Sol Barbados
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Sol Barbados

Traveller (1581)
Panorama of the Family Room at the Sol Barbados
360
Panoramas (8)
Sol Barbados
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#4 of 4 resorts in Magaluf
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Sol by Melia presents Sol Barbados, situated only 50 meters away from the magnificent sandy Calvia beach. Recommended for Families, friends or couples who want to have an unforgettable holidays. Enjoy spectacular swimming pools with areas for kids and for adults. Spacious pool areas surrounded by sunbeds and sunshades. Modern, spacious and comfortable rooms totally renovated. Designed for the comfort and enjoyment of all the family with fresh decoration and warm colors. Overlooking the mountains, the pool or with stunning sea views. There is a full entertainment programme with sport activities, shows, live music and parties for all ages. Kids will love mini clubs and funny games with Katmandu Adventures, the newest branded children’s resort club experience. Action-packed days of fully supervised fun by our Navigators. water fun zone: WaterLand Pool with SplashPad with children’s games area. (OPEN FROM 16TH. OF MAY). Pets not allowed.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Yoga room
Free breakfast
Game room
Water park
Children's playground
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary welcome drink
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Water sport equipment rentals
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Waterslide
Board games / puzzles
Children's television networks
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Pushchairs
Car hire
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bidet
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more

Location

Avenida Notario Alemany 7, 07181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca Spain
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 81 out of 100
81
Palma Mallorca Airport
18.4 km
See all flights
1,958Review548Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 578
  • 623
  • 394
  • 193
  • 171
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
yf9sr wrote a review Jul 2020
Sunderland, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had originally booked into the sister hotel - Sol Guadalupe - however due to COVID circumstances, the hotels had decided to group everyone together in one hotel and move all staff there too.
Rooms were extremely clean and tidy, very large too. The hotel itself was well presented and has 4 pools (2 being predominantly children’s pools). It is extremely close to the beach and accessible to the bars/restaurants nearby by foot. Taxi to Palma old town was around €34 - ideal if you want to get out and about a little more.
We were bed and breakfast at the hotel. Breakfast had a large variety of foods which were typically fresh (some things were served cold on occasions but can be unavoidable when busy). Queues can be quite big at breakfast due to not being able to serve yourself for safety precautions but they did go down quickly.
The only downside was we were unable to use an iron during our stay due to the pandemic (unsure why an iron use is not permitted but majority of other amenities were), and the shower room after check out was not open either.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aida Uría Cadenas, Other at Sol Barbados
Responded 27 May 2021
Dear yf9sr, Thank you so much for your comments about your stay with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your experience with us, we certainly take note of your comments and we hope we can take them into account to improve day by day. We can't wait to see you back! Our best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Suzanne Allison wrote a review Aug 2020
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here as a family at the end of July for 2 weeks. There is no doubt that the pools are absolutely fantastic for children. My 2 children aged 2 and 8 both loved all 6 slides! The only downside was that there is only 1 pool that allows inflatables in. We are in very strange times but I feel compelled to say a special thank you to the team that ran kids club, Carlos, Fran, Diego and Tere (my daughter still remembers you a week on) and how you made her time there so good! Even through the temperature checks and hand sanitising you made things ‘normal’ for her and there wasn’t a day where she didn’t want to go! The hotel is in a great location. Not to close to the strip but not to far away that there isn’t anything around. The hotel is close to the beach only 5 minutes away. We hired a car for 3 days and explored the island which id definitely recommend anyone doing! Food, as has been said in other reviews is repetitive some staff will go out of their way to help and others won’t. I know it must be stressful for them but there were so many of them that would really make an effort with the children and then others that could barely raise a smile at you. We had no issues with the food being cold. The queues for food however were bad and something they need to sort out! The rooms were always clean and the maids were always happy and acknowledging! For what we paid it was really good value however I wouldn't be happy paying TUIs prices next summer!

We had a wonderful holiday and the weather was beautiful! This hotel is definitely deserved of a 4 out of 5.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aida Uría Cadenas, Other at Sol Barbados
Responded 27 May 2021
Dear Suzanne_Leila, Thank you so much for your comments about your stay with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your experience with us, we certainly take note of your comments and we hope we can take them into account to improve day by day. We can't wait to see you back! Our best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amy1989 wrote a review Aug 2022
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed week beginning 24th-31st we travelled as a family of 4, children 7 & 5 then we met our friends family of 4, children 5 & 1, our room was on 12th floor, our friends were on the 1st floor. They arrived the Saturday, there room wasn’t ready on arrival but ours was so that was great we were down the pool by 11am so we got almost a full day :-)

The lifts did get very busy at times occasionally we walked down but was too much to walk up.

We had a great week in the sun, all our children and us adults loved the water slides they made our holiday so much fun. The splash area is also great for little ones.
The other pool had entertainment everyday day which we went to a few times which was also great. You do have to be down by 9.30 to get the sun beds they all go soon as the pool opens at 10 am. Other pool had towels on beds from 7am most likely earlier. The bars were always busy, would have been great to be able to self serve soft drinks I think this would have helped with the queues and took a little pressure of the bar staff.

The restaurant does also get very busy at peak times, we tried to go a little earlier to avoid a queue with the children, we didn’t go hungry always a great selection the Paella and deserts were really yummy.

Evening entertainment was inside which was so hot so we didn’t watch it but the children went in and enjoyed the shows, The hotel was quite warm and busy most of time. There isn’t enough seating or sun loungers or even any space for anymore to accommodate the whole hotel.
The staff work so hard to keep the hotel running and guests happy, we had an amazing week as it’s what you make it isn’t it but we all felt the hotel could have been better if it wasn’t at full capacity there just didn’t seem enough space for everyone. We made sure we were always early
To get beds and chairs but I’m sure some people missed out.

We ate out at Blackbeards a couple of nights which is amazing the food is delicious and live music (nice for a change If you fancy a wonder) .

Coming home we had a evening flight, check out is at 12 so we got packed up and out the room by 10, stored our cases in the luggage room, there is also 2 family shower rooms in there so we used those after a day around the pool before travelling home. They were spotless and fresh towels for you to use.

The hotel is clean and you’ll always see staff cleaning around it. The pool with slides could do with a good jet wash as there is some algae building up which could be very slippery if children are running.

All in all we had a great week and could have stayed longer, all the staff work extremely hard to keep the guests happy. Short walk to beach, shops and restaurants nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Magdalena Cicchirillo, Guest Services / Front Office at Sol Barbados
Responded 4 Aug 2022
Dear AmySatt; We are very happy to read that you had a great holiday at Sol Barbados, and that you enjoyed the pools, especially the Waterland. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the food, as well as the activities organised by our entertainment team. Thank you for highlighting how well you were treated by the staff, who strive daily to meet the standards of excellence. We look forward to your return. Best regards, Magdalena Cicchirillo Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jane C wrote a review May 2023
Leeds, United Kingdom
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Instantly liked this hotel as we walked in and met Luba on reception. She said she would get on with registration while we went for dinner before it closed. We returned to find everything had been sorted out and were given our room keys - which are wristbands so no hunting for the missing key card, also good for the children if they need to go to the room during the day.
The rooms we had were spacious, clean, comfortable beds and great walk in shower. Air con wasn't terrific so we slept with the patio door open and as we were on floor 9 felt safe doing so.
Rooms were serviced every day with clean towels too. Pool towels are available for a returnable deposit. Safe in room for small amount of money.
The pool was absolutely the best for our teenage grandchildren, although freezing cold, the water slides kept them busy all day. Area around pool was clean and smart.
We were half board and found the food to be fantastic. Buffet style, plenty of choice and dishes refilled constantly. Separate side with child friendly options, pizza, nuggets etc, but to be honest our girls enjoyed grazing round the whole restaurant where there was always a variety of meat, fish, salad, rice, potatoes and vegetables.
We loved that we could get free sparkling water from the bars and restaurant.
Short walk from hotel (10 mins) to the shops and bars. Lots of souvenir shops of course and a 'Mango' which was lovely. Yes there were hen and stag parties having fun but to be fair we didn't witness any trouble - however we weren't out late!
Must mention the great beach - sandy, clean and much better than our usual resort of Cala Millor.
Was dubious about going to Magaluf for a family holiday but can honestly say this hotel was super good. Just enough away from town to be peaceful on an evening, great facilities and a wonderful pool. Will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Sol Barbados
Responded 12 May 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear that you instantly liked our hotel and that Luba at reception made your check-in process smooth and efficient. It's also great to know that you found our rooms to be spacious, clean, and comfortable. Moreover, we're glad that our wristband room keys were convenient for you and your family. It's fantastic to hear that the pool area was a hit with your teenage grandchildren and that you appreciated the cleanliness of the surroundings. We're also delighted that you enjoyed with a wide variety of food choices and child-friendly options at our restaurant. Furthermore, our location near the beach and shops is indeed convenient for our guests, and we're glad you had a chance to explore the area. We appreciate your feedback regarding the air conditioning in your room and will look into it to ensure the comfort of our future guests. Thank you once again for your kind words, and we hope to welcome you and your family back for another memorable stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best wishes, Magdalena Cicchirillo, Guest Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
morganduncumb wrote a review Aug 2020
London, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Myself and my family were due to visit the Palma Nova hotel but was changed to Sol Barbados last minute. Our experience here was not a good one at all.
The check in process is very long winded so be prepared for that first of all.

The food was absolutely awful and not much variety especially for vegetarians, so we ended up eating out every night for a 7 night stay. The rice on several occasions/nights was not cooked properly and tasted like you were eating plastic. All vegetables were left soaking in water so when put onto your plate everything else is also then soaking wet. The eggs wether scrambled or boiled were not cooked properly and watery (photo showing this). I could go on and on about the food and how disgusting each item was! Only thing enjoyable throughout all meal times was the fruit. Be prepared to be waiting ages to be served for food as they have one person sometimes for two stations going back and forth trying to serve. The chefs also try to serve the massive queue of people whilst cooking food.
The staff apart from the cleaners were very rude. Constant dirty looks and no good morning/ hola unless you said this first. Not many of the staff understood English so it was very hard to even order a drink at times.

I also requested an iron in each room we were staying in before we flew to the hotel and this demand was not met. Instead we had to pay €15 for this even though it’s stated on the website this will be given to you if you request so. The staff were very rude to us when asking for the iron and said they had to throw all irons out because of COVID but yet you can still hire one for €15 when you ask... really makes sense...

The only thing that was good at the hotel was the pools/ slides. The children really enjoyed having the slides there and it kept us busy! Although the bar closest to the waterland pool shuts earlier than the waterland pool so if you want a drink at 4 o’clock when the pool shuts at 6 o'clock you will instead have to go up three floors to get one.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , Director General at Sol Barbados
Responded 23 Aug 2020
Dear Mr. Morganduncumb, We would like to thank you for the time you have taken to bring to our attention your feedback regarding your recent stay with us per in social media. We are truly sorry that you were not able to completely enjoy your vacation due to the situation you have reported to us. Our staff is the most important asset we have, which is why we are concerned about the impression you may have taken of the employees in reception; we should outline that the iron they were offering you by payment, belongs to an external company. We cannot rent or borrow any item due to the Covid restrictions. We know there is always room of improvement, so we are pleased to announce you that we have taken into consideration your comments regarding our food. We know we cannot please to everyone but comments like yours help us to find the best way to please guests like you. Last but not least, please take note that the Sports Bar is open until 6pm. After making a research we have found out that one day we had an issue with a waitress who went away suddenly due to a personal problem. The bar was reopened later on. Sorry for any inconvenience caused. We sincerely hope that this circumstance does not deter you from visiting any Sol Hotel in the future. Staying at your entire disposal, Montoro, Esther HOTEL MANAGER
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lisakevin1977 wrote a review Sept 2021
Majorca, Spain
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I am a Melia rewards customer and stayed at this hotel for only two nights. It’s classed as a four star but I have to disagree. Four star hotels do not charge you 10 euros to use an iron and then also a 5 euro deposit in case you run off with it!! The excuse I was given that due to COVID the hotel now charges 10 euros to use the iron!! WHY? What an excuse and a complete disgrace. Using COVID as an excuse to charge people 10 euros is shocking and that is why I would never come here again.

Meliá should not be charging people for this basic of services within a hotel!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aida Uría Cadenas, Other at Sol Barbados
Responded 19 Sept 2021
Dear lisakevin1977, Thank you so much for your review. Fortunately the designation of the fourth star is not decided by the rental of an iron, but by a series of countless other requirements, which I can assure you this hotel fulfils. We are deeply sorry if you did not expect this service, however I would like to explain again that this year the hotel has not offered ironing service as an anticovid measure, due to the disinfection of the irons to provide services to several clients. That is why this year we are working with an external company that offers this service for a price, which you are free to accept or not. In any case, you can see published on our website that this service is available for a fee. We hope that this will not be a reason to welcome you back. Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jodi Shoer wrote a review Aug 2021
Ireland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just got back from what truly was an amazing week.

