Canopy By Hilton Memphis Downtown
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Canopy By Hilton Memphis Downtown

Traveller (132)
Room & Suite (90)
Dining (13)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Get rewarded with One Key
$378
$378
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 136 hotels in Memphis
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Our hotel is in Downtown Memphis, next to AutoZone Park, and conveniently located near FedEx Forum Arena, the Memphis Music Hall of Fame, Mississippi River Park, and the Memphis Rock ‘n’ Soul Museum. Our amenities include our onsite restaurant with room service, complimentary WiFi, a fitness center, and pet-friendly rooms.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet room
24-hour security
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Restaurant
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Save up to 10% off Honors Discount

Location

164 Union Avenue, Memphis, TN 38103-2739
483Reviews6Q+A68Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 385
  • 45
  • 16
  • 18
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
GravyTrain6 wrote a review Aug 2023
2 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for just a quick overnight stay to watch the Redbirds and their incredible Saturday fireworks show. The location could not be any better! We were able to walk right across the street and enter the gates. Even not counting the location to the ballpark, we were close to coffee shops and restaurants and there was a ton of action just out in the streets.

I have to give a MASSIVE thank you to Daisy who checked us in. I had made a massive mistake during booking, and without prompting or even asking, Daisy recognized the mistake and took care of it above and beyond my expectations. She was kind and understanding and was so wonderful to work with.

The other staff that I interacted with were also rockstars although sadly I did not catch their names.

The property was wonderful. Modern feel, very cozy and comfortable beds. I did wish for a trash can in the bathroom but that is literally the only complaint I have.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: There is a parking deck around the corner next to the napoleon for $10 overnight if you want to...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cynthia Johnson Webster, General Manager at Canopy By Hilton Memphis Downtown
Responded 29 Aug 2023
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience about our hotel and our team member, Daisy. We are so glad that she was able to rectify the situation. Our goal is that our team are great in customer service and one piece of this is being a problem solver! We apologize that there was not a trash can in your bathroom and we will strive to correct this concern. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Meg T wrote a review Jan 2021
7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had to travel across the country for family deaths and to take care of ill parents and I was stressed about staying healthy during a pandemic. Canopy was amazing! So clean- room was sealed and sparkling! It’s always hard to find a place to stay with my two big dogs and this place was welcoming and fabulous with them. They got us a room away from other guests so we slept great through the night with no weird noises to set the pups on alert.
Staff was so kind, friendly, and made sure we were taken care of, and they were great with our late night check in!
How wonderful to hit the gym this morning (it has a rower, boxes for jumps, kettlebells, and cables as well as bikes treadmills, and dumbbells- better than most I’ve encountered!!), take a relaxing shower with great water pressure and then enjoy a few minutes with a cup (or two) of nespresso before hitting the road for another long day of driving.
The style is modern and has a Memphis vibe, location was great to see a bit of downtown, and say hey to the Redbirds home across the street.
And there’s grass for finicky pups to have a potty break just a block away- a bonus for a downtown hotel.
Valet was quick and you can request your car through text.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jose Nieto, General Manager at Canopy By Hilton Memphis Downtown
Responded 15 Jan 2021
Hello megt829! Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your travel plan across the country, it truly was our pleasure to have you and your pets. It is wonderful to hear that our friendly team of enthusiasts left a lasting impression on you. We will celebrate this feedback with our team as it encourages them to keep doing what they do, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
clidde587944 wrote a review Jul 2021
San Juan, Puerto Rico1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you’re looking for a chic, modern vibe close to all things Memphis, then, look no further. Rooms are very modem, contemporary, giving an urban hang suite vibe.

Rooms feature smooth chic lighting & fixtures, cool slate colors with pops of color, barn doors on the restroom doors, and chiller drawer fridge tucked away into the design of storage make this a great fit for the urban couple on the go.

Locations far enough from the hustle & bustle of Beale—but only a 2-3 minute walk away from ALL of the action.

Definitely a great choice for those couples/individuals who want to be real tourists.

Close to good Memphis eats. Only drawback is there’s no microwave on the premises, so don’t expect to warm any carry out or leftovers.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Canopy by Hilton
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jose Nieto, General Manager at Canopy By Hilton Memphis Downtown
Responded 21 Jul 2021
Hello clidde587944! Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to hear you had a positive stay and that you enjoyed our décor and vibe. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Canopy and Curfew the next time you are traveling in Memphis!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LizS327 wrote a review Dec 2020
Chicago, Illinois3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Really surprised this hotel has 5 stars. My fiancé and I stopped in on a road trip for one night with our 7 month old dog. Pros: staff very nice and want to help and the restaurant (although not doing room service) had good food. Cons: everything else.

The first room we received (had a “clean seal” on the door) looked like no one had even tried to clean the bathroom. The shower had several hairs and actual dirt and grime. We asked to switch rooms and the second room was more of the same. Dirty shower again, found hairs in the sheets and hair and dust all over the floor. Our dog sneezed incessantly from the dust. The bed sheets were extremely scratchy and not breathable. The glasses provided were dirty and they don’t give water bottles, you have to get filtered water from the hallway so you have to use the glasses.

First canopy experience and overall pretty disappointing. Would not return, even for one night.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jose Nieto, General Manager at Canopy By Hilton Memphis Downtown
Responded 14 Dec 2020
Hello LizS327! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are so sorry about the experience you encountered on your recent visit. We will review these findings with our Housekeeping team and re-train our staff. Rest assured your comments are taken very seriously and will help us to continue to improve and grow our team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SiskiyouTraveler wrote a review Oct 2021
northern California78 contributions51 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed 7 nights at the Canopy by Hilton in Memphis. This is a high end hotel that treats you like a cheap youth hostel. After checking, I found clothing from another person on the floor - enhanced cleaning for COVD right?!!! I requested housekeeping and was told this hotel only cleans rooms after 3 nights stay! Hilton official policy is housekeeping on guest request. I had a pile of dirty towels on the floor and overflowing trash because their never was a service cart on my floor to even dump trash and towels. I had to go to the front desk daily to pick up towels and coffee refills and wash my cups myself. Yes, I called the front desk and asked for supplies but no one ever came to my room. On the 4th day, my room was not still not cleaned so I called again. Service was bare minimum - towels and bed remade (no clean sheets all week), no vacuum, or even wipe down of sink, no clean cups and glasses. Also, the shower door leaked and flooded the bathroom floor every time. I paid a non-refundable rate or I would have checked out. Terrible for $161 per night. And yes, I did follow up with a complaint to the management and they did nothing.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jose Nieto, General Manager at Canopy By Hilton Memphis Downtown
Responded 9 Oct 2021
Hello SiskiyouTravel! Thank you very much for taking your time to write this review. We appreciate all guest’s feedback, it is vital to us and gives the opportunity to improve constantly. We always try to do our best in order to meet guests' satisfaction. We are sorry to find out that we failed at this point and you didn't enjoy your stay in some areas of your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for the areas of opportunity that you encountered. We hope you will consider our hotel for future travels. We hope to welcome you back, allowing our collaborative to showcase the true value of Canopy by Hilton. Safe travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
4seeds wrote a review Aug 2023
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Front desk people are nice and always welcoming with smile. Hotel is renovated 3yrs ago, still well maintained and modern. I lived in 2nd floor inside room which has window with sun comes in during the day. There are enough hangers in the shower stall, restroom and bedroom since they have no laundry service I have to hand wash my clothes and hang them anywhere in my room in my two weeks stay. Hardwood floor with large carpet under the bed which is better than whole carpet like other hotels in NY which is disgusting and old fashioned.Curphew restaurant in the hotel has great foods but 18% gratitude is included even though I pick it up. Location is good and close to restaurants, cafe.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Canopy by Hilton
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cynthia Johnson Webster, General Manager at Canopy By Hilton Memphis Downtown
Responded 11 Aug 2023
Thank you for sharing about your recent stay and I am so glad that you will definitely come back. That means the world to us. We are so glad that you had an opportunity to enjoy our restaurant and that the room was just right for you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ryan H wrote a review Sept 2020
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hello, I don't usually write reviews of things online but our stay at this hotel was well worth the effort. In one word...AMAZING. In these COVID times, I was nervous to stay at a hotel, but the room felt like they just took the plastic off a new toy. The hotel feels ultra luxurious but comfortable at the same time. And it couldn't be in a better location! Close to so many fun venues. I will definitely be staying here again my next time I am in Memphis.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jose Nieto, General Manager at Canopy By Hilton Memphis Downtown
Responded 20 Sept 2020
Hello Ryan H! Thank you for your 5 STAR review! We are so happy to read that we were able to exceed your expectations during these COVID times. Our enthusiasts are trained with all the Hilton Clean Stay protocols which ensure each and every guest can have peace of mind when it comes to cleanliness. We hope you can return and visit soon again! Positively yours!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tim H wrote a review Aug 2021
Norfolk, Virginia7 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location is great. Valet parking should be way cheaper since there are multiple nearby garages. My room was interior with no view but a wall 10 feet away for $350 per night. Third party carriers (Expedia) nearly $100 cheaper per night but we booked direct. No breakfast to speak but the restaurant is great for dinner, apps, drinks. Rooms are okay, not much shower head pressure but beds are good. Bottom line is that location is neonderful, value for me was subpar.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Canopy by Hilton
Date of stay: August 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jose Nieto, General Manager at Canopy By Hilton Memphis Downtown
Responded 18 Aug 2021
Hello Tim H! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review with us! Hotel has a coffee shop that opens up at 7am every day and brunch is open during the weekends at 9am. We will pass along your compliments to the CURFEW Restaurant Team regarding their food and drinks. We hope to see you soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BugnBoo wrote a review Jul 2022
Nottingham, United Kingdom75 contributions56 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked this hotel based on the great reviews and that it was a new hotel.
The hotel is really nice but oh dear the staff are the most incompetent bunch of people that I have ever had the displeasure to meet.
Valet parking- left the car on a side alley overnight and then when I wanted the car it took them 1.5 hours (yes 1.5 hours and a phone call to the valet company boss to retrieve it )
Check in - it took three visits to reception to get a new key card cut (they were short on key cards and were recycling them) before I got access to the room
Housekeeping- requested it on check in, at 4.30pm it hadn’t been carried out. Front desk not really interested, after another two calls eventually received clean towels at 10.15pm
Today no housekeeping again despite yesterday’s promises
To top it off an LED light strip fell off the wardrobe area
Management never available and don’t seem interested
I have never been so disappointed with the service in any hotel
Management, we are still here in room 407 if you care about your customers you may wish to contact us
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jose Nieto, General Manager at Canopy By Hilton Memphis Downtown
Responded 21 Jul 2022
Hello BugnBoo! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are so sorry about the experience you encountered on your recent visit. We will review these findings with our Housekeeping and Valet Parking Operator team and re-train our staff. Rest assured your comments are taken very seriously and will help us to continue to improve and grow our team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Racheal S wrote a review Jul 2022
Albuquerque, New Mexico2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I recently visited Canopy By Hilton Memphis. The hotel is located walking distance to Beale St. lots to do nearby. The front desk service was superb! Greeted daily and treated very well. On the downside, the room is very small (considering we reserved a premium king suite) we did have a great view of Autozone stadium.
I travel frequently and always carry my own sanitizing products to wipe things down (I.e remote control, light fixtures ect) the room was pretty filthy and dusty. Window had many handprints and or Greasy substance. Very disappointing for a top Hilton property. Shower has a strange design. Water flooded bathroom after every shower. Ice bucket was very soiled and rusted. Hospitality made our stay somewhat comfortable, but room overall was quite disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jose Nieto, General Manager at Canopy By Hilton Memphis Downtown
Responded 15 Jul 2022
Hello 316racheals! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are so sorry about the experience you encountered on your recent visit. We will review these findings with our Housekeeping team and engineering team and re-train our staff. Rest assured your comments are taken very seriously and will help us to continue to improve and grow our team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Martyn
Cardiff, United Kingdom147 contributions83 helpful votes
10 min walk from hotel if that.
dem0908 asked a question Jul 2023
52 contributions5 helpful votes
Does the room come with any type of fridge or cooler?
Answer from Cynthia J
1 helpful vote
We have a chiller; the maximum temperature is at about 45 degrees whereby it keeps items cool but it does not go as low as a refrigerator will nor can the temperature be adjusted. It does not have a freezer section.
Freedom59844686097 asked a question Apr 2023
2 contributions
Is Valet parking included in the price ?
Answer from simon
Peterborough, United Kingdom45 contributions4 helpful votes
No it isn’t
Answer from Cynthia J
1 helpful vote
All of our bathtubs in the accessible rooms are standard tubs that have a bench that will stretch across it. There is a removable shower head (all rooms have this) and curtain in the room. A tub chair can fit in this bathtub.
Answer from Jose N
Memphis, Tennessee6 contributions7 helpful votes
The hotel has one of the best brunch in town on Saturdays and Sundays at CURFEW hotel which is our Celebrity Chef operated outlet/
ednesha wrote a tip Yesterday
New York City, New York3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try not to get a room in the front because on weekends it’s super loud. If you’re hungry after 11, the bird dog lounge was good."
Read full review
Percy N wrote a tip 5 May
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"house keeping "
Read full review
Mary M wrote a tip Apr 2024
Shallotte, North Carolina42 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Interior rooms have windows but look out over a lobby roof….definitely cuts down on noise from Union Street"
Read full review
Adam A wrote a tip Mar 2024
Charlotte, North Carolina2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The noise coming from the street is overwhelming at times. "
Read full review
Dave G wrote a tip Mar 2024
Charlotte, North Carolina110 contributions58 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a room as high up as possible. People like loud cars in Memphis"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Memphis area.
PRICE RANGE
$329 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesTennesseeMemphis
NUMBER OF ROOMS
174
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CANOPY BY HILTON MEMPHIS DOWNTOWN - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (TN) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Canopy By Hilton Memphis Downtown
Which popular attractions are close to Canopy By Hilton Memphis Downtown?
Nearby attractions include Sprock n' Roll Party Bike (0.4 km), Belz Museum of Asian & Judaic Art (0.3 km), and The Orpheum Theatre (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Canopy By Hilton Memphis Downtown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Canopy By Hilton Memphis Downtown?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Canopy By Hilton Memphis Downtown?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, secured parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Canopy By Hilton Memphis Downtown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Flight Restaurant and Wine Bar, Itta Bena, and Majestic Grille.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Canopy By Hilton Memphis Downtown?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Canopy By Hilton Memphis Downtown located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Memphis.
Are pets allowed at Canopy By Hilton Memphis Downtown?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Canopy By Hilton Memphis Downtown offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Canopy By Hilton Memphis Downtown?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Sun Studio (1.3 km), National Civil Rights Museum - Lorraine Motel (1.0 km), and Slave Haven / Burkle Estate Museum (2.5 km).
Is Canopy By Hilton Memphis Downtown accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Memphis HotelsMemphis Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MemphisHotels near Canopy By Hilton Memphis Downtown
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire