We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brackenridge Country Retreat & Spa

62 White Rock Road RD2, Martinborough 5782 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (70)
Room & Suite (72)
Pool & Beach (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.


#3 of 7 Speciality lodging in Martinborough
Brackenridge Country Retreat & Spa is the perfect place for a break in the picturesque countryside of Martinborough. As we are only a 90 minute drive from Wellington, why not pop on over and enjoy all we have to offer. With 8 Studio units, 8 Two Bedroom Cottages and 2 Four bedroom Cottages, we have all your accommodation requirements covered. The Cottages are fully self-contained and all rooms offer continental breakfast provisions for self-catering. Why not pamper yourself with our On-site Day Spa, Indoor Heated Saltwater pool, & fully equipped gym. Our property is perfect for Weddings and we have Conference and Venue hire available with full catering options. Our purpose built function centre with indoor outdoor flow, and simple contemporary country design reflect in beautiful events. Flexible spaces with open fires or outdoor verandah overlooking hills and farmland make this the perfect place any time of the year. We look forward to welcoming you to Brackenridge Country Retreat & Spa.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Adult pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Car park
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Personal trainer
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Wine / champagne
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Neck massage
Waxing services
BBQ facilities
Outdoor furniture
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Cable / satellite TV
Electric blanket
Complimentary toiletries
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Great View
Languages Spoken
154Reviews0Q+A37Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 91
  • 44
  • 11
  • 7
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Rebecca W wrote a review 11 Oct
Wellington, New Zealand56 contributions8 helpful votes
A return visit to Brackenridge and it didn't disappoint. My friend and I stayed in a two bedroom cottage with our dogs. We were warmly greeted on arrival and at check in were given doggy gift packs, which was a thoughtful touch. The cottage itself was clean and well organised, complete with generous breakfast ingredients in the cupboard and wood stacked up ready for the fire. We enjoyed the peaceful location and the farm animals nearby. Sadly the spa wasn't available at Level 2. Both of us had a good night's sleep, finding the beds comfortable and the cottage warm and cosy. We look forward to a return visit!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Response from Jill Murphy, General Manager at Brackenridge Country Retreat & Spa
Responded 6 days ago
Thankyou for your feedback & pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Read more
ClareS wrote a review Aug 2021
Christchurch, New Zealand4 contributions
We stayed here a few years ago and it was great. It's in a nice quiet location, and the beds are nice but that's as good as it gets. It looks like it hasn't been maintained since then: sticky floor, dirty table, broken blinds covering half the windows, ants and cockroaches, no fly spray, kitchen curtain stained and torn. It would also be nice to have something more than Freeview, two sports channels and one movie - what about Netflix? Neon or even a Chrome Cast? And some bedroom heaters would be good in the middle of winter.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
robert w wrote a review Feb 2021
Auckland, New Zealand216 contributions68 helpful votes
My wife and I recently stayed at this establishment. Our 6 nights (pre-booked) stay was extremely disappointing... the housekeeping was very poor indeed, our unit was basic and poorly furnished and it was none too clean both as to our room and the small exterior patio. We had to ask almost daily for items for our basic Continental Breakfast, our room was not cleaned during our stay and we also had to ask repeatedly for our beds to be made and for our rubbish bins to be emptied. Indeed, when we arrived, both rubbish bins in our unit were full of rubbish from a previous occupant. At no time during our stay did anyone enquire as to how we were finding the establishment... our whole experience was extremely disappointing and we had expected much much better given the amount of monies we were paying for the accommodation. If I was asked to grade the establishment on a 1 to 10 then I would give it no more than a 4 !
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: No suggestions... we found the establishment extremely disappointing !
See more room tips
Response from Jill Murphy, General Manager at Brackenridge Country Retreat & Spa
Responded 11 Feb 2021
Thankyou for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am so sorry that we did not meet your expectations, it is obvious we feel well short of what our normal housekeeping and servicing of rooms is. Your comments will be addressed with housekeeping to ensure this does not happen again in the future. I am so sorry that your stay with us was so disappointing.
Read more
Victoria R wrote a review Oct 2020
Palmerston North, New Zealand2 contributions
My friends and I booked a 4 bedroom cottage. We got there and found we were in a 2 bedroom cottage, which was a disappointment, but since the beds were huge we got over it and just shared. What was really not great was the general standard of our cottage - shabby, in need of an update, several dead flies lying around, dog hair all over the living area, and not very clean bathrooms. I wouldn't stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Response from Jill Murphy, General Manager at Brackenridge Country Retreat & Spa
Responded 11 Feb 2021
Hi Victoria, I am sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. You will be pleased to know that we have a refurbishment plan in place, for the upcoming Winter months. Your comments re the housekeeping have been passed on to the housekeeping department, & are very concerning. This is not the normal feedback that we get. Thankyou for your feedback.
Read more
Camda wrote a review May 2020
Wellington, New Zealand607 contributions379 helpful votes
Stayed two nights. Peaceful location just on outskirts of town in the countryside. We booked a midweek special in a studio. Spacious, small kitchenette and continental breakfast provisions supplied which were local produce and very nice. Efficient heat pump in room plus electric blankets which are essential in winter. Used the spa which have good mid week specials and very good treatments. Enjoyed indoor heated pool. Friendly and helpful staff at hotel and spa. No housekeeping at the moment due to Coronavirus so hopefully room rates will reduce during this time. Only reason I gave a 4 star and not 5 was paintwork and room decor a bit tired and I think a revamp will be necessary in next few years. Rooms lacking a ‘wow’ factor.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Response from Jill Murphy, General Manager at Brackenridge Country Retreat & Spa
Responded 23 Sep 2020
Hello and thankyou for your feedback on your stay with us back in May. Pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, & I am pleased to say that we will be doing a soft refurbish on our rooms next Winter. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Martinborough. Thankyou
Read more
US$96 - US$176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
New ZealandNorth IslandGreater WellingtonWairarapaMartinborough
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Brackenridge Country Retreat & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Brackenridge Country Retreat & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Olivo (3.5 km), The Wine Bank (2.2 km), and Circus Cinema (1.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Brackenridge Country Retreat & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Brackenridge Country Retreat & Spa?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Brackenridge Country Retreat & Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Brackenridge Country Retreat & Spa?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Brackenridge Country Retreat & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tirohana Estate, Poppies Martinborough, and Moy Hall Vineyard.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Brackenridge Country Retreat & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Brackenridge Country Retreat & Spa?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Brackenridge Country Retreat & Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Brackenridge Country Retreat & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Is Brackenridge Country Retreat & Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.