We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center

Save
Share
942 Mission St, San Francisco, CA 94103-2911
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$267
View deal
HamptonUS$267
Expedia.comUS$267
TravelocityUS$267
Hotels.comUS$267
PricelineUS$267
FindHotelUS$266
View all 19 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (140)
Room & Suite (102)
Dining (27)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Updated 10/12/21

About

#121 of 245 hotels in San Francisco
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Set in the heart of San Francisco's stylish South of Market district, Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown/Convention Center is just moments from the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square and the Financial District. Just two blocks away, you can catch a cable car or a BART train, making it easy to explore Chinatown or visit Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. Our downtown San Francisco hotel is within walking distance of many lively bars, popular restaurants, movie theaters and museums. Catch a Broadway show in the nearby Theater District and discover shopping and dining options at the upscale Westfield Shopping Centre. Settle into a comfortable and modern guest room, where you can stay connected with free WiFi at the ergonomic desk and watch movies on the flat-screen TV. After a busy day, sleep soundly in the clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Start your day with an energizing workout in the free, 24-hour fitness center, which features the latest equipment and personal viewing screens.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Vending machine
Convenience store
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
997Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 294
  • 323
  • 191
  • 84
  • 105
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ron wrote a review Jul 2022
Jasper, Alabama4 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Hotel looks new. Rooms are very clean and the staff is very friendly. Breakfast was very good. You will have to valet park. This is typical of most downtown hotels. You are a short drive from the Golden Gate Bridge and Pier 39. I would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Alcatraz Landing was sold out for the next two weeks when I checked on tickets. Buy the tickets...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Erick B, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Responded 2 weeks ago
Were glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dgw953 wrote a review Jul 2022
Grover Beach, California6 contributions
The location of the hotel is in a sketchy area but it is within waking distance of good restaurants and shopping. The view from our room was great but we had a city view and we were on the top floor (16th Floor). Service was really good and the hotel staff was extremely helpful. The rooms are really small though and it was a challenge getting our luggage in.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Erick B, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I couldn't agree more and it is heartbreaking to see such beautiful city in this kind of situation. but were glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve E wrote a review Jul 2022
San Diego, California1 contribution
Although some aspects of this property are good, overall it was not one of my better hotel stays. The good: The staff were very nice and accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable. Hot breakfast was fine. About the same as every Hampton. The bad: The area surrounding the property is sketchy. A little secluded and didn't feel very safe after dark. There were a number of noises that were bothersome: there was a constant fairly loud hum from a fan in the hallway, the elevator made a clicking sound frequently that could be heard from my room, and then there was a buzzing noise coming from a fan about an hour before I checked out. I'm sure maintenance could have done something about it but I just reported it on my way out. Also, one of the elevators was out of order which made for interminable waits in the morning for breakfast and check out. Other notes: The room is pretty small. Fine for sleeping but I wouldn't plan to hang out here. The property is close to Union Square so it's pretty convenient but all in all I would not plan to stay at this property if you have a choice.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Unless you got a great deal, find another property
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Erick B, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I couldn't agree more and it is heartbreaking to see such beautiful city in this kind of situation. unfortunately, we do not have controls with this factor, but we are already in contact with the city of San Francisco.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Simon H wrote a review Jun 2022
Sydney, Australia60 contributions15 helpful votes
The hotel is conveniently located near Powell Street station for public transportation both from the airport and local services. After a minor hiccup with the first room that we were allocated, we were moved to a larger and more comfortable one. All the staff members were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. My only complaint is the quality of the hot breakfast and having to use disposable cutlery and crockery, which made the whole experience feel budget. Also, no kettle available for the room. Other reviewers have mentioned homeless people in the vicinity, which is true, like most large cities, but at no time were we harassed or feel uncomfortable.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Erick B, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. This will be shared to the team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
juliar89226020 wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
It was easy to walk in the conference center in SF. A great breakfast was provided. The room service was great and room was clean and room was big. The Staff kept us safely. Overall, I had a nice time to stay in HAMPTON INN SAN FRANCISCO!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Erick B, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Responded 2 weeks ago
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. thank you for staying with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
citytraveler494 wrote a review May 2022
Chicago, Illinois3 contributions4 helpful votes
If you feel comfortable with random people off the street coming into the hotel and elevator while holding screw drivers as a weapon then pick this place. If you like having hair on your bed, pillow, towel and toilet then yes pick this place.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Erick B, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Responded 2 weeks ago
Our sincerest apologies that our location made you very uneasy which we truly understand. We are currently in contact with the city of San Francisco to raise concerns with the ongoing issue here in the city.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kira E wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Was not pleased with this Hilton property. Clearly an old building that has been renovated. Dust was everywhere, staff was rather rude and not very friendly or helpful. When we arrived they had canceled one of our reservations but the front desk agent made a new reservation at a higher rate and refused to honor my discount despite having our original reservation and confirmation number. Was told to take it up with the GM and only received an email to "take it up with whoever had made my reservation"...the reservation was made by myself and although Hilton stated the front desk was at fault I never received a refund or any admittance of any wrong-doing from the front desk or management. We also asked for dinner suggestions and the front desk staff member couldn't tell us a single restaurant in the area. Breakfast was OK however, was missing many of the required Hilton buffet items. The location is very dodgy - there were many homeless people directly outside of all doors after dark and there was fecal matter directly at the entrance for days before it was taken care of. Forced to use valet parking service but took agents more than 45 minutes to get vehicle...not pleased with this hotel. Very poorly managed and cared for.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Erick B, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Responded 2 weeks ago
 Thank you for choosing to stay with us. This will be shared to the team and remind staff that our service is our business and there is no room on our staff for anyone who is rude to guest. In behalf of my team, we would like to apologize for the behaviour. Hope you would give us another opportunity to demonstrate our true level of service.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rangeles3 wrote a review May 2022
Macomb, Michigan2 contributions2 helpful votes
The hotel lobby was clean. Valet attendant was nice although there was a 25 minute wait due to limited staff (understandable). The room was clean but shower was dirty. The front desk staff was very helpful and kind. The breakfast was ok. Fired was cold. The eggs looked and taste like egg beaters. Sausage was greasy. There was waffles, bagels. Wish they had more fruit.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Erick B, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking time to write your feedback. I will share this with the team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charles M wrote a review Mar 2022
Rosemead, California58 contributions49 helpful votes
The staff is amazing, very helpful and gives a genuine greeting. Perhaps the smallest hotel room I’ve ever stayed in. But size isn’t everything for a business traveler. Quite room, I was on the 14th floor. Room are clean and well appointed. It’s a Hampton breakfast however with most of the hotel restaurants close it’s better than going hungry. There are several restaurants within walking distance. I will stay again .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: San Francisco is a city of street people…
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Erick B, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cliff R wrote a review Jan 2022
Lincoln, California7 contributions2 helpful votes
My daughter, age 22, pulled into park her car and people were smoking their crack pipes in front of hotel on the street. She Called the front desk they instructed to park on street. Felt extremely unsafe and saw that cars had been broken into so she refused to stay their. Had to go to another hotel for safety. Called for refund and was refused. My family will never stay at a Hampton Inn again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Suggest another location.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Erick B, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you are not happy with our location, unfortunately we do not have controls with this factors, but we are already in contact with the city of San Francisco
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$208 - US$285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan FranciscoDowntown San Francisco / SoMa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
174
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Which popular attractions are close to Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center?
Nearby attractions include San Francisco Urban Adventures (0.2 km), Barbary Coast Dispensary (0.02 km), and Powell and Market Cable Car Turnaround (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center?
Conveniently located restaurants include Montesacro Pinseria, Blue Bottle Cafe, and 54 Mint.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of San Francisco.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Alcatraz Island (5.1 km), Golden Gate Bridge (7.5 km), and City Lights Booksellers (1.7 km).