Turkey Red Country Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Turkey Red Country Hotel

Traveller (5)
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#4 of 4 guest houses in Greytown
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
We have a new backpackers suite The Stables for budget accommodation.We can accommodate groups of up to 24poeple in our hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Bathrobes
Clothes rack
Iron
Electric blanket
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English

Location

53 Main Street, Greytown 5712 New Zealand
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 57 out of 100
57
Kapiti Coast Airport
44.9 km
See all flights
Wellington Intl Airport
61.8 km
See all flights
61Reviews1Q+A13Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 11
  • 21
  • 12
  • 10
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Steve B wrote a review Aug 2016
21 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I live in Wellington (Lower Hutt) and took advantage of an online special deal which offered a discounted room and a meal rate for a last minute, fun nights getaway. We showed up Saturday afternoon and were immediately welcomed by the owner (a fabulously charismstic lady) then shown to our very generous, clean and cozy room (with a balcony). Later we enjoyed a refreshingly delicious 3 course meal (all included in the very ressonable deal) accompanied by the crisp and moreish wine from local vinyards. We were warned both prebooking and in person on the day when we arrived that the bar was co-booked for a 40th party and, advised the local rugby team may or may not be celebrating there (if they wom the match that was on that day). The owner/adorable host, was concerned for our stay experience and offered options for room locations in case this addtional company in the bar was not to our taste. I answered with something like... "great! We love a drink and a good time"... but in the end we needn't have worried because even if we had called it a night at 10pm we would have slept soundly anyway as the rooms were well insulated and sound was not an issue. As it turned out, we have loads of fun with other guests and enjoyed the spacious bar which offers indoor and outdoor, well covered and wind protected seating. We were also given a late checkout free of charge. We had a blast! This place has 10 x more character and real Wairapa homely feel that other, far more expensive and boring establishments near by and we sincerely loved the entire experience. We will be back the next opportunity we get to stay at this fine example of Kiwi hospitality. Thank you! ❤❤❤ If you are a tourist, come here to get amongst it! If you are a Kiwi, come here for fun and a peaceful nights stay in a room that is as unique as it is comfortable. We HIGHLY recomend a stay with the funest, tastiest and warmest establishment in the Wairarapa, NZ. Steve & Anna
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
christabel_churchrd wrote a review Oct 2016
Napier, New Zealand2 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Upstairs a bit tired. Had to share bathroom and toilet which were obviously outside bedroom. No plug for sink which is a pain for a contact lens wearer and had to go on a search for the hairdryer. Bedroom very sparse and no window except above outside door. No wardrobe, TV or radio. However, clean and staff very friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
V5977TVpeterr wrote a review Feb 2016
Napier, New Zealand11 contributions17 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We did enjoy our stay, but it wasn't what I expected.A few days befreo leaving home i read up the "trip advisor"review & was surprised to find there were shared faacilities & noise was an issue in the front rooms. Ahasty emailed ensured we got one of the quieter rooms but heard a lot of truck passing, especailly on the frist night.

The room was clean & served its purpose, but it wasn't a "romantic" get away. The evening meal was nice & the staff very friendly. Would I go again or recommend it to my friends - probably not.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Владлена Г wrote a review Jun 2016
3 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my partner thought it would be really nice to go away somewhere quiet for my birthday and the countryside experience sounded very promising, especially when we found a GrabOne deal for a night accommodation and 3 course dinner.
When we arrived there we couldn`t believe our eyes... the 'hotel' they call it, just looks like a poor backpacker trying to look like a decent accommodation (and trust me it`s not!).
When we walked in we couldn`t find a Reception Desk, so we went to the bar and I asked an old lady serving some drinks, if she knows where we need to check in. She gave me an irritated look, like I asked something absolutely inappropriate and said: 'HERE'. Check-in at the bar?! Okay...
She didn`t even bother asking me if she spelt my name right, just asked to put our address and mobile number in, so we did. After that she said: 'Room number 6, keys in the door lock, room is upstairs' - what a hospitality!
The room definitely smelt of the previous guest, found few hair clips casually sitting on the chair (left by the previous guest), stains on the sheets and such a worn out interior, creepy drawings of the girl with the scissors and a voodoo doll - is it even normal???
Obviously being new to the place we asked the same old lady at the bar where we should go for a walk, whether there is an I-site, or maybe she knows where we could go hike tomorrow morning, and the answer we received was 'I don`t know, you can just go out and you will be on the main road, there are few shops down there, you can go spend some money, maybe check out some other pubs, rugby is on' - not an answer we were looking for.
After we came back from the walk around the town, and I must say that the town is very lovely, we came up to the bar to have some dinner (as promised in the GrabOne deal). The meals were not even less shocking than the whole experience we received in this 'hotel': chicken skewers were sooo soooooo dry, they obviously were not cooked even the same day, someone just reheated it and served it - obviously we didn`t even eat it. When waitress came to collect the plates, I told her that meat was very dry and not freshly cooked, and guess what?! We didn`t even receive an apology!!! Waitress just rolled her eyes and said something like ''I`ll tell kitchen''. Garlic bread was just a bun with some garlic flavored butter - WOW!
For the mains I ordered a medium done steak and ask waitress to make sure there is no blood, and my partner ordered a beef burger. What I received was definitely NOT a Medium done steak, and when I told waitress that this is a waaaaay overdone steak (you could even see it by the coat black color of it) she just said: 'But you asked for a medium done steak without blood' - exactly, so what did I get? right, a well-done steak. She didn`t even bother asking me if I`d like it to be changed. Just ended up swapping my meal with my partner, and the beef burger was actually not that bad, but for some reason, chips were served in a small plant pot - 'Should we even stay for dessert?'.
Creme brulee was a very bad attempt of a dessert, but a chocolate brownie was delicious, however, I`m guessing it was just bought at the bakery down the road.
In the end I was shocked that there was no compensation offered, or even an apology!
When we got back to the room, we couldn`t help but notice a loud noise coming from the outside (of course we had to get a room facing the main road, even though half of the place was empty).
This experience was a terrible a joke and I would never ever recommend this hostel to anyone!!! I can only describe it as a rat hole, a ripoff and huge disappointment.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Howard319 wrote a review Apr 2014
Whanganui, New Zealand2 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I thought a get away for Easter would be nice. The weather was gorgeous, Castle Point was beautiful.....this was disappointing.
Booked into our room , very cozy. Knew there wouldn't be a lot of sleep being on the main road.
Meals seem to be presented on chopping blocks? The meals are terribly over priced for what they are
My husband had an issue with his steak being under cooked and no one seemed to want to know. The manager was in the corner moaning to patrons about every woah in Grey town. When someone did finally see to us the steak came back over cooked and the chips were swimming in blood.
We didn't stay, came home and had tea
Read more
Date of stay: April 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
maggiemayNewZealand wrote a review Jul 2012
New Zealand4 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this property for our anniversary & a wee break from our young children. In retrospect we would have had a better time if we had stayed at home.
The Hotel has no televisions in the rooms & shared bathroom facilities, both of which were a bit off putting but the rooms looked nicely decorated & the staff were friendly.
We went down for dinner & had a lovely meal but near the end of it the Karaoke started up, this didn't end until midnight. We tried to go to sleep upstairs in our room but as there is no sound baffling at all, this proved impossible with the pumping karaoke & non-stop slamming door to the beer garden. Our room also had a frosted glass window over the door with the outside hall light directly next to it, our room was very bright which was also a obstacle to getting any sleep.
As the bathroom facilities are shared, bathrobes are provided in the bedrooms, however, the ones in our room were obviously worn judging by the hair & marks on them.
Next morning when I went to check out the owner asked us how our sleep was, upon passing on that it wasn't good at all she apologised but didn't make any move towards recompense........take a little money off our meal tab maybe?? Honestly I thought what we went through actually justified a refund of our accommodation.
We will not be staying there again & were relieved to get home.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2012
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Make sure they're not doing karaoke on the night you plan to stay here! Bring your own robes...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael M wrote a review Jan 2016
Napier, New Zealand23 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Right, listen up.

Turkey Red is a great country pub. It has all the stuff country pubs have: Hairy locals propping up a pool table, a band cranking out Elvis covers, and that general run down but comfortable air of a building that has been standing for over a century and has seen some hard use.

On the night you stay, there will probably be a heavily tattooed guy with a Harley drinking Tui at the bar. His girlfriend (or it could possibly be his mum; it's a bit hard to tell in the Wairarapa) will be nursing a rum and coke. It's that kind of place, ok?

It's on a main road. There is traffic. Please try not to be surprised by this.

So with that said, if you're looking for somewhere flash with fine dining and a winelist longer than the Bible, *do not* buy the Grabone and settle in for two nights: You're gonna be disappointed. Sophisticated it is not. But if you want an honest slice of old school hospitality and kiwiana, this is the place for you.

The good bits:

1. Everyone who works there is a gem, seriously. A lot of reviewers have moaned about the boss but she's cool. One of the nights we were there it was flat out busy and I'm pretty sure that the regulars were wandering about clearing the tables so the employed staff could get on with the job of pouring the drinks. When did you last see a patron at a city pub help out the waitresses?

2. The cleanliness. The rooms and bathrooms were spotless.

3. No TV in the room, which you'd think would be a bad thing. I had to actually talk to my girlfriend; imagine my horror. I got used to it though, and the earplugs helped.

4. Value. The Grabone deal is insanely cheap.

The bad bits:

1. Queuing for the bogs. Yeah, about that. There are only two toilets upstairs between about six or eight double rooms...this means that you could well be parked in the corridor at two in the morning wearing nothing but your daks, listening to some poor soul fart and splash. If this offends you, best you move right along now.

2. I can't think of anything else. We've had four nights there now (two in one of the front rooms and two down the side) and I can't say the bar noise or road noise was an issue.

In summary: Expect to meet real people having fun. Don't demand haute cuisine or a sealed, sterile, airconditioned, soundproofed box and you'll be fine.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mary M wrote a review Mar 2014
New Zealand23 contributions12 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Having driven 600km because of car problems I was absolutely shattered and all I wanted was a decent meal and an early night. I ordered fish and chips. Fish was still frozen in middle. It is now nearly midnight and my room is over the bar with music pounding away. I can hear very word of songs. Its like being down in the middle of it. This is probably the worst place I have ever stayed in. Am seriously thinking of leaving to sleep in my car.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TurkeyRed G, Manager at Turkey Red Country Hotel
Responded 16 Mar 2014
Hi M, Thanks for the feedback -we are really disappointed that your stay was not great. TurkeyRed is a country pub with accommodation and does have music playing as most pubs do at the weekends, we do try to quieten it down realtively early... the weekend just gone was a big weekend in the Wairarapa and there were quite a few people out and about/staying which makes the pub busier and open later. I understand you had not pre-booked and just popped in to see if we had a room? The pub would have been busy around then which may have given you an indication of the environment. As for the meal, that certainly is not good, if you had made us aware at the time we would have sorted it out for you on the spot. Please accept our apologies, TurkeyRed Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jan T wrote a review Sept 2013
Feilding, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand3 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place sucked.We booked through a Grabone Deal.They omitted to tell us there was a 40th party booked that night.Meal was very small..Room was clean but shared amenities not great.Worst thing was room was right over pub and music just pounded away.We left and went home in the middle of the night.When I rang owner to tell her she admitted she should have told us how noisy it would be.She was not interested in giving a refund.I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2013Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TurkeyRed G, Owner at Turkey Red Country Hotel
Responded 4 Sept 2013
This reviewer emailed the hotel regarding the 40th. The email states "the room was lovely and the food was great. Staff members really pleasant and waiter on duty very good"A request was made by email for a refund and was responded to and offered a complimentary nights accommodation ( as they had used the meal).
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mortemia wrote a review Jun 2013
Wellington, New Zealand1 contribution4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Bought a voucher thinking it would be a nice country pub/hotel getaway.
Boy were we wrong.

As others have mentioned, no soundproofing, so we got to hear a very sad sounding blues band until 12 in the morning, followed by roudy drunkards at the pub for another 3 hours. The rest of the morning was listening to the pipes of the shared toilets flushing.
The rooms are tiny, the double had only enough room to walk around the bed and had an in-room sink. Yay. Very average shared facilities, more like a budget backpackers.

Food was very lame. $28 for a small slab of pork and a couple of undercooked pieces of broccoli and carrot = disappointing. Ordered some fries to fill the gap, they took our money but "forgot" the order. Bad service all around, especially having to move mid-meal for the band to set up.. maybe the staff should have moved the tables prior?

Probably the kind of place you'd stay if you had one too many and missed the last horse out of one-horse town. Even with a voucher, it certainly wasn't value for money and we won't be recommending it.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TurkeyRed G, Owner at Turkey Red Country Hotel
Responded 2 Jul 2013
The voucher mentioned is a deal of $85 for a nights accommodation, two 2course meals and 2 glasses of wine at the hotel. The meals served are the same as all diners have at the restaurant.The double rooms are smaller than our queen rooms but have bathrobes, individual soaps,woolrests, electric blankets etc. Preference is given to 2 night stays with vouchers for the queen rooms. The hotel is licensed until 1am and as the owner I live on site. The staff were gone by 1.30 and the whole bar area is totally lockedso we have no unwelcome patrons. It is unfortunate that these guests were unhappy but if the complaints had been bought to the staffs attention we would have rectified any dissatisfaction at the time. We want all our guests to have a good experience and feel they can recommend the hotel so we apologise for any shortcomings.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Natalie S asked a question Mar 2017
Auckland, New Zealand10 contributions3 helpful votes
Do you have tea making facilities in the rooms or access to a visitors kitchen?
Answer from BevanjP
Christchurch, New Zealand88 contributions16 helpful votes
Upstairs in the Hall, which is easy to access from all rooms, there are tea and coffee making facilities. The rooms have hand basins, hot and cold water. Trust this helps
Teruminz wrote a tip Jun 2018
Wellington, New Zealand184 contributions26 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room at the back is quieter."
Read full review
pauldeb_13 wrote a tip May 2018
Nelson, New Zealand102 contributions24 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are only stairs up to the accommodation. wheelchair can access bar and restaurant though"
Read full review
BevanjP wrote a tip Oct 2016
Christchurch, New Zealand88 contributions16 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms at the back seem to be better."
Read full review
Kirsten T wrote a tip Jul 2016
Wellington, New Zealand12 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Something away fro m the road would be good.!"
Read full review
JennyD1945 wrote a tip Dec 2015
Waipukurau, New Zealand2 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pick a room at the back"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Greytown area.
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandGreater WellingtonWairarapaGreytown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TURKEY RED COUNTRY HOTEL - Guesthouse Reviews (Greytown) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Turkey Red Country Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Turkey Red Country Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Stem (0.2 km), Stella Bull Park (0.4 km), and Mango (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Turkey Red Country Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, free parking, and kids activities.
What food & drink options are available at Turkey Red Country Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Turkey Red Country Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Turkey Red Country Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include French Bakery, The Offering, and Aroma India.
Is Turkey Red Country Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Greytown.
Are there any historical sites close to Turkey Red Country Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ahiaruhe House (10.0 km).
Is Turkey Red Country Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Greytown HotelsGreytown Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GreytownHotels near Turkey Red Country Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire