Courtyard by Marriott Memphis Downtown
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Courtyard by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Hotel from Main Street
Traveller (104)
Room & Suite (13)
The Bistro - Bar
Dining (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#18 of 136 hotels in Memphis
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travellers visiting Memphis, Courtyard Memphis Downtown is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its proximity to great restaurants and attractions, Courtyard Memphis Downtown makes it easy to enjoy the best of Memphis.

As your “home away from home,” the hotel rooms offer a flat screen TV and air conditioning, and getting online is easy, with free wifi available.

Guests have access to 24 hour front desk while staying at Courtyard Memphis Downtown. In addition, Courtyard Marriott Downtown Hotel offers a hot tub and breakfast, which will help make your Memphis trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is parking available to guests.

While staying at Courtyard Memphis Downtown, visitors can check out AutoZone Park (0.3 mi) and The Orpheum Theatre (0.5 mi), some of Memphis' top attractions.

While staying in Memphis, you can check out a popular Indian restaurant like India Palace INC, which is serving up some great dishes.

If you’re looking for things to do, you can check out Beale Street (0.5 mi), Sun Studio (1.0 mi), or National Civil Rights Museum - Lorraine Motel (0.9 mi), which are popular attractions amongst tourists, and they are all within walking distance.

Whether you’re travelling for business, pleasure or both, Courtyard Memphis Downtown is sure to make your visit to Memphis one worth remembering.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Meeting rooms
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

75 Jefferson Avenue, Memphis, TN 38103
510Reviews8Q+A98Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 205
  • 195
  • 70
  • 25
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
mommanac wrote a review Jan 2021
Boston, Massachusetts21 contributions23 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We are staying here after leaving a reservation at the Wingate. We called in a bit of a panic and David was very helpful both on the phone and when we arrived. The hotel was clean, everyone was wearing a mask, our room was spotless. We grabbed a flatbread at the bistro (we were the only ones in the place), the bartender/server was masked the whole time and wore gloves to prepare our food. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend. Great secure parking options which is important to us as we are crossing the country and have lots of stuff in the car
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jackie F wrote a review Aug 2021
Boerne, Texas155 contributions40 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed several days at the Courtyard, front desk staff were friendly and helpful but the Bistro staff were awesome! The front Bistro person had to juggle taking orders, getting the coffee/tea & condiments, bringing out the food and other requests by themself all with a small behind their mask; they deserve a gold star! All employees we saw were masked up, although it was a mix when it came to guests.

Location is good, in a quiet part of downtown, and while it's a bit of a walk to Beale St., the trolley is right out front so it worked out fine. We used the valet when we could (not available every day) and while it's fairly expensive @ $25, it was well worth it. Save yourself the hassle of looking for parking and use the valet when it's available. Room was comfortable and shower was great, although the temperature could have been a little cooler. We bought a box fan and that did the trick. One issue we had was that we didn't know there was no housekeeping unless you asked for it so after the 2nd day with no service, we figured that out. Make sure to ask about this at check-in. And I wish they had microwaves in the room as I would have liked to have a hot cup of tea in the evening. Overall I would certainly not hesitate to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, just know that rooms facing Main St. will have trolley noise occasionally
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica L wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed here several times over the years for work for weeks at a time and I'm always pleased with my stay. The front desk staff are always plesamy and professional, housekeeping is always accessible and accommodating to anything I need in my room. David from valet is especially helpful with my bags, directions and weather updates and he even still pulls my car up even though it's 5 feet away and I ask him to keep it close to the door. I can't say enough amazing things about this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
davidsandiego wrote a review Jan 2022
san diego112 contributions98 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel went through recent refurbish which is a little bit nicer. But, still have loud trash can pickups banging at 3am a few nights a week - lasts about 15 minutes and WILL wake you up unless you are wearing earplugs. Fitness center never has towels or clean spray to wipe your treadmill down before/after. Bistro very limited hours now. Staff is nice and helpful. If sleep is not really a concern then this is a decent place. As in all places in Memphis, you need to be very careful walking around outside at night.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Courtyard by Marriott Memphis Downtown
Responded 29 Jan 2022
Hello there, we appreciate you taking time out to share your feedback. I am sorry to learn you were unable to sleep comfortably due to garbage trucks; we try our best to place guests who request quiet rooms, away from elevators, ice machines etc., additionally we place these requests on higher floors, away from street noise. I'm sorry we missed this request with your reservation. Also, I will follow up with our housekeeping team to make sure we are consistently checking the fitness center for towels and sanitizing wipes. I certainly understand the importance of keeping things clean and sanitized especially during these times and we will do better. Again, thank you for sharing your feedback and I wish you safe travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
grandma4920 wrote a review Feb 2023
New City, New York335 contributions128 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I must preface this negative review by stating that I love Marriott I own many time shares in aruba and am a lifetime titanium member. I have always stayed at various marriott hotels when traveling, from JW, The Ritz, Renaissances, Courtyards and one and done at a Springhill in Tampa. Upon our arrival, at this Courtyard, late afternoon after driving from Nashville, I was surprised to see that the feather pillows we requested , and I confirmed several times due to allergies with the supposedly non hypoallergenic foam pillows, were not in our suite. Due to poor weather, we brought in food from their marketplace. It took three visits from housekeeping to get the six pillows we needed.

In the shower, Imagine my surprise when two of the three screwed into the wall amenities, shampoo and conditioner were completely empty. The body wash became an all purpose product until that too was empty.

When we opened up the sofa bed for our granddaughter in the second room, imagine how annoyed I was when we had to call housekeeping at 10 PM for bedding, blankets and towels, as there were only two sets of towels.

The counter in the kitchenette part was sticky and goopy as was the inside of the microwave.

There was something stuck under the dusty furniture which I chose to ignore.
Upon our departure, after alerting the Valet by phone to get our car, we waited 35 minutes in the street. Glad we didn’t miss our flight.
I chose this hotel for the purpose of giving my granddaughter privacy in her own space and location. Clearly I cannot recommend this particular Courtyard. I’d like to think that their difficulties are due to being short staffed and not incompetence. That being said, I cannot recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else downtown as the location was good.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Courtyard by Marriott Memphis Downtown
Responded 8 Mar 2023
Hello Grandma4920 We appreciate you taking time to comment on your stay, I apologize you experienced issues during your stay. We value our guest feedback and will continue to work towards complete guest satisfaction. Thank you for choosing our hotel, safe travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scott W wrote a review Aug 2022
88 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I always look forward to my stay at Courtyard Memphis Downtown, and this trip was a great experience just like my last stay at this facility.
What sets this hotel apart from most is ALL associates are so personable and very, very helpful. Shout-out to Alexis, front desk associate, whom I got to meet on this stay. Alexis took extreme care of all my requests, from the perfect room to answering all my questions about great places to eat and how to find them. Thank you Alexis!
I also enjoyed a nice, relaxing breakfast in the morning.
The hotel is the perfect location to walk all throughout downtown. Nice hotel gym. Also I run, so I enjoy running throughout downtown early morning, and the Greenbelt Park trails are a block away, along the Mississippi River.
Great stay and very personable, helpful, and friendly associates.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ensea wrote a review Apr 2022
Longboat Key, Florida270 contributions93 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed here probably 10 times in the last 7 years (with no stays during 2020 and 2021 during Covid). This facility has become outrageously expensive (based on age, ambience and being in Memphis) and has made no visible investment in years. Hotel is using Covid as an ongoing excuse for no room cleaning. Room was dirty, stained, furniture is worn out. It is just plain tired. Air conditioner did not work. To make things even worse, the hotel has taken away free parking. Only thing available is $25/day valet or walking the streets of Memphis (not a smart idea) from public parking.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: not sure there is a good location. walls are paper thin.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Courtyard by Marriott Memphis Downtown
Responded 28 Apr 2022
Hello Neal, I'm sorry your recent experience was not what you expected. Unfortunately Covid has impacted many industries across the country and the hospitality industry is included. For the safety of our guests and employees Marriott's current policy is our staff does not enter occupied rooms. However our staff will complete a refresh when scheduled at the Front Desk. Neal our hotel has never offered free parking, I'm sorry, but I don't know of any downtown hotel which offers free parking, we do offer valet parking at $25 per night. I'm sure everyone is looking forward to when our hotels are able to return to pre pandemic operation. Thank you for your feedback, thank you for staying with us. Safe travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alfonso wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very nice and clean hotel. Super convenient location. The valet person Elbert was super attentive as well. Highly recommend. They should add kool-aid in the lobby like some of the other hotels have as a welcome drink would be a cherry on top touch!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Courtyard by Marriott Memphis Downtown
Responded 22 Sept 2023
Hello AlfonsogB41422K, thanks for choosing our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and wish you safe travels!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janet J wrote a review Feb 2023
Garland, Texas3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived just before our check in just before checkin and we’re pleasantly surprised that our room was ready. When we got into the room it looked ok but that lights between the beds wasn’t working. We went to call the front desk /but the phone didn’t work. I pulled out the night stand and saw that the light s and the phone were not plugged in. I plugged in the light but the phone jack was completely pulled out of the wall. The floor behind the night stand and by the beds was disgusting. We left the room and returned later that night only to discover that the window curtain was one panel short therefore we could not close it completely.

The next morning when we got up, showered and attempted to find the blow dryer, we could not find one. We called the front desk only to be told that when housekeeper came in they would have one brought up. The manager ended up bringing one to us.

Even though the weather was cool we needed the A/C on. The room never got cool/cold. Be ware the rooms are filthy and have an odd stench.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Courtyard by Marriott Memphis Downtown
Responded 14 Feb 2023
Hello Janet J I'm sorry your stay was less than perfect. Your feedback has been shared with our staff and we discussed the guidelines in place to ensure your concerns are not ongoing. Thank you for your feedback, we will continue to work with our staff as we strive for complete guest satisfaction. Safe travels!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amy H wrote a review 3 Jun
Eufaula, Oklahoma36 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
For the price, I would recommend the Peabody for better accommodations, experience, and service. The staff here are not very welcoming. No one was rude just felt as though we were interrupting them by checking in. No smiles, no greeting. The valet guys were better than the front desk staff by far. The bathroom only had extremely hot water, too hot to shower which was really odd. We had to run a bath and let the water cool down to get clean. It was late and we didn’t feel a complaint of any kind would be tolerated by the staff so we just suffered through it. The refrigerator was also broken. We felt the stay matched the depressed state of Memphis. A city we used to love has now been put on our never visit again list.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Only option for parking is to Valet. The Valet crew was nice and informative. 29$ was also...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Courtyard by Marriott Memphis Downtown
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello R4253POamys, I am sorry to learn your stay was not enjoyable. Our goal is to welcome and make each guest feel appreciated, I am sorry that wasn't your experience. I welcome the opportunity to correct guest issues and I've shared your feedback with the staff. It would have been very helpful to address the room with the water issue immediately so it does not present an going problem. Thank you for for feedback and safe travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NorthStar62547306823 asked a question Sept 2022
Is breakfast free?
Memphis, Tennessee
No, the Courtyard hotels offer a BISTRO where guests are able to order from our menu. The options and prices vary depending on the item. We appreciate the question!
Gregory G asked a question Jun 2021
Do you have smoking rooms
Memphis, Tennessee
No, Marriott hotels are all non -smoking.
Memphis, Tennessee
Hello We offer single cup coffee makers in our guest rooms.
Okia58 asked a question Feb 2018
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma8 contributions4 helpful votes
Do all corner King rooms have balconies?
Memphis, Tennessee
Hello, yes only Corner King and King Suite rooms include a balcony.
Memphis, Tennessee
Hello- Our guests self park in the Shopper's garage located @ Jefferson Ave and Front Street. The fee is $18+tax, unlimited access and the charges are billed to the guest's room. A parking pass is obtained at the front desk during check in. I hope this helps, enjoy the marathon!
Amy H wrote a tip 3 Jun
Eufaula, Oklahoma36 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Only option for parking is to Valet. The Valet crew was nice and informative. 29$ was also reasonable for service."
Read full review
Heath H wrote a tip Mar 2024
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Look Elsewhere. "
Read full review
Eric M wrote a tip Sept 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Nightlife gets a little crowded "
Read full review
grandma4920 wrote a tip Feb 2023
New City, New York335 contributions128 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay somewhere else downtown as the location was good."
Read full review
Travis M wrote a tip Nov 2022
4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good customer service at the Marriotts"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Memphis area.
PRICE RANGE
$256 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
courtyard marriott downtown hotel memphis
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Courtyard Marriott Downtown
LOCATION
United StatesTennesseeMemphis
NUMBER OF ROOMS
128
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

COURTYARD BY MARRIOTT MEMPHIS DOWNTOWN - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (TN) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Courtyard by Marriott Memphis Downtown
Which popular attractions are close to Courtyard by Marriott Memphis Downtown?
Nearby attractions include Craft Axe Throwing - Memphis (0.3 km), Fire Museum of Memphis (0.2 km), and Tom Lee Park (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Courtyard by Marriott Memphis Downtown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Courtyard by Marriott Memphis Downtown?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Courtyard by Marriott Memphis Downtown?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Courtyard by Marriott Memphis Downtown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Flight Restaurant and Wine Bar, McEwen's Memphis, and Huey's Downtown.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Courtyard by Marriott Memphis Downtown?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Courtyard by Marriott Memphis Downtown located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Memphis.
Are any cleaning services offered at Courtyard by Marriott Memphis Downtown?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Courtyard by Marriott Memphis Downtown offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Courtyard by Marriott Memphis Downtown?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Sun Studio (1.6 km), National Civil Rights Museum - Lorraine Motel (1.4 km), and Slave Haven / Burkle Estate Museum (2.1 km).
Is Courtyard by Marriott Memphis Downtown accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Memphis HotelsMemphis Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MemphisHotels near Courtyard by Marriott Memphis Downtown
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire