We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Overview
7 Market Street, Aberaeron SA46 0AS Wales See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Air Conditioning
Pool
Suites
2.5 Star accommodation
About
Description
The Monachty Arms is a small, individually run 8 bedroomed hotel situated in the holiday coastal town of Aberaeron on the beautiful west Wales coast 20 minutes south of Aberystwyth.Internationally noted for More its fine original Georgian architecture, Aberaeron is equally famed for the brightly coloured houses which nestle sleepily round the picturesque harbour.The hotel is owned and operated to a high standard by the Welsh brewer, S A Brain and Company, known for high standards of comfort and customer care. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Beachfront
Spa
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
7
Price range
US$69 - US$96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Castle Hotel
198 reviews
.07 km away
Plas Morfa Hotel
71 reviews
6.41 km away
Black Lion Hotel
268 reviews
7.52 km away
The Falcondale Hotel
804 reviews
17.47 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 34 nearby restaurants
The Cellar
717 reviews
.02 km away
Zuko's
153 reviews
.03 km away
Harbourmaster
1,033 reviews
.22 km away
New Celtic Restaurant
558 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 4 nearby attractions
Llanerchaeron
423 reviews
1.95 km away
SeaMor Dolphin Watching Boat Trips
665 reviews
7.34 km away
Dolphin Tours RIB Safari
20 reviews
.37 km away
Epic Fishing Trips
189 reviews
7.16 km away
Reviews & more
260Reviews
74Photos
3Q+A
56Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 66
  • 81
  • 48
  • 39
  • 26
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
Went in for a meal, although we have stayed here before. Still a good choice of meals and good food served. We went on a particularly wet and windy day in December so it was good to get a warm and good food.
Read more
Stayed for one night, room was comfortable but the place does probably need a little bit of an update I feel. I went for the 2 course evening meal at £8.99 which really for the price you can’t complain. I had the garlic mushrooms on crostini for starters. The mushrooms came in a
Read more
Response from Mina Z, Manager at Monachty
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to advise of you stay at The Monachty, it was a pleasure having you here, Hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Came here in mid October to visit Aberaeron, a little town I used to visit as a child. The Monachty stood out because of price and location in the centre of the town.

Found the bed to be quite hard and the bathroom in need of modernisation (the shower also has a mind of it's own
Read more
Response from TheMonachtyHotel, Manager at Monachty
Responded 9 Nov 2018
Thank you for your review on your stay with us. These comments will be passed on to our head office with regards to a update on the hotel and we thank you for pointing these matters out to us so we can improve where possible. We hope you vist Aberaeron again soon.
Read more
The rooms are really lovely, comfy beds. Had a couple problems with the shower, but that was nothing really and when we told them they moved us to a different room.
The food is FANTASTIC. Just a lovely place to stay.

Definitely want to come again. Recommend to anyone
Read more
Response from TheMonachtyHotel, Manager at Monachty
Responded 5 Nov 2018
Thank you very much for such great review! it is a pleasure having you here. Hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Very disappointed. As we walked in, all of the bar staff had noticed we came in and we were waiting but none of them approached us. Once we sat down and had our drinks, my sister and I both noticed that our glasses were dirty and the diet coke had a weird smell. The tables were s
Read more
Response from Mina Z, Manager at Monachty
Responded 2 Nov 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, first of all i would like to verify few points, 1- the order wouldn't have been mixed up if we were given the right table number. 2- it is a half term so we are just a little bit busier than usual. 3- all our guests were told about the waiting time. 4- may be the restaurant looked empty however we have a restaurant area , bar are , beer garden , balcony and front seating are. 5- diet coke and coke zero are not full fat coke it is a different type of auger in them. Regards
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
Smelly, grubby pull-cord for lights
Smelly, mouldy shower curtain
All the tiles had mould in the grout
In need of maintenance
Dust on the floor along the walls
Previous
does this pub have parking
We currently do not have residential parking, however there is a public car park which is free all year round just next to the row of properties we are situated in. You are welcome to leave your vehicles in this car park overnight if needed, however the spaces are limited in peak seasons. Hope this helps. Many thanks
0 votes
Show all answers
Does it have irons
Hi Chris, thanks for the question. Reception can provide guests with an iron and ironing table on request. Many thanks
0 votes
Show all answers
Have booked for one night 06/05/2017. Can you hive me directions to where we should park the car. Diolch Sian
There is a free car park just to the left just past the Monachty but it is very popular. If you take the first right after this car park you will get to a large, pay car park.where there is always room. This car park is free if you have disability tax exemtion and a blur badge. Hope that helps
1 vote
Show all answers
"Rooms facing the back of the hotel are great for views."
"Bathrooms may be rather small for larger people"
"room 5 family room view out the back can see the lovely bridge and church"
"Harbour view rooms ."
"Room 5 looked out to side lane and street but was quiet at night!"
Previous
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing