We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (4)
Room & Suite (2)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good34%
  • Average14%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Parking
Restaurant
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Pool
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
24
24
9
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
24
24
9
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomself catering kitchenan adventureclimbing wallen suite family roomconverted railwayold railwayevening mealevery morningdevon coast to coastcar parkhostelloungecyclingbunkcorridorstorage
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

I was on a cycle ride through the southwest and decided that I would stop off in Okehampton. What can I say other than the best choice I had made on my trip. Not only were the staff welcoming the accomodation was up there with...More

Thank timstevens4
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Centre was shut due to extreme weather however they have refused to refund us!!!! Totally unacceptable to keep our money when we could not have stayed with them. YHA body washes its hands as every hostel is a franchise.

1  Thank shibumiEngland
Response from Mary S, Marketing Manager at YHA OkehamptonResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback. Our apologies that it took time to process the group leaders request. The group have now been refunded, due to the exceptional circumstances, so please contact your group leader or the hostel for further assistance.

Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

I wouldn’t recommend to ANYONE! I was in Okehampton for business and I went to book a room for the night and I got rudely turned away by a blonde woman on reception who said there was no space! I then a short while later...More

2  Thank Aaron G
Response from Mary S, Marketing Manager at YHA OkehamptonResponded 4 January 2018

Thank you for your feedback. Like many YHA hostels, YHA Okehampton are usually closed for single traveller overnight stays out of season and mainly provide group accommodation bookings during the period November to March and hence during these periods we are unable to offer any...More

Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

Attempted to stay at the YHA but was promptly turned away at the door. The staff on the reception desk turned the lights off and hid behind furniture. I can’t begin to comprehend how this is an acceptable way to run a business. I have...More

2  Thank Martha T
Response from Mary S, Marketing Manager at YHA OkehamptonResponded 4 January 2018

Thank you for your feedback. Like many YHA hostels, YHA Okehampton are usually closed for single traveller overnight stays out of season and mainly provide group accommodation bookings during the period November to March and hence during these periods we are unable to offer any...More

Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

This hostel is located on the south side of Okehampton next to Dartmoor. It's a bit bleak and functional compared to Beer being in a converted railway shed but it has advantages. One of these is that it lies at the east end of the...More

1  Thank andrewrbs
Response from Mary S, Marketing Manager at YHA OkehamptonResponded 4 January 2018

Many thanks for your feedback. We agree that the hostel is a great place for cyclists being placed on the Granite Way, Coast to Coast, Lands End to John o'Groats as well as various routes around Dartmoor and even over the channel to France. We...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Okehampton
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free Parking
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$32 - US$116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$32 - US$116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (4)
Room & Suite (2)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from YHA Okehampton staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Go elsewhere"
Read review
"I guess to book a private room, especially for families, is the best. Not experienced that."
Read review
"Nearer the lounge rather than the games room"
Read review
"Be prepared for the uphill walk back to hostel after visiting the town centre."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing