We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Ferry Hotel Bed & Breakfast

Save
Share
92 Spence Road, Lower Shotover, Queenstown 9371 New Zealand
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 10 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (75)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (6)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • All employees are fully vaccinated
Updated 02/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 02/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lower Shotover
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Old World Elegance aptly describes this delightful B&B not just a place to stay, a feature of your holiday. Formerly a popular hotel for over 150 years, the B&B is now an historic landmark. Your hosts Mitzi and Dan enjoy helping you to make the most of your stay in Queenstown offering advice and information and making bookings for local attractions.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Seating area
Separate dining area
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Bath / shower
Bathrobes
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Oven
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English
168Reviews2Q+A17Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 159
  • 7
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
kumeukiwi wrote a review Jun 2022
Auckland Central, New Zealand3 contributions1 helpful vote
Such a lovely welcoming stay. Hosts wonderful. Fire stoked. Great breakfast. Home baking. Right on fabulous walk ways. Lots of help with places to see. Clean and immaculate. Would definitely stay again. Easy reach of everything if you have a car
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mitzi Cole-Bailey, Owner at The Old Ferry Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Responded 29 Jun 2022
It was great meeting and chatting with you both, so happy that you enjoyed your time and we could deliver the big breakfast that you were looking for. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor, we are thrilled that you loved our little place.
Read more
Niki Loe wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
An utterly delicious experience in every single way- Dan & Mitzi are the most wonderful hosts & humans you’ll ever meet (and wow can they cook 🙌), stunning location amongst the mountains & roses, DIVINE!!! You will want to come back again, & again & again! This was our 2nd time and we can’t wait to come back again! Magic xx
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mitzi Cole-Bailey, Owner at The Old Ferry Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Responded 29 Jun 2022
Thank you Niki for wonderful feedback, we love hosting you guys and look forward to the 3 peat.
Read more
KmCg wrote a review May 2021
4 contributions
We’ve traveled all over the world, and we will be back to the ferry!! Seamless changing of reservation details prior to arrival, walked in the door to a roaring fire, home baking, bread in the bread maker and a friendly but non intrusive host, perfect This feels like a peaceful home, beautiful beds, lovely and warm with everything you need. Spotlessly clean, beautifully appointed. We loved every minute of it, it’s the perfect Qtown stop on our family tour ♥️ thanks Mitzi, Dan and whānau for taking such great care of ours
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lis Heath wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
We enjoyed a wonderful weekend away to celebrate Mum and Dad’s 60th wedding anniversary and everything about the Ferry was perfect! From the idyllic setting just 10 mins away from Queenstown, to beautiful rooms faithfully decorated in keeping with its history, to the home baked bread and cookies on our arrival. Thanks Dan and Mitzi, we will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Hannah wrote a review Oct 2020
75 contributions6 helpful votes
What a fantastic stay! This was one of our favorite places. Mitzi & Dan, the hosts, were super accommodating, but also let us be, having the house to ourselves along with the other few guests to prepare meals, explore the property. They made a delicious breakfast made to order, and on a day leaving very early they packed us a sack breakfast the night before. Extremely thoughtful and courteous hosts. The location is outside of Queenstown but is an easy drive to get there, and they will give you the best way to go to avoid the traffic. We were there for three days but could have easily stayed longer.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Zuzanna S wrote a review May 2020
3 contributions
We stayed in The Ferry for the night of my birthday a few days ago, Dan and Mitzi were fabulous hosts! The stay made my birthday extra special. The B&B is absolutely stunning, we were in a little cabin just behind the actual building and it was immaculate, so warm and cosy. The location is perfect too, it’s right opposite the historic Shotover bridge and the walk underneath the B&B itself follows the river which was amazing. They even let us walk their gorgeous little dog - Mavis! Beautiful B&B and amazing location. Would totally recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MitziandDan, Owner at The Old Ferry Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Responded 19 May 2020
Thank you Zuzanna for the wonderful feedback and taking the time to share your experience, it really means a lot during these strange times. We are thrilled that you choose our little place to celebrate your special birthday. Fingers crossed you are the first of many more new post COVID guests.
Read more
Barb and Greg McOmish wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
It had been a dream of ours to holiday in the South Island NZ but work and travel elsewhere had intervened. Upon retirement, why not begin with a stay at The Old Ferry Hotel! Just a hunch but this place looked like a home away from well, home. And so it was. Hosts Dan and Mitzi treated us to a memorable weekend in their charming retreat high above the Shotover river, Queenstown. The Old Ferry is low key, non corporate, and ticks all the boxes if, like us, you tire of hotels that could be just anywhere on the planet. We began with tea and biscuits in the farmhouse kitchen, marvelled at the well appointed room with ensuite and at day's end slept comfortably. Breakfast was a revelation (thankyou Mitzi ) with home made traditional choices and no stinting on portions. It was hard to leave The Old Ferry to explore the town beyond. We so appreciated Dan's advice on local attractions and found an excellent pub serving the best Guinness. The Old Ferry and its wonderful hosts provided this couple with simply the best weekend getaway, ever. We will return!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MitziandDan, Owner at The Old Ferry Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Responded 19 May 2020
Thank you guys for the wonderful feedback! It was really lovely to meet and chat with you both and so pleased that we could make your dream visit to Queenstown an enjoyable one. Please don't leave it so long to visit us again.
Read more
Pip W wrote a review Mar 2020
Cranleigh, United Kingdom12 contributions
Everything here is perfect. The hosts Dan and Mitzi are charming and we felt we had known them for years. Dan even suggested a small change to our itinerary which made our holiday so much better and saved us both time and money. If you want a peaceful stay in an idyllic location with charming hosts, lovely comfy bed, smashing breakfast, great shower then this is the place for you. I was missing my dog so they encouraged me to have lots of cuddles with their dog Mitzi. The silkie chickens and the guinea pigs were also very entertaining. We can't fault this place.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MitziandDan, Owner at The Old Ferry Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Responded 15 Mar 2020
Thanks Pip, it was really fantastic to meet and host you both. We also enjoyed chatting with you and Mavis loved her walks. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor and are thrilled that you loved our little place.
Read more
skylarkGlos wrote a review Feb 2020
Gloucester, United Kingdom117 contributions74 helpful votes
As we approached this Bed and Breakfast it had the feeling of being cosy. We were not disappointed. Dan made us so welcome with a cup of tea and Mitzi had baked cookies for us and the other guests to share. Our room was in keeping with the age of the building but had all the modern necessities. The bed was comfortable and there was always hot water. Breakfast was taken in the communal dining area around a single table so the conversation flowed freely. There is a choice of hot breakfasts and a great range of cereals together with preserves a plenty to eat with your home baked bread. They offered excellent advice as to what to do and where to go. A most enjoyable 3 days and to be thoroughly recommended. We did however, miss the ability to make an early morning cup of tea in our room, this was available in the kitchen, but we would have to dress to do so.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from MitziandDan, Owner at The Old Ferry Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Responded 2 Mar 2020
Thank you for the wonderful review, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to meet your expectations. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to host you both again, and next time you can ask for tea service to be delivered to the room before breakfast.
Read more
M&K wrote a review Feb 2020
Auckland, New Zealand1 contribution
Mitsi & Dan are great hosts. Stayed long enough to try every hot breakfast option which were all great. Can enjoy all the delights of the area & avoid the traffic. Bile trails close by. Country comfort with additional elegant touches. Great hot shower.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MitziandDan, Owner at The Old Ferry Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Responded 11 Feb 2020
It was our pleasure to host you guys for the week, and we really enjoyed getting to know you both. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. Hopefully we will see back and have the opportunity to host you again.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$126 - US$148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionQueenstownLower Shotover
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Old Ferry Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to The Old Ferry Hotel Bed & Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Break One (4.0 km), Queenstown Hill (8.0 km), and Lake Hayes Walkway (3.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Old Ferry Hotel Bed & Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Old Ferry Hotel Bed & Breakfast?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at The Old Ferry Hotel Bed & Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Old Ferry Hotel Bed & Breakfast?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Old Ferry Hotel Bed & Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Akarua Wines & Kitchen by Artisan, The Millhouse Restaurant, and Sherwood.
Is The Old Ferry Hotel Bed & Breakfast located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Lower Shotover.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Old Ferry Hotel Bed & Breakfast?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The Old Ferry Hotel Bed & Breakfast?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Historic Skippers School (6.9 km).
Is The Old Ferry Hotel Bed & Breakfast accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.