We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kaanapali Ocean Inn

Traveller (228)
360
Panoramas (3)
Pool & Beach (56)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travellers visiting Lahaina, Kaanapali Ocean Inn is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its family-friendly environment and proximity to great restaurants and attractions, Kaanapali Ocean Inn makes it easy to enjoy the best of Lahaina. Rooms at Kaanapali Ocean Inn include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a safe offering exceptional comfort and convenience. A pool and a lounge will also help to make your stay even more special. While at Kaanapali Ocean Inn, guests can go online with free wifi, and if you are driving, parking is available. Nearby landmarks such as Lahaina Front Street (6.3 km) and Banyan Tree Park (7.0 km) make Kaanapali Ocean Inn a great place to stay when visiting Lahaina. If you like Mexican restaurants, Kaanapali Ocean Inn is conveniently located near Frida's Beach House, Ono Tacos, and Ohana Tacos. Best of all, Kaanapali Ocean Inn makes it easy to experience many great Lahaina attractions like Royal Hawaiian Surf Academy, Rivers To The Sea, and Outrageous Surf School, which are some popular surfing and windsurfing destinations. Whether you’re travelling for business, pleasure or both, Kaanapali Ocean Inn is sure to make your visit to Lahaina one worth remembering.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Spa
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Babysitting
Banquet Room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Hot Tub
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Shuttle Bus Service
Tennis Court
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Safe
HOTEL CLASS
275Reviews
309Photos
10Q+A
68Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 54
  • 86
  • 53
  • 46
  • 36
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+1
Great location right on the oceanfront with rocking chairs and sounds of endless ocean waves and great sunset views. You have access to all amenities at the Royal La Haina resort. However the room smells musty, the bed is hard, the pillows are flat, the carpeting is worn, the
Read more
Response from HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Specialist at Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Responded 3 days ago
Aloha Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are happy to see you were able to enjoy the great sunset views and the ocean waves. We are sorry to read you did not enjoy the room, we are in the process of making improvements to our hotel. We would be honored to welcome you again. Warmest Aloha Tara
Read more
Purchased accomodation here under guise of Royal Lahaina resort. It is part of the resort but it is 1 star backpackers budget hotel. Rooms horrible in urgent need of renovation. Carpets stained , noisy plumbing, cold . Bathroom and shower tiny. Pillows disgusting. Walls paper
Read more
Response from HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Specialist at Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Responded 5 days ago
Aloha Thank you for your valuable feedback of our hotel. We are very sorry to read of your disappointment with our accommodations. We are an older hotel and we are in the process of making improvements to our location. We are sorry to see you did not stay with us for your entire stay and hope you were able to have a memorable vacation in Maui. We will be sure to review your valuable feedback with our team. Warmest Aloha Tara
Read more
+9
We decided to stay at this hotel for our week-long Christmas vacation in Maui and ended up deeply regretting it. First impressions were disappointing (see photos to understand why). The first room we were assigned had a broken sliding door (completely off the track) to the
Read more
Response from HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Team at Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha Thank you for your review and valuable feedback. Being located oceanfront, our property maintains a lot of wear and tear from the elements and frequent guests. We are extremely sorry that your room was not maintained correctly and that our team did not provide the highest level of service. We will address these issues with our management and will work on fixing the issues you have described within the room. Our team should have taken better care in managing your room, and in their treatment of your comfort. Leaving a mess after fixing an issue is unacceptable, furthermore a housekeeper should have been sent right away to sanitize the area. Once again, we are extremely sorry about these issues that you experienced. We understand your concerns, and we will improve. Mahalo Zareena
Read more
Day 1 and completely regret booking this hotel. It’s completely outdated and furniture is chipping, the comforter is basically a sheet, the balcony door was broken. Those things we could get past, then we realized there are bugs EVERYWHERE. Tons of them to the point where even
Read more
Response from HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Specialist at Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Aloha Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We are very sorry to read of your disappointment and the distressing start to your anniversary vacation. Being a tropical destination, we do our absolute best to not have any bug, insects, etc in the rooms. We do strive to provide our guest with the very best experience. During your stay with us we were unfortunately sold out due to the holiday season. Due to the high demand we were unable to move the rooms as we truly had no other options and the staff did try to accommodate your needs to make your stay more enjoyable, we are sorry to read our efforts did not meet your expectations. We hope that you were able to enjoy your anniversary vacation and enjoy your time on the island. Mahalo Tara
Read more
The KOI was a stand alone hotel many years ago and is now part of the Royal Lahaina.It's still booked online as a separate hotel but it's not - you check in at the RLH desk and everything is treated as if you are a RLH guest, including access to all amenities and services. The
Read more
Response from HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Specialist at Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Aloha Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are delighted to see you had a great stay with us and felt the value was good. We are as you stated an older hotel, however we are in the process of making changes to our location and our guest are able to enjoy all the Royal Lahaina' amenities. We would love to welcome you again for another wonderful vacation. Warmest Aloha Tara
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining
PreviousNext
12345630
Is there a designated smoking area
Aloha Yes there are designated smoking area at the hotel. Mahalo Tara - Customer Satisfaction Specialist
0 votes
Show all answers
Do you have to pay extra for parking?
Yes. $15/day for self park and $20/day for valet
0 votes
Show all answers
Is the beach swimmable ?
Aloha. Yes, Kaanapali Ocean Inn fronts one of the most beautiful beaches in the world and generally the water is very calm and great for swimming. There are no barricades between the hotel and the beach. Mahalo
3 votes
Show all answers
We have stayed twice in the ocean front rooms on the third floor. I have never seen a roach not have I had a problem with a musty smell. Granted we did not run AC and we usually had the slider open to let the ocean breeze in. I like the proximity to the ocean, the view and the price. This hotel is not for everyone but if you are ok with basic lodging in a great location then this is a good place.
0 votes
Show all answers
Are these prices we night or per how long you plan to stay?
Not sure what you're asking about the pictures? There are some pictures taken at night and some during the day. We stay five nights.
0 votes
PreviousNext
12
"South rooms face the Luau grounds loud music each night til 9 or so. All rooms are on the second or third floor."
"Buliding is next to the nightly Luau. get rooms with Lanais facing away from the luau. Noise becomes was minimal . 2nd floor only for views"
"You WILL hear the luau every night if you stay at the Ocean Inn."
"Ocean-facing rooms are farther from luau noise"
"I would recommend paying extra for an ocean front room."
PreviousNext
12345614
PRICE RANGE
US$165 - US$273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kaanapali ocean hotel lahainakaanapali ocean innkaanapali ocean lahaina
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiMauiLahaina
NUMBER OF ROOMS
59
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing