turn off. The outside temperature was between 18 - 24 degrees and it was snowing. Then my wife called the front desk and spoke to the front desk night manager Victoria, my wife tried to explain the situation and Victoria and she continued to speak over her, and would not listen. Victoria then said that she would send up a maintenance guy up at 10:15 pm. My wife attempted to tell her that it was after 10 pm and her husband was trying to sleep, due to an early morning flight. This would have been very inconvenient due to the fact that we were in bed. After all of the commotion my husband was woken up, Victoria the night desk manager then hung up on my wife. Then my husband called down to speak with her and Victoria did the same to him, speaking over him and not listening to what was going on with the heater. The next morning we came down stairs to go to the airport, a very nice young man was very apologetic. We then left, after returning home my husband made several calls to the general manager Brianna, but he received no response. I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone, due to the VERY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE, and as I stated I am in the hotel business. I then contacted the corporate office of Hampton with little luck due to this Hampton was a franchise. DO NOT go to this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Do NOT go to this property
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Responded 2 days ago
Dear HDMan03, We truly regret to learn about your disappointing experience at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you encountered with the heating unit in your room and the service concerns you encountered during your stay. Your feedback is of utmost importance to us, and we take these matters seriously. We're committed to addressing these concerns and ensuring every guest receives the highest service and care. Your feedback will aid us in making necessary improvements. We hope you will consider giving us another chance to provide your desired stay. Warmest Regards, Laurie Misko Area General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Carissa A wrote a review Aug 2022
Utica, New York2 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
I never usually write a review, but after spending the night with my 2 young children and Mother we were really thrilled with our stay and the staff. First, the location of the hotel is really convenient and the room was great! But most importantly the front desk staff especially Deidra were super friendly and helpful! She went out of her way to help with subway directions, when we came back the next morning the valet man asked how we enjoyed the Yankee game! You don’t always get such kind and genuine people greeting you at a hotel and this was so refreshing to see! My only negative thing was the breakfast was cold, but the poor woman was running around frantically trying her very best to clean up and keep refreshing the food and you could tell it wasn’t her fault!! Great Job Staff!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Responded 19 Aug 2022
Dear Cmasaro, Thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South. Your compliments were a pleasure to read. We are delighted to learn that our team took excellent care of you, especially Deidra, and we will enjoy sharing your fantastic compliments with everyone. We are also glad you liked our location and accommodations. We appreciate your review and look forward to having you as our guest again. Warmest Regards, Laurie Misko General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jesper wrote a review Feb 2024
8 contributions3 helpful votes
Last time we were 3 generations going, this time me and my girlfriend. We must say that the hotel has a great location, the staff is friendly, the rooms are nice (get one on the top floors if you can). Breakfast is good - but be there early if you dont want to much waitingtime. The only bad thing we can point fingers at is that there are only 2 elevators and that cause lots of waiting time, especially in rush hours. The hotel have 32 floors and if you are located up high, you dont normally use the stairs, so you are forced to wait. But besides that, its a great hotel and well come back some other time.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Get breakfast early - then you can avoid standing in line.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 663jesperh, Thank you for your positive feedback about your stay at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South. We're delighted you found our hotel to be in a great location with friendly staff and nice rooms. We appreciate your understanding about the elevator situation and apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused. Your recommendation is much appreciated, and we hope to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay in the future! Warmest Regards, Laurie Misko Area General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
cmcmcm1 wrote a review Feb 2024
Hong Kong, China70 contributions64 helpful votes
This was a basic Hampton Inn. Rooms were average and the elevators were always packed. Breakfast was a bit of a zoo, it was simple and well stocked. I think it catered to the budget business segment as well as family tourists. Location is not bad at all and it was quite central to walk around Manhattan. The street that the hotel is on was usually pretty crowded and safe.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don't miss breakfast - they cut off on the dot by roping off the buffet.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear cmcmcm1, We appreciate you choosing us and for taking the time to leave your feedback. It was great to read about the enjoyable aspects of your visit. However, we apologize for any difficulties you had during your stay. Your feedback is invaluable and allows us to address areas that could have made your stay more enjoyable. We apologize for not providing the outstanding service you should always expect from us; your comments will help us to ensure a better experience for every guest in the future. We appreciate your comments and hope to have another opportunity to welcome you again soon. Warmest Regards, Laurie Misko Area General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
L A wrote a review Jan 2024
Sheffield, United Kingdom10 contributions3 helpful votes
Our stay with Hampton Inn was standard. It’s definitely a budget hotel and priced accordingly. The heating/fan in our room was rubbish and we’d wake up in the night having to turn it off, change settings etc. Our room was cleaned every day which was nice. However the bedding was not good quality and made me and my partner develop itchy patches on our skin. Breakfast was terrible but we only tried it once and didnt go back. However you didn’t have to pay for this! Our security deposit was paid promptly after leaving.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Responded 23 Jan 2024
Dear patch123_123, Thank you for being so specific in evaluating our hotel. We are glad you loved our clean and well-appointed rooms. However, we are disappointed to learn of the issues you experienced, so we apologize for not meeting your expectations or our high standards. Your comments have helped us identify areas where we may need additional attention, and we will take any necessary action. We hope you will visit again and allow us to demonstrate the outstanding experience for which we are known. Warmest Regards, Laurie Misko Area General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rai Sriya wrote a review Jan 2024
Bhaktapur, Nepal3 contributions
People from this hotel are fraud, The charge double and do not refund your deposit Never, Took our 150 USD deposit never refunded. So be care and choose other hotel, Very rude staff, Dirty Room. Several days same breakfast, never they clean our room while staying three nights. Very poor customer Service,
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Responded 19 Jan 2024
Dear sriya95, We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay. This does not align with our standards of service. We are committed to addressing your concerns promptly. To assist you better, please reach out directly to us and provide your reservation details. This will allow us to investigate the deposit issue and take appropriate action. We value your feedback, and your experience will be thoroughly reviewed to ensure improvements are made. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Warmest Regards, Laurie Misko General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Maxxxines wrote a review Jan 2024
Toronto80 contributions56 helpful votes
The only good thing about this hotel is the location. The wifi was terrible. The wait for the elevator was brutal. Many times when we finally got on the elevator...staff would hold the elevator between levels while having conversations with other staff members on those levels. I felt it was very disrespectful to guests. We even got an eye roll from a staff member when our elevator was full and she couldn't get on it. Aside from one staff member, I found the staff unfriendly. They did offer free cookies one night during our stay and they were pretty tasty. But even with the good location and cookies...I wouldn't stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Responded 11 Jan 2024
Dear Maxxxines, Thank you for staying with us and reviewing your experience. We are glad our location was convenient for everything you wanted to do on this visit. However, we do apologize for the issues you had with our elevators. We are sorry for our staff's behavior and appreciate you informing us of this incident. We understand your disappointment, and your feedback is being reviewed with the team members to see what went wrong. We appreciate your business and would welcome the opportunity to restore a favorable impression of our hotel in the future. Warmest Regards, Laurie Misko General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
kristimelodirae wrote a review Dec 2023
Oceana, West Virginia81 contributions13 helpful votes
We stayed here Friday and Saturday. We are Hilton Honors members so we stay at Hampton Inns very frequently. We did not have the best experience and will look for other options when traveling to NYC next time. The rooms are very small. Two small elevators for all the floors so there was usually a line. They do have stairs which are only accessible when an employee unlocks the door. The room beside us on the second floor we are assuming was being used for housekeeping. There were stacks of towels, housekeeping carts, and continual loud noise. We only had warm water one day when my daughter showered at night. For $600/night, I feel that we should have at least a warm shower in the morning. I checked out a day early and was told that we would not be charged. I never received the receipt email like I normally do. When I went back to the hotel a couple hours later to question it, I was never checked out the first time. Thankfully they did not charge me the third night.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Responded 26 Dec 2023
Dear Kristi C, Thank you for your review and being a Hilton Honors member. We appreciate your feedback and are sorry your stay was not the pleasant experience you deserve. Your feedback has been shared with our team to ensure similar issues are not made in the future. We assure you we are working hard to improve, and we would be honored to have you stay with us again. Warmest Regards, Laurie Misko General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
oscarct wrote a review Dec 2023
Mystic, Connecticut13 contributions12 helpful votes
This place seemed tired and overextended compared to previous stays. Elevators took forever, room cleanliness was so so and breakfast was light. Staff ranged from disinterested to lacking skills. The lady dragging chairs on the floor in the breakfast room says it all. Disappointing !
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Be patient with elevators
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Responded 20 Dec 2023
Dear oscarct, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We appreciate you pointing out specific items you loved and areas where we can improve. We will look into the instances you mentioned, as we are committed to offering better service for our guests. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Warmest Regards, Laurie Misko General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Subashkc wrote a review Dec 2023
Kathmandu, Nepal60 contributions14 helpful votes
We have stayed this hotel on June 20 to 22nd, -2023, They have never refunded our 150 USD Deposit with many phone call as well as many emails,. which was swiped by my card. Every call they say our manger is out for now. Shouting while reply, Very poor service, No value of money. Be care with this fraudulent, Absolutely not recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Responded 15 Dec 2023
Dear Subkc, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you've experienced regarding your deposit. Rest assured, we take your feedback seriously and will thoroughly investigate these concerns to ensure they are addressed appropriately. We hope you choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to the area so we may ensure your next stay is the outstanding one you deserve. Warmest Regards, Laurie Misko General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the New York City area.
PRICE RANGE
$229 - $621 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hampton inn manhattan / times square south hotel new york city
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityHudson Yards / Times Square / Midtown West / Garment District / Manhattan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
184
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HAMPTON INN MANHATTAN/TIMES SQUARE SOUTH - Now $283 (Was $̶3̶3̶6̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (New York City) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Which popular attractions are close to Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South?
Nearby attractions include Style Room NYC Shopping Tour Experiences (0.4 km), Mission Escape Games (0.2 km), and Exit Escape Room (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South?
Conveniently located restaurants include Angelina Bakery NYC, Zeppola Bakery, and Los Tacos No. 1.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum (5.2 km), World Trade Center Memorial Foundation (5.2 km), and Hamilton Park (2.6 km).
Is Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.