Where do I start. I have a 7 and 8 year old boys who absolutely loved all the kids club activities and staff of the club. The entertainment was truly spot on. Not only that the fitness classes offered in the morning were a great bonus. Again the instructors were fantastic.

The pool facilities were amazing. I loved the fact that the main pool was totally separate from the slides, offering a totally different vibe at each.

The all inclusive offer is fantastic. The buffets, morning noon and night are consistent and offers something for everyone. Yes we wanted a change a couple of nights and took a short taxi journey to neighboring Palma Nova which was stunning (€6 in a cab and loads of restaurants to choose from)

The rooms and hotel were kept spotless!

I keep reading that the staff are rude, but I honestly never witnessed any of this. I did witness really rude guests! A please and a thank you every now and again will go a long way!

Will definitely be back. Loved it!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aida Uría Cadenas, Other at Sol Barbados
Responded 22 Aug 2021
Dear 806jodis, Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy that you had such a lovely time with us, and we definitely want to see you back! Our best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark Dent wrote a review Sept 2021
Northampton, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent a week here at the start of September. Obviously due to Covid we didn’t really know what to expect so had an open mind. Travelled with my wife and 2 kids aged 7 years and 8 months.

Firstly. we flew with east jet, no problems at all. The flight was over before it started which was good. The plane was pretty empty aswell so the stewardess let us all have a row each to spread out

The transfer was absolutely shocking! Considering the hotel was 30 minutes drive from the airport we were on the coach for 3 hours! The driver just kept on waiting for more and more passengers to land and get on the coach. Didn’t tell us anything and didn’t help us unload when we got to the hotel. Definitely recommend a private transfer.

Got to the hotel and first thing we noticed was there was no air con at reception. It was boiling! The lady that greeted us was very nice and luckily our room was ready. Made our way up to the 11th floor and got to our room. Now considering this was a family room it was tiny!! It’s literally a bathroom and bedroom with a tiny balcony. As there was the 4 of us we were jumping over the beds to move around! I don’t think I’ve ever stayed in such a small room.

The main big pool is really just for adults. No inflatables allowed at all. If you go down to the kids pool it seems to depend on which lifeguard is on duty as to whether you can use inflatables. The slides are amazing and there is never a que for them. Kept kids busy for hours on end.

The bar staff seemed very put out whenever you asked for a drink, I mean they didn’t have aircon to keep them cool so were probably just hot and bothered.

The food in the restaurant was average. By the end of the holiday we were just bored of it and decided to eat out.

The kids entertainment was good but the rest of the entertainment was dull and didn’t start till 9.30 so if u ate at 6 when the restaurant opened you were literally left with nothing to do till then.

I have to warn everyone that the hotel itself is situated on a hill so to go to the beach it’s down some steps or a VERY steep slope, getting back to the hotel was a workout in itself!

On around the 4th day we noticed that you could actually upgrade your room for around £20 a day. We were never told or offered this! Another family we met said the same and had decided to upgrade but all you got was a larger balcony so don’t hope for a bigger room.

All in all we had a good time, the hotel is never in a million years a 4 star, 3 star max! Only air con is in the rooms and restaurant which is disappointing and you will roast in the lifts! I’m glad we went and it was a nice break but would we go back…….no!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Turn the air con off in your rooms at night, they don’t give you a blanket, just the bed sheet...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aida Uría Cadenas, Other at Sol Barbados
Responded 11 Sept 2021
Dear markdent4, Thank you so much for your review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your holiday at the Sol Barbados. Your words are an incentive for all of us in our daily efforts to improve quality and services.. I would like to inform you that I have passed all your comments to the Manager, who get the matter in their hand and who will do their best to improve it. I would dearly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in a near future Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laura B wrote a review Aug 2021
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel and facilities are amazing. Entertainment team were great. Pool area and hotel is lovely and clean. Rooms were great. Had everything we needed such as a mini fridge, hairdryer and plenty of wardrobe space. My only negative was that the staff are so rude. Reception staff, restaurant staff and bar staff. Shrugging shoulders at me when I ask a question and walking away. Also the life guards by the pool are a great idea but I struggled with the language barrier in a few occasions. The hotel offer a towel service for 10 euros but again no one could explain the process in English correctly. There were many people in the same position as me. We never knew if we should hand them back at the end of the day etc and how to get the money back. Over all we enjoyed our stay but would not book again due to the staff which is a shame.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Date of stay: July 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aida Uría Cadenas, Other at Sol Barbados
Responded 8 Aug 2021
Dear Laura B, Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that you had an overall good experience with. our towel system works in a very simple way. Our clients must leave a deposit of ten euros per towel at reception, where they will receive a ticket to give to the lifeguard, who will give them the towels. If you wish to change towels, we charge 1 euro per towel for this service. The reason for this is the responsible use of the island's water, i.e. an initiative of the hotel to collaborate with the environment, otherwise ALL our guests would like to change their towels (dirty or not) daily for free. I am sorry if our colleagues in reception have not been able to explain this procedure to you, but I can assure you that all our colleagues are able to explain it to you. We hope that this will not be a reason to welcome you back.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jay wrote a review Apr 2023
United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in this hotel for a few days on a short break, was a bit wary because of reviews but went with it as it was a good price.

Went at totally wrong time as to say magaluf was empty was an understatement, this hotel was pretty much empty too but meant no issues with sun beds, no queues at breakfast etc

I was quite impressed by the rooms, modern, comfortable, tv with many British tv channels, decent bathroom with powerful walk in shower etc.

Location is at the end of the resort so a 5 min walk or along a path on the beach. Access to the a11 direct airport bus was great as only a couple of minutes walk away

On the negative side the breakfast was poor compared to other sol hotels I’ve visited, awful jam, cheap chocolate sauce for pancakes, tea was really bad, indeed so bad I didn’t bother with the breakfast the other days

The room uses wristband to get access and twice it managed to deactivate itself which was a bit of a pain having to go down and get another wristband

I’ve also come home covered in bites which I assume are from mattress as I don’t remember any insects around the pool, so as the hotel had just opened for the season I assume there is a risk of bed bugs in mattresses that haven’t been cleaned all winter

Separate pool for children is a good idea but hotels that play music round the main pool at volume isn’t a good idea and would probably put me off returning
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Turn left out hotel and down a few steps on to a path on the beach is a shorter route to the main...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Sol Barbados
Responded 6 Apr 2023
Dear Jason, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are so glad to hear that you found our modern rooms to be comfortable and appreciated our bathroom facilities and walk-in shower. We are also pleased that our location was convenient for your needs. However, we are sorry to hear that our breakfast did not completely meet your expectations and regret that you did not let us know at the time of any concerns, our team members are always on hand to assist and try to find a solution. Nevertheless, we have noted your comments and will share them with our breakfast team. Furthermore, we apologize for any inconvenience regarding your wrist band and please know that we are looking into the matter with our IT team. While we are glad that you appreciated our pool area we are sorry that the music played was not to your taste. Additionally, we are sorry to hear that you arrived home with insect bites, which we are aware could have come from many different places, I would like to kindly inform you that the housekeeping team cleans the mattresses before the hotel closes as well as days before the opening. We hope to welcome you for an improved experience in the future. Best regards, Magdalena Cicchirillo, Guest Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jordan wrote a tip Today
Wigan, United Kingdom1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Kids pool opens at 10am prepare to cue."
Read full review
kjr232 wrote a tip 20 Jun
Sheffield, United Kingdom16 contributions33 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"If mobility is an issue, the lift situation means this hotel is not for you"
Read full review
Zoe M wrote a tip 8 Jun
18 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be first for food whilst fresh"
Read full review
missplymouth wrote a tip 7 Jun
Plymouth, United Kingdom30 contributions13 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room lower down so you haven’t got to rely on the lifts"
Read full review
Carl M wrote a tip 3 Jun
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pool was cold but once in it was nice. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Magaluf area.
PRICE RANGE
$253 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SpainBalearic IslandsMajorcaCalviaMagaluf
NUMBER OF ROOMS
428
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SOL BARBADOS - Resort Reviews & Price Comparison (Magaluf, Spain) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sol Barbados
Which popular attractions are close to Sol Barbados?
Nearby attractions include Piano Bar Magaluf (0.3 km), Pirates Adventure (0.4 km), and Vibe Experience Mallorca (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sol Barbados?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Sol Barbados?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Sol Barbados?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sol Barbados?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sol Barbados?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tom Brown's, Titanic Magaluf, and Rivareno.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sol Barbados?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, fitness classes, and a yoga room during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sol Barbados?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sol Barbados?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Sol Barbados?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Biggest Pine Tree (2.7 km).
Does Sol Barbados have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Magaluf HotelsMagaluf Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Magaluf
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire