Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown, an IHG Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown, an IHG Hotel

Traveller (81)
Room & Suite (24)
Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#4 of 136 hotels in Memphis
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Top rated Midtown Memphis hotel convenient to Beale Street and Overton Park. Come experience Southern hospitality at its best! Our Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown hotel has top ratings because of our friendly team's commitment to great hospitality. Our Midtown hotel is near downtown Memphis with Beale Street (2 miles), the Peabody Ducks (1.8 miles), Mud Island, and Graceland just minutes away. Our Union Street location is close to Overton Park and the Memphis Zoo, as well as the FedEx Forum, the Rock 'n Soul Museum, or AutoZone Park, which are the perfect destinations for any trip. Our Memphis hotel's easy access to I-69, I-40, and I-55, Memphis International Airport (8.0 miles), and the Amtrak Station (2.0 miles) make traveling around Tennessee a breeze. We are also adjacent to Methodist University Hospital, nine other major medical centers, and offer a special rate for guests with a loved one at Methodist University Hospital.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Family
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards

Location

1180 Union Avenue, Memphis, TN 38104
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 52 out of 100
52
Memphis Intl Airport
11.4 km
See all flights
367Reviews13Q+A33Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 270
  • 57
  • 19
  • 11
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
BlairGreenAgain wrote a review Mar 2023
Greensboro, North Carolina
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff is always friendly and accommodating!! The breakfast is ALWAYS very good! Thanks Z!

I’ve been staying here on and off for the past 5 months because of work!! They are located in the perfect location. You can get to the airport within 15 minutes of the hotel. You can also get downtown in less than five minutes.

Highly recommended!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OuCilly wrote a review Mar 2020
Goffstown, New Hampshire
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I can’t remember every person we came in contact withs name, and Zee is already mentioned in almost every review, so you already know she is a gem. But i really can’t remember when I have stayed at a hotel that was this friendly. Every staff member was pleasant and informative.
The breakfast was always plentiful, varied, hot and clean. Afternoon treats as well were always available.
Advice on area attractions, including those off the beaten path were much appreciated.
We had 15 in our party, traveling for a wedding, and no one had any complaints about rooms, cleanliness or service.
One thing to note, if you are a light sleeper ask for a room facing the back parking lot. Our room faced the street, and being a major traffic route, and across from the hospital we could hear traffic, and emergency vehicles at all hours of the night. When we asked those facing the parking lot if they heard traffic etc, they did not.

The only reason I give my review a 4 out of 5 is price. This hotels price is in my opinion a bit high high for a holiday inn, I realize location is the factor in this, and it is probably the most convenient location for most of Memphis’s attractions without paying 200+ a night, but I also think that being so close to the hospital also raises the price.
If I ever stay in Memphis again, this will be my preferred hotel. Thanks for a great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back parking lot, less outdoor noise
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 978generalm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown, an IHG Hotel
Responded 23 Mar 2020
I am so glad to hear that everyone in your party enjoyed their stay and we cannot agree more. Zee is a gem! Thank you for your review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Heather M wrote a review Jul 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The best night at any hotel we have ever had. The bed and pillows are so comfortable, the shower was awesome, the room was well lit, it was wonderful. Thank you! The room was cleaned smelled nice, The breakfast buffet was great food was hot and fresh. Highly Recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown, an IHG Hotel
Responded 9 Jul 2021
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and it was the best night at any hotel! We hope to see you again one day! Thank you for your review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ChicagoPair wrote a review Oct 2020
New Orleans, Louisiana
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel has definitely seen better days. The rooms were small and not very clean. We even found a toenail clipping next to the bed. The hotel was horribly overpriced for what we received. But, the biggest problem for us was that the mask rules were not being enforced. We booked this hotel specifically because they claimed to be enforcing the mask rule and were highly disappointed that they were not. Many of the guests were not wearing masks. Housekeeping was not consistently wearing masks. (Front desk at least always wore masks.) Plus, the hand sanitizer stations were empty on multiple occasions.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown, an IHG Hotel
Responded 15 Oct 2020
I apologize you did not fully enjoy your stay, the hotel was recently renovated to the newest Holiday Inn Express standards and our pricing is inline with the other hotels in the area. In regard to the cleanliness issue you experienced we will make sure we have the proper training. Our main hotel goal is to provide a clean room with the best service. The hotel is also following local jurisdiction as well as IHG in regards to mandating masks. We make sure we inform all of our guests at check in as well have signage at every entry door. We also have ongoing training with our team members. I apologize if their were guests not wearing masks during your stay. As far any associate not wearing a mask, this will be addressed with training. All team members are to be wearing masks at all times. Thank you for your review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eaton_Out wrote a review Oct 2020
Greenville, South Carolina
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This Holiday Inn Express has been recently refreshed. Rooms are in excellent condition considering age with new carpet, paint and tile. Hall carpeting appears new. Currently due to COVID a takeaway breakfast is the only available as microwaved sausage biscuits, muffins, yogurt, coffee, etc. The hotel is across the street from the Methodist Medical Center and it appears to cater to those coming to this area of town with loved-ones for care at a host of medical facilities. That said this is not a new hotel. Based on the age and condition I felt the hotel was overpriced a bit. I think we paid $107 + taxes on Booking.com which are high (apparently 18% bed tax). Compared to other hotels we stayed in on a pleasure trip out west this facility was not a bargain. This hotel is on Union Ave which runs into downtown Memphis in about 1.5 miles. The facility of 1 mile from Sun Studios which is also on Union Ave. The hotel included free internet but it connected easily only to our phones. Fortunately I am an IHG Hotel loyalty member and I was able to use that number to get free internet on my laptop and tab but the process was more difficult. Our temp was checked only when we checked-in.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: upper floors are quietest
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown, an IHG Hotel
Responded 5 Oct 2020
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and and you enjoyed our location in the heart of Mid town! Thank you for your review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pannam1 wrote a review Mar 2021
Houston, Texas
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I came to this hotel pre-Covid and it was satisfactory. It is a little shabby as it is an older building and not the same design as the newer holiday inn expresses nationwide (and in the city). However this was acceptable previously as the people were nice and friendly and location was very good.

Now my recent experience left a lot to be desired. When I checked in, my room had dirty towels (one with visible stains, possibly blood). Im not a clean freak but this was quite gross to say the least.

Second, there was no WiFi the entire week. They blamed it on a recent storm but of course things were back to normal elsewhere in the city. I understand it being out for a day or two to get things fixed up but it was not fixed the entire time I was there. It didnt seem like they were in any hurry to fix it either. WifI is essential for my work and this was a great inconvenience to me.

Third problem. HI Express now uses the refillable toiletry dispensers in the shower. I get it - eco friendly and saves them money - instead of having the small bottles. This is a chain philossophy and not unique to this local branch. However, I ran out of showel gel 3 days in. I called/notified the front desk on 3 CONSECUTIVE days and it was not fixed (!)... Come one now... this aint too difficult.

When you combine all three of these , it was overall a terrible experience. THe only thing good is the location, but honestly this is worse than a motel 6. There are lot better IHG properties around the city.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Avoid hotel completely
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 Mar 2021
Dear Pannam1 , My team and I deeply regret that we did not give you the stay that you deserve. We did have some issues with WIFI parts getting shipped due to storms and know it was a big nuisance not having it. There is no excuse for the other issues you experienced .I am thankful you shared those with us so that we may coach and correct them moving forward. I do hope you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves in the future. Thank you and stay safe !
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mabel012 wrote a review Jan 2020
Indianapolis, Indiana
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I chose this hotel based on the raving reviews and it did not disappoint. Staff was super friendly. One staff member offered to help me to my car with my luggage. Manager spoke to us at length on tourist opportunities in the area. Most importantly was the cleanliness of the hotel. A+. The rooms were a bit small for 4 of us but the cleanliness outweighed any room size discomfort.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 978generalm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown, an IHG Hotel
Responded 10 Jan 2020
I am so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay and choose the Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Mid town based on traveler reviews! We look forward to seeing you the next time your travels bring you to the Memphis area! Thank you for your review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sharon S wrote a review May 2022
Saint Paul, Minnesota
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here during the Beale Street Festival since it seemed like a good central place to get to the festival and downtown Memphis. The building and rooms are what you would expect from a Holiday Inn, simple but clean and everything seemed well maintained. I appreciate there was a mini fridge in the room and it was quiet despite being on a relatively busy street.

The service was great, everyone was especially kind and helpful. I believe it was Clare who checked us in and got us checked in early, and then Zee was so great during breakfast. Breakfast was definitely worth checking out, scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, and pancakes! There is also an outdoor pool which we didn't have a chance to visit but it looked nice, and a small workout room with a couple of treadmills and weights.

It was about a 15 minute Lyft ride to downtown or the fairgrounds for the festival and most rides were inexpensive. I think the most we paid is $30 which was a late night ride during a thunderstorm and everyone was leaving the festival. Otherwise rides were about $10 which was more cost effective than renting a car.

The only downside is the area is not really walkable. The hotel is on a busy street but there's not much to see in walking distance anyway. Stay here for the convenience and service and take a ride share to downtown for the fun.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Road476760 wrote a review Sept 2021
Nashville, Tennessee
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had an amazing stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Memphis on Union. The staff here are just the warmest. Every one greeted me and asked if I needed anything. The morning breakfast was a treat and really yummy. Zee runs the breakfast and she was a delight. Clare was an breath of fresh air at the front desk. The rooms were clean, bedding was soft, the room was so easy to cool, and I couldn’t hear anyone else in my room. The location is perfect for getting to downtown or the fun midtown area. Also, it is right off the interstate. I would stay here again and again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown, an IHG Hotel
Responded 14 Sept 2021
I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel clean and the team friendly. Thank you for your kind comments on Clare and Zee, we will share these comments with team! Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you back to the Memphis area!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steffanie F wrote a review Mar 2023
Towanda, Illinois
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is seriously one of the best hotels I’ve stayed in! The room was modern and very clean. In fact, you could smell that it had been just cleaned when we walked in the room. Very comfortable bed and pillows. The breakfast was so good! They had biscuits and gravy, sausage, omelets, pancakes, oatmeal, grits and all the other breakfast items. We will be back when we come back to Memphis this summer!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
4Webbs asked a question Jul 2019
Poplar Bluff, Missouri10 contributions2 helpful votes
Is this hotel in a safe location of downtown Memphis?
Answer from PathManSlough
Slough, United Kingdom1,965 contribution360 helpful votes
I would say Yes. It’s on a main road to the east of town, about a mile or so from Beale Street. We walked to and from that area on a few occasions. There are a few bars and fast food outlets within 10 minutes walk of the hotel. Ask for a room away from the main highway which runs below the hotel to the west of the building!
Kimberly R wrote a tip Jul 2023
Antioch, Tennessee1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The breakfast is amazing, get there early. "
Read full review
Byron W wrote a tip Apr 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best Comp Breakfast ever! Super friendly people. Clean rooms."
Read full review
sandra g wrote a tip Mar 2023
Littleport, United Kingdom36 contributions30 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Overton square lively eating area nearby with great restaurants"
Read full review
GreenRiverJo wrote a tip Mar 2023
Ontario, Canada16 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Our room (# 124) was directly across from the elevator, which may be a bit noisy for light sleepers."
Read full review
Jodi L wrote a tip May 2022
6 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking available. Outdoor pool was nice. Safe place!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Memphis area.
PRICE RANGE
$211 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express - medical center midtown hotel memphis, holiday inn express memphis, holiday inn memphis, memphis holiday inn
LOCATION
United StatesTennesseeMemphis
NUMBER OF ROOMS
125
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN, AN IHG HOTEL - Now $209 (Was $̶2̶2̶0̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (TN) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include River City Pedalers (0.6 km), Mississippi Boulevard Christian Church (0.4 km), and Minglewood hall (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Cupboard, Little Italy Pizza Midtown, and Los Comales Mexican Bar & Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Sun Studio (1.4 km), National Civil Rights Museum - Lorraine Motel (3.2 km), and Slave Haven / Burkle Estate Museum (3.5 km).
Is Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Memphis HotelsMemphis Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MemphisHotels near Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown, an IHG Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire