We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands commands a superb waterfront location in the heart of the Bay of Islands, offering uninterrupted bay views surrounded by subtropical gardens, adjacent to the historic Waitangi Treaty Grounds. The hotel’s 180 guest rooms have individual patios or balconies from which to enjoy the water or garden views. The Copthorne Hotel & Resort, Bay of Islands is a 4 Star Qualmark rated, Enviro Gold hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Wheelchair Access
Bar/Lounge
Paid Wifi
Paid Internet
Shuttle Bus Service
Spa
Public Wifi
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Hot Tub
Tennis Court
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Self-Serve Laundry
Conference Facilities
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Breakfast Available
Show more
Room features
Suites
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews & more
1,241Reviews
414Photos
8Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 241
  • 454
  • 311
  • 138
  • 97
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
We stayed in this hotel for two nights. The room is really really poor, totally not qualify a four star hotel. The hotel needs a full renovation. The location is great. The food in restaurant is great!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with MillenniumHotels.com
Overall very good stay - great sleep, however shame we had 3x single beds rather than a double when we were booked as a couple! Setting was lovely as usual. Should be a larger selection on the wine list - what was on the wine list was very highly priced.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with MillenniumHotels.com
Response from Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Responded 2 days ago
Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I shall pass on the specific points mentioned in your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.
Read more
The reason this has got poor not terrible is because the pool brought a lot of fun for the two year old who was with us.

Food- Was horrendous, a roasted vegetable salad was part boiled( the veg was hard and raw.) also drowned in a bitter dressing. Nothing was roasted.

Risotto
Read more
Response from Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Responded 2 days ago
Good Morning. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I am sorry that your stay did not meet with expectations. I shall pass on the specific points mentioned in your review. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.
Read more
Booked in for three nights on our tour and now extended to five nights - tells its own story.
So impresssed with the staff and the ambience of the hotel.
It’s location on the beach at this Bay of Islands resort is fab.
Essentially, whilst a part of the resort it is private and f
Read more
Response from Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Responded 2 days ago
Good Morning. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.
Read more
I have always stayed at this hotel because it is next to the Treaty grounds and the staff simply hospitable. I applaud Grace Ngapeka, who knew what was on offer for tours and such and this wasn't even her jurisdiction, the overall manager (forgot his name) for his warmth, Matt wh
Read more
Response from Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play Areas
Previous
Hi there, just wondering how much the buffet breakfast is? Thanks
Highly recommend popping in to the town centre instead.
1 vote
Show all answers
Is the beach surrounding the hotel a swimming beach? Thinking about considering the place for a summer holiday destination with a swimmable beach access. Thanks
Yes definitely swimming & other water sports. Such a lovely location
1 vote
Show all answers
Please can you advise if the Restaurant does a Roast Dinner on a Sunday please?
Best to ask the hotel direct? So far as we can recall the meals were good with plenty of meat on offer but we didn't stay over the weekend. During the week there can be major bookings with conferences when they put a buffet on but as guests you can still eat from the menu if you want.
0 votes
Please can you advise if the Restaurant does a Roast Dinner on a Sunday please?
No idea, they only list the restaurant as open for breakfast and dinner but who knows, email them and ask?
0 votes
Show all answers
Is there access to any fitness facilities at the resort?
I can't swear to it but I didn't see a gym,pool, spa and tennis, plenty of chances to run.
0 votes
Show all answers
Previous
12
"Indicate that you wish for a room with a view of the lagoon."
"Pay extra for the sea views"
"Pay more or request sea views"
"Close to parking with nice views."
"All the rooms are good value."
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$99 - US$206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
copthorne hotel and resort bay of islandscopthorne hotel paihiacopthorne hotel bay of islands
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandNorthland RegionBay of IslandsWaitangi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
180
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing