Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar

It's very much like apartment buildings. I asked if converted apts and was told built specifical
Traveller (106)
Register example
Room & Suite (46)
Free Breakfast
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#58 of 136 hotels in Memphis
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
The beautifully landscaped Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar hotel is an all-suite hotel located in elegant east Memphis, Tennessee near Germantown. The Homewood Suites Memphis-Poplar, Tennessee hotel features two-bedroom suites, complimentary high-speed internet access, meeting facilities, outdoor pool, an exercise gym, TV with cable, irons and hair dryers. Also enjoy our Homewood Suites Tennessee hospitality with a complimentary Suite Start hot breakfast daily, and a Welcome Home reception featuring a light dinner served every Wednesday evening from 5:30pm to 7:30pm. Nearby attractions of the Homewood Suites by Hilton hotel in Memphis, Tennessee include the Racquet Club, Southwind Golf Club, the Memphis Zoo, Graceland, and various restaurants and shopping malls. Make Yourself At Home!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

5811 Poplar Ave., Memphis, TN 38119
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 63 out of 100
63
Memphis Intl Airport
11.9 km
See all flights
1,036Review8Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 426
  • 218
  • 110
  • 105
  • 177
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
lakeshathomas96 wrote a review Oct 2021
Memphis, Tennessee
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This Hotel Really needs an upgrade, it use to be Resident Inn back in the day.. (1994-2005) so I guess they just changed the name and used the same scratched up and stained furniture. My first room was 128 and it smelled old and Packed up, they did change me to 215 and it looked better, I had my Lysol so I just sprayed and disinfected the room real good. But all in all I made it work because I had invested $235 in this room it was Friday and I’m sure everything was booked up. When you see the name Hilton you think quality, exclusive, and this was not. But the lady at front desk was nice and accommodating as she could be.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Date of stay: October 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MarcKappa wrote a review Mar 2022
Florida
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This place has a meaning to me. I stayed here for sometime while I was going through a transition in my life. Fast forward 17 years, while visiting Memphis, this was a mandatory stop for me.
And it was a little saddening to see that it’s a little run down.
Location is absolutely great! Close to restaurants and grocery, easy access to and from a highway - and despite of that, it’s a very quiet place. It’s a Homewood Suites, so the rooms are large with a full kitchen and with a family of 4, it’s always positive.
If you’re staying here one or two nights and the price point is good, this place is ok.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tom M wrote a review Mar 2020
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Could be a good facility, but not good very maintenance. Staff were friendly, some were really nice except the front desk and the 2 different front desk people we encountered were never, ever friendly! To the point of rude. There were no ac vents in the bathroom area, so it was several degrees hotter than the rest of the room area. The ac sounded like an airplane and vibrated the walls. Bed was comfortable and truly the room could be nice with some maintenance and some supervision of the staff.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Homewood Suites Memphis Poplar, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar
Responded 18 Aug 2020
Dear Tom M, We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your stay. I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. Please note that your concerns have been passed on to our Maintenance management. We do hope you give us another chance the next time you are in Memphis as we will definitely improve our services.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Uptowncheapo wrote a review Jun 2023
Wrens, Georgia
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed in many hotels in Memphis working out of town. I love the big open room in this hotel. The staff seems friendly enough, however if you don't speak Spanish, communication is null with housekeeping
Do yourself a favor and visit Ms Betty Guy for breakfast. She's a ray of sunshine to start your day!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ed P wrote a review Jan 2020
Raleigh, North Carolina
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This was by far the worst Hilton brand hotel I have stayed at in all my (20+ Honors member) years. I have stayed at Homewood properties before and generally they are a good value and meet with Hilton standards. This specific location is HORRIBLE. The lobby and main check-in building are nice and obviously recently updated, however the rooms are terrible. The carpet was old, largely stained and musty. All of the furnishings looked to be about 20 years old and some were broken (table legs, chairs). While the beds looked clean, we had issues with bugs (spiders or bed bugs?) biting during the night (my wife has photos). On top of that, the cleaning staff also took a bottle of medication that my wife takes daily from her suitcase (she always puts it away when we travel and are not in the room). The hotel location is terrible to get in and out of, and there were some "permanent/long term" residents hanging around the parking lots and units that presented a less than desirable comfort level with security and safety. The smell of pot was generally present in the area.

I wish we had bothered to read ANY of the reviews of this property online before booking, as we did not see ANY positive comments on this location. We stay at Hilton brand hotels specifically for the reputation and high standards so that I don't have to worry about this kind of stuff. If I see "Hilton" on the sign or flag, I know what to expect. I am paying for a consistent experience with a degree of quality commensurate with the property, but with a base level of standard. Have to agree with the vast majority of other people that this specific property needs to be removed from the Hilton brand, or it needs to be reinvented and brought up to par.

I do NOT feel like I got anything close to value for the money spent on this property. I will be requesting some measure of refund for the 2 nights we suffered through (we moved to a different hotel for the last night of our stay). I will also be writing negative reviews about this hotel on various sites to help warn others.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Date of stay: January 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Homewood Suites Memphis Poplar, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar
Responded 18 Aug 2020
Dear Ed P, Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. All your comments are essential to educating our staff about good and bad service. We will ensure your feedback will be given to all. Furthermore, I will personally supervise that all your other complaints are addressed that everything will be in order on your next visit to Memphis. We look forward to welcoming you back to show you how much we have improved.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paradise199791 wrote a review Jan 2020
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Hilton should be ashamed to have this hotel flying their flag. This hotel is badly in need of a refresh not only for the rooms but on their management and most definitely the housekeeping. As a Diamond Member I spend over 60 nights a year in various Hilton properties around the world and this is by far the worst kept property I've ever stayed in. Worst of all is that the staff know it but just don't seem to care. I would ask Hilton executives to stay a couple of nights here so that they could experience it first hand. I guarantee that the Hilton flag would be pulled immediately. My company has a large office less than a mile from this location with 2 other Hilton branded hotels nearby. I will not be recommending this hotel to any of my business associates or clients.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Date of stay: December 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Homewood Suites Memphis Poplar, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar
Responded 18 Aug 2020
Dear Paradise199791, Thank you for your candid feedback. I am very sorry to hear that your stay at the hotel was not up to par. Please note that this information has been received by our management staff. Despite this, we hope to be able to welcome you back to Memphis on your return visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mathtravel wrote a review Jul 2020
Round Rock, TX
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed here several times in past years and each time it gets a little more run down. This time was too much and will be our last if renovations and management does not change. Carpets were stained, draperies hanging off the rod in places, dishwasher full of dirty dishes, grounds in need of upkeep. One room had a stack of used linen outside the door when we arrived and it was still there when we left the next day. Office dark with only security available to point the way to grab and go breakfast in early morning. So disappointing as it is the perfect location for a halfway stop on our trip to visit family. When I reported the dirty dishes, I was offered a choice of running the dishwasher or changing rooms and chose to use our paper product instead. Even making allowances for Covid circumstances this was unacceptable. Have recommended in the past but cannot recommend now.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Homewood Suites Memphis Poplar, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar
Responded 18 Aug 2020
Dear Mathtravel, Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. All your comments are essential to educating our staff about good and bad service. We will ensure your feedback will be given to all. Furthermore, I will personally supervise that all your other complaints are addressed that everything will be in order on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel during your next visit to Memphis, TN.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cozyhere wrote a review Oct 2020
Kenner, Louisiana
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived after dark and used digital checkin. We had a hard time locating our room as the hotel has 5 buildings and poor signage.
Once we got to our room, we noticed that there are long term residents here complete with door mat and cat in window. There was a lot of coming and going from that room throughout the night.
Things did improve upon entering the hotel room. There was only 1 towel in the room. When I tried to call housekeeping or the front desk using both phones in the room, all I got was a busy signal. I had to call the hotel using my cell phone. They were quick on delivering towels and linens for the sofa bed (which we’ve learned from past experience are not provided with asking).
The toilet seat and lid looked clean but the toilet bowl was dirty. The kitchenette counter and stove was not the cleanest. Thank goodness I had cleaning supplies with me due to COVID so I was able to clean all surfaces. AC did not cool below 74 even to its lowest setting of 67. There were other small cosmetic issues that need addressing.
On a positive note, the sheets were clean and the mattress was comfortable.
The street in front of the hotel is a one way, 4 lane major roadway. It felt like we were entering the Indy 500 after a pitstop.
Over all, this hotel does not live up to the Hilton brand nor the Homewood Suites we just left that morning in Fayetteville, AR.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kim 1 wrote a review Feb 2020
Chicago, Illinois
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dirty, old, and gross. Checked in- our room had not been cleaned from last person staying. It was 9 PM- there were no housekeeping staff on duty to clean it and they had no empty clean rooms. Even if the room had been cleaned, it was obvious that the general housekeeping of this hotel is substandard.

After about 45 minutes of scrambling, Hilton put us up in a Hampton inn. Disappointing, as we were anticipating and prepared for 3 nights in a king bedroom suite.

We were shocked that this was a Hilton brand hotel as it was obviously no where near the other Hiltons we have stayed at.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Homewood Suites Memphis Poplar, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar
Responded 18 Aug 2020
Dear Kimut1, I hope this note finds well. We have sent your feedback to the personnel concerned. I apologize for this bad experience. This is very disappointing to hear, but we hope you give us another chance to make it up to you during your next trip to Memphis.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shopnqueenj wrote a review Feb 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
All of the reasons why this was a disaster..
1. The rooms needed to be moved (which I wasn't happy about but appreciated because of a barking dog) and my request that we be in the same building was told to us that it would be accommodated. However, one of the rooms was actually in another building and we wasted time trying to figure out why we couldn't find room 200 in building b. The update I got on the App finally alerted me to the fact the room I wanted was in building A.
2. The maintenance of the room was less than desired. Black stains on the blanket for the pullout sofa, lack of ventilation in the bathroom which contributed to rust and mold in the bathroom. I'm assuming they tried to treat a larger problem at some point because of the discoloration on the wallpaper. Flooring wasn't properly placed and grout was crumbling. The mechanical room was unlocked, so I'm assuming there was work done at some point.
3. Every time the heat kicked on you could hear the vibration in the doors. It didn't bother me but it woke my husband up a few times.
4. Breakfast was only so-so. The options seemed far limited in comparison to what I'm used to for Homewood suites and they seem to promote plastic and styrofoam use which seems terrible for the environment.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Date of stay: February 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from John-HiltonHelp, on behalf of management at Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar
Responded 16 Feb 2020
Dear JPoanon, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It truly disappoints us to hear your stay did not go as smoothly as we had intended. We only want the best for our valued guests and members, and clearly we missed the mark this time. We've shared the key points you highlighted with our team to use as training tools and step up our service delivery. We will continue to focus our efforts, and we hope the next time you are in the area you will allow us a second chance to deliver the stay you deserve.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lubertha D asked a question Jul 2021
Will the pool be open
Answer from Lubertha D
Will the pool be open tomorrow
berita m asked a question Mar 2017
Beverly Hills, Michigan
how from Beale St from hotel
Answer from K B
Panama City Beach, Florida1 contribution
Homewood suites Poplar Ave is 19 minutes from Beale Street.Going West down Poplar Ave will take you directly downtown.
Answer from AngeeMarie
Largo, Florida7 contributions1 helpful vote
honestly, I don't know, but i would call the hotel. I actually drove every where we went.
Patpey2 asked a question Apr 2016
How far are you from the zoo?
Answer from Jackie P
Dallas, Texas66 contributions61 helpful votes
According to Google, 11.2 miles on I-240 going west. About 15 minutes depending on traffic.
Memphis, Tennessee
Hello, Yes, we do allow pets in crates. Dogs up to 25 pounds are allowed for an additional one time pet fee of $50 per room. Please do not hesitate giving us a call if you have any other questions or concerns. Thanks so much.
Prussik wrote a tip Jul 2023
Tucson, Arizona40 contributions6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this place"
Read full review
marchtraveler2015 wrote a tip Apr 2022
Champaign, Illinois77 contributions18 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"avoid until renovated."
Read full review
BeckyBTravels wrote a tip Mar 2022
Makati, Philippines69 contributions37 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't pick a room here. Go somewhere else."
Read full review
TMB-NJ wrote a tip Mar 2022
New York, New York, United States17 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this property."
Read full review
Radley W wrote a tip Dec 2021
Columbia, South Carolina23 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't choose this location. Go a few miles down the road to Germantown."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Memphis area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
homewood suites by hilton memphis-poplar hotel memphis, homewood suites memphis, homewood memphis, memphis homewood suites
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar
LOCATION
United StatesTennesseeMemphis
NUMBER OF ROOMS
140
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOMEWOOD SUITES BY HILTON MEMPHIS-POPLAR - Hotel Reviews (TN) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar
Which popular attractions are close to Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar?
Nearby attractions include Memphis Escape Rooms (1.0 km), Crystal Shrine Grotto (0.9 km), and Malco's Ridgeway Cinema Grill (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, barbeque facilities, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar?
Conveniently located restaurants include Seasons 52, Erling Jensen Restaurant, and Amerigo Italian Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All Memphis HotelsMemphis Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MemphisHotels near Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire