Warfield Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Warfield Hotel

Traveller (44)
Bugs and shit everywhere
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

2.5
#13 of 21 small hotels in San Francisco
2.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
1.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
2.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Value

Welcome to Warfield Hotel, your San Francisco “home away from home.” Warfield Hotel aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year.

Nearby landmarks such as Lombard Street (1.4 mi) and Mrs Doubtfire House (1.6 mi) make Warfield Hotel a great place to stay when visiting San Francisco.

Warfield Hotel is a budget friendly small hotel offering a refrigerator and a desk in the rooms, and it is easy to stay connected during your stay as free wifi is offered to guests.

The small hotel features 24 hour front desk and 24 hour check-in. For guests with a vehicle, parking is available.

While you’re here, be sure to check out some of the seafood restaurants, including Scoma's, Swan Oyster Depot, and Fog Harbor Fish House, all of which are a short distance from Warfield Hotel.

If you’re looking for something to do, Chinatown (0.8 mi), Little Italy (1.1 mi), and San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (SFMOMA) (0.5 mi) are a nice way to spend some time, and they are all within walking distance of Warfield Hotel.

Warfield Hotel puts the best of San Francisco at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Bar / lounge
ATM on site
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Filipino, Hindi

Location

118 Taylor St, San Francisco, CA 94102-2883
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
San Francisco Intl Airport
18.2 km
See all flights
Metropolitan Oakland Intl Airport
18.1 km
See all flights
Powell St
4 minBART
97Reviews0Q+A10Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 10
  • 25
  • 20
  • 5
  • 37
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Brewstar_54 wrote a review Nov 2019
Brisbane
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I felt the price was high for what you get, but San Francisco is a really expensive city, so not really comparable with other cities where I’ve paid similar. Showers were lukewarm at best which was disappointing, and the amount of hair in the drain holes was pretty nasty. Bed was clean and comfortable. Room had obviously been smoked in previously, although I left the windows open almost all the time, it still smelt like stale cigarettes. Plus side was it was close to union square, and the many homeless drug addicts you had to walk past between the hotel and pretty much everything were actually quite non-threatening almost to the point of being civil. Would NOT bring kids here. Or people who weren’t open to seeing harsh realities of life.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Warfield Hotel
Responded 14 Nov 2019
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay at our property. We are very pleased with your feedback, and to know that you enjoyed the clean, comfortable bed that we provided you with. We note the points that you make in relation to the issues that you encountered, particularly in the bathroom. We appreciate your constructive comments, and we will endeavor to take some actions in advance of your next stay with us. We hope to provide you with a better stay when you visit again. Best regards, Warfield Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dave C wrote a review Sept 2019
Dunedin, New Zealand
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I were in San Francisco for 4 nights. We chose the hotel due to price considerations. The room was small, but comfortable for the two of us. The level of cleanliness was average - certainly quite a bit of dust on some surfaces. The shared bathroom/shower facilities were okay; perhaps the worst feature of the shared facilities were that some toilets did not have facilities for hand washing. We always carry alcohol gel products, but you would have otherwise had to walk down the corridors, back to your room to wash hands.
There is no air-conditioning, so we aired the room at during the daytime, blocked the afternoon sun and used the old-style fan occasionally. The nights were warm, so we slept on top of the covers and enjoyed reasonable sleep.
The breakfast was simple, but okay. No room to eat it in the reception area, unless you happened to arrive when nobody else was there. We often took items back to our room to consume.
Any research of San Francisco would identify the large homeless population and the city's tolerance of them. It is true that this hotel is surrounded by many local homeless inhabitants. We never felt directly troubled by them, but there was occasionally quite a bit of noise in the night. You got used to the odd comment being tossed your way as you navigated along the nearby streets, but in truth this occasionally happened in central San Francisco. It didn't stop us heading out for morning runs and during the daytime there are many people using the surrounding streets. The hotel is in a great location close to Market Street and the BART station at Powell Street.
The staff are very friendly and check-in was swift. We were also able to store luggage after check-out. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Warfield Hotel
Responded 16 Sept 2019
Hi Dave, Thank you for your detailed and complimentary feedback; we very much appreciate the time that you spent sharing your experience with us. It is always wonderful to hear positive feedback in relation to our staff, thank you for those comments. We are pleased that the cleanliness of your room was satisfactory and that you had a comfortable stay. It sounds as if our hotel was very suitable for your accommodation needs, and we hope to welcome you back when you are next in town. Best regards, Warfield Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Val R wrote a review Jul 2019
Mexico City, Mexico
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I think the price is a little too high for a hotel with walls that you can hear everything trough, with a shared restroom and mostly a shared shower wich is actually very unconfortable to shower in since it has no place to Put your clothes. Other than that it is quite clean and has snaks in the morning so can have a quick breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from warfieldhotel, Manager at Warfield Hotel
Responded 31 Jul 2019
Thanks for your review. We’ll definitely consider your suggestions.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
shajam79 wrote a review May 2022
Newark, New Jersey
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a boarding home for homeless drug addicts! It is, also, a roach motel. This place advertises serving breakfast. They offer coffeee and water ONLY. If you are low on cash and need a room to crash for 1 night, go ahead and waste your money. The mattress was so uncomfortable and destroyed my back! They offer two pieces of soap that break as soon as you remove it from the package. I stayed for 2 nights (May 17-18, 2022) because Priceline would not reimburse me. There are no hangers. You need brute strength to remove the ironing board and the iron didn't work. Of course, I could have informed the front desk about the ironing board and iron but I settled it in my mind that I had 1 more night so why bother because they should know this. The roaches come out at night. In 2021, the staff replied to a review that they would look into this problem. Fast forward to 2022, the roach problem is still in effect! I made sure to shake my clothes and suitcases out before leaving.

Pics:
displaced person at th breakfast area
Roaches
Room
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Warfield Hotel
Responded 29 May 2022
Dear guest, thank you so much for your valuable feedback. While we are glad you chose to stay with us, we are sad to know that your experience was not up to the usual standards. We are sorry to note from your feedback that you did not love your time at our hotel, and we apologize for the shortcomings you encountered in terms of our service. We will take steps to address the issues highlighted by you so that such incidents do not reoccur. Should you stay with us again, please do know to make us aware of anything that we can do to improve any aspect of your stay, and we will do our utmost to give you the very best possible stay here. We hope to welcome you back for a better stay soon. Best regards, Warfield Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
audra wrote a review Jun 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
four girls on a trip to San Fran. Booked the hotel according to the pics online. When we arrived we thought we were at the wrong place. Went inside and found out it was the right place and then when we were going to check in we find out that the bathroom was shared with the whole floor. If we wanted private we had to upgrade which we thought about doing until the "caretaker"walked by with a large sprayer for spraying bugs which he tossed into a room. The elevator was not working and we then decided no!!! Asked for our money back was told we needed to contact Expedia which we did and thank god for MICHAEL our expedia customer service, we got our money back and he even helped us get another hotel all while standing in the lobby of the Warfield. There was no air conditioning it was so muggy standing there and the guy at the front desk was useless. Outside the front window we could watch the druggies doing their drugs of choice and when you go out the front door be careful and watch your step, there is poop on the sidewalk. I had to give this place a one star but would have given it no stars as I feel it was misrepresentation of this place. More like a drop in for a night or two. We would certainly not recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Warfield Hotel
Responded 23 Jun 2022
Dear guest, thank you so much for your valued response. We feel sad to hear about your negative experience with us and we sincerely apologize. We always strive to provide our guests with the best possible experience and serve our guests to the best of our abilities. However, we seemed to have failed in our endeavor and we will take appropriate steps to provide a better experience going forward. We hope to remain your place of choice and we seek another opportunity to serve you yet again. Best regards, Warfield Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TimCA95050 wrote a review Feb 2024
San Jose, California
4.0 of 5 bubbles
First, yes this hotel is in the Tenderloin section of SF, which is close to Union Square, but also one of the rougher sections of SF. As long as you're aware that you're not in a great neighborhood and will have to walk through a tough neighborhood, this hotel is actually a nice surprise. While it is noisy, I think that's true for most hotels in downtown SF. I sprung for the private bathroom with a queen sized bed. The room and bathroom did look like they had been remodeled at some point recently.

Soap/shampoo/conditioner was provided via dispensers mounted on the wall. Sheets appeared clean, and while the shades are barebones they worked and kept out the light if not the noise. Plenty of hot water in the shower when I needed it. The bedside lamp had an outlet in the base of the lamp (no other usable outlets in the room). No alarm clock in the room, just the clock on the microwave that was off by an hour (never reset for daylight savings I guess). In addition to the microwave there was a small fridge in the room as well.

The room did have a few problems, there was very obvious water damage to the ceiling of the bathroom that had not yet been repaired. The hallways and stairs creak quite a bit, making them sound rickety. I did not try the elevator, but it's a fairly small one set in the staircase well.

Breakfast had only two choices white bread/toast with strawberry jam or a prepackaged cinnamon roll pastry. There is a nice modern coffee machine as well, and tea bags. Breakfast is staged in the lobby, with a few stools to sit at the window.

Staff was friendly and helpful, and I called in advance to request an early check-in (1pm) which they agreed to and honored, which was a nice touch.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Experience Team, Other at Warfield Hotel
Responded 7 Feb 2024
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to provide a detailed review of your stay with us. We appreciate your thorough feedback and are pleased to hear that, despite the challenges of the neighborhood, you found our hotel to be a nice surprise. We are glad that you appreciated the recent remodeling, the amenities in the room, and the early check-in option. Your observations regarding the water damage, noise in the hallways, and limited breakfast choices are duly noted, and we apologize for any inconvenience caused. We will handle these concerns with our team to improve the overall guest experience. If there are any additional details you'd like to share or any preferences for your future stays, please feel free to let us know. We value your input and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for an even better experience. Best regards, Warfield Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
S_Younggren24 wrote a review Jan 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel is clean , staff is excellent, rooms are in good shape. Neighborhood is a little rough but harmless if you stay in at night. Extended my stay a couple nights bc it was a cheap option close to all transit and activities
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ubritsa wrote a review May 2024
Raleigh, North Carolina
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Really good hotel. Very clean and well maintained. The bed was very comfortable. For the conference I was attending at Moscone this place was fantastic location. Short 10-15 min walk, near to big Walgreens, and Mel’s Diner for breakfast nearby. Nothing better.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Experience Team, Other at Warfield Hotel
Responded 13 May 2024
Dear Ubritsa, we're thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic experience during your stay with us! Providing a clean and comfortable environment, along with a convenient location, is our priority, and we're delighted that we could meet your expectations. It's wonderful to know that our proximity to Moscone Center, as well as nearby amenities like Walgreens and Mel's Diner, added to the convenience of your stay. Thank you for your kind words, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon! If there's anything else we can do to make your next visit even better, please don't hesitate to let us know. Best regards, Warfield Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vishwasg767 wrote a review Oct 2023
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Comfortable stay obliging desk staff who adjusted my reservation date as I needed. Nice breakfast, good coffee. Location is near public transport. I had my reservation but it was for the next day and for just one night due to a computer glitch. They adjusted it when I got there and checked me in though it was late at night.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Experience Team, Other at Warfield Hotel
Responded 3 Oct 2023
Dear guest, we're delighted to hear that you had a comfortable stay and that the desk staff was accommodating in adjusting your reservation to meet your needs. It's always great when you can enjoy a nice breakfast and good coffee to start your day. The convenience of the location near public transport is also a plus. It's wonderful to know that despite a computer glitch, the hotel staff was able to assist you and check you in late at night. We appreciate your positive feedback, and we hope that you have more enjoyable stays like this in the future. If you have any more trips planned, we wish you safe and pleasant travels! Best regards, Warfield Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
skibreck wrote a review Jan 2023
Breckeridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Wanted to be close to the JP Morgan Conference and its right there. There is a nearby homeless problem but they pretty much stay on the other side of the street and leave people along. The manager was so super nice and understanding and wants to ensure you are happy. Shared bathrooms dont have a mirror to shave so if you need that consider upgrading to a private bathroom. The rooms were large sheets were nice and clean. Lamanite floor. Internet was strong. Had a refrig and microwave in room. Would recommend for a business person looking for a good deal and close location to Union square.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Warfield Hotel
Responded 15 Jan 2023
Dear guest, we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Our primary aim is to provide our guests with the best possible experience and we feel glad to be able to provide you with one. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area. Thank you so much for your review! Best regards, Warfield Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Dévyn K wrote a tip Sept 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bordering the tenderloin, location is pretty loud. Crime is really bad in the area and there are private patrols at night "
Read full review
Suzanne wrote a tip Jul 2023
Kingman, Arizona77 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this place at all cost. We went to check in, and was told your car will be broken into, if you don’t park at the $45.00 a night garage"
Read full review
Hayley A wrote a tip Jun 2023
Wakefield, United Kingdom185 contributions116 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t stay here if you value cleanliness, safety and a good night’s sleep. Avoid the Tenderloin area completely."
Read full review
John N wrote a tip Oct 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"King's Room all day !! lol"
Read full review
Ygkie wrote a tip Jun 2019
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book the room with private bathroom though."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the San Francisco area.
PRICE RANGE
$92 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan FranciscoDowntown San Francisco / Tenderloin / Downtown / Theater District / Union Square
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WARFIELD HOTEL | UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (San Francisco, CA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Warfield Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Warfield Hotel?
Nearby attractions include San Francisco Magic Theater at the Marrakech (0.3 km), San Francisco Urban Adventures (0.2 km), and Barbary Coast Dispensary (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Warfield Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Warfield Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Warfield Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Warfield Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Taylor Street Coffee Shop, Bourbon and Branch, and Montesacro Pinseria.
Is Warfield Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of San Francisco.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Warfield Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Hindi, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Warfield Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Golden Gate Bridge (7.2 km), Alcatraz Island (4.9 km), and City Lights Booksellers (1.6 km).
All San Francisco HotelsSan Francisco Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in San FranciscoHotels near Warfield Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire