We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2002 Temple Hill Rd, Erwin, TN 37650-7980
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (30)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.


#1 of 3 in Erwin
Just imagine....waking up to the scent of fresh mountain air and listening to the sounds of silence. Wake up at the Mountain Inn & Suites - Erwin (formerly the Holiday Inn Express) where every room has a mountain view. We are conveniently located in the Tri-Cities area of Bristol, Johnson City and Kingsport. Right outside our back door is the Appalachian Trail, whitewater rafting, Cherokee National Forest, river and stream fishing, and many other outdoor activities. Nearby you'll find golfing, Country & Bluegrass music, snow skiing, antiques, pottery, and Jonesborough - a historic village of unique shops, galleries and restaurants. Tour the numerous winding back roads between small Appalachian communities, or simply unwind and relax while breathing in the crisp mountain air. There is much to do, or choose nothing at all. You can enjoy our outdoor pool and Jacuzzi from Memorial Day weekend to Labor Day weekend. Whether you are a corporate traveler or a hiker/rafter; we have a room and a special rate for you! Let our friendly and knowledgeable staff make your stay in Erwin a truly pleasurable experience.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Vending machine
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
162Reviews1Q+A38Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 77
  • 40
  • 19
  • 15
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
patchsgal wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Due to circumstances out of my control I had to stay here for a few nights while things were fixed. The first night was tolerable but it only got worse. Here are the main complaints : 1) no microwave in the rooms so you have to travel down to the shared microwave 2) no coffee pot in the rooms. If you expect to find it in the lobby think again 3) the continental breakfast is stale cereal and cinnamon bagels. Don't think about getting anything warm to eat. 4) did I mention the juice machine is rusty? 5) two linen laundry limit to each room 6) no room services for the time I was there. I had to buy my own trash bags. 7) no pressure in the shower 8) mold on the walls. I could go on but I think you get the idea. Please save your money!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Gerald P wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
My Daughter came to visit me for the first time. The room smelled of mildew and actually had mushroom's growing in the corner. Did not see staff except when we looked for them at check in/out. The pool was closed and has apparently been so for a long time. Next time I will have them stay in Johnson City. Such a shame. A great location with such poor facility.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Fam O wrote a review Jun 2021
2 contributions
Comfortable large rooms. A hot breakfast! Oh yea that’s right egg omelets bagels juice, just like before covid. Check in at 2 pm and checkout at noon. They run a tight ship no funny business here. You will enjoy
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled
MikeinMaryland wrote a review Oct 2020
California, Maryland37 contributions13 helpful votes
I reserved a room about a month in advance to join friends during a 3-day hike of the A/T where Erwin was our "base camp". I was quoted a rate at that time of $94/night. When I showed up I was billed $200/night. I was told the rate was because it was "race weekend" at Bristol Motor Speedway (a 35 mile drive from the hotel) and that the person who quoted the $94/night price was incorrect. Ironically, the hotel was nearly empty for the entire weekend. There was no complimentary breakfast due to COVID (however, the Fairfield Inn that I stayed at near the Asheville airport where I flew in to and out from provided breakfast, albeit, it was pre-wrapped and you had to take it back to your room...and they only charged $74/night). The Mountain Inn & Suites is run-down and not worth $94/night (and definitely not $200/night!!!). After complaining about the rate, the manager reduced it to $150/night, so at least I didn't get totally ripped off. Next time I come to Erwin to hike the A/T, I'll just stay at the Uncle Johnny's, or camp on the trail, or stay at a hotel closer to Asheville and "suck up" the 30 minute drive to the trail-head. Mountain Inn & Suites is "Motel 6" quality that wants to charge Paris, France, rates. Save your money and find someplace else to stay if you are in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Sleep Quality
Response from mis erwin, Owner at Mountain Inn & Suites
Responded 12 Nov 2020
Thank You for staying with us at Mountain Inn & Suites. We are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your room price . The price is always little higher at Bristol race weekend then the the regular days.We did gave you $ 150.00 total off during your 3 night stay with us, also due to Covid-19 we don't offer the full hot breakfast for the safety, but we did have a few prepacked items.
Read more
Mary E wrote a review Jun 2020
Tampa, Florida10 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed here for a few nights to visit family on our honeymoon. It was decently quiet with very few other people here. Was disappointed that all amenities were closed and no breakfast was given. I wish the hotel would have noted that when I booked. Bed was decent. Small tv and lots of stains on the floor and chair. Needs a lot of updating. Window air conditioner unit was not the best. Overall not bad for the money.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled
US$106 - US$176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
holiday inn erwin, erwin holiday inn
Holiday Inn Express Erwin, TN
United StatesTennesseeErwin
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mountain Inn & Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Mountain Inn & Suites?
Nearby attractions include Rock Creek Park (6.1 km) and Hunter's Hearth Pottery (4.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mountain Inn & Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Mountain Inn & Suites?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Mountain Inn & Suites?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mountain Inn & Suites?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mountain Inn & Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hibachi House, Burnout BBQ & Grille, and Dari-Ace.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mountain Inn & Suites?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Mountain Inn & Suites offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Does Mountain Inn & Suites have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Mountain Inn & Suites accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